Rent Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

462 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent but could be so much better

posted by noto777 (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seems like a kinect based fitness game would be a great workout tool but sadly the execution isnt quite there yet. My biggest complaint with all these fitness games is they move too slowly. Too much talking and too many animations and cut scenes. I did one of the longer workouts and I really dont need to stop and rest every 8 reps for 10-15 seconds while some animations play. More intensity is needed. Having said that some of the harder workouts do a pretty good job of hitting all the major areas of the body and make you work up a sweat. I did find chest to be a little lacking overall. The other issues I have is it attempts to customize a workout based on your body type and goals when you first start up the game. But then it doesnt really give you any kind of focused workout regiment, it just checks some boxes that you can go pick at random. Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Way better than the first one

posted by ae55403 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The camera is more responsive. There's a ton of more exercises to do, and the let you select what areas of your body that you want to work on. Plus you don't have to buy half of the routines like the first fitness evolved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game!

posted by stacygirl78 (NORMAL, IL) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After trying a couple other fitness games I was reluctant to try this one. I am glad I did. The movement recognition is amazing and the routines are a lot of fun. I am burning tons of calories and enjoying it. The best part is combining different routines and classes really does work the entire body.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not very intuitive

posted by kynikki (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I used the first version of this game to come out on the original Xbox and loved it, so I was excited to try one that had Kinect involved. I've done several fitness and workout games, so this one had to grab me from the start and it just didn't. There way way too much talking and it's just not as intuitive as it should be. There should be some sort of marker/fitness test to see where you're at and then programs that are built off of that. The classes seemed lacking and I couldn't figure out how to get a full on workout in without having to stop and select what I wanted to do. That gap in the workouts made for too many breaks in my workout and caused me to get frustrated and just turn on Dance Central or Zumba instead. After trying a demo for the new Nike + Fitness Training game, I'd say that one is far more superior and worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hard work will pay off

posted by Rez666 (HACKETTSTOWN, NJ) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall, this game gets the job done. The job it intends to do is get someone up and moving. With the vast amount of activities and workouts, this game will keep you busy for a long while. No, it won't make you lose weight by itself. Hard work and dedication is still needed but it will help motivate you. Its a nice alternative to the gym, especially if you don't have the time nor the money to invest per month. I say give it a rent, see if you like it. If you do, then buy it.

Just a heads up, at first the game wouldn't recognize me when doing floor exercises. Just tune your kinect (put it up slightly higher, further back, or both). Happy Exercising!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Extra" User Friendly Game!

posted by lindagoldwyer (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I like the fact that "Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012" is user friendly especially for someone like me who is not very tech savvy. I guess that makes it EXTRA user friendly! Another thing that is important to mention is that the core exercises mimicked the majority of the exercises my fitness instructor gave me when I could afford one-on-one training last summer. I have decided to buy this game because of these reasons. Thanks Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

As an out of shape 40-something, I LOVED it!

posted by gamermom2112 (WEST BEND, WI) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

To be honest, the reviews, descriptions of this video were very intimidating to me-people saying how much they could push their already daily exercise routine to the MAX. Well, although I used to run cross country, do aerobics and weight training (ran 5 miles daily or exercised while watching tv just because I liked to), it's sadly now been at least 25 years of me telling myself, "I'm in such great shape and it's so easy for me, I'll have NO problem getting it back" along 15 years of a desk job.

What was very nice was that I had a wide selection of "games" (hehe, better to think of it that way than "exercise") a variety of "moods/settings " from bollywood to hip hop, pliates, yoga to just basic exercises. My son dared me to try "Hip Hop" and I did-the movements were fun and very easy with helpful onscreen gestures showing the movement (no "BZZ! You didn't do it right. Let's try again") You can chose which area of your body or goals you have, like most games-"energy, weight loss, cardio, balance (coordination) stress reduction, etc). When you are physically able to complete a certain level, another becomes available, but even if you can't, you're rewarded (no "Fail" stamp). Plus, the next levels are usually just a slightly higher level of endurance-not a huge fall of the cliff kind of thing.

There are warm-up exercises, as in one where your are in a room of balloons and need to swing your arms long enough and hard enough to keep the balloons in the air, or swing a hula hoop. With the Kinect, your movements are tracked and you can see onscreen how you should be moving/holding your body which is a HUGE advantage over the Wii Fit; your onscreen you is given a guideline shadow outline of where your body is and where it should be. It was so fun, I kept the game for almost a month and "played" it regularly-it didn't seem like work or the dreaded "E" word. I will buy this definitely. And, if you're at all like me, I'd recommend at least trying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Effective

posted by durentis (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I'm not a beginner to working out, but not a professional. I really enjoy this version of YourShape because it incorporates a good variety for you to work with. The sensor works pretty alright. The plan is a joke, I just kind of ignore it and do what I think is working me out the best. I think it would benefit with a bit more classes. There are only two sections of Thai Chi, and only one of Yoga. If anything, those two sections need serious updates. I would also like to see a bit more of a variety when it comes to the classes as well. The warmups are a fun way to suck you in, even if you REALLY don't feel like working out. This, by far, is the most effective fitness game out there at the moment. (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why so highly rated?

posted by Captiosus77 (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I honestly cannot understand why this game - although it's more appropriate to call it a tool or routine - is rated so highly. After several days of working out with it, I've come to several realizations:

1. Even at advanced level the activities it has you do are EXTREMELY basic and could be done without any software whatsoever. The software, therefore, only acts as a tracking device and a preprogrammed physical trainer. Not really worth the cost when you could buy lightweight fitness materials and do it yourself.

2. When trying to do a specific workout group, you spend more time listening or waiting than you do actually working out. Do a series of 4 reps, listen to the "trainer" drone on, repeat. This downtime is far too extensive especially in cardio and toning groups.

3. The only "feedback" the game gives is the preprogrammed trainer who will always tell you that you're doing good (even if you're not) and a progress meter in the upper right. You can do every exercise completely wrong, score 0% for an entire set, and still be marked as "complete". As any real world trainer will tell you, doing exercises wrong is worse than not exercising at all!

4. Kinect tracking - still sucks. I've spent more time fighting Kinect's poor tracking (and yes, my Kinect has adequate distance and lighting) than I have actually being able to work out. This is ESPECIALLY true for activities which require being low or on the floor, such as situps, push ups, or squats. There's nothing more frustrating than having the game stop "seeing you" mid way through a set of crunches, pause, and then keep calling you asking where you've gone.

All in all, I can't see why this game is so highly rated. A simple journal and some hardware and anyone can do everything in here, cheaper, and more effectively without the nuisance of a scripted trainer or Kinect's shoddy performance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you have motivation it's a great game.

posted by vashley2000 (COSTA MESA, CA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

My problem is I need motivation and fun.
this is a great game if you can commit to doing exercise. It picks up your movements well. It has many more exercises than the first game. The games are fun but they need more of the games 4 doesn't cut it. I play more because I want to get higher scores.

I played Star Wars for 4 hours just to see Darth Vadar dance! for me it's about getting to the next level. The exercises just don't cut it for me. They need to make it more challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A decent game.

posted by Moon829 (UTICA, MI) Jun 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game wasn't bad, but it wasn't great.. It was decent. It has a bunch of exercises which are great and fun, but the overall game is a tad upsetting. This is an exercise game, but the calorie counter is way off. Big con right there..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kinect makes this game awesome

posted by 2733254 (OSHKOSH, WI) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I've had the Wii version of the last Your Shape and thought it was great, using the camera so it was very difficult to cheat yourself. The bad thing on the Wii side was the lighting had to be perfect in the room, and the camera picked up everything in the room.
The Kinect 360 version fixes that.
It is also so awesome to see yourself INSIDE the game. there is no imagining or thinking "Ok the ball is about there so I'll kick here" Nope, now you can SEE YOURSELF kicking the ball in REAL TIME!
Once you have mastered the exercises (which there are so many it would take forever to do)
You could do something as simple as adding weights to make it a whole new challenge.
I give it an 8 only because of the start and stop of the exercises. Stopping and choosing your next mission is the biggest downfall of the "game".
It is true you can overcome this by using one of the many workouts like boot camp (KILLER!) but to do what you want it is a start stop work out.
Perhaps the addition of a custom workout before you start, that would be awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Workout!

posted by surfingronman (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) May 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I was so pleased with the game I BOUGHT THE COMPANY! LOL jk... but I did buy the game! Kick your butt fitness game...
SurfingRonman

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »