Rent de Blob 2 for Wii
view large frontback

de Blob 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
7.0

550 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fifty percent more blobby than the original

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

De Blob is back, and so is his arch nemesis, Blank in De Blob 2 (it was going to be called De Blob Underground).
In the main part of the game, you go through 11 levels of coloring book fun as our blobby hero. Your job is to color everything in sight - from buildings to trees to the citizens of the land. Sometimes you can paint it any way you want, but others require you to paint landscapes a set color.
To color something, you either dip the hero in a pool of paint, or hit a paint bot. This will give you paint points which you need to paint anything.
And you also have to deal with Blank’s army of malicious - whatever the heck they are by smashing at them from overhead or rolling over them like a bowling ball.
Along the way, you enter buildings and get through 2D plat forming levels where you dispatch more enemies and hit all sorts of switches. And you get some new abilities, like turn into a wrecking ball or explode and take out several enemies at once.
The gameplay is improved over the original because instead of shaking the Wiimote to jump, all you have to do is push the A button. And you can also improve your abilities by collecting light bulbs placed all of every level and spending them like cash.
And this game has the charm - and the simplistic fun the original had.
But in this game, a second player can join in and blast some enemies - much like the second player in Super Mario Galaxy.
But there are problems, and they mostly have to do with the camera. Far too often, it moves and points in the wrong direction, and I have to readjust it. Getting up a tower or dealing with lots of enemies can be really annoying due to the wandering camera.
Another problem is the time limit for the levels - why do we have it in this game?
Still, De Blob 2 will thrill many players who love the original - and fixes one of that game’s biggest problems. It’s worth a rent, and maybe a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fine choice to keep your spirits bright

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) May 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

De Blob 2 may not be the most exciting game you'll come across, but it's good fun as you take control of a passionate glob of paint to return color to the world, one building and person at a time.

The gameplay is quite simple. Absorb some paint, maybe soak up a few colors to mix up different ones, and paint buildings, people, trees, and anything else you can find to recover the world from your misery-loving foe, Comrade Black. Along the way you'll encounter enemies that can be easily dealt with by a quick tap of Z+A or Z+B. That simple control mechanism helps make this game easy to navigate despite an occasionally uncooperative camera and your floaty jump. The gameplay doesn't get much more involved than this, and is quite easy especially if you use the radar to point you in the right direction through the large levels. Enemies don't pose much threat and even though I did die a few times for reasons unknown, on the whole the game was a breeze.

But just because it was easy, doesn't mean it wasn't fun. And the reactions you get from Comrade Black over the PA whenever you achieve something are quite humorous. If you're looking for a tougher challenge and enjoy treasure hunts, this game offers some nice extras. There are 100 photos scattered throughout the game. Nothing points to their location and the game won't even tell you how many you found in each level. Whether or not you'll like this challenge depends on whether you liked looking for the blue coins in Super Mario Sunshine. If you don't know what I'm talking about, play that game first; it may not be Mario's best but it is more robust than this.

Still, I greatly enjoyed this game. It did start to get repetitive in the later levels, but the last level was excellent and would give even, dare I say it, Mario Galaxy a run for its money. Pick this one up when you're looking for something less intense, and you can have a nice fun 25- to 30-hour intermission you'll enjoy from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kids loved it!!!!!!

posted by cdmichael_76 (NORTH VERNON, IN) May 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I got the Da Blob 2 for the Wii for my children. After talking with them on what they thought, they felt it was, as my 10 year old daughter put it, "SWEEEEEET!!!!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD GAME

posted by LPSghpqw (DODGE CENTER, MN) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It was a good game. I thought it was twice as good as the firsr de blob.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not good for 2 players

posted by emanresu_9 (TONAWANDA, NY) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Wanted to play through this in co-op mode with a friend. Was bored straight away by the limits placed on 2nd player. Do not have a visible character to move about, just a dot on the screen to target and shoot. I don't recommend this for multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

de blob

posted by madeline0402 (GRESHAM, OR) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

de blob looks like an awsome game ,but when we got the game it didnt work at all. so i will never know how good or bad de blob is. im not very happy with gameflys serveis .my son thomas was so very dissiponted when he found out it did'nt work.so im not continuing game fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun but challenging

posted by peeryke (ROY, UT) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The game is very fun but it is very challenging at the same time.
I enjoyed the game very much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I enjoyed this more than I thought.

posted by tucsoncarol (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

They play is addictive and I particularly enjoy smashing onto the enemy. The save points are too far apart, so that you have to repeat whole scenes that often don't relate in order to overcome the one spot where you made a stupid mistake. On the whole, I enjoyed this game. I am playing a different and highly rated game now and find myself missing blob and his enemies. It was never difficult but sometimes tricky and I liked it very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i was never cease to be amazed

posted by naimah316 (LEAVENWORTH, KS) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

painting the building was awesome the whole thing i really like the compass that help me keep playing i was fustrating that i couldnt figure it out at first but got the hang of it when i figure out about the compass well cant wait to look out for my next game i already sent this game back in the mail thanks your admirer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addiction

posted by awesomeg123321 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It is addicting, every time I go in the living room to play it I can't stop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game!!!!!!!

posted by Jordan14 (LEESBURG, FL) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game is so fun there is so much to do. My brother and he loves it. I got for him to try out and he wont send it back. So get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME SUCKS PERIOD!!!!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

THAT GAME IS MADE FOR LITTLE KIDS THAT UNDERSTAND THAT GAME I HATED THAT GAME SO THERE DON'T SEND IT TO ME AGAIN ALRIGHT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »