Rent Zumba Fitness for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Zumba Fitness

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.4

1362 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much like zumba class

posted by waywardmar (FARMINGTON, NM) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, the new update seems to iron out many of the bugs that were present when I first bought this, which is good since they were very frustrating in nature.

I really like the job they did with this game - it is much like going to Zumba class. There are lots of routine options and different ways to "play", and it also lets you do single songs. Much like in a class, you get to just get in and go - no tedious instruction. If you like going to zumba, I think you'll like the game as well.

That said, a couple of my beefs:
One of my favorite things about Zumba is not having an instructor yapping at you. The routines and instructions are very non-verbal and flow together. The "instructor" in the game grates on my nerves and I wish I could make her shut up.
They also don't give you enough time for a water break in between songs.
The motion detection doesn't seem super great to me. Sometimes I think I'm doing the moves exactly right and I won't get credit (the feet and shoulders seem especially wonky), and others I think I'm off and it'll give me credit. On the other hand, I've noticed I do better on songs where I'm already familiar with the routine, so it's possible it's just a matter of familiarity.
Overall I think they did a good job with this. You'll get a good workout, the music is the great Zumba music, and I also feel it's superior to most dance games I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It dont deserve all the bad reviews...

posted by barbiem (SHELBIANA, KY) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game, I was very nervous about trying it after reading all the bad reviews that it got but im glad I decided to get it. the menu could be better and sometimes it dont recognize the moves just right but the dances are really fun to do and its a great workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great workout

posted by kanoa (DALLAS, TX) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! Yes it was a little difficult to navigate at first, but once you get the hang of it, its simple. I love it. The workout is just the same if not better then going to the actual Zumba class. Im not to worried about getting the dance moves perfect. I just dance and have fun with it. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a good and fun workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Workout

posted by xxbluexx (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great workout game, its fun, the music its great.
I have more than a month with this game, i been playing at least 5 days a week, i enjoy playing it so much that i just can't stop. I had Your Shape: Fitness Evolved and it was good but it was so boring that i send it back. I have been losing weight, i can move better, im not only working out but im learning how to dance.
I don't worry if it doesn't detect when i moves, i just dance , have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh.

posted by sfcpt (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Zumba but this game is def. a miss. The makers of this game need to take hints from the popular Dance Central game to make it better. The instructions are basically non-existent and the moves are not able to be easily picked up by the Kinect sensor. Hopefully they make a new and improved version soon!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nope

posted by cwalmsley (MASHPEE, MA) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Would not recommend this game. Trouble picking up your movements as well as when you do some of the moves the kinect thinks that you want to go back to the main menu. Not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could be sooooo much better!

posted by JenniPoP (BRANFORD, CT) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Well, I gave them 3 points for trying. The concept of the game is great, Latin dancing is fun, and I expected it to be like Dance Central. Boy was I wrong. Not only are the controls jumpy, you're hand will bounce all over the screen trying to select something, but the actual dancing part is horrible. They do not read your movements AT ALL! I just stood still and watched myself get all greens, WHen they switch to a new move, it skips, like something else is supposed to be there, and it is a completely different move. THere's no breakdowns, they don't let you know what you're doing wrong, just keep telling you about your "GREAT ARMS!!" which are just lying at your sides. I was really dissappointed. They should have waited on the release to fix the many bugs and make the game smoother and accurate. The only good thing is the music!''

Dance Central has the person you are supposed to mirror, and you can see them clearly. All you get here is an outline, which can make some moves almost impossible to see what they are trying to do.

If they can combine the program style of DC and the music and dancing from Zumba, it would be a match made in heaven!

Who wouldn't want an accurate, Latin Dancing lessons based on the exact movements of your body! Tell us WHAT we're doing wrong and how to fix it! I would even like it to freshen up on some of my dances!

THey rushed it out to the shelves and it shows. It could have been AMAZING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Highly Disappointing!

posted by BethanyKay (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I received this game thinking that I'd be able to use it as a new workout. I am a new mom with moderate fitness ability. This game's ability to pick up your movements is quite frankly terrible. The navigation interface sucks compared to other Kinect games. It was the first time I wanted to use the controller to get me to the gameplay portion. I tried out many of the "learn the moves" portions first on the medium difficulty level. The Calypso portion for example on this level started out okay, the character seemed to be picking me up, but then it just starts jumping to the next move and saying "great, you got it" and moving faster and faster and I hadn't even done any of the moves at all. So I went back to try it on the easy difficulty level thinking it was me that was the problem and it wouldn't pick up my movements at all. So I tried other items on the list and again the response would be nothing or it would just say "great" "that's right" " let's try that faster" while I was standing completely still. Bottom line: The game needs work! It's not worth renting, let alone buying. I am truly thankful for GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs serious work before its worthy of buying

posted by jksteelerz (MOORE, OK) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Like the other review stated, the zumba game was developed cross platform and as such it seems like the developers tried to spread the game to far. It feels like the motion detection software is more like on the Wii rather than the Kinect. As long as you move somewhat like whats supposed to be it registers your movements correctly. The game can be used great as a way to learn the zumba routines but then again you can go buy the complete dvd set for just a few bucks more. There are much better dance games and better exercise games for the Kinect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Please Note: Do not judge by the Tutorial Mode...

posted by SlvrBull (OWASSO, OK) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First I'll attempt to clarify a few things concerning how this game works.

Zumba: Fitness was released as a multi-platform game in order to reach out to a broader audience. Both the Wii and the PS3 lack a sufficient motion sensing device to project the movements of an entire body on screen, and instead attach a controller to a waist belt in order to act as a hip motion sensor. With that in mind, it should not come as a surprise that a multi-platform game is not as pin-point accurate as other console exclusives that are specifically tailored around that console's hardware/accessories. In short, comparing this to Dance Central in terms of accuracy, or any other Kinect game, is a bit unfair.

What this game does fairly well is offer a fair amount of routines strung together from 6 different dance styles. It does offer a Tutorial Mode in an attempt to demonstrate the basics of the styles, but the Kinect sensor is fairly lacking and glitchy in this area, and as such the Tutorials should be more for reference than practice (I have found that all of the Tutorials can be played through without skipping ahead, but only when the Kinect ID specifically recognized me rather than logging me in as a guest. Also, any sort of looseness in the clothing will throw off the sensor, as the Tutorials refused to recognize my forward/back movements correctly in jeans.).

There are currently 30 routines available, and approximately 11 classes of varying difficulties and lengths to complete. Accuracy issues aside (since you can't fail out), just attempting to perform the movements is both a workout and fairly enjoyable. Should you get tired of doing them by yourself, you can either play with a friend, or even go online.

In reality, anyone who knows about Zumba already knows that you can get the DVDs online without needing a console. This is a fairly decent console attempt, provided one treats it as intended (a dance workout video) and not the next big Music/Dance genre video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Zumba fitness

posted by Strawxberr (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Zumba fitness doesn't deserve so many bad reviews, it's a decent workout and its fun! The down side is it hardly tells you your mistakes. You see a score after the song and that's pretty much it. You do see yourself dancing in the background in these two rectangles. It's somewhat similar to a zumba fitness DVD except a voice tells you if you did something right every now and then. I go the Zumba classes a few times a week, this game feels like I'm in a zumba class in my own room! Many people claim that the moves are to slow, zumba itself can be slow alot of times, especially salsa; for fast dancing I would recommend reggaeton and hip/hop, the moves can be VERY repetitive but honestly that's how zumba is, dont blame the game. If you go to classes you probably don't need to follow tutorials and you just start understanding the moves immediately because of the repetitiveness. So if that's the case normally you can jump right into the party! I would have to rate the game a 6/10 just because the kinect system was hardly used in this. Other than that flaw it's pretty fun, and it wasn't that glitchy at all for me like others mentioned in different reviews. I would recommend renting the game before buying it just because most people might be very picky on this type of dancing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

does not work at all

posted by mburkett (CONROE, TX) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is awful. I don't know how someone can make a game that does not work and put it out to the public for people to waste money on this. It never recognizes any movements and always jumps back to the main menu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is very horrible

posted by Steve03 (WESTWOOD, CA) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

i hate this game plus THIS IS HORRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thumbs up!

posted by DarkOrchid8643 (LONE OAK, TX) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Zumba really knows how to work your body, and if used often will help you lose weight and get fit while having a great time dancing to music that make you want to get up and move!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you're a fitness freak, this might be good

posted by gamermom2112 (WEST BEND, WI) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I'm older, out of shape, insanely uncoordinated, but this seemed fun and a way to overcome those obsticles. I anxiously put in the game, started on the easiest "warmup" mode, and felt like I was going to die, never even came close to being "on" once the routine advanced beyond stepping side to side. I packed it up and sent it back. However, I DID LOVE "Your shape, fitness evolved 2012" even though the reviews, description were far more intimidating than what this had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but hard

posted by wolf_gamer (FOUNTAIN CITY, IN) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

this game is fun but its really hard to do the moves because you are pretty much guessing the next move which does make it fun but hard, during the game I thought I would hate to see what expert looked like. so I give it a 5 but get it just to try. happy gaming from wolf_gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE THIS GAME!

posted by mrsdestronx (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

With my husband in such amazing shape i hate being seen next to him with that look of pity, like he married me because he felt sorry for me. So im on my way to losing weight. I've always wanted to, but could never keep in it. Zumba Fitness Join the Party is just what i needed. Now im dropping pounds like crazy! I cant wait to hit my goal weight!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard to keep up

posted by kwalsh (OLALLA, WA) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

hard to keep up with the moves. I think I need dance lessons before using this. Like it if I could do the moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love it

posted by CaliGreek (RAMONA, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I know some people hate the fact that it's not accurate enough to know when you're not moving or whatever else the non-believers are griping about, but the fact is it's a game and even in a class, if you stop moving, the instructor's not gonna stop to cater to you unless you look like you're hurt. It does a great job helping you break a sweat and learn how to move your hips. As long as you follow the routines you'll get a great workout. It's not there to make you work out, it's there to show you a method for burning calories by dancing. What better way to work out than dancing? I'm a guy and love to dance so I love using this workout and have been doing it every day this week so far and plan to continue. The only flaw I see is that you can't get more music added to the playlist and the navigation is a little of a pain, but other than that I'm completely happy with this game and can't wait to try the Rush version too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Definitely First-generation Kinect

posted by MetalDave (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

We did everything we could to get the motion capture accurate (including adding additional lighting, multiple calibrations, etc.). We have plenty of room for the action as well, so that wasn't the problem. At the end of the day, it wouldn't provide accurate feedback. If we stopped moving, it took a couple of seconds to register that we weren't following along.

When we discovered that the multiplayer was too hard to try right out of the box, we went to the single-player tutorials and tried to get "up to speed." The tutorials are not great. I've taken Zumba classes, and that isn't the way they intro people into the choreography.

Finally, the ambiguous shapes of the instructor you're supposed to mirror make it very, very difficult to see which leg or foot is forward versus behind (or to the side, etc.). The legs are just a giant glob of a solid color until they hit the position and, by that time, it's too late to keep up.

Definitely first-generation material. I'll move-on to the newer titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by arubangyal (ELMONT, NY) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Doesnt really track our body you could be standing still and doing a great job... Too provocative for children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's okay.

posted by bluekunoichi (VINITA, OK) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

It's an okay game. I mean it's kind of fun but they need more variety. If you like Latin music it's great and it's fun to work out to, but it gets boring fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game but hard to keep in range of the kinect

posted by jinz (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I thought this game was really fun. I played 5 different games the first time around. It was a great work out, I just had a hard time staying exactly within range at all times with my entire body head to toe. Definitely thought the game was fun though and my children even enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad at all!

posted by lopezfamily7689 (MIDWAY PARK, NC) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Ok first thing first only thing i dont like about this game is that well if my great dane comes into view it kinda messes up! But all around its an awesome fitness game! I am in love with it! I have done maybe 2 or 3 classes and i love this just as much as class!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wanna Work Out ?

posted by AsTemper (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This the game you could lose some of those pounds LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse