Rent Yoshi's Island DS for DS
view large frontback

Yoshi's Island DS

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

1582 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sound is the only thing that is lacking.

posted by seantyler (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yoshi's Island DS's gameplay is fundamentally the same as the previous game. The player guides various different coloured Yoshis through side scrolling stages[6] in "get from A to B" fashion. To this end, Yoshi is able to jump and hover for a short time, eat enemies and turn them into eggs (which can then be thrown to hit switches or defeat distant enemies) and pound the ground (to say, smash crates). Some stages offer Yoshi the ability to morph into vehicles for a short time. DS differs from many platforming games in that Yoshi does not have a life bar. When Yoshi is hit, the baby he is carrying falls of his back and Yoshi must retrieve him/her before a timer runs out.
DS differs from the previous game in that five babies are available for Yoshi to carry, each bestowing a different ability. Baby Mario allows Yoshi to dash and makes special 'M' blocks appear, Baby Peach allows Yoshi to float and fly on wind currents, Baby DK can grab and swing on vines and ropes, Baby Wario uses his magnet to attract metal objects and Baby Bowser spits fireballs. The need to switch babies at key points adds a puzzle element to the game.

I was particularly pleased with how the core gameplay elements are the same as in the previous game. However the aiming system is still bothersome which relies entirely on time and locking the aiming. The sound is a little tingy. I felt as though the original SNES/GBA counterpart was much more solid with stronger sounds that better reflected the Yoshi I came to know and love. Overall you'll love the game. It's worth keeping to beat but not owning unless you're set on getting 100's on every level and getting all the minigames.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Yoshi's Island DS

posted by DMH4321 (DOUGLAS, WY) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not my type, but there are tons and tons of people who would absolutely love it. I like it a bit more complex, but there are good points to it. For example, I like challenge, and while it is not like my favorite games, it is challenging enough. Also, it has a bit of a cute aspect to it, what with the babies and all. Finally, it has a good storyline, which sets it apart from the boring generes. (The graphics could improve, though.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Eleven Years Later...

posted by SmartBombs (DECATUR, AL) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

(Review from w w w.smart-bombs.c o m)

The original Yoshi's Island for the SNES was easily one of the greatest platformers ever made; no, rather, it was one of the greatest games ever made. It is important to keep in mind that Yoshi's Island DS is not up to the same hallmark of standards, but it is a high-quality piece of entertainment. Developer Artoon (the folks responsible for the less-than stellar Blinx games on the XBOX) sticks close to the mold of its predecessor, perhaps to a fault. There's a few fresh ideas here, like swapping out babies to gain different abilities (although the babies are heavily unbalanced). The double-screened level designs are pretty cool sometimes, but the infamous blind gap between the two screens causes its share of headaches. Boss battles, however, are a blast. There are a couple of weak fights, but most are clever, challenging, and just plain fun. They all retain the signature quirky art style of the franchise, and each has a nifty mechanic thrown in to keep things spicy, like a perpetual fall battle with an obese bird. Yoshi's Island DS does fall short of the original, but there's certainly enough fun here to do the franchise justice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A disappointing redux

posted by Mumbles (ALAMEDA, CA) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2003

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was really excited when I first heard Nintendo was going to bring out a sequel to Yoshi's Island since it's one of my favorite games of all time. Too bad they decided to let Artoon handle it.

It's not that this is a bad game, but once you played the original, if feels like much more of the same without any of the platform magic that Nintendo instils in the original.

The ability to being able to switch characters may sound like a welcome addition but it adds surprisingly little to the overall game.

With all this, I'm mildly disappointed that Nintendo didn't bother building this themselves. Oh well, we still have the original and you can get it on the GBA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Colorful & Fun

posted by Nicole76 (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I got this game for Christmas and had never played Yoshi's Island before. I instantly fell in love with it. It's beautifully rendered with vibrant colors and easy to master controls. And because there is no time limit, you can spend more time exploring each world instead of rushing to beat the clock. This game is the perfect level of difficulty for a non-hardcore gamer such as myself: not so easy that it's boring, but not so difficult that you will get frustrated and shut it off. Best DS game I've played so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What everyone was waiting for: Yoshi's Island 2

posted by TheCrill (CHULA VISTA, CA) Dec 23, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you played the original Yoshi's Island and found it fun (or found other Yoshi games disapointing) then you'll like this game. So people have heard that Artoon had a rough past with it's previous games but they finnaly stepped up. They knew that this Yoshi title would mean something to us fans. They knew that we want a challenging and fun sequel to one of the greatest games ever made. They work hard day after day and... ...they came through. They found the best aspects of the original and used that with some new fun stuff. Now they have secret levels, unlockable minigames, and most noticeably, new babies. So if you played New Super Mario Bros, some may be wondering why it's so easy. If you want a game that challenges your mind and comes to the conclusion with a suprising enemy witch you have to defeat. Play this. If you have doupts because it was made by Artoon, that's just ok. But if play this game you WILL not be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A++++ Game

posted by AzSoLO (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

If you really like Mario and Yoshi games I think you will really enjoy this one. Had got Yoshi touch and go but didnt enjoy it as much as this one. The levels are pretty easy but also fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was ok.

posted by Plue15 (GALVESTON, IN) Feb 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Alright this game was ok, because all you do is throw eggs, jump, throw eggs, and jump. Then after you throw your eggs and jump a little bit your at a boss stage. The boss stages were pretty good though, because you had to find out what to do to defeat him, and that was a good part of the game in my opinion, but the game is very boring after the 2nd or 3rd world. You just do the same thing over and over again. Sometimes things were different when you get a new character to play with, because you get to do something different, but after about 2-3 levels of doing there special powers it get boring again. Though the game is good at first it just gets boring.So thats why I give it a 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun and good for the young

posted by woweee1 (WARWICK, NY) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is the best kids games yet i even have it and beet it but i will not tell you the end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame game Nintendo!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Mar 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I'm go straight to the truth this game is lame!!!! How could Nintendo do this to us? Look lets all just don't hope that Nintendo makes a game that dosen't stink! Because this game is pure HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!! It's nothing like The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess! [Rent that one!]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6 By Loozur

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 5, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game doesn't deserve that 7.3 it has up there. this game was boring slow repetitive hard hard to control hard to play bad graphics bad storyline. but for some reason i was glued to it and loved this game, they must've putt some kind've weird hypnotic powers in this game to make people play it. i very much enjoyed this game but it was boring repetitive and got old really fast. this game is EXTREMELEY hard to beat and is COMPLETELEY impossible to beat the after game stuff. i would reccomend this to someone who likes really hard action/puzzle/strategy games. (P.S. this game does not resemble paper mario in any way shape or form. this game doesn't even resemble mario PERIOD. it was a real let down for me, and i was starting to like mario... BIG MISTAKE
Sincereley
Loozur
I Give it a six because it was above an average mario game with yoshi as a playable character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not bad

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Mar 27, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Not bad of a game on the ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yoshi's Island DS

posted by kc17 (SCRANTON, PA) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

My 5 year old daughter loves this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't rent if super mario frustrates you

posted by jen_52 (STANWOOD, WA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

First off, i'm not saying this is a bad game, i just did not enjoy it. I find the super mario brothers games (even the original) extrememly frustrating, i am never able to get very far, i found the same to be true with this game. I also think that if the controls were explained before i started the game it would have been better for me as well. I would reccomend this to someone any age, who enjoys the mario brothers games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A good and 2 bads

posted by ThePSNGamer (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

My review is about the two the 2 things in the title. A good thing is that the gameplay if fun addtictive and faulous. One of the bad things is the babys wont shut up and it gets very annoying listening to that. Another is that only baby Mario can use rushing speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poopy remake

posted by conker19 (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

the changed the entire game its not the YI i grew up with, huge dissapointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Excellent,but a bit hard towards the end.

posted by cokeisec (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Well, this is my 2nd Yoshi game.(out of 4 i think)It was very cute to have the little babies on Yoshi`s back.And Nintendo really used their imagination this time.=) (especially the obese shy guy in 5-1!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game in the wrold

posted by narutoo (DECATUR, GA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

yoshi's island ds is the cools game in the wrold not to hard not to easy but i dont like that evey body is a baby but yoshi but it is still a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I enjoyed it but.....

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Jun 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2009

Ok, i enjoyed the game somewhat, but this game lacks some things that other mario games dont. I think this game is fun, but after an hour or so, it just gets boring. You do the same thing each time and in each world you unlok. This is not like other mario games that i've played and i've played many. The graphics are good, but on every level it seems like your just looking at the same thing in the previous level. I guess i would recommend this game just to try, but dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

just not as good as the 1st

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

less creativity more instant death pits and shure you get more caricters but it's just not worth it harder but not in a fun way if you realy need to just pass time there is so many better choices this will just cheese you off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Whole Lotta Fun.

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Finally a game that truly justifies having a nintendo ds. Not to say the ds isn't great.

Anyway.. This game has the the best presentation i have seen in years. and is the best 2d platformer i've played since the original for the snes. Anyone thats played the orginal will surely love yoshi's second outing, but even those new to the series will easily pick up and enjoy.

The Good-
Amazing presentation (read-beautiful.)
Lots Of fun
Neat puzzles

The bad-
........
......
...
..OH! the gap between both screens.

either way despite that one MINOR flaw the game excells and proves to be the best game on the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hard to finish

posted by froggy (OGDEN, UT) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I liked the beginning of this game, and do consider myself an advanced player, but found this game too challenging. After about the 3rd level, and there's 5, it started getting pretty hard, and by the 5th level, I was so frustrated with it, I sent it back. My husband played for a while, and also got bugged with it and stopped playing. This is the first time I haven't finished a game. It was fun in the beginning though, and if you have a lot of patience, it will last a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cute, Challenging, & Fun

posted by Keenan (WESTVILLE, NJ) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Definitely one of the best video games I've ever played. Don't let the baby Mario on the cover mislead you, it's not just a game for kids. I definitely found this game rather challenging, especially the later worlds. But it still remained fun, and interesting. The graphics and the colors of the worlds are amazing. The enemies are innovative and fun to fight. Also, the available mini games aren't boring after a while like some other games. I still play them again and again trying to beat my previous records.

The only negative thing I have to say about this game, and it may actually be a plus for some, is that some of the levels you pretty much have to memorize completely before you can actually clear them. For instance, in one level, big black cruncher guys are falling from the sky with pretty much no warning throughout most of the level, and if you haven't memorized where they're going to fall, you're not going to be able to move out of the way quick enough before it crushes you and throws you down a cavern. Though, you definitely get a sense of accomplishment when you get to the end of those levels hehe.

Yoshi's Island DS is very similar to Yoshi's Island / Super Mario Advance 3 for the Game Boy Advance. If you loved that game, you'll love this one. Though this DS version I think is better because you also get to ride more characters than just baby Mario. If you love all the Super Mario games, or are a lover of 2D side-scrollers, I'm sure you'll definitely love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good and bad

posted by addictgame (OAK LAWN, IL) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

yoshie island ds is an O.K game, but some stuff is the same from yoshies island for the GBA. i know the babies, stages, bosses, and enemies are new, not to mention a muesam, but yoshie should have to go through longer stages. you an beat the game in a week because of the short and easy stages. that's all i have to say about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Yoshi Island DS

posted by lawlren (SCOTTSBURG, IN) Jul 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I am usually amazing at any sort of video game, but I found this game unusually difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse