Rent Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner for PS2
view large frontback

Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.6

594 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rent this game if you enjoy action or fighting

posted by volition (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's just fun to play, more than most other action games. Like an aerial Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden, only probably better in gameplay. Probably the perfect gamefly game - VERY good, but short, even though the replay value is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

if you've ever hated mech games you must try this

posted by RomesFu (DENVER, CO) Aug 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

many people hate mech games cause of the slow clunky controls the very slow bots and well most games just don't make you feel like wasting time or patience to learn the ins and outs. this game is completely different! within and hour of game play you will have a increasingly excellent grasp on the controls the the speed oh yeah this game is one of the fastest paced games out there more less mech games. try this one you will be so very grateful that you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Holy Grail of Mech Combat

posted by Delta782 (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game a while back and I remember playing it for the first time. After getting used to the controls, I kept thinking "This is how ALL mech games should be like." I'm surprised that more developers haven't created any combat system remotely as smooth as Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner in a mech game.

The graphics are pretty good, considering that this game is 3 years old. They make you feel like you're playing a more mature, "Gundam-like" anime movie. The combat is very smooth, with the ability to switch between targets on the fly and with very smooth animation transitions. The enemy AI is pretty good, but sometimes you get enemies who just rush at you and wait for you to almost kill them before they make an attack. The scale of some battles is incredible. You mostly fight by yourself in an enclosed space, but when you get into a large scale battle, you definitely feel the intensity and chaos of the fights going on around you.

The only cons I have with this game is that a couple of the boss fights felt like they were just thrown in for the sake of having another boss fight. Some of the objectives you have might require you to experiment a little bit until you find out what you need to do. Unfortunately, you have to make these experiments in the heat of battle, which can either be fun or annoying.

The story is decent, but don't come in expecting it to be like Final Fantasy. The only sort of multiplayer is a versus mode, which is alright for 5 minutes, but gets boring quickly.

I feel that I can safely say that Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner is the best mech combat game out there, even 3 years after its release. Rent this game, and you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Traveling Beyond the Bounds

posted by Saviour (MANCHESTER, CT) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

When I say "Traveling Beyond the Bouncds" I mean this game took off, WAY past my expectations. First off, I played this game without playing the first (Thank god, if I played the original I may not have forced my way into the 2nd one). I loved the mix of Game media and anime media, the stroyline is simple and original (as far as I know, haven't too many mech animes).

Sadley though if your one of those people who power house through games, you'll find this game has a short storyline, of cdourse thats met with surprisngly difficult missions that require you to do things that are more challenging then it seems, from carrying machines across levels to defeating over 500 machines at once (yeah it's that big).

one of the things I found to be a big nuisence is that half of the boss characters you fight can't be hurt by physical attacks until you do something drastic, such as picking up specfic objects and throwing them at the correct time.

So to play this game you need to be good at hack n slashing and have good timing, otherwise you'll hear your pilot going "Aw C-R-A-P!" ALOT.

Beware though, if you find yourself eaisly distracted, during some of the cut scenes playing with your analog stick can mess with the angle and/or zoom of either your pilot's camera or your mechs Point of View, which I have found on numerous occassions to have distracted me from the storyline leaving me guessing as to what happened. The game starts out with highly difficult missions but once you get the hang of it, it's nothing to worry about, this game is good and worth a rent, I'm not surprised on how rare this game might seem, honestly I believe it deserved a "Greatest hits" version.

Until then, I'll enjoy what I remember, this game is worth a rent and if you can find it in a store for cheap, BUY IT.
9/10
Aw C-R-A-P! My review's over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT

posted by Zack18 (WELLINGTON, FL) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

ZOE 2 is exactly how mech games and a sequal should be. it was better then the first and the controls are great. it was a little short but the storyline and re play is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gotta like anime

posted by cb7tuner (MONTEBELLO, CA) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

The gameplay was fluid but repetitive. I am not a fan of anime so the story line did nothing for me. Because of this I could not enjoy the game since I did'nt care about the charachters. You have a limited amount of moves and even on hard mode the game was simple to play. If you like mech games and anime then this is the game for you other wise dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just plain fun.

posted by Jeremymia (GAINESVILLE, FL) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

One Sentance Review: Better than the first in all ways and one of the only games that never slows down and is just FUN the entire time, which is what games should be.

Whiny-old Leo is back from Zone of Enders one, and he's been improved greatly: Specifically, he's not the protaganist. You'll enjoy a much more interesting (and less annoying) main character in a much better game.

But first, some notes on this series. This is not a game where you need to play the first to enjoy the second, although there will be some minor spoilers (if you care - the plot from the first game isn't exactly compelling.) The first one was a great game, but its sequel is just superior in every way. The graphics are, surprisingly, improved. So is the story (it's actually good now), and ESPECIALLY the gameplay.

This game has a perfect gameplay. It's not easy and the creators have pulled off a difficultly that does not rely on tedium, and not only skill, but also strategy.

I played on hard mode at first, which was frusterating at first - I died a LOT - but it was so enjoyable when I came up with a winning idea. The word here is "SATISFYING"!

The game is short, but you'll replay it.

Now, some notes on improvements from the first:
-As said before, better story and protaganist
-Less of those "save the citizens!" missions.
-More variety in gameplay
-More interesting cinematics
-Subweapons used to be useless. Now they're not only useful, but they have a variety of uses that are best in different situations.
-Lots of bosses, all but one of them fun.
-And most importantly, combat is just better.

So many games try for THIS. Short and punchy, with well-paced inreases in difficulty. This game pulled it off PERFECTLY. You'd be doing yourself a disservice if you didn't play it, because I don't think it's possible to dislike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Taking it up a notch

posted by Rytiko (Estero, FL) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

The game only has you going for 7-8 hours, maybe less. Every second of it is fantastic, though. The new and improved game play perfectly fits the anime-style mech combat that the first game was obviously influenced by but failed to provide. The combat is amazing, pitting you against a minimum of 3-6 enemies at a time, ranging up to a massive battle of possibly a thousand or more. In fact, the challenge can be more than overwhelming at times, and you’re sure to screw up somewhere and get totally pwned by the countless number of AI frames or fleet of battleships. After all, the AI is more than respectable, adapting to your fighting style and getting slightly more challenging each and every time you fight them. However, this challenge is made much easier by the amazingly smooth controls fitting to the stature and speed-orientation of the Orbital Frames. You’ll be carrying out an action so gracefully sometimes you’ll wonder if you even pressed the button to do that.

Also improved are the graphics. Rather than the attempt to make computerized anime style cut scenes, they actually did it anime style. The in-game graphics are also more than respectable, mixing in that anime style with the sleek beauty of the robots. You feel exactly as you should – like you’re fighting in a giant robot anime. And despite the constant action, countless explosions, and hundreds of laser beams, missiles, and beam swords flying by and flailing around, it maintains a consistent and smooth frame rate.

Zone of the Enders: The 2nd Runner truly is everything a sequal should be. The game is an improvement of the original in every way imaginable, and if it weren’t so short I would recommend that you buy it. There is a versus mode and extra missions to be unlocked, so you’ll still be playing long after you clear the single player campaign if you have friends to play the game with or if you just get a kick out of blowing some more stuff up. You can also replay the game with all your sub weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beyond The Bounds!

posted by PerfectCha (SHORELINE, WA) Feb 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This is undoubtedly one of the best games for the PS2 I have ever played, full of ultra high speed combat, with the zero shift feature being the most fantastic combat element I've ever seen in a game.

The story line is jaw dropingly complex and fascinating, the cut scenes drawn out in a superb anime like fashion.

The gameplay is relatively simple yet has many advanced niches that totally change the experience, but are not necessary to complete the game nor conflicting with the more "basic" elements of the control scheme. As a result, beginners and expert gamers alike can play this game and have a blast, with just the right amount of challenge and explosive action, ZoE: The 2nd Runner blows any competition out of the water.

The music is amazing as well, from the theme song to the end boss music, the fast paced, intense soundtracks enthralls you into the game's story and gets you hyped up for some High Speed Robot Action, just as the game was meant to. The voice acting is perfect, translation is mostly perfect with only a few variations here and there from it's Japanese sister title, it's hard to find a flaw in this game.

Undoubtedly, this is a must play title. What are you waiting for? Go and do whatever it takes to get your hand on this rare gem of a game!

With all said and done, there's only one question remaining...

Do YOU request control instructions?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome but short

posted by Dacjr05 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

This game was very good. It reminded me of Eureka Seven. The only problem is how short the game is. I beat it in about 5 hours. Great story, great gameplay just too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome title!

posted by kodaikun (CAROLINA SHORES, NC) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

From music, to action, to explosions galore, this game has everything an action game needs to be a must have. You really feel like you're in control, which makes gameplay all the better.

Boss battles are varied, from easy to almost insane. The different types of weapons also helps make this better than a typical action game.

Downside is that it's short, which can be good if you're looking for a quick shoot-em-up fest.

Voice acting is decent. I've seen worse. Have also seen better, but it helps add to the story, even if it does drag on at times.

In the end, ZOE2 improves on ZOE, and makes a game everyone should give a go at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated game

posted by DarkScion1 (MANORVILLE, NY) Sep 9, 2006

Member since May 2006

Its a shame most people have never heard of this game. ZOE2 is one of my more favorite games on the PS2 system.

ZOE2 is fast paced, non stop action, and fun throughout the whole game. Some boss battles can be frustrating, and others are way too easy. These are the only faults with ZOE2, along with the game taking 6 hours to beat. Despite these minors flaws, you will won't find many more solid games on the PS2.

It's hard to classifly what kind of game ZOE2 is. Some consider it a "mech" game, but the mechs in ZOE2 are more like the ones in the Gundam Wing anime series. Basically ZOE2 is a mech game that blends arcade flight simulator and hack n slash like Devil May Cry.

The weapons, the gameplay, the graphics, are excellent, thus making for an excellent game. All I can say is play ZOE2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesdome

posted by stryfe1986 (Tempe, AZ) Sep 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

its an awesome game, the way the first should have been, all i got to say is if you like this type or gundam type games than this game is for you!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good

posted by Jonathan (CARPINTERIA, CA) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

a excellent game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Graphics: 9 Gameplay: 10 Overall: 12!!!!!

posted by ColdEl (DENVER, CO) Jul 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Ok this is a rare review for me because I absolutely adore this game! I only gave the overall a 12 because It kicks so much Butt. Its sad to say that game fly does not have plenty copies on hand for there members to rent cause im sure people want to try it, so what I did is I just bought the game again lol. This game is superb in almost every way possible, the graphics are my fav cause I Love cell shaded/anime look so no worries there. The game play is fantastic, especialy after you get zero shift! If you are playing through the game the first time your going to have to find way to beat bosses but most of the time ADA (the on board computer on jehuty) Will give you hints, for the most part after you beat the game things get very interesting fast.. I mean you unlock more
frames (Mecha type machine) and you begin to realise that you are unstopable, even on hard it is easy lol, but still it kicks substantial butt. There is versus as well to play around with your friends and that can be very interesting and fun fun! I recomend this game for anyone who Love mecha anime like robotech ot rahzephon! Please do your self a favour and purchase this game! Because Game fly does not seem to get the picture that this is a near perfect game! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ZOE 2: Image of perfection

posted by NewRevan (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

Ok now if you have not yet played the first game close this and go buy it. You might understand it better if you played the first game. For one if you do not like anime then do not look at this game. With several anime cutscenes it was rather enjoyable. The only real problem is the main charcter's name of Dingo Egret. Graphics, sound, countrols, story, replay value, all 10. Really fun all round. If you are trying to get this game through Gamefly do not waste the time. You will wait forever. Just go, buy it, and save yourself the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »