Rent Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2008 for DS
view large frontback

Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

310 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

How did I spend 200 hours on this(in a good way)?

posted by Devkit (CENTREVILLE, VA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now, obviously you don't need to read about Yu-Gi-Oh! and how it started up and stuff. So, let's just move on to the game itself.

World Championship 2008. Yu-Gi-Oh! has become the Madden of card games for consoles. This game is pretty outdated considering YGO 5D's has come out and is up to four booster packs(Duelist Genesis, Crossroads of Chaos, Crimson Crisis, and Raging Battle) in Japan. WC08 goes up to Gladiators' Assault(I think). But, if you want a card game on the go, this is it(or if you have a PSP..).

Gameplay/Story - 10/10

Story? There's NO story whatsoever in WC08 except for the fact that you're a young duelist striving to be #1. The gameplay is addicting. If you like YGO, you will spend at least 100 hours on WC08. There's just so many different deck builds to work with. There's also Wi-Fi which is pretty good although there's a lot of hackers and disconnectors(there seems to be a lot less of them when you're looking for a duel with the September 08 banlist).

Graphics - 5/10

Graphics, I can't believe you would want graphics in a card game. All monster cards have a 3D-ish look when they're face-up on the field. Some look nice, some look bad. The dueling fields, at least they don't disintegrate your eyes.

Music/Sound - 0.5/10

Music, you'll just want to turn down your volume, because you would rather listen to silence. The sound, you have your standard summoning sound clips and attack/defense sound clips.

Overall - 10/10

Why does this deserve a 10/10? Well, WC08 is actually addicting and enjoyable. That's all I want from games really. Despite WC08 having weak graphics and weak music/sound, I still find it to be an alright experience for the YGO fans that can't afford real cards and have a DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

my first Yu-Gi-Oh game

posted by GaminLife (POTOMAC, MD) May 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was my first Yu-Gi-Oh game experience and it was one of the best games i have ever played i truly enjoyed it.

the pros for me were
i got to make my own duelest.
the graphics were amazing!!!
and last but not least it was so insanly addictive i did not eat for 24hrs!!(nor sleep)

the cons
no storyline
repetitive low lvl and usless cards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by Armaro (LIVINGSTON, TX) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This is a step up from the last yu-gi-oh game i played

Pros: the monsters pop out of the cards like the show, opponents are actually a challenge, you can make your own avatar.

Cons: It takes awhile to get decent cards, you don't get money fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yu-Gi-Oh! World Championship 2008

posted by dragonman6 (SOUTH BEND, IN) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is both fun and exicting it does keep my attention I would
recommend this game for anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by Ryoma12 (VALLEJO, CA) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

dude, if u like to play yugioh cards, u got to get this game, it has so a lot of new cards that u haven't even seen before, and lots of powerful cards, so i recommend to buy it right away, but this game is far the best yugioh game, for ds, so u should buy this now, come on its cool! u will never regret it, trust me, xD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what i expected.

posted by SilverKila (BATON ROUGE, LA) Feb 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for some type of storyline, but i only went against monster. That got really ignoring. also the story bores you to death as you have to beat the same person 5 times just to unlock one card.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great but good for wasting time

posted by warlord101 (BARTOW, FL) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't as good as I had expected it to be. I would say the only good part was that the monsters looked very cool on screen. The Duel World mode wasn't very long(I beat it in one night) but you can play it just for the duels. The cards were up to date. The other duelist's (which were monsters themselves) were very good or smart. Overall a good game to whip out when you've got nothing to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yugioh

posted by yugioh101 (COLUMBIA, MO) Jun 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is bad it if you want a good yugioh game i recomend yugioh gx tag force

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »