Rent de Blob 2 for PS3
view large frontback

de Blob 2

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.0

498 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good overall

posted by Torque (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a random rent for me, but it turned out to be pretty good. It never felt repetitive for me, but I think its because that's exactly what this game is and you know it from the start.

The core concept is simple. Get paint, paint buildings by touching them, repeat. But the mix of enemies and other sub-task's keep the pace moving.

Not a buy title, but worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You should try this one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by loliepop (LITTLETON, CO) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I personly over all think this is the best THQ game I have tryed so far. If you havent tried the first de blob, don't wory!!!! This game starts off fresh. The 2 player compadabillity is great with the PS move controler . You should try this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Repetitive, but Relaxing & Fun

posted by VGDesign (SHARON, MA) May 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a bit biased, since I played de Blob (the original) back in 2008. As such, I'm already going to say that it's awesome.

But de Blob 2 is, frankly, beyond my expectations. EVERYTHING has been magnified and expanded - be it power-ups, challenges, and the city itself. The levels are easily twice the size of de Blob 1 areas, and have taken me upwards of an hour to complete, especially if you want to 100% it.

There are a few things that bug me. A chief one is the music selection - you only have a choice of three songs per level, and while they vary, I'd rather make a selection from the entire game library (and there's over a dozen choices in total).

The other giant complaint is your sidekick, Pinky. She tells you what to do and how to do it, and it can annoy you, easily. ("I want to do this on my own, #$#$#!) But you can also choose to just ignore her, and she's more helpful than the Color Underground members from the original.

De Blob 2 isn't going to make you say "wow" necessarily - I do because of the beauty of the city landscape that I create. But it's incredibly relaxing, and the best stress-reliever you could imagine. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Way too addicting!

posted by Poehring (DES MOINES, WA) May 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is meant for an 8 year old girl, and for some reason, me, a 28 year old guy, can't put it down. This game was so awesome. Funny, Inventive, Creative and Entertaining all at once. Funny Story Line, Great graphics, great music, just over all good times. I would recommend, if you think this game looks too childish for you, Give it a try. I dare you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I didn't get that far and I didn't want to!

posted by vahdyx (WESTMINSTER, CO) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I added this game because I wanted to validate my Playstation Move so playing a game with it was top priority. I enjoyed it at first, the game was fun, cute and very relaxing. It wasn't stressful, it was a relaxing game.

Then after I beat the first level, I noticed I'm doing the same thing in the second. Then the third. There's a few little add ons here and there that change up the gameplay a bit, but to me it felt more like obstacle rather than enhancing gameplay. After getting tired of Level 3 I decided to pack up the game and ship it back.

Basically, it was fun for a little, seems childish and wasn't really all that complex. I would recommend this game for someone younger than 16 years old. Me being 24 just didn't really cut it for me. Sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Better off playing Tiddly Winks

posted by 3GameBoyz (OAKLAND, CA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 21 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is B-O-R-I-N-G. Unless your three years old, my advice would be don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blob2 don't work

posted by Jack1man (ACWORTH, GA) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it dBlob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can on't workBlob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so cBlob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can an can Blob2 don't work I tried to make it work be it don't work so can

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Co-op

posted by Gallobonts (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game is really nice, the only flaw is that the co-op for the storyline is one of those stupid things where the 2nd player might as well not be playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

what i think

posted by cooldude0789 (NEWPORT, NC) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

this game is very colorful and has an artist type of play to it it's not to bad for some one who is throwing a party with friends over or have company over and that all i can say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

HORRIBLE

posted by x9ZachAttack5x (FRANKLIN, TN) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Game is in meant condition but keeps FREEZING!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wonderful all ages title

posted by buckykat11 (North hollywood, CA) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

i have seen some ridiculuous reviews for this game, some stating that it is for children and too simplistic, and others giving the same low score for it being too difficult. it can't be both, and quite frankly, i think it is neither.

every moment with this game was pleasant fun. i found it challenging at times, but not too much, at a medium difficulty. as for childishness, the revolutionary bringing down the despot story would be lost on most kids, as would some of the humor. this can be enjoyed by kids, but it is not meant expressly for them.

since the major outlets seem to agree with me here (both critic reviews, plus x-play's, were favorable) i can only assume that the bad reviews came from people with only one slot, that were expecting something different, and were upset about having to wait for their next title.

Viva!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Children's Game!!!!

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Before you rent this, if you have or have ever played Wii games and said "this is for kids" then this is what you may have been playing. This is a slightly fun but EASY game with little challenge and a childish presentation. Unless you are under 14 years old avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

de Blob, de Bleh or de Bland?

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Sep 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

So, I rented this game, I was interested in it since the first one and knew it was supposed to be pretty good. Plus, I like games like this that are relaxing, easy and short with easy trophies...

But that's not what I got.

This game ended up being very frustrating. Time consuming and has a terrible habit of not saving when you wish it would.
They made this game a lot harder than necessary (I thought this was a kids game!) but having to redo an hours+ worth of sidequests and collection because the game doesn't save your progress is the worst part. You go around for an hour or two, doing everything you can to get an S rank, die, and have to redo ALL of it. No fun.

Also, if, like most people, you clear a city/level and say "I'll go back later and get everything I missed" NOPE. While, you can technically do that, once you re-enter the level, the game restarts everything to Black and White and you must replay the WHOLE. THING.
(Note: Some of these levels take 2-3 hours to clear)

Could have been a GREAT game, but the developers don't actually know how to make the proper framework for a game. It should save frequently, or at least give you the option to manual save. And you shouldn't have to re-clear a city you've already rainbow-ified! That's just poor game making right there.

It's more frustrating than it's worth, trophies, time, sanity or otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by cserrano (HIALEAH, FL) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

this game sucks, you die to easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

3D Garbage

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) Jun 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

Simply put, they advertise this game as full 3D support but there are no options to turn on 3D for my Vizio 3D TV. Other games that I have played that work just fine in 3D are Killzone 3, Crysis 2, Wipeout HD, Pain and more. So it is not my TV. It is obviously the game. Unless somehow Gamefly has gotten a hold of 2D only games. Regardless, this junk only deserves a 1 in my book. Sending it back after playing it for a few hours. My 12 year old said it is too easy and "stupid" that it cannot be played in 3D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2 Player

posted by Emmanuel12 (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

If you are going to get de blob 2 to for two players I wouldn't bother trying. The second player doesn't do much at all. In fact, he is not even a player you can see on your TV like de blob. Don't waste your time trying to get this game. It is going to let you down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »