Rent Zoo Tycoon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Zoo Tycoon

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:Xbox One
GF Rating
6.0

246 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

it's a fun game but...

posted by Tommy062870 (VERSAILLES, KY) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a VERY fun game with great graphics and lots of thins to do in your zoo's but seems to lack something in game play but again it is worth a rent for its fun factor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Had much potential.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Nov 30, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game could have been so good. There are scores of animals for your zoo as well as attractions and decorations. You also are given a large amount of land to build on as well. It's fun to research and unlock new items for your zoo. Challenges give you various awards if you complete them such as money or fame. Unfortunately it all comes crashing down because the game limits the number of items you can place in your zoo despite having enough land. Not sure what kind of zoo the creators ever went to but this makes no sense at all. There are dozens of different animals and attractions but you can only place a handful of them because of the limit. A tree or rock counts against this number. They only thing you can do it remove decorations, trade off animals, sell exhibits, and start another one. It's not much of a zoo if you have to rehash everything all the time. The player should be allowed to place as much as they want within the land boundaries. The game gets stagnant real fast as a result. The graphics are pretty good and you can walk around your park to view exhibits and interact with the animals. If you don't mind constantly starting from scratch or near scratch you'll probably like this game.

THE GOOD
Lots of animals
Lots of decorations
Lots of research items.

THE BAD
Challenges are sometimes too hard to complete.

THE UGLY
Restraints on the number of items you can put in your zoo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game

posted by HIT_EM_UP9MM (ERIE, PA) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a ok game but there should of been more you could do with the animals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good.

posted by JamieLynn95 (LAKE WALES, FL) Nov 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I enjoyed this game for the most part. There are a few glitches, such as when I move animals, they will not move exhibits but it will say that the exhibit has the animal. I had to constantly go to the main menu and then back to the game to fix it. That's the only way I know how to get it to work, but at least it works I guess. I'd like to keep it just to try and get as many of the achievements as I can, but it's gotten kind of boring, so I've decided to send it back and maybe rent it later on to finish it up. I feel that I need a break from it for a while. The graphics are great and the animals are cute. Achievements have seemed pretty easy thus far if you're into that. It's worth a rent if you're into building businesses and whatnot. FYI, this isn't necessarily a kids game. This would more than likely bore children out of their minds. After doing a few feeding, hose, and sensory actions with the animals, I'd say they would be done after that. It's not really what this game is about. It's about running and maintaining a zoo, not going to a zoo and looking at all of the animals. Keep that in mind if you're wanting to rent it for your young children. But nonetheless, it's a pretty enjoyable game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zoo Tycoon for Xbox 360

posted by ConnPT11 (KENNETH CITY, FL) Oct 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

I had fun with this title. I've always enjoyed the Tycoon franchise since I was a kid and I thought that this was enjoyable as a rental. Would I purchase it now?? Probably not. Would I have purchased it at retail price?? DEFINITELY not. I thought that the graphics were good, the replay value was decent and I had a fun time with the different modes. Where it fell a little short for me was the zoo limit even when you have more space, lack of different SPECIES variation, and after awhile it just lost its charm. Definitely rent this one if you like the Tycoon games, but don't buy it unless you're a true diehard collector. Have fun!!~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

free play is awsome

posted by dogwhisperer (CONNERSVILLE, IN) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

this game reminded me how i got into these tycoon games. The animal interactions are done grate. The campaign objectives are a little flat but free play is where this game really shines and that is what i play this game for anyway Warning: if you have no imagination or creativity you will not like thing game sow stop giving this game bad revues non creative people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great fun, even for an adult!

posted by FaylinaMeir (OMAHA, NE) May 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

For those saying this is for kids, yeah it would be great but I'm a 27 yr old woman and I enjoyed this game too! The graphics are great and it has some challenging achievements. It can be almost stupidly hard at times to breed all the types of animals.
I'm only giving this a 7 because it has a fatal flaw of sometimes freezing your xbox requiring you to turn it off and back on. I found this gets really bad once your zoo gets larger sized making it harder to get achievements. I finally got so frustrated I returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Get really boring after a while

posted by CousinReactGame (SAN BRUNO, CA) Apr 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

This game is okay overall, but my only complaint with it, is that it gets INCREDIBLY boring after even 10 minutes of playing. I actually fell asleep by playing this game. And also (any players of the PC game),You cannot "get rid" of angry guests (kill them), which was my favorite part of that game.

It's fine, but it's a game that lacks some of the fun of the original game, and misses out on some of the most fun parts of the original game. It is worth the rent though. I liked what I played of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Surprisingly bad, even with lowered expectations

posted by Eric61425812 (NEWARK, DE) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

Can only make very small zoo. No actual challenge. Forced to go deep into menus constantly (and I mean CONSTANTLY thanks especially to the need to research everything for up to a minute and a half [one at a time!] before buying it). And the animal interactions that it seems everything was sacrificed for? Be ready to wait a literal minute or more for them to plod over to you for very little payoff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Zoo Tycoon

posted by klmkatz (LUFKIN, TX) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Eh...this game was just okay for me. I might have enjoyed it more...but I had to strain so hard to be able to read the words...that it just felt pointless after awhile. I think it would be easier to play on PC. My favorite part: riding/driving the buggy, of course.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Limited

posted by smitty517 (OREGON CITY, OR) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I love Sim games and really liked how this gamed played but the free mode has a zoo limit and i couldnt have more then like 6 different types of animals i could only fill up 1/4 of the map before it ran out of room. In the campaign mode you could game millions of dollars and not be able to spend it this really sucked i wanted one of each type of animal not every bread and I had to delete animals to get new ones it really sucked. I was hoping it would grow with my level but i filled up the zoo limit by the end of level 19 and now im level 41 and still haven't had an increase of the zoo limit so thus i am rating it really low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Zoo Tycoon

posted by slytye16 (BLACKSBURG, VA) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game was fun. The realism is pretty good. The campaign was fun but rather easy. Even the hard missions were beatable on two or three tries. As for being replayable, it leaves a lot to be wanted. The challenge mode is basically a sandbox mode. This is really fun but the cap on the buildings you can have really hurts this game. You can only have about 10 enclosures while there are many more animals that can fit into those areas. The campaigns are fun, but once they're beaten you get bored really quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An okay few day rental.

posted by jmbsuch (WESTLAND, MI) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Zoo Tycoon is a fun game, but soon becomes a game that you can't wait to complete and send back. When the zoo limit is reached it makes it difficult to achieve what you are working on. It throws everything off and you have to then decide what to get rid of. It would have been better if once you reached fame level 30 it unlocked more space.

My console froze quite a few times while playing this, thankfully this game auto-saves frequently and has a continue option. I found the transporting of animals messed the game up often and I would have to save my game and head to the main menu. However, I quickly learned that this cut out on the wait time it took for my animals to ship in and out. It took less time to save, quit, and load.

This game will test your memory when it comes to what you're looking for, or what animal you just selected. This was not always a good thing. Also, it may be a difficult play and quickly put down by kids less than middle school (6th grade in my day).

Overall, it was a good play the first day, but then became more of a job. Maybe that's what they were going for. I personally would not purchase this game to have in my collection. At one point I was only playing it for achievements, not so much for pleasure. An okay few day rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Flawed Gem

posted by LakinisAssassin (CLEARFIELD, UT) Feb 10, 2014

Member since May 2013

I have grown very fond of "build it" simulations. I have spent so many hours of my life micromanaging farms, theme parks, train stations, more theme parks, prisons, and theme parks. From my growing love in the genre I couldn't have been happier when I first delved into Zoo Tycoon.

The game may be "dumbed" down slightly from the PC version. But the controls on the gamepad work just fine. I thought the menu system was intuitive for the most part. However, navigation memory would have gone a long way into avoiding a few annoyances.

The animals look beautiful, but the people look stiff and gangly. The interactions you can play with the animals fall very short of entertaining, and seem like an odd addition. Animal care is tedious at first but not long into the game you are able to hire zoo keepers to do the dirty work for you.

The staff actually takes care of everything so well, that it almost plays to a fault. Once you hire them, that's it...everything runs perfectly. Sometimes a little need for micromanaging adds life into games like this. They almost seem pointless, as well as the tasks they complete. It would have been no different just removing them completely. That's a problem.

The biggest problem, however, is the limited amount of "space" you have to build. Not physically, but the allotted "pool" meter you are given to build fills extremely quickly. A much larger meter or an unlimited one would have added at least 2 points to my review of this game. The problem is so glaring it ruined the game for me when it filled up, and I was no longer interested in it. It ruined my "vision" so to speak and vastly limits the size of exhibits you can build and/or the variety of animals you want in your park.

It started promising, but ended up no better than the animal feces that your zoo keepers are tasked with cleaning up. Unnecessary and stinky.

Graphics 8/10
Sound 7/10
Playability 6/10
Entertainment 9/10
Re-playability 3/10
Kid Appeal

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So So

posted by Jay2smooth (VALDOSTA, GA) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Cool features that allow you be roam the zoo and drive a zoo buggy but nothing like zoo tycoon for PC which lets you design the size of each of exhibit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by bbrodriguez (TOLEDO, OH) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I remember playing Zoo Tycoon when I was young and always having a blast. So renting the Xbox 360 version was a no-brainer. At first the game caught my interest, but just after an hour of playing I grew very bored with the entire game. There was no variety to the types of animals you could have in your zoo. In the old games you could have a large variety, but in this game I felt like I was forever limited to Bear, Giraffes, Monkeys, Lions, Tigers, Rhinos, Hippos, and Elephants. Also, I did not like the small amount of land you were able to use. I either had to give the animals a tiny exhibit or only have two or three exhibits in my zoo. There was plenty of land left but I had reached my max!

When I turned to the campaign and scenario modes I thought I'd have more fun but was left disappointed. There was no end to the scenario or campaign. I finished the achievements, filled the zoo, made the money, and reached the fame levels, but the level never ended. I was under the impression that beating these levels would open more animals, or options in free play mode, but nothing ever happened for me. In the end I grew bored of the game quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »