Rent de Blob for Wii
view large frontback

de Blob

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

2371 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun kid's game

posted by thinkbomb (KAYSVILLE, UT) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Short story: it's a fun kids game with plenty of style and smooth controls.

Basically, you're part of a resistance working against the Inks (critters who paint the world in gray). You thwart their efforts by squashing their troops and painting the city wild colors. It's actually pretty fun.

I mean, it might not be enough for hardcore whiners, but for the rest who want a fun title on their Wii this is definitely worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome for the Entire Family

posted by HippFam (GREAT BEND, KS) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Love this Game!

It's challanging enough for my husband (he's one of those who have to get every point possible, and complete all the challenges, even though you don't have to to go on), It's easy enough to make me (a poor gamer) feel successful because if I really put my mind to it I too can get all the challenges completed.

And with every level we complete, it opens up a free paint. Great for our three small children, who don't wanna have to fight bad guys (cause they don't wanna die). And it's nice cause the free paint level is the same as the one I just completed, so my three year old feels that he is doing the same thing he just watched Mom do.

And there are enough levels to keep you busy for more than a few hours, unlike some of the "kid games" out there.

Easy controls, fun story, good multi-player fun with races and duels. Bright colors always a plus! (Even if you do only have 7 color variations; with the styles you collect, 7 is plenty)

A+ Game. Received it on Saturday, payed to keep it on Sunday.

Reccomend it to anyone with kids under 7, or sloppy adult players.....I know cause that's what me and the kiddos are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Canon-Worthy Title for the Wii

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

It's no secret that the Wii's game line-up has been lacking. Not mind-blowing by any means whatsoever. However, they do some get of the most random awesome titles out there. Boom Blox was one game. de Blob is another one.Nintendo consoles tend to attract these family-friendly games with unlikely mascots that have tons of depth if one chooses to really pursue it.

In the world of de Blob, the INKT Corporation has taken over a city and has sucked all of the color out of it. You are the Blob, who can suck up any of the color creatures in the world. You work with yellow, red, and blue --- and, of course, any combination of the colors possible. Not a ton of colors, but the 7 variations provide enough difference to make the challenges, which are definitely not overly challenging, but they do avoid making them insultingly easy.

While you can breeze through the average level in about 30 minutes to go to the next level, there are so many other things to do, such as freeing all of the citizens of the city by painting blocks of the region and then painting over them to bring color to their world. You can choose to spend the needed time to free all of them, but it is not needed. You can choose to compete all of the races, painting missions, and attacks on the evil minions of the INKT Corporation --- but, again, you do not have to do so. The freedom to decide how much you wish to do is one of the best aspects of this game.

The only real issue with the game is the jumping controls are less than responsive. Rather than a simple jump button, you have to waggle the Wii-mote to jump, which can be fairly irritating on occasion. You also stick to surfaces for a little while (a needed thing for some of the missions), but it can really cause problems if you're making a series of tight jumps. But this is simple nit-picking and it's really not that much of an annoyance.

This is the kind of game your kid will love to watch you play, but you'll love to let them watch you play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Extremely creative and quite a surprise!

posted by boopuft (WOODINVILLE, WA) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2004

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I rent a LOT of games and would say that it takes a unique game to impress me. This game is a real surprise. It is extremely creative, has good graphics, and long term replayability. I'm buying this one! Oh, and for contrast, Star Wars Unleashed is a rental, de Blob is a clear purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Mario Galaxy?

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I had some pretty high hopes for this game, and thought that the free-form-ish painting was a pretty good idea. I was wrong. It was the best game I have played since Super Mario Galaxy. The story is very intriguing and is moved along by hilarious and beautifully animated cutscenes. Although it is still unclear where de Blob comes from (he is shown sleeping in a tree outside of town in the opening), that's unimportant. As you go around slamming paintbots and painting the buildings around town, the soundtrack (which you determine before you play by choosing de Blob's mood, everything from "blissful" to "unstoppable") gets more diverse, and at its peak of complexity is beautifully made. The gameplay is very addicting and has only one problem: the jumping mechanism. You swing the remote to jump, and that can get tiring and is not very accurate at all. A button press would have sufficed. My only other complaint is the difficulty, or rather lack thereof. I am already on the, what, sixth? Seventh level? And there are only about five to go. The game is way too easy, even for me, and can get slightly tedious, considering that it takes about an hour to pass each level, give or take twenty minutes. But all in all, this is a fantastic game, and I look forward to more Blue Tongue games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

de Blob is de Man!

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

de Blob is one of the best platformers this side of Mario and Sonic. The zany characters and amusing cutscenes are pretty cool, and bringing Chroma City to life is amazing and vibrant. And smashing Inky soldiers is oh so satisfying. Although the levels are a bit repetitive and lengthy, this is a must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

3rd Parties Can Do A Good Job

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Sep 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This is great fun! You must see the movie in the begining. This is a simple concept and it does get repetitive, the controls are tricky at times and there is not much to do. However it is well put together and with that said it is a must try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Fun

posted by QUEENPEACH (EVERETT, WA) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is flexible enough where you can do the minimum requirements to get through the story, or you can take your time to find all the extra stuff built in. The cut scenes are really fun, too. Although the multiplayer option is a little lacking, the free paint and story modes for single player are pretty fun. It's also nice that this game comes with options to play in English, French, or Spanish. Overall, I think it's a really cute concept, and I enjoyed playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

De Blob didn't color my world

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Maybe I just didn't give the game enough of a chance but I was just never impressed by it. I will say that I thought the textures, music, and overall look to the game were unique and fun. But then it was the game play that got to me. It felt very repetitive. You can go along and just paint the town on your own, or you follow side missions to do so. For me whether I did it one way or another it all felt the same. Just rolling around painting stuff. And the control scheme felt tacked on. To jump you had to shake the wii remote in a downward motion. Just feel that they could have used any button on the controller for that, instead of making you shake your wrist all the time. A game worth a rent at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"de Blob" A game based on coloring books

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You play a blobby creature that's out to paint the town red...and brown, blue, yellow, purple, green and orange.
Starting off each level you are clear, but you run into robots that have either red, blue or yellow paint on their back. Smash into them by holding Z and swatting the Wiimote down you get 10 paint point and turn into that color. Each successive robot smashed gives you 10 more paint points up to a max of 100.
You can combine these three colors to get orange, green, purple or brown.
What do you do with those paint points? Well, you paint the scenery around you, most importantly the buildings. This is the Free Mode part of the game.
In the main story line, each level is marked with missions. The mission types are simple: go from one point to another following a trail of colored steam, paint building a certain color or colors, smash the evil soldiers, or gather up a certain number of paint points of certain color or colors and use that to paint a large building.
Completing the missions will give you more missions, and completing those missions will unlock the next stage or level of the story.
The cut scenes with the villains of INKT are great. They act a lot like the Rabbids in "Raving Rabbids", and are just as funny. But our heroes are flat and bland compared to them, and the text driven parts are boring to look at.
Another big problem de Blob has is the targeting system. If you are surrounded by enemies to bash into, the AI may not target the thing you wanted it to. Sometimes, it targeted an enemy that is off camera. This made the missions tougher than it should be.
Shaking the Wiimote to jump is a bad idea - jumps should be a button push to save wear and tear on players' elbows.
And the missions repeat over and over again. Once you've played de Blob for one or two levels, you basically played the entire game.
Still, if you love coloring books, de Blob is de Game for you. Give it a try to see if you like it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatness

posted by TheCROW74 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love when games are original and know what console they belong to. Blob knows where it's home is and it's on the Wii. I like the fact that you don't have to think to much. Like Mad World most of the game is in black and white until you add some color. You can probably beat this game in a couple of hours. The Wii needs more games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

repetitive and timed quest

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) May 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

my self I can deal with the receptiveness of a game but I cant stand timed quest I give it a 5 because the graphics or ok for the wii and the concept is really good if they would have just twiked the controles and lost the timed missions it would have gotten a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A game, in my opinion, could have been better.

posted by pielover44 (Phillipsburg, NJ) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a person easily impressed by a game. This game did not impress me all that much, but it was still fun. The controls were a little, uuggh. Since you just flick the remote to make it jump, I don't know about you, but I flick the remote down. And that hurts after a while.
What you basically do in the game is color HUGE environments. I will make a big fuss over the fact that I want the whole part of the city to be painted. And this means it will take a while. The developers should have put in a quicksave feature. Ad for the colors. There are only seven of them. And two of them look like they came out of someone's bowels. What would have been nice was to have, maybe a rainbow powerup, or a custom color creator.
The music of this game is okay. Every time you paint some sort of building, a sound effect comes and plays. I usually don't notice the audio.
But if you do, the sound sounds cool-ish.
Overall, this game is something you canspend hours and hours on. I just choose not to. Try to have fun with this game if you get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pretty bad

posted by hhuhuhuhu (ROCKPORT, TX) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was going to be really good
but when i started playing it i noticed the controls were really shaky and the controls didnt work 100% but other than that like the game is fine just not that amazing Nintendo could do a whole lot better than what they are doing now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time!!

posted by Hfrost (THRALL, TX) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I first saw De Blob I thought it looked childish(which it is)but then I saw the commercials and then their ploy worked I wanted it. So I rented De Blob... And I hated it. This game is great If you're 4. Don't fall for the advertisements. You play a blob when the organization I.N.K.E.D takes over Chrome City turning every thing a sickening grey. The multi colored hero Blob tries to stop the I.N.K.E.D troops. In my opinion he failed. I don't know what they were thinking when they made the controls. I'm not kidding! The A button is the compass, the B button is the brake, and craziest thing is you swing the Wii Remote down to make him jump!? You know what else!! I rented this game from Game Fly. On the 1st of October it shipped out and it got here on the 9th!! A big disappointment. It took such a long time for such a lousy game. Don't rent or buy this game unless you or a little sibling 6 or under.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

well this was time I'll never get back sigh

posted by Painamatio (LORAIN, OH) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Concept and originalty is were my 5 comes from other than that it a snooze fest.I seen people giving this game a 10 bah.. NO GAME diserves a 10 rating becuase they have NOT made the perfect game yet.So for all you 10 I ask you this since you gave this a 10 is it the only game you play since its so perfect?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ewwwww......

posted by Twiinz30 (DESOTO, TX) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was just plain bad. There was nothing fun about rollig him around to paint the town. I wouldnt even buy this game for kindergarten students to use. Maybe someone with little children will like this title ...I"m not a hard core gamer but it didnt hold my interest at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one of the worst games I"ve ever played

posted by nerfguy98 (OAKLAND, TN) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

it is one of the worst games ever I played through the first 4 levels and was bored of it sent it back same day it came in the mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cool Concept, Poor Controls

posted by lrcssmith (LUBBOCK, TX) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game had an interesting concept, and I believe it could have been really fun if it weren't for the controls. The controls were just confusing and hard to use. It was extremely hard to make accurate turns and jumps.

Rated a 4 for the controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

blobs away with color

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was very disappointed. The graphics were very lackluster not bad but not good either. The gameplay of painting buildings a different color in order to free other blob citizens gets boring really quickly. The gameplay controls work well but the camera sometimes gets stuck behind you which makes it difficult to see in certain situations. This game has a neat concept of having to go and repaint your city to protect for INK the evil black and white corporation. If you are looking for a good paint your world action adventure game give this one a pass and rent or buy epic mickey. If you are looking for a fun way to teach your kids colors and about mixing colors then rent this game. Otherwise give this game a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hmm...

posted by SableFox97 (JAMAICA, NY) May 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

When playing this game, I remembered one of the really old games that Nintendo unleashed that was similarly difficult the further along you got. Banjo-Kazooie. In terms of entertainment, this is no B-K but it takes with it the deceptive color and rapidly growing difficulty. I'm not joking when I say that this game is one of the reasons that gamers should be thankful for sites like Gamefly--without it, many people would be holding this piece of garbage with shame and defeat.
At the start of this game, you're greeted with the usual hook-animation of happy-go-lucky characters suddenly getting slammed by the enemy and their [side]heroes almost immediately being captured only to be saved by the titular hero.
Do not let this game fool you, it's not as fun as it looks.
From the start, you're given repetitive missions, troublesome controls, and a generic sub par interaction with your environment and characters. Don't get me wrong, the concept has potential and I had fun at the beginning but after a while it all winds down into a sloppy adventure that tries to keep things interesting by making the missions unnecessarily harder considering the type of control scheme that they give you [waggling the remote to jump, nunchuk to move, B-button to target].
Honestly, the only thing about this game that had any more to offer than it's tired storyline was the free coloring missions where it doesn't have a timer to put pressure on you. If you're looking to waste hours of your life on this, go ahead but if you're planning to buy it then I'd have to say you should respectively pass on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So easy

posted by alwd1 (GRANDVIEW, MO) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This game is to easy I passed it in one hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A game to LOVE!!!

posted by mariob (DEER PARK, WA) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

This game is a fun action game with 1 AWESOME. A fun family game to keep and painting the city to save the world...If you are trying to find a game with painting and fun...Well this if the right game you are looking for!!!Some fun challenges,Paint with about 4 or 5 different colors to paint,1 Action packed boss!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Interesting Premise, but just not fun

posted by Sjetware (WYLIE, TX) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I heard good things about this game, so I figured I would try it out. However, it turned out to the be a game I played for about 30 minutes before sending it back to Gamefly. Technically, their execution was flawless as the color painting and mechanics all worked as expected. However, simply painting buildings, trees, and whatever raydians you could find didn't really feel all that fun and seemed very repetitive. There didn't seem to be any challenge when playing the game, and there was practically no way to 'lose'.

Graphics: B+ (for Wii anyways)

Gameplay: C

Storyline: B (very simple, but I give it credit for not trying to be serious with a plot)
Execution: A (no framerate issues or buggy areas)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by SeniorChub (MONROVIA, MD) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

When i first heard of this game, i thought it sounded stupid. Iwas very wrong. This game can get repetitive at times, but it's still so cool to see the world spring back to life with the colors and styles of music that are in the game. All in all, this game can be very fun with its slick platforming, awsome colors, and just down right catchy music. i give this game an overall of 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse