Rent Yoshi Touch & Go for DS
view large frontback

Yoshi Touch & Go

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.1

712 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Think of it as a puzzle game

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're expecting a new Yoshi game on the lines of "Yoshi's Island", you're going to be very sad with this game. I think that's what a lot of people reacted to.

A better way to think of this game is as a puzzle game. Yeah, seems strange, but it works a lot better than thinking of it as an adventure title. Instead of going from level to level like you would in a traditional Yoshi adventure, this game is just one level that you keep doing over and over. (Well, there's one level for each game mode, plus a mode that randomly combines chunks to make a quasi-unique level.) But the point is, there's no story here. There's not even a change of scenery. You just do the same thing over and over to get better scores.

And the thing is, it's fun. The core mechanics of the game are fun. But the lack of unique levels, storylines, or changing art do sort of grate on you, because you know it could have been something epic. In fact, they would probably have been better off using a new character, so that people weren't expecting a different game.

If you can get past that, there's some fast and furious stylus gameplay here. For my money, the stylus control scheme is much better than Kirby's similar stylus-based game. (Kirby, though, has a storyline and lots of changes of scenery and yadda yadda.)

If you think of it as a casual renter, it's not bad. I found myself playing for a good eight or nine hours, on and off, before I got bored. If you're expecting something more meaty, you'll be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great For Puzzle Gamers

posted by protium7 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 31, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can see why people wouldn't like this game if they are expecting exciting plot.

However, as an avid puzzle gamer, I absolutely LOVE this game and I have played it for hours and hours on end. The fact that there are different modes is great. Marathon and Challenge offer the most replay value.

Admittedly, my biggest complaint with the game is that you can't "beat" it, per say, only unlock an extra silly minigame. However, you can't "beat" classic puzzle games like Dr. Mario or Tetris, and once I realized that I wasn't working toward any endgame goal, but rather competing against myself, the game took on a new style for me and I continue to enjoy it many months after first starting to play it.

In short, it's a lot of fun! Just don't buy it if you want a storyline. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful...... Horrible............. WORST YOSHI EVER

posted by GamerBoy (METAMORA, MI) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I can't believe how bad Yoshi games are getting now adays. Yoshi Topsy-Turvy was a blow, and Yoshi Touch and Go is horrible. The following is all that needs to be said.

Story Mode: NO

Campaign Mode: NO

Levels: 2 differet levels

Gameplay: Is not really that good

Point: No in depth story, no
variety of levels, so-
so gameplay = Pitiful

Do NOT Buy! It would be bad to rent! Instead, try:

KIRBY CANVAS CURSE

Stylus Gameplay: YES

Story: YES

Levels: 8 Very Complex Worlds

Gameplay: Really fun

Point: The alternative to Yoshi
Touch and GO. Get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mini Games only

posted by charanajo (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I was hoping for another Yoshi adventure. This has many mini games to choose from. I thought most of them were boring and didn't play much into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The worst yoshi game ever theres been better

posted by brittaneya (EAST BETHANY, NY) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This yoshi game I was expecting more of a YOSHI game not something like this...To me its really boring and just doesn't meet YOSHI standards I will def. stick to the other yoshi games try the other yoshi games they are much better (like yoshis island much better than this)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is NOT a whole game just a few minis: SKIP IT

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

All you do is try to beat your score. There are 6 games to choose from and they are not fun. The "levels" are strangley designed and there is no point to game; rent Kirby, or Yoshi Island!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by kyle13 (SPRING HILL, FL) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game waz ok.....but the two player mode is perfect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No bad, not good

posted by Leemarie (LITCHFIELD, MN) Jul 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

Well... it wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great. Years ago, I was debating whether to buy Yoshi's Island or Yoshi Touch & Go. I went with Yoshi's Island. And now, after renting the latter, I am very glad to have made that choice!

I mean, it is fun. But it is monotonous. The same thing over and over, with very little variation. And no point. I mean, I love Animal Crossing, which has no point, but this just really seemed like "Why am I playing this?"

I've played worse games, but am I ever relieved I made the choice I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What

posted by GBADSWii (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Their is no pint to this repetitive and boring excuse for a video game. I fell asleep in middle of playing it the first time around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that good at all

posted by Well111111 (NEWARK, DE) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game was really boring. The game play it's self is a so boring. It's a Ashe side scroller, it's more of a yoshi runs and runs and you have to protect him.
Their are 4 game play modes (time attack, score attack, challenge and somthing else). But no story mode at all, the entire game could make a good mini-game at best but not a real DS game.
Drawing fuffly clouds while i watch yoshi run and run it's fun to me at all. It's like a BAD knock off of Kirby Canvas Curse. And all it takes to yoshi to get hit once and you have to start all that way to the begining, ONE HIT. And jumping is a pain because to jump you have to poke yoshi and to flutter you tap him in the air but if you tap anything but yoshi you throw an egg and he falls into the hole you were avoiding... so i don't think you should bother renting it, go for Kirby CC it's much better (and kirby has a LIFE BAR)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Story Mode

posted by Rockey (FOLSOM, CA) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Title says it all!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yoshi is falling down

posted by Light827 (HOLLY SPRINGS, NC) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Well, I was really excited to get this game, but it quickly dissapointed me. I kept it for a weekend and tried to play it a couple of time. It didn't have alot of variety. The coolest part of it was using the stylus.

As the title to my review says, the game is precisely that. It didn't grab my addictive gene. The only positive thing about this game in my opinion was that I could send it back to gamefly and get another game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better then kirby

posted by EiNSaTZ (Bend, OR) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

for a stylus only game it has alot even a nice head to head wifi mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i would choke myself than rather play this again

posted by tech4life (MOUNT PROSPECT, IL) Aug 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

i played it for 2 minutes, 3 minutes tops and it had no story or any thing, and while i was playing it i was plummeting to the ground with a timer going and i was making clouds to help yoshi with a toddler on his back so he wouldnt get hurt by enimies while plummeting to the ground...

think of this game makes me cry. anyone who gives this game a 4 or higher obviously just looked at the cover and gave it a review, my final word is to NOT-PLAY-THIS-GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this game is ok

posted by mattnbafan (COVINGTON, LA) Aug 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

this game is ok it just ticked me off because it

didnot have a story mode!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hardcore Yoshi Fans Will HATE This!!!

posted by MoistVomit (WOODBRIDGE, NJ) Jul 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

Many of the major gaming magazines said that this feels more like a technical demo than an actual game (showing the potential a touch screen can provide within gameplay). This one fails on all levels.
2 main types of levels: Baby Mario levels have you drawing lines of clouds to avoid obstacles in the air & Yoshi ground levels have you drawing ramps to walk-over dangers (and shoot eggs, but you won't care).
The graphics are SNES quality, and I can't comment beyond telling anyone that's reading that I played this twice and IMMEDIATELY returned it to GameFly. I don't even know why I played it more than once- perhaps I sustained an head injury unbeknownst to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »