Rent Your Shape: Fitness Evolved for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Your Shape: Fitness Evolved

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

1685 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a bad workout game at all

posted by thebat411 (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

20 out of 21 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

1st with the bad: I only have two things I don't like. I the first is that they don't have any workouts with pushups and sit ups. Hopefully this will become available as downloadable content some time soon. My other complaint is that I want downloadable content already. You have games like Dance Central that offers songs to dl, but nothing new for this game. Other than that I think the game is pretty solid. Some of the workouts can be pretty exhausting and it's nice to switch it up from my daily routine. I dig the workouts already in this game and I can imagine the developer releasing some hard stuff for those of us that are weight junkies. I'll be keeping this game come payday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Feel the burn!

posted by tnycaps8 (ASTORIA, NY) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a great Kinects game. you really get a full body work out. the thing to remember is to do the Zen aka Yoga / Stretching exercises before you do any type of real work out. I pulled a leg muscle and had a limp for a week. I also wish that you could pause the game with the controller. I kept being interrupted by ringing phones and door bells and couldn't find out how to the stop the training sessions. all in all, it was a great workout and the gamer experience has a fun factor that keeps you in to the workout. I give it a A- {8 out of 10}

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by Pepper22 (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love how it scans you right into the game...and when my ferrets walk into the game pad it doesn't mess with it and they show up on the tv...too much fun :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by 0rbital (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just bought a Kinect over the weekend and picked this up. I'm very impressed. I've done a few cardio boxing classes and a few of the personal training programs. There's an impressive amount of programs to choose from. There's also a good amount of DLC out. I bought the bundle of Bollywood dance class and the New Year New You program for my wife. She really likes the Bollywood class. Well worth the money IMO. I'm sore today...

The tracking is very good, seeing yourself on the screen next to the trainer is nice you can really keep in sync that way. I've read reviews about it not tracking some moves well and nagging you. I haven't had a problem really. I think of the other workout programs are as good as thing one I'll be buying them too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Shape Fitness

posted by Moginabox (SOUTH GATE, CA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I thought at first Kinect was going to be a piece of junk, but playing this game made a big difference of my opinion.

I used to work out regularly, but it doesn't come as near as Kinect. Kinect makes a plan designed just for you. It helps you achieve the goals you're looking to accomplish with your look, shape, appearance, etc.

This game is really good for anyone determined to lose weight. It's more of a keeper than it is a rental, at least in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game !!!

posted by G1ovonn1 (ACWORTH, GA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Next to Kinect Sports this is one of the bst games to get for the Kinect. Very Responsive, no Lag, and a work out so good, at the end you will have a nice wonderful tight a$% I give it a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Nate2g3 (COLUMBIA, SC) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

My thighs have been hurting for 2days now, if u dont wanna excerise without leaving the house, this is the game for u. My wife works out with this everyday. A must have, buying this game should be the only option for this!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

whata workout

posted by davifitzgr (HARWICH, MA) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

this game does what i need it to do. makes me sweat alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not What I Expected...

posted by rivencleft (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game will give you one heck of a workout, but not in a good way. There is no warm up so if you plan on playing warm up before hand. There is also limited choice as to which areas you can work. I personally was looking for an ab workout, there was no specific choice for this. The game instructs you as you work, but does not show you beforehand how to preform the exercises before you start, it just throws you right in to the workout. I felt like I was doing the same things over and over. Not good as a personal trainer. Was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best workout for kinect, for now.

posted by FawksHawk (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Your Shape: Fitness Evolved was the "launch ready" head of what is primed to be a filled fitness market for the Kinect. And through the first month, it still holds as the only functional one to hit the market.

First things first. There is a disclaimer that should be offered on the box but is not. You will have to dress the part to play this game. Wide spread reports of the game not tracking well have been widely chalked up to baggy clothes. And by baggy, they mean anything you would normally wear.

If you're of the spandex wearing family, you'll be fine. Basketball shorts or baggier and you're out of luck. The best recommendation that could be made is something between form fitting and athletic cut shirts, and pants that clearly expose the knee (Soccer shorts do the trick nicely).

In the game itself, you'll fine a good variety of things to do (With downloadable content supposedly down the road). You can work out with your virtual trainer to tone, or do cardio. Enjoy a mix of Yoha/Tai Chi in the 'Zen' area, or engage in some slightly more aggressive kick boxing. And play 1 of 4 minigames in the 'Gym' area.

The game does a good job of tracking your calories while you work, but really shines in its ability to make you feel dumb. It will bark at you to alter your form during an exercise rather regularly. This is wholly, a good thing.

The only other real flaws lie in it's lack of warm up (Stretch before you game people), and any ground based exercise (Hopefully this will be corrected in the downloads to come.)

If you're looking at for fitness for your Kinect, this is really only the viable option at the moment, but that doesn't make it any less good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but.....

posted by Sinister (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game will really give you a workout. I couldn't walk for almost 2 days. lol. BUT.....In certain workouts it will keep telling you you arnt doing it right when you know you are. So, if you can get past the fact that your score is 0% versus 100% on a certain exercise, then you'll love this game. Despite my poor grades on how properly I was doing everything, I still loved it and even bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great use of the Kinect and a great work out tool.

posted by pyrofire43 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

For anyone who bought their Kinect t lose some weight, Your Shape: Fitness Evolved is a must have.

Pro:
-The game is a very satisfying experience. The menu and environment has a zen feel that makes you feel comfortable and engaged.
-Navigating Your Shape is intuitive and much more fluid than some of the other Kinect-game's menus.
-The game gives you feed back and works like a mirror to not only see your self, but to see you next to you virtual training, which allows you to see how your doing.
-The game's music syncs with the workout giving you a rhythm to better help your timing.
-There's a good variation of workouts that work your legs, abs, and arms.
-Their website keeps track of your stats and allow you to view, and post your accomplishments online.
-Pausing is as easy as walking off the screen, allowing you to take breaks without lifting and arm.
-The game has a list of programs allowing novices to be given workouts that help with certain goals, IE toning, cardio, etc.

Con:
-The Kinect has a hard time recognizing some workouts and tracking where feet end and the floor separate. Most workouts force you to lag behind your training in order to stay in sync and don't give you any forgiveness for being a little early.
-Not enough skins to choose between.
-The commercials and game cover show degrees measured and displayed, but I haven't seen anything like what they advertise. The closes tool would be the skeleton they impose on you for zen classes. It's a little bit of false advertising.
-The game doesn't allow its calorie score to take weight into consideration (but this may be so that some people can't cheat at leader boards.)
-The menu doesn't display pictures of the workouts highlighted, only list the name.
-The game doesn't allow you to create your own exercise plan.
-The foot menu buttons for Skin and News doesn't work as well as the rest of the menu and take forever to scroll through options.
-No push-ups or sit-ups.

-I recommend buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by Strawberri (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A must buy ...or rent if you are unsure about buying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Your Shape: Fitness Evolved

posted by Alex86cali (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is state of art. a game that will get you up filled with fun stuff to do and give you a good workout I'm sore right now. haha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for overweight people!

posted by CareyS (HUNTSVILLE, AL) May 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you're like me, with more than a little extra meat on your bones, this game is not for you. This is an issue with game design, not the camera. Dance Central sees, recognizes, and gives credit for all my moves, but this game kept telling me I was doing it wrong. After an hour's workout, pouring sweat, it tells me I have burned absolutely no calories. Terrible game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very nice

posted by chris58 (ELK GROVE, CA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I have just finished this first workout up and now I am sore, but this one is a keeper!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ehh

posted by ashley2014 (SHALIMAR, FL) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Welll the actual game play wasn't bad it was the fact that so much content was blocked. You had buy it from the makers that was crazy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The real deal!!!!!!

posted by DontHate (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It the real deal people... you wanna work out having fun and look good doing it try this game i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bummer

posted by quannanana (WOOD RIVER, IL) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to love this game. I hate exercising. I need it to be fun and interesting and stimulating. This bored me to tears. I found all of the routines, regardless of the category , to be uninspired and monotonous. The camera does not track me worth a darn. I don't care about my scores, but if I did, I would be livid to be given a 12 % when I did the very best I could, and quite well, I must add ! The commentary does not match my movements at all. I am congratulated for improving my form when I am bent over scratching my toe, literally ! I'll pass on this one. Bummer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but not very challenging

posted by Bladelaire (PASADENA, CA) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

What I liked: The cardio kickboxing was a really great exercise. The tracking is about the best I've seen on all the workout games for kinect. It has quite a few DLC available that range from bollywood dancing ($5) to post-pregnancy (available via UPlay rewards). Good pace for people just getting into working out.

What I disliked: Lack of customizable workout routines. You can go through each individual workout or class but there is no way to link them together. While in the workouts, expect very little challenge, long explanations and lots of breaks.

What I hated: It misreads some movements and you need to exaggerate in order to register that you completed the move. The classes were about 5-10mins long... my heart rate was never at a high level. Some of the "games" actually promote injures... the hip one just felt so unnatural.

I would only recommend this to those who would like to add it as a supplement to EA Active 2 (which now is at $59 MSRP and brings heart monitor) or people just starting to work out. The yoga and kickboxing classes are worth the low price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by stawat3 (CAMBRIDGE SPRINGS, PA) Sep 29, 2012

Member since May 2011

I loved this game, it worked me out good. the mini games are fun. only bad thing was it kept making me do lunges and I was so sore the next day it was great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by wolf98 (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Aug 2, 2012

Member since May 2012

I fell in love with this game and bought it brand new. Great stress releiver

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun and challenging

posted by kmp (BORING, OR) Jun 13, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is a fun workout program and it is as challenging as you want it to be.

I'm over 50ish and do regular gym workouts. This program was a nice substitute for those days I didn't want to go out. It has both aerobic and strength training, but I enjoyed the fact that almost all routines require increasing flexibility and balance.

Regardless your level of fitness, I think you'll enjoy this program. It will either be a great place to start, or a great addition....

Do invest in some lite hand weights!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i work out

posted by uzumaki_naruto (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

wiggle wiggle wiggle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good work out

posted by debbieg08 (OAK CREEK, WI) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I just bought this game and it is good. I like that i have a bunch of different things that i can do to keep me going. I work up a sweat doing this. The one thing i wish you can do is workout with someone. When doing the workouts it is only one player the games are multi player and there is only 4 to choice from. I do wish at they would show you the moves a little faster on the kick boxing. I have done them all and when i am on the slow part of it and not working with the trainer they dont count it. If you get this you would love it. Waiting for the new one to come to see if i would like that one as much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse