Rent inFamous: Second Son for PS4
view large frontback

inFamous: Second Son

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
8.3

3607 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Became obsessed with it

posted by Xakxiii (LEESBURG, VA) Apr 16, 2014

Member since May 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved it. Played the hero my first time around and had fun getting all the collectibles. Did a speed run being Evil the second time around and had even more fun. Story is good. Graphics are great. Powers are original and cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fun ride

posted by russr1123 (HILLSBOROUGH, NJ) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is probably the best game on PS4 right now.
The Good:
Great graphics. I think they put most of their budget in the graphics and you can really tell when you see the amount of detail and polish in the city of Seattle recreated here.
Interesting Story. I thought the story was rather interesting and I enjoyed the story missions. I do wish there was more story and more story missions.
Fun gameplay. I had a blast just zipping around the city and taking down bad guys.

The Bad:
Not enough story. They definitely needed to expand more on the story, both through story telling and story missions. I wish they had at least 50% more story missions. You can really blow through the game if all you do is the story. There's a missed opportunity here especially with character development with Delsin and the other NPCs such as Fitch.

Side missions: These are way too repetitive. They felt like filler material. One or two spray paint missions in the entire game would have been enough, but having 2-3 in each district is overkill and stupid. Same with most of the other side missions, they were just kinda stupid.

All in all, it's a great game and worth playing. With a little bet more story and story missions and less repetitive side missions, this would have been truly awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good game

posted by ecb2565 (ACTON, MA) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics in this game are the best I have seen on PS4 si far and this game is worth the buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by Killerbleach (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Infamous second son is good game but overall I was disappointed by it.There are alot of good things about this game but i'm going to start with the bad.First the side missions, the side missions are all the same besides the ones with the conduites, in every part of the city the side missions are allows the same and that gets really old really fast.Next the morality, when you pick good or bad, the whole thing is just pointless at this point because you know if your going to good or evil at the beginning of the game and you can't switch between the two because your powers are tied into your good and evil rating,when do good thing you level up in that rating and unlock new perks for your powers but evil perks will be locked off so you'll have to play the game again from the evil side.The characters are dull and not as good as the ones from infamous 1 and 2 and they never talk about the events from the first two games at all.Now to talk about the good in the game, the graphics are amazing the best on the playstation 4 so far.The powers are pretty cool and amazing to look at and the story was ok.Overall the game was game but I was still disappointed by it, with the next gen system I thought we'd be getting more in a game not less, infamous second son is a step backward in the series the graphics as good as ever but every thing else is just not as good as infamous 2, i'd think people should rent the game it's fun but you might be disappointed by it hopefully the next infamous game will be like infamous 2 better than the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Could not stop playing.

posted by Librianitus (MEMPHIS, TN) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is amazing, and even if you have not played the previous titles, the story starts with a new character and setting with a nice line up of flashy powers and abilities. I played and beat the game within a day, and I played it all day the first time, the second time maybe a bit over half a day with few hr breaks. I was having so much fun with the gameplay and was so interested in the story I just had to play through as good and evil. Both stories give you chills at a certain point, but they are not too different besides the little sub-story cut scenes. For the most part the main story you follow very little with change, and which side you chose decides your ending. It is loaded with activities and I spent all my time collecting every little thing and doing every side x2, so I put in quite a bit of time, haha. I have not had so much fun in quite a while, the gameplay alone sells this game, and it is worth the full retail price. If you do not have a ps4 yet then I would say wait a bit, I can't say any game is worth the cost of a ps4 and this games price, but when you do get the chance to play it, you are going to love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is my favorite game on PS4!

posted by Hackbag123 (ROWLETT, TX) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think that Infamous: Second Son is an improvement from Infamous 2. Infamous 2 was a great game and I loved it. But with the well integrated new sixaxis and touch screen controls and new amazing powers, this is a clear improvement from the previous installments in the series. This game looks amazing. Given the small library of games on the PS4, nonetheless this game is one of, in not, the best looking game on the system. I had the limited edition, so I had access to the Cole's Legacy missions. Playing earlier games in the series, really let me enjoy these 4 missions. Even if they were just really short missions, they were a nice nod to the end of Infamous 2. (The good ending.) Anyway, this game has an interesting world to explore. Like, there is a playground that is a reference to Sly Cooper and a lot of other things. The story was interesting too. I have only played the good side so far, but I plan on playing the bad ending very soon. I highly recommend this to anyone that are either fans of the series, have a PS4 and not many games, or if you thought the game looked interesting. This game replaced Resogun/Outlast/AC IV as my favorite game on the system. I would rate this a 9.5/10 but I can only round it up to a ten or round down to a nine. So I chose 10/10. Pick this game and play this game and maybe play the other two to enjoy this game even more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

New-Gen Looks, Old-Gen Feel

posted by Breazy (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Infamous Second Son is the first game I've personally played on the PS4 that has made me anxious for the next wave of games for the new consoles (XB1 & PS4).

The game is a looker. Outside of a few poor textures and some weird looking facial stuff, the game is stunning (particularly the lighting). It truly shines when you obtain the neon ability, when it's raining, or when the sun is setting. This is one of the best looking games I've played, right up there with Ryse: Son of Rome.

Gameplay is a mixed bag. If you've played either of the previous Infamous games, you'll be immediately familiar with Second Son. The things I liked are still present such as the open world and variety of things to do. The issue is all the same things I disliked remain such as the cheap enemies, glue-like climbing/jumping, and poor combat/shooting mechanics. The powers aren't incredibly interesting either which doesn't help matters.

This makes for a good rental - it runs around 8-10 hours to complete the story - but isn't one I'd recommend purchasing. There's fun to be had here and it's a showcase for your PS4, but a new generation of consoles shouldn't be just about the "shiny", it should also be about enhancing gameplay in meaningful ways and sadly Second Son doesn't do that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game!

posted by fullert0465 (DARIEN, WI) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was hesitant to try this game, at first. I mean, having played infamous and be less than excited about that game, I wasn't sure about Second Son. Yet, when the guy at my local Gamestop recommended it, upsold the special edition, and threw in infamous 2, I was like, "Hey, let's give it a shot!" Needless to say, I was very impressed! This is definitely a game to play on PS4! I didn't rent this title, but I bought it!
After a long string of not getting any titles within my top 5, I'm happy to say I bought this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent GAME!

posted by fatpreacherman (BRENTWOOD, MD) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sucker Punch knocked it out of the park. The game is great and I recommend this title as a must have for all PS4 owners, if you don't have it you are short changing yourself.
My actual score of the game is as follows:
Gameplay 9
Story 9.5
Trophies 10
Overall 9.5
Even if you never played the first 3 games this is still a great game, and if you have then what are you reading this for GET THE GAME!
Check out my full review on my youtube page
gamertalkchannel
I have two reviews one heavy with spoilers so choose carefully.
Great action/adventure game with a really refined system of powers/abilities. Superb looking graphics and if you buy it new, two great included extras. Papertail (which you get no matter what) and Cole's Legacy (which is only available via download with a psn code enclosed in a new game).
The story, characters, and voice acting are not only great in the cut scenes but the interactions in game and because of the karma choices are really intense and worth the double play-through to get both story lines and all the trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great gameplay, subpar story, a bit repetitive

posted by gsnugz (TACOMA, WA) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the only game I've played that made me feel like I was controlling a superhero.

Being able to move blazingly fast and unleash complete mayhem in a world that looks so real makes this game a worthy play. Living next to Seattle, it was interesting for me to see Sucker Punch's rendition. While not anything close to a carbon copy, it's got some striking similarities. The size of the world is adequately large. The NPC density is small, but that's not too much of an issue.

The combat and movement are exceptionally fluid; other third-person games should look to this game for ideas on both.

Repetitivity is a concern if you want a completely dynamic experience - the powers are different yet the same at their core, the missions/tasks begin to lose novelty at a certain point, and the enemies are not too different from each other.

I didn't start playing this with the expectation that the story would be close to amazing, so the story being lacking wasn't much of an issue for me. However, the way the story is told helps offset the poor story. The cutscenes are entertaining.

Overall, this is a fantastic sandbox game with captivating gameplay. Sadly, it does not have much replay value with just 2 playthroughs if you want to get the most out of it. I wish they would have worked a type of multiplayer or co-op into the game for replay value. Doing two playthroughs with one being 100% on expert should take about 20 hours total.

Why play? It's the best next-gen experience on the PS4 right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hmmmm

posted by sworth14 (CARTERSVILLE, GA) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I bought this game the day it came out. I really liked it as I started playing it. Then the more I played I discovered that the computer does not ever miss when they shoot at you and it gets very repetitive. The story is great and the side missions are fun, except it takes a lot to even be able to do the side missions. It is not bad for it being the first next gen only game. The graphics are amazing. The upgradability is really cool. The game itself is just lacking the further you get into it when you discover its the same thing over and over again. Not my favorite, but still a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly Next Gen

posted by WarG_MrJoyz (BERWYN, IL) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A truely Next Gen game upon the line of launch games for the powerful ps4! There is no need to play the previous infamous titles, the new and improved infamous has an immersive and addicting line of powers you can pull from things ranging from neon, rust, fire, and more! DO NOT listen to the people when they say it's repetitive! It would take a gun to my head to say a first fun t for teen game is repetitive. An easy true next gen game! just amazing, no flaws are with this game! if you like brother films, and non-stop michael bay, transformers explosion action, this is your game! NO hate should be on this game, but the hate from the xbox fans that do not have this game. an easy 10, and such a rare occurance for amazing t for teen game like this! 10-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truely a great game!

posted by GoshuaJoshua (PFAFFTOWN, NC) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game starts out good and just keeps getting better. I'm not a fan of super hero/villain games, but this game was great. I'd give it a 10/10 all around. The only complaint I have is I wish the game was longer because I really enjoyed playing it. Although, the way the game works allows you to play it twice, with different play-styles (sort of a hero or villain). I don't understand how someone could give this game a bad review.
Definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but short

posted by Ravynheart (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wan to start by saying this is a great game! Sadly, it is far too short. It literally took me 3 days to completely 100% the good AND evil sides. All while moving to a new place mixed in, so I was not playing constantly.

Graphically, this game is BEAUTIFUL! The explosions! The way the buildings fall apart. The light gleaming off the recently made puddles. It's one of the best looking games I've seen to date!

The controls are well put together. The controls act the same across all powers. Long distance ability, one button; short range, one button; melee, one button. The same across all powers. Switching from one power to another, REALLY simple and easy to figure out!

The storyline is intriguing. It draws you in, makes you not want to put the controller down! Which is great! Except, that a few hours later, you'll have beaten the game and know the story. Sadly, that is where inFAMOUS: Second Son falls. It is extremely short. Also, with it being so linear, there isn't much replay value once you have reached 100% on one side.

Hopefully the next one will have a longer story, or have more replay value. Still, it's worth checking out! I have to recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everyone Should Play this

posted by ebounce88 (POULSBO, WA) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great depiction of Seattle, best special moves I've ever seen in a video game period, long game, and decent story characters.. The Graphics are awesome and this game won't fail you.. Would be a 10 if they could have made some of the missions funner and had more stuff to do in Seattle. I am sure with DLC this game will get better and better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A surprise

posted by mloap (SANFORD, FL) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok at the beginning was the same kind of game with a awesome graphic, but then the mysterious paper cut using the computer with the PS4, that was a good surprise. I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

inFamous: Second Son

posted by shadows68 (ALTOONA, PA) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this a great game i loved it the second best game on playstation 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still one of my favorite series

posted by Stahl_53 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved playing the first two inFamous titles and was so excited to play this one and I love it. However, for a game that was in production as long as this was, and as much time as sucker punch had to build on all the things that made inFamous 2 great, this game has let down in a few areas. The side missions from the previous two infamous games were MUCH better as opposed to these random events (that happen way too often) in the middle of the street. After my fifth time doing a drug bust I only ever did another one to get the trophy. Long story short, Second Son is a great game, but not better than the originals. Definitely worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good all around, but short

posted by vene591 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty fun to play, but you dont get the real experience intill you play it on expert. Only downside is ive had it for 3 days and already got 100% trophys. Just a rent guys, dont buy. Dont forget to play the free dlc for Infamous on papertrail.com!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A GREAT GAME

posted by Deltaone (WHITTIER, CA) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LIKE THIS GAME IT HAS A GOOD STORY LINE AND GREAT GRAPHICS BUT THE DOWN FALL OF THIS GAME IS IT KICKS UP THE PS4 FAN EXTRA HARD. IS ANYONE HAVING THIS PROBLEM WHEN PLAYING THIS GAME?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game but way to short

posted by Ericktorrez96 (HUMBLE, TX) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Enjoyed it but you can literally pass this game in 1 day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I hope there will be a sequel

posted by Lutheos (BARNHART, MO) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, If you like Infamous you need to play this game. Only one thing I wasn't happy about: nothing entertaining to do as far as after-story gameplay, which kills the game after you've done everything. But still a great game and I can't wait for the next one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Home run from Sucker Punch

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I must admit when i found out that Cole would not be in this game i was very Leary. But so far the game is just as fun with Delson than it was with Cole.
I'm not a fan of the spray paint missions, but they aren't the worst thing in the world.
I found very few bugs in this game, almost minimal. I've been playing about 5 total hours so far and i'm really liking the game.
The graphics are sick and the story line is pretty fun so far.
If your a fan of the previous infamous games, your sure to like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by guitardisciple7 (MUSCADINE, AL) Mar 31, 2014

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. Amazing graphics smooth gameplay. Well worth the money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best inFamous yet!

posted by UndeadRussell (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great story, beautiful graphics, and amazing power. Buy or rent today. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse