Rent You Don't Know Jack for Wii
view large frontback

You Don't Know Jack

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.4

491 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Standard YDNJ

posted by LNCrusader (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 22, 2011

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're old enough to have played the original and found that fun, you'll enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by DocHemi426 (WEIRTON, WV) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great remake and update to an older PC Game.

I loved this game when it was out before for the PC.

I was actually one of the Alpha and Beta testeres of the original game.

Lots of fun for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

CLASSIC

posted by CRIT3176 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I USED TO PLAY THIS GAME ON MY COMPUTER WITH MY BROTHER WHEN WE WERE LIKE 5. ITS JUST THE SAME AND A LITTLE MORE. I DIG IT. I THINK THAT YOU EVEN HAVE A WUESTION OF WHETHER OR NOT YOU WOULD LIKE IT I WOULD DEF TRY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lackluster solo, but shines is small groups.

posted by Jeremy1985 (HARRAH, OK) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is very simple to learn. Most questions are simple knowledge based questions, but there are some that require reflexes as well.

Excellent writing keeps it entertaining throughout. Even when the question has you stumped, the host keeps it interesting with constant insults for wrong answers and funny comments when asking questions and explaining answers.

When playing solo the game can lose its appeal. This game is best when playing against live competition. There are nearly 100 different episodes to play which allows for hours of new and challenging questions before having to replay the same questions.

My only downside is that lack in variety of questions. Most questions are simple word problems, but every game includes a Dis or Dat round, which gives you a 50/50 chance, and the game ends with a Jack Attack testing your reflexes. Also I would have liked to have had more weapons at your disposal to change up the gameplay. For instance, during multiplayer, a player can use a "screw" to force another player to answer a question. This keeps the game interesting and keeps players on their toes.

All around it was definitely worth the rent and is recommended for small parties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

They Do Know Jack About Trivia

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Back in the 1990’s on the PC, a game show of a different type appeared. Instead of focusing just on trivia, the writers of You Don’t Know Jack put humor in as well.
It was a smash hit, spawning several versions - including a Sports version, a Movie version as well as a TV version. It also briefly appeared on TV, but that was badly mishandled.
Well, the game show game has appeared on the consoles, and it’s just as witty and sharp as it was back in the PC days.
This version of You Don’t Know Jack has 73 episodes, each with 10 multiple choice questions and a final round called the Jack Attack. All but 10 are locked, and to unlock a locked episode, you have to play an unlocked one - that you haven’t played before. I would’ve like to see all 73 unlocked from the start.
And just like in the PC days, this game isn’t much fun playing solo (and you do play it by yourself, there’s no AI contestants.) With other human players, you can also force your opponent to answer a really tough question once a game, which puts some strategy in play.
Still, the best part of the game is the clever use of humor in the writing of the questions and answers (even if sometimes it’s childish). No other game I know gets laughs out of me if I pick a wrong answer.
But it’s not perfect: I didn’t like the newly added sponsored Wrong Answer of the Game - it adds a layer of complexity that the game can do without.
If you’re looking for a break from the average quiz show game, then You Don’t Know Jack is a surefire winner. I say it’s definitely worth a rent, and fans of the PC versions of the game should just buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blah.

posted by TobiNBarry (POINT MARION, PA) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's a challenging and fun game but the guy that talks for 10minutes in between questions you can't skip and it is very lame. 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hilarious little party game!

posted by WadeWatts5 (WADESBORO, NC) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

After playing these games on the pc as they came along through the years, it was very nostalgic to see it be released for a new generation. The questions are funny and thoughtful in how they are asked, and the "Answer of the day" is usually a lot of fun to find. The jokes of Cookie Masterson keep you grinning the entire time as well. The controls are not hard to adjust to at all, and it's a great game for a group of friends to sit down and play while hanging out. by having 73 episodes, it will take a while for questions to start repeating. A must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Trivia Game!

posted by Mrsonicisawsome (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This is probably the best game show game i have played on a console! This is defiantly worth playing with family and friends with its comedy and creative questions! Overall 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not your "average" trivia game

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Apr 10, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

The cool thing about this game is that it is designed for adults. Not only is it designed for adults, but it does require a degree of intelligence and thought to win. The wording of the questions is unique to the point of being a puzzle in its own right for many of the questions. Furthermore, there are "wrong answer of the game"s that require abstract thought to get "wrong." Each game the entire game (and sometimes the things that stay the same.. like the cut-scenes) changes. This game is certainly not for the "garden variety" trivia gamer, but I believe that just about anybody would enjoy this game.

Side-Note: the background audio on the menus is absolutely hilarious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Always good for a laugh

posted by dcyflo (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Trivia with a snark and loads of sarcasm. Intelligently designed questions that fall right in that mid range of tough, but not too tough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and funny

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

The writing and delivery of the questions and commentary is quite funny, and one of the high points of the game; I've laughed out loud several times at a witticism, a sarcastic barb, or an absurdly worded question. Of course, comedy aside, "You Don't Know Jack" succeeds as a trivia challenge as well, and is fun even when playing by oneself. Combing through the answers to each multiple choice question for the elusive, prize-winning "Wrong Answer of the Game" is particularly amusing.

If you enjoy trivia games, and if you like to laugh, then you can't really go wrong with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun!!!

posted by mandy0921 (ANDERSON, IN) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

We really enjoyed the game as a family and would recommend it to anyone..the only thing that gets annoying is the guy that talks constantly in between questions and is totally not needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you don't like this then you don't know jack!!!

posted by Zakk (MARICOPA, AZ) May 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game really is a classic! I use to have the first 3 for my computer about 10 years ago and totally loved them! I was so glad to see that they finally came out with this game for the wii. If you like any trivia game then you will like this game for sure! It's a fun game to play just sitting around alone being bored and ten times better if you're with a group of people. The only problem I found was that there is not enough content but they are going to have expansion packs so I guess that takes care of that. Maybe this game has always had a special place in my heart because of all the great memories I have playing it a decade ago but if you like trivia games then this one is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

eh

posted by cassidi2 (LANCASTER, OH) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

its kinda fun but u have to learn. one of the most important things i learned was that I REALLY DONT KNOW JACK!!!!!!!!!I WOULD RENT IT and keep it for a day or two and send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by COOPER420 (FRITCH, TX) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

This game was very blasphemous and disrespectful of anything that is good, or has any moral value! O AND I SENT IT BACK OVER A WEEK AGO SO WOULD YOU PLEASE SHIP ME ANOTHER GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blows

posted by AdinsDad (HESPERIA, CA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

This game sucked horrible, I thought it would be like the old one but its all tv trivia. I don't know the first thing about Jersey Shore. Then you have to deal with this guy talking through the entire game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too darned silly for my tastes

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

This game would be cute for an 8-year-old but the sexual innuendo would be very inappropriate. Because some thought went into the presentation/graphics, I'll give it a 4. Trivial Pursuit, however, has it beat by a wide margin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »