Rent You Don't Know Jack for PS3
view large frontback

You Don't Know Jack

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.6

732 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amusing,Fun and a good break

posted by Vindul (SUN CITY, CA) Feb 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I remember playing this game back in the day and having a blast, And this title did not disappoint me. Whether your trivia buff like me or just a casual player. Jack has a huge variety of questions that will keep you amused and scoring points. I would recommend this game to anyone who wants a break from FPS's and RPGs and just wants to have some fun playing on a trivia tv show.

Vindul

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Like the Old Days

posted by Kratos_Killz_ (SACRAMENTO, CA) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If anyone remembers how much fun the PC version was that we used to play back in the day, then you'll love the reboot on PS3. The game added a few tweaks to the new version, but overall, it's just like the good ol' days.

The one thing that kind of bugged me was that on PC, you had the option of playing a quick game or a long version (21 questions i think?) On PS3, there's only 10 questions and then the final classic Jack Attack round.

Other than that, i have no complaints. The additional downloadable content is $5.00, each set of questions are hilarious, fun and unique, plus you have the classic commentary true to the Jack game. There's also a special "Wrong Answer of the Game" where you are given a clue at the beginning and you have to find the answer which is hidden among one of the wrong answers throughout each round. It will deliberately be the wrong answer when you select it, but you'll actually be rewarded $8,000 for finding it. ($4,000 if both you and your partner select it at the same time).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a letdown!

posted by TN_Gamer (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I have a half-dozen PC YDKJ games and love them, so I had high expectations. The PS3 version only allows 10 questions followed by the Jack Attack. My wife and I played several games and were both disappointed. Every game came down to who knew the answer and had the fastest finger on the Jack Attack... we could've skipped the rest of the game and just played the Attack and gotten the same result every time. For party/quiz games, we have much more fun with Scene It or Buzz Quiz games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trophy Hunters beware

posted by TrophyBoost (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This is probably one of the worst games I have played on the PS3 in a long time. I am a trophy hunter so I do have a high tolerance for trash. This came is repetitive, childish, and ful of cutscenes that add no value to the game. By the second trivia section, I had a terrible headache. I rented this game based on reviews that this was a fun, relaxing alternative to RPGs and FPS... instead this was just an alterrnative to fun... period.
Trophy hunters this is pegged as an easy plat., however there is a trophy for not gettting a trophy in 5 hours. This may be easy however since it takes more than 5 hours to get someone to play against online. Getting four people(trophy for that too) is impossible.
If you are looking for a trivia game try national geographic instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Perfect Justification for Gamefly

posted by hornet9988 (OAK PARK, IL) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

To start with, if you have EVER played a You Don't Know Jack (and enjoyed it) then there should be absolutely no hesitation in adding this game to the top of your queue right now. The game has all the hilarious quarks and inside jokes of the past as well as a whole slew of new ones including my personal favorite: the wrong answer of the game.
Now, for those of you who are unfamiliar with the YDKJ series, listen up. Do you like trivia? Do you like jokes? Are you already paying to rent games? Well you have found your salvation. Ideally, you want at least two people to play this game, four would be ideal (you don't want to play it online, more on that in a bit). Even if you don't have four controllers, I was still able to play with four people using my two controllers, my steering wheel for GT5, and the BD remote because the you literally need six buttons to play this game and none of them are joysticks.
CONS:
Ok, so the game isn't particularly long. Each round consists of Ten questions (nine really, one is a Dis or Dat which is played by the player in last place), and the followed by a final lightning round. There are only 73 games included (There are a few DLC's) and if you try to replay one, the same questions will appear in the same order (which could be an advantage if you're say.... a cheater).
Of course, this is a reason that makes this a game PERFECT for rental! I mean, with almost zero replay value, why wouldn't you rent it, play through it, and send it back. I know I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quiz Show fun!

posted by TenaciousP (HASKELL, NJ) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

YDKJ promises a fast-paced, comedic romp through pop culture, and delivers. With a chicken to boot. The tongue-in-cheek humor was a little much for my kid, but it's sometimes so bizarre, I was scratching my head trying to get the joke. It's not a very long game, but it's fun to pick up and play, because there is hardly any loading time at all. The "wrong answers of the game add some outside-the-box thinking to the hectic paced trivia, and the prizes are pretty funny. All-in-all a really good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great game

posted by swiftlongfellow (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jun 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

If you are 12. What a waste of time.I spent more watching the cut scenes than i did playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You don't know fun

posted by lanta21 (ELYRIA, OH) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2009

The slow pacing of this quiz game is what keeps it from being one of those great party games. there are two rounds followed by Jack attack, which is really unbalanced as you can get all the first two rounds of questions wrong and still win by winning jack attack. The long lead-ins to eack question completely kill the pacing and take away from fast-paced fun. If you are looking for a good party game I would suggest either of the Buzz games as they have a better variety of game modes and more fast paced Q&A.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A game I my girlfriend will actually play

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

Not only will she play You Don't know Jack, but I want to play it with her! I remembered this YDKJ from a decade ago, playing with 2 people at a keyboard on a PC. It was fun, but the single keyboard got a little crowded. Having modern game controllers make this a whole lot better. Add in the fact that you can now have 4 players easily, you've got both a date night game, and a party game, all rolled into one.

What would be the drawbacks here? The biggest is that the game repeats itself if you re-play an episode. The same questions lead to the same answers (assigned to the same buttons). If you're treating this as an occasional game for parties or game date night, then it's not a problem: as long as someone doesn't cheat and pre-play the episodes.

For me, the perfection of the date night game makes this a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by BubblePipeMedia (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I wasn't expecting much out of this title, and was highly dissapointed when I heard about the lack of the ability to randomize questions. All the questions are set up in a pre-set pack/show. This is the only thing preventing the game from getting a 10. The rest of the game is hilarious, fast talking, adaptive, fun, and even a bit raunchy. My friends and I never got bored and played it for hours. I wouldn't recommend it with 2 or less players, but it plays great with 3 or 4. I would also recommend staying away from online, my brief was very unpleasant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic first time through

posted by Wetz (NEW LENOX, IL) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This is my first venture into You Don't Know Jack, and I loved it. Great humorous writing, funny voice over acting. Fun goofy questions.

But the reason it didn't get a better score from me is because once you go through all the episodes, you don't have any reason to replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WARNING- DONT RENT THIS GAME

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

stupid... foolish... ignorant... waste of plastic....need to send all these game disc to iran... with love from america....bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak, Lame and Predictable

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I do Not recomend purchasing this game Ever, Try a rent and See what I mean if you Need to play a trivia game, Boring..

They try and spice it up with ambiguos was of asking a question which could be strait forward. This also wastes time between each question, Lame (A double S) entertainment if you ask me.

Its worth a try if you want to get friends together for a odd time drinking perhaps would make it better...?
The other Big Issue Making this a 2-3 Gem is that the Questions are the same order in episodes, and the anwers and Q of the game are the same choises everytime. A Real Rush job on making the game with No Foundation for playing it more than once, ( If you can even stand it through 70+ esisodes with 10 Q's in each, taking well over 8 hours to go trhough only 700 Q's of Multiple choice, 90% and 10% of teh Q's are a matching type. So LAME ffor a Console, Perhaps a DS version would be adequate for release at Best.

All Apollogies if you are reading this after they sent it . lOl!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »