Rent Yoshi's New Island for 3DS
view large frontback

Yoshi's New Island

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
6.9

313 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very Bland

posted by Scarlet_Pegasus (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was very much like the last game for DS, so much so that I felt like I was playing the very same game. I could barely get through the first five levels, and even then I was still bored out of my mind. I would have rather played through a Pokémon game that I've played a thousand times than finished this newest game.

And the sad thing is, I love Yoshi. But it's just much too redundant from the last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Invasion of the Yoshi Snatchers

posted by fishyhotwheels (TUSTIN, CA) Apr 25, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Remember Invasion of the Body Snatchers, the 50's era sci-fi film about aliens duplicating humans? Yoshi's New Island is the alien duplicate of the original Yoshi's Island. When you first start playing, you think you're seeing something familiar. Then you look into it's eyes and realize there's no soul, no spark of life at all. The only positive thing about this game is it made me want to dig my old SNES out of storage and relive the good old days when Mario, Yoshi, and Nintendo actually meant something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty Good

posted by luke1010 (CHATHAM, NJ) Sep 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

If you are a master at video games get this the bad thing is the levels are too hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

aw the memories of yoshi

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

i remembered this yoshi game when it was for the n64 yoshi's story my favorite mario character is yoshi thanks for bringing it back nintendo here's the good part of the game it's fun to yoshi fans but the downside it can be frustrating at times so i'm giving yoshi's new island 4 yoshi eggs out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sometimes new isn't always a good thing.

posted by Chipin (KILLEEN, TX) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I'll admit, when Nintendo first announced Yoshi's New Island I was absolutely estatic. The original Yoshi's Island on the SNES is one of my childhood defining games and something I hold very dear. When Yoshi Story came out on the N64 it didn't quite feel right, it was missing the same attention to detail and variety that was present in the original and fell flat from my expectations.
Then along comes Yoshi's New Island, a shining beacon of hope for a return to everything that made the original so enjoyable. Upon starting up the game and hearing that nostalgic music I was in a state of pure gaming bliss... and then something went horribly, horribly wrong.
The music changed drastically, it didn't have the same charm that I found in the previous games, it sounded forced and overly cartoon-like. So I tried stage 1 and there was something missing yet again... it was very bland. The level design felt less like an introductory level and more like a long walk through a hallway, but it didn't end there. Again and again as I progressed through the game I found a lack of creativity and passion in all the levels and bosses, everything just flew by like a breeze and before I knew it the game was over.
The game itself is incredibly short, not for lack of worlds but for lack of level length. Now I know that in these games you always have the "collect-athon" to fall back onto as sort of a replay value. Yet none of these levels I found myself wanting to play again, none of them excited me. The game felt so simplistic and while it was obviously designed with a younger gaming audience in mind, it held your hand just a little too much.
Nintendo finds a lot of success by reusing tried and true gameplay concepts, yet here they really just dumbed down everything that made Yoshi's Island so fun. That isn't to say that new players wont find enjoyment in this game, but if you're already a fan of the Yoshi series of games then be wary before you dive into this title expecting too mu

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible sound design

posted by SolidKilvas (MOREHEAD, KY) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

As a fan of the original, I thought I would give the new installment a try. I heard the music was bad, but I wasn't prepared for how awful it truly was. The music and sound effects for stages and abilities range from boring and uninspired to down right annoying. Game-play was truly worse than every entry in the series so far. There is no redeeming factor for this new entry. You're better off playing the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Should have stuck with the old island

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

Every time Nintendo (or, in this case, one of its subordinate studios) sets out to duplicate the success of the original "Yoshi's Island", they manage to fail spectacularly. This newest iteration in the series is a complete disappointment, and even more of a let-down than the lackluster "Yoshi's Island DS" was. The graphic style is old hat, the music is bland and forgettable, the controls aren't as fluid as they should be, and, perhaps most unforgivably, the story - which is lazy and asinine - actually dares to tread on the sublime ending of the original "Yoshi's Island". Plus, the vehicle sections force you to use the 3DS system's gyroscopic controls, which is annoying and seems tacked-on.

The only way you could ever enjoy this game is if you didn't play the original "Yoshi's Island" first. If you have played the original, then don't even bother picking this up, because everything about it is either awful by comparison, or a blatant, cynical rip-off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great memories

posted by Sonicdude090 (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

it's a good game but it looks the same as yoshis island great throw back good controls and great graphics hope you guys enjoyed a game with a retro feeling and a new mechanic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »