Rent ZombiU for Wii U
view large frontback

ZombiU

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

598 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The"critic" review is lame-duck

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

The critics have given this game some very bad reviews over the last several days, but the more I play this, the more I see how misunderstood it has been. This IS NOT a shooter. This game is within the genre that Silent Hill was before they started giving out loads of ammunition and focusing on repetitive story. It absolutely IS Horror/Survival.

Graphics
Spot on and dark, as any zombie game should be. They are designed to keep you on your toes.

Story
Dark and vague. You don't know the main character, but you do feel a sense of attachment as you scramble from relative safety to relative safety throughout the game, searching for a way to keep safe. You will quickly learn that there is no safe place. Your character changes each time you die. Their backstory is limited to a name and occupation. What their lives were no longer matters. The world has ended.

Sound
Moans and Groans... and strange creaks and buzzes of electrical wire... screams.... silence... it's all a bit much when played alone in the dark with the realization that to actually beat the game requires you to see them before they see you. You only live once, as it were.

Controls
Well thought out, well mapped, hectic, and hard to use. It is meant to be this way. Don't knock it just because you can't play. They work very well...nearly flawless.

Replay
There is a multiplayer that is currently offline only (that could change considering how Nintendo chose to do updates and such with this game.... things can be patched and added or taken away by devs with relative ease... but don't count on it... maybe in a sequel). That multiplayer will change how you look at multiplayer and you WILL experience hours of fun watching the survivor be destroyed. I found myself laughing preposterously, and annoyingly (to the survivor's dismay), every time the survivor died. On the other hand, surviving comes down to peripheral vision and tact... don't lose track of your surroundings, particularly behin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't listen to reviews

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2003

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to the reviews from most websites and so-called professional reviewers.

This game is a slow paced survival zombie game, not a normal run-n-gun style that they wanted. It has plenty of atmosphere and you will be scared at times and will most likely die many, many times.

One bite and that character is turned, and if not playing on survival mode, will start with a new character with little supplies and ammo. You will have to fight your former self to get your stuff back.

This games deserves at least a rental from anyone who has a Wii U and wants to kill or try to survive a zombie appacolyse. After playing you will probably keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game just not for me

posted by skeeter149 (LANCASTER, CA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i enjoyed my time with zombi u. it is dark, slow paced and i cant put enough emphasis on tense. constant fear of whats lurking around the corner. great use of the pad, graphics are not the best. just too slow and calculated for me. you have to think about every action because when the zombies come your in trouble. at least worth a rental if your not gonna buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zombi U = Pure Weew!

posted by cerealkeller (EMPORIUM, PA) Jun 17, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the demo for this game and hated it. Hated it! Using the controllers screen to scan rooms and sort through gear was irritating at first. But, I decided to give the game a try and I'm so glad I did. It turns out that the controller adds another layer of immersion you don't usually experience. Ubisoft really did an excellent job here. I thought, there is no way a release title for the Wii U is going to be any good. I'm happy to be proven wrong. The graphics are pretty good. Right on par with pretty much any console game of the highest quality. Very impressive. The sound was really good too. You could tell where things were coming from and hear them clearly and determine distance. It's pretty much like any zombie game. You run around and kill zombies and try to survive. But survival is far more important in this game. If you die, you're screwed. Unless you go back, find your zombiefied body, you lose all the gear you carrying. Which happened to me a couple times. I lost some awesome weapons and it really P'd me off. I was almost ready to quit playing after that. Fortunately I decided to finish the game. It does have a story, one that is actually pretty realistic. I loved the realism, and found later that there were "special" zombies that had powers. Like spitting acid or electricity. That kind of killed the atmosphere a bit, but they always drop good stuff. So that made up for it. If you own a Wii U and you're old enough to enjoy a zombie game in pitch black at night. You're gonna love this game. I found that I was actually very immersed. At first I was really nervous and kind of panicked when I had to fight zombies, later on I got it together, sucked it up and finally realized the reality of my situation and started blowing away some zombie scum. The aiming mechanics are quite good. I find I'm terrible with this huge controller, but became quite good at this game with some practice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) May 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very fun and atmospheric game. The gamepad integration is really cool. This is a 15 hour game with pretty good visuals and good sound. You will experience a lot of frame drops but its not terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EPIC!

posted by CheekyFaqir (BURLINGTON, VT) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ZombiU is by far the best zombie survival game EVER! The devs at Ubisoft did a phenomenal job taking the "run-n-gun" out of this survival type game. It's always too easy to just run into a horde with limitless ammo and supplies that are a button press away from being used. Now you have to plan, evade, outwit and just survive. The frustration of death is an integral part of the game... after all, you aren't supposed to die, that's the point to a zombie apocalypse so it's the point in this game. The survival mode is the best part of the single player game. It's a "one and done" type of play, if your character dies... GAME OVER. Otherwise, in normal mode, you'd have to hunt your previous characters zombie down to get your supplies back.
The storyline, gameplay and controls are awesome. With the gamepad being your survival kit, this is the most immersing zombie survival game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First Wii U Game!

posted by Praqtix (MURRIETA, CA) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just beat zombie u and it is Epic. Everything about this game is awesome. I only wish there was more DLC but the game is intense from start to finish. Alternate endings make it worth playing again. Also, Survival mode makes you want to know how far you could survive. I would recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

likeing it

posted by lizzokane (OMAHA, AR) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like the way the game started , i really feel like a surviver im only 30 mins in and its good so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Suspense around every corner...

posted by ZombieShock (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ZombiU is not your Call of Duty style survival, if you were hoping it was, its not. Supplies are scarce, very scarce. Zombies are not very easy to kill on Normal (Chicken is another story) and there are surprises around every corner. Once you die, its not game over (with the exception to Survival mode) rather you become another survivor and must track down your now Zombified Survivor.

Other players that play can leave messages around the world via pictograms. This can prove to be useful but the best of it all is when another survivor dies. Once another survivor dies, you may encounter their Zombie, once you do, prepare to enjoy its bearings. Overall the game can feel very rewarding once you go on loot runs and upgrade you arsenal. The game tends to take a sweet victory and turn it sour very quickly, of course that is your job to prevent it.

Multiplayer is limited to local, and can be enjoyed, but not as much as the single player. Multiplayer consist of two players (one a survivor, and the other a Zombie King) battling it out through battles like Surviving and Capturing Flags. The player with the gamepad has the ability to spawn zombies as the survivors role is to simply survive and win. Good news is that the gameplay feels very balanced in the sense that the Zombie King is limited on his spawning abilities and the survivor is well prepped for war.

Overall its a good game and worth trying. This game may not suite all but will provide tremendous entertainment to others as they experience the thrills, chills, and desires to last longer within the Zombie Apocalypse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zombi U

posted by Psiclonius (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Creepy but fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by L0L247 (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great survival horror game it takes the genre back to its roots. Scary and full of chilling environments it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Be warned its tough and does require backtracking but well worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but short (6-9 hr playtime)

posted by peon91 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The ending was horrible! :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth a rent at least

posted by suparbrad (SHORELINE, WA) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's get one thing straight, this game can be hard and frustrating. This isn't some L4D zombie lawnmower game. This is a real survival game. Death punishes you. You lose your items, which you may have to hunt down again if you mess up twice, and your former character becomes one more zombie in the situation that killed you to begin with. This is what makes it great. There aren't a lot of jump scares or hordes you can't deal with, but if you're playing to win, to survive, you will constantly be on edge. Even a single infected can put an end to your game. Get three on you and you're probably done. That's what I like about it. The character isn't some supercop that can fight monsters with ease, it's just a person trying to get by.

Ubisoft has also demonstrated what a 3rd party dev can do with the touchscreen. It's a weapon swap, inventory, map, radar, and scanner all in one. All of these functions perform quite well without being distracting. Even when you can locate zombies with the radar, it doesn't make things easier. Some don't show up on radar, some are actually just animals, but worst of all is the simple fear of knowing there is something nearby, perhaps several somethings. Those somethings could drop your score back to zero if they get the drop on you.

With that being said, it isn't a perfect game. The storyline behind it is fairly cliche for the genre and a playthrough is pretty short. Survival (one death) mode can add in replayability, but it is incredibly hard and you will likely find yourself getting too familiar with the game trying to beat it. Ultimately easier survival comes in knowing when the scripted moments of the game are and how to react. The fact that items can be shuffled randomly means even in repeat playthroughs, you will have to scan and scan and scan or check a lot of empty lockers to find yourself the scraps you need to get by.

Overall, a good game if you can handle some challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Survival Horror at Its Finest

posted by oldblue910 (MORRISVILLE, NC) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ZombiU offers something gamers haven't had in a long time...an honest-to-God survival horror game that is more about survival than about shooting and hacking anything that moves. If you want a zombie game like Dead Rising, seek ye fun elsewhere. If you like old-school survival horror a-la the first three Resident Evil games, read on!

All the classic elements of a good survival horror game are here. You must loot bodies to find items, ammo is scarce, etc, but ZombiU also adds its own brilliant element to the equation. If you die, you wake up as a new survivor and nothing but a cricket bat and a pistol with 6 rounds. The only way to get your stuff back is to go kill your now-zombified former self and take it back. If you die before doing this, you lose everything. Looting is also a challenge because the game does not pause. Instead, the game makes you look down at your gamepad and drag items to your backpack, all the while leaving you wide open to be attacked by a zombie. While looting, it's imperative that you look back up at the TV every few seconds to make sure nothing's coming.

The combat is pretty satisfying overall, if a little repetitive. Since ammo is very scarce, you'll find yourself using your trusty cricket bat the most in order to conserve ammo for times when you really need it. Some zombies can take quite a few hits with that bat before going down so you'll find yourself mindlessly swatting away and sometimes this can get a little old.

The atmosphere of ZombiU is very dark and gritty. The graphics are definitely sub-par compared to other Wii U titles like Batman: Arkham City or Mass Effect 3, but graphics alone do not a great game make. What it lacks in graphical beauty, it makes up for in being downright scary. There are parts of this game that will make a grown man squeal like a school girl. Playing this game makes you very tense. The atmosphere sucks you in and really tries to make the player part of the game, and I love it for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ZombiU!

posted by ChazB (DINUBA, CA) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, well I've played a good amount of survival horror games, and as well as zombie games. This game is a nice mix of both genres while also challenging you to a good degree.

I'm still not that far and I can't see how people can beat the game with one survivor LOL. The controls might be why I'm not super good at getting head shots every time I shot, but I've gotten use to it and am getting better. You might want to buy that regular looking controller for this game but then Idk how you would use the radar and everything else.

Anyways, this game is really fun and can make you get irritated as [a word I can't even say even when it's not a bad word!] because you die 10 times at the same place. But when you finally get farther, you keep on wanting to get farther and farther until you beat the game! It's pretty Darn addicting for sure. I love the gamepad, the menu,equipment, etc. is all on the little screen and even in the most craziest moments you can get what you need to distract, kill, and loot the zombies in a record time.

If you got a Wii U, GET THIS GAME! ATM New Mario and ZombiU is the best games you can get. Batman,Assassins Creed 3, Mass Effect 3, and Rayman Legends though are really amazing too! If gamestop has the rayman demo, PLAY IT!

Anyways, ZombiU gets an 8.5 out of 10 for me. It seriously is the perfect zombie/survivor horror game I've played in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great survival horror game!

posted by Anim8r (OVIEDO, FL) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know that most reviewers have given this title low scores but they are judging it as an FPS title which it is not. This game is a tremendous first person survival horror game. Survival being the key word here. I have never played a game as heart pounding and anxiety heightening as this. It is truly a must for any Wii U owner, who doesn't mind it's nightmare inducing epicness of trying to survive in a zombie apocalypse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ZombiU

posted by DIRTYNINJA13 (ROCHELLE PARK, NJ) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's good horror, fun, a little hard but it's worth it's time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Zombie Game That’s Made for – Some of Us

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

ZombiU is not a game about the students from Monster High going on to college – it’s your average zombie apocalypse. In this game, you play as one of the few survivors of the zombie outbreak, and it’s up to you to get out there and try to find a cure for the infected undead.
To do that, you use your WiiU pad to pick up items, unlock doors, search for hidden items, pick locks, remove barricades and so on. This game makes great use of the WiiU pad- and the graphics on both the pad an on the TV are top notch.
The fighting controls do take some time to get used to – especially the melee controls (which you will be using a lot of because guns and ammo are in short supply here.) But I found it very satisfying to beat the heck out of a zombie in a one on one situation.
But for all the great things this game offers, the one feature they put into it to separate it from other games in the genre may be the greatest headache for some players.
If you die in this game, you will take over another survivor – back at the beginning of the game. This poses several problems.
First off, you have to go back to where you past self died – and if you haven’t found the shortcuts, you could be in for a VERY long hike.
And you lose all your items and skills; you only get the cricket bat and a gun with six shots in it – which may make it tough for you to beat back the zombies that killed off your past self. This can lead to many, many deaths – and to very frustrated players. I figure that a lot of us will beg for the checkpoint system where we pick up near where we died last, and with all our gear – no matter how unrealistic that is.
It’s too bad this game can really infuriate players because if you can get far into this game, then you are rewarded with bigger guns, several vast areas to explore, a story with a few nice twists, and the ability to upgrade your guns.
ZombiU is one game that is a define rent, and anyone looking for a challenging action shooter will want to pick it up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The low scores are undeserved.

posted by Element187 (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I give this title a 9(8.5 would have been fine before they patched game breaking bugs)

Loved this game. I love the horror genre, and this is the first title in over 10 years to really get my heart pounding. Ubisoft did a fantastic job creating tension so thick you can cut it with a knife.

Two Reasons people give the game a bad score:

1. Brutally difficulty... this shouldn't be a knock but a positive. Yes the punishment is steep for death. So plan your attacks and moves carefully and thoughtfully.

2. Its not CoD... People need to rate games as what they are supposed to be, not what they wish it was. You are not going to run and gun and mow down zombies... in fact if you go up against 2 zombies at once, chances are you are going to join them. This game is supposed to be a survival horror game, not a first person shooter. Take it for what it is. A game of stealth, planning and ammo conservation.

Go into the game with an open mind and come out with a rewarding experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ZombiU

posted by Pinkymarcus (VISTA, CA) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has great grapics and auditory engagement. It really pulls you into the game. The play takes a minute to get used to but it is still engaging in the first few tries. It would be better if it included some muti-player on quests and online. I mean seriously who goes into a zombie apocalypse alone? Some glitches and a few tools are hard to figure out their purpose, but otherwise more than worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by bigjerm666 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

dont let the cod fans get under your skin. this is a tacical very slow moving scarry zombie game. 10++ awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by rjreeder64 (ANTIOCH, TN) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Zombi U is a similar to dead island..its all about survival in this game and making split decisions for every encounter. You have to determine whether its best to use your last 10 rounds on a horde of zombies hoping that you land all head shots or use your last molotov cocktail. The decisions you make will determine your survival. There are some parts of the game that will literally scare the heck out of you, you may be looting a dead body and then when you turn around you have two zombies waiting to kill you. This is a great game for zombie lovers and even so for people who may be new to zombie survival games. This game is no Dead Rising game where you have almost an unlimited source of weapons, no this is true fight for survival. The gamepad help you when you are in a tight spot, equipped with a map once you hack security systems and a radar to help locate where the zombies are, but even with that being said nothing that you are equipped with keeps you safe for long. One wrong turn can determine the difference between life and death and if you die, you pick back up as a new survivor, and its always a good idea to find and kill the last survivor, who at this point is a zombie now, so that you can loot all of the items that they found before dying. this game has a creepy feel to it, but not enough to make you want to play with all the lights on in the house.....but then again that may help with the creepy feel that this game has. Zombi U is by far the best zombie game that I have played in quite some time and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see what its really like to be placed in a world where survival is the ultimate task. Zombi U is well worth buying if you never get a chance to rent it, you wont be disappointed.

Graphics- 9
Gameplay- 10
Re play value- 8
Controls- 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

intense,epic,and jump scares all at the same time

posted by firered (LINCOLN, NE) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

with the week of me having zombiu i got threw most of the story and i can tell you the story was very nice but what really gets this game a 10 is its true zombie survival theres only been one other series to do this and that was resident evil "which now is ruined" this game keeps you on the edge the whole times since you never want to die and risk loseing your stuff and skills in weapons overal i give the game a 10 but here are the scores for what i think gameplay visuals and other stuff in the game is rated to be 10

visuals 8

gameplay 10

story 10

scares 10

true zombie horror? yes 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

awesome game... could have been even more amazing.

posted by SARS (EL PASO, TX) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

awesome game... could have been even more amazing. There was so much that could have been with this game. None the less itwas a great first attempt loking forward to future sequels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Please don't think this game is a Shooter

posted by G1ovonn1 (ACWORTH, GA) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is based upon surviving an apocalyptic zombie virus. Don't expect to run around shooting zombies at your free will, or thinking the zombies are push overs. The name of the game is surviving at all cost, even if you must retreat. The Graphics aren't the best I've seen on a console, but aren't the worst, the story line is simple and expands as the player progresses.

What's different about this zombie game compared to the rest are the death sequences. Once the character you use dies, he/she is no longer playable and has become a zombie in the game. This can be a headache because all your weapon upgrades and items are with that particular zombie. Once You take control of a new survivor who continues the adventure, he she can retrieve all the gear back by killing the previous antagonist, which can be found in the spot where they died. This can be a pain simply because you may have died a great distance from the restarting point.

The Wiiu tablet controller makes for great fun. 45 percent of the action happens on the tablet controller. Things like, sight aiming, and gun scope aiming happens on the controller. also your inventory (backpack), radar, lock picking, and puzzle solving happens on the controller. The game lets you know when to view the controller too.

The atmosphere is dark, so dark it can become hard to see. Not to worry, you do have a flash light that covers a limited amount of visual space, but be careful light and loud sounds attract zombies. There are rats that run across the screen, and sounds that can make you jump. when those elements are combined with the eerie visuals and dark scenes of the game, it makes for a jumpy experience.

In my opinion, the game is your basic zombie survival horror, but spices it up with the wiiu controller interactions and re-spawning challenges. The controls may take some time to get used to, but doesn't hinder the experience. I give it

3.5 out five

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse