Rent Yoostar 2 In the Movies for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Yoostar 2 In the Movies

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.9

765 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Did I just get rent You're In the Movies?

posted by PeaveyT15 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow...for some reason I'm feeling a little deja vu right about now. Didn't an E3 event show a game a few years ago that superimposed you into different scenes? You know the one.. it was shown as basically flawless. Perfect outlines of the players, no cutoffs in the images. Yeah, I bought You're In the Movies when it bombed...only because it was $20 and came with the Xbox Cam that was still priced at $40 if it was a standalone (basically they gave you 50% off if you chose get the cam with a game). It was a fun game, but had serious flaws...

Well guess what, 3 years of advancements accompanied by the support of a cam that was promoted as once again...flawless...and I feel like I'm looking back into time.

Don't get me wrong, it was fun for the one weekend that my friends and I got together to have a few drinks and play it, but my outlook on this game was dead on. The previews looked amazing, but even at best it's obvious that no one will ever be able to get those kind of results (I don't care what lighting they say to use, it's going to be grainy). The lines are sometimes tough to match up on, and there is definitely lack of content. DLC on the release date? Really? I bet it downloads real quick...as if it may already be on the disc...just saying.

One issue we had was sound. I've seen reviews from other sites where people thought the game was broken because it did not pick up what they were saying. Turn the kinect setting for game chat to "On". I turn that off because I'm the only one with a kinect and I'd rather use my headset to chat with friends than the kinect (since it echos).

The other issue...I'm a terrible actor, with zero improve skills to boot. Not that this was any surprise, but once you've played a few scenes with friends the fun seems to quickly drop.

Basically, it's a good renter for a weekend. If you love it, great. I'm still waiting on a kinect game that works as good as its promos show...I may be waiting for a while...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm glad I didn't buy it.

posted by samantr0n (WERNERSVILLE, PA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like the title goes, I'm glad this was a game I rented and messed around with for a few days with friends, rather than ending up being stuck with it forever. It isn't the greatest game on the planet~ It's not flawless. But if you look past that, and just laugh about it with your friends, it really is fun. I highly recommend at least just renting it for a weekend, or something. It's worth giving it a chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ugh. Don't Bother

posted by kencushing (VALENCIA, CA) Aug 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted to love this game. I really did. I thought at the very least, my drunk friends would enjoy it. Sadly, nobody did. Selecting your movie takes forever and is way too touchy. The scenes available (even the DLC) just aren't epic enough. As for realism, it doesn't look real whatoever, and there are issues with haze around you, so it is just plain awful to watch.

I was the only person in my family who thought this would be a good one at least to rent, but I'm very sad that I've wasted 1 week of GameFly shipping time (back and forth) on this drivel.

Things that would've helped:
1. Have the movie selections laid out in a grid, possibly by genre, so that you can see the titles and a screenshot of at least 6 at a time.
2. Fix the deplorable haze around people.
3. Perform some sort of colorization to at least TRY to mimic the brightness and lustre of the movie that you are being inserted into.
4. The fact that Top Gun wasn't included or at least as DLC is unforgiveable.

The only thing that kept me from giving it a 1 was the fact that it can be a little bit funny if you act like a complete buffoon reenacting the movie scenes in your own weird way. But this is more a credit to the people playing it, and not the game itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Spare yoursefl some pain.

posted by RELLIKMIT (LEVITTOWN, PA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This looked like it was going to be a really fun game, but looks are deceiving. It's HORRIBLE, yes they have good movies in the game, but the scenes you are allowed to play out suck, they are the one's you don't remember, the best scenes in any movie have to be downloaded at an additional cost, and still it's not fun. You mess with the lighting, trying to get yourself squeezed into the space to perform the role is useless, it never looks right, and it ends up becoming a frustration and boring game. If some one threw a party and this was the entertainment, I'd shoot myself. This is an awful "game" and should be removed from civilization entirely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is garbage

posted by exfable (STANLEY, NY) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would never give a game a review of 1 unless it was completely unplayable as this one is. Despite many attempts to fix the audio, the game would not recognize any verbal cues. (Yes I turned off the controller and all the other fixes that I found on the internet.) Even if the audio was working however, the game still had so many other flaws that it rivals early Wii shovelware for suckiness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FALSE ADVERTISING

posted by gtay803 (LEXINGTON, SC) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game. Navigation was the first thing that seemed to be off, it's really hard to select the title that you want. Next up the scene... unlike the previous review my audio was always there but it still didn't sound good at all. But the quality of the picture was awful, I tried alot of different lighting set ups but each one ended up grainy with a halo of white pixels around my body. This game was really no fun at all. The videos on youtube advertising the game are so doctored. I am so glad for Gamefly, otherwise I would have purchased this title and been very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be worse, but could really be a lot better.

posted by rob4335 (VALLEY CITY, OH) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I bought this game for my dad for his birthday because he saw it in a magazine and thought it looked like the coolest thing. Him, my siblings and i popped it in and i have to say i was very dissapointed. This game has a HUGE amount of potential. But it just doesnt follow through. There are very few scenes that you can actually use 2 people in at once. Some shots you have to crouch down just to fit in the picture and even when you are in the picture, the quality is absolutely horrible. Still if you are looking for a cheap laugh and want to watch your friends or family embarass themselves as Alan from the hangover, then go ahead and give this a rent. If not, do not waste a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waste your money on this flusher

posted by Shady (YUMA, AZ) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought this game cause it looked cool, for a great party game. Turns out it was garbage. I struggled with the navigation, cause it was horrible and touchy. Then came the real frustration when I go to fit into the scenes and find out im to tall for all of them and had to bend at the hips to duck down, so now I look like the hunchback of notre dame in the clips, and it was rather uncomfortable. Im 5 ft 11 by the way. Then to add more frustration the clips loooked like garbage. horribly flawed, and Nothing like the advertisements of the game, showing spotless flawless filming of the clips. The game is a flusher. Im saddened I did not rent the game but infact purchased it. I was too excited to play the game, and since I have never received a new release game from gamefly service yet. I always get titles way down at the bottom of my que sent to me. I was impatient I went for it and I fail. The game is a failure aswell

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Simply Horrible

posted by wiredextreme (LEWISVILLE, TX) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let's just start off saying that it's not fun at all. I guess maybe if your drunk or stoned, it would be a fun game to play with others but me and my wife played this for 10 minutes and turned it off.

First off, you can't even get your body lined up right for the scene.

Second off, there is a horrible echo for the audio part.

Third, it doesn't matter in what type of lighting you try, when it pastes you into the film, there is other things added in as well.

Don't waste your time renting this game, rent something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by Buzzyinmich (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was rented for a family event. It was horrible.

-No Hi-Def sound was available.
-Latency Issues
-Navigation through various menus was tough. Had to help the wife a few times.

All it all it was a great concept but very poorly executed in my opinion.

I hope this helps.

-Buzzy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OHHH NOO!

posted by jjcrg2080 (DECATUR, AL) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I loved the idea of this game, but just as soon as the first clip was rolling and I got to review my clip, NO AUDIO PLAYBACK for my part in the clip everything esle was great. The game would not pick up my voice but my Kinect works fine on audio commands, every clip I was in the game said I was Mimeing it meaing it wasn't picking up audio from the user. Sounds broken will be sending back immeadiatley. Really dropped the ball on this one. Kinect works fine in all other audio games I've played can't wait for an update to fix this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by lakers08 (ROSAMOND, CA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

love it soo many choces a good party game and just fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

so fantastic yet so much to do!

posted by TheGummyPop (ELBRIDGE, NY) May 2, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I cannot get a Kinect because of my mom but I have seen other videos about this and I really wanted to try it myself. By the looks and photos, it urges me to beg my mom for her to get me a Kinect, but yet she says its too much! anyways I love tis game and wanted to try it for myself. I slightly know every single movie In this game! I would make a good actor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a bit

posted by sizzle (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This was really fun at first with a group of friends over. It's silly and a good way to get the whole gang involved.

I would say it's about an hour or two of fun before you start wishing there was more content. And of course, that is all an additional charge. If I had purchased this game, I would have been pretty peeved to dish out another $30 or so to unlock all the content. For a rental, it was fun for the night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

do not rent this

posted by loveme (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

This game sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it!!

posted by april29ga (CHICKAMAUGA, GA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

it was great playing with the family very entertaining and kids loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by ekaek (HERMON, ME) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

if you host alot of parties this would be a good game for you
if you dont , dont bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You Have to have a 250 GB Hard Drive

posted by econnors (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I was planning to buy this game, but I'm glad that I didn't. The scenes aren't all that great. For example, for Forrest Gump, they picked the scene where he was on the bench waiting for the bus and got laughed at by the old man. They could have picked a better scene in my opinion.

I also couldn't watch the "movies" I made because my I have a 4 GB system. I didn't want to save them - only watch them...why impose such a limitation? Is it to get people to buy a Hard Drive? If so, they lost me with that...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Frustrating and boring

posted by ozzman3283 (PONCHATOULA, LA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I rented the game (thank you Gamefly) rather than buying it and am so happy I did. I thought it looked like a fun game for me and my 11 year old daughter and was planning to buy it if we liked it. First off, we couldn't even get past the first scene on challenge mode until after like 50 trys and I think even that was a fluke. The scene's line was all of two words so you would think it wouldn't be that difficult. Later scenes with multiple lines, where I flubbed them repeatedly, were passed with flying colors. Go figure. There were a lot of good movie selections but my daughter and I found that they tended to be very boring scenes from those movies and the lack of two player mode in most scenes made them even less fun. The most fun we ended up having was with ad libbing scenes, goofing around and being stupid. Additionally there was no way to save scenes and watch them back without having an additional hard drive connection. After a day and a half we were thoroughly bored and sent it back. Pretty bad when the game couldn't even hold an 11 year old's attention. Don't waste your time with this one. It was a total let down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yoostar 2 In The Movies

posted by WonderlustKing (TAMPA, FL) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Yoostar 2 is fun for about twenty minutes and than it looses its charm. There are plenty of movies to choose from, but the navigation controls are a little tedious. Having to spend five minutes to shoot a thirty second film shot gets old quick. My Kinect got so bored it would stare at the ceiling every other shot. Yoostar requires a lot of room setup if you want to blend yourself into the movie well. Lighting is a big issue with game. You need plenty of light, but not to much. Over-saturation is another problem you can run into. If you want to share your movies with others, you have to go through another registration process with the Yoostar web site.

Rent it.
Have a party.
Return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kind of cheesy but fun with friends

posted by jpsolo (CARSON, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I wasn't expecting that much from this game but I was surprised at how fun it was. The graphics are not anything special and you look drawn in when you act but.... it was still fun reinacting scenes from 300, Kindergarden Cop, Karate Kid, Zoolander, Babies Mama, Terminator, Grease, Star Trek and a bunch more. The more you play the more you unlock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good for parties

posted by xboxdude222 (SEALY, TX) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game gets boring by yourself but is fun for parties PS it would be cool to see a yoostar 2 in action movies just a thought

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that many choices....

posted by gamers_are_us77 (MOUNDS, OK) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

When I started playing this game I was expecting to be obi-wan kinobi or Caption Jack Sparrow From Pirates of the Carribean, but I was decieved. This game had nothing I was interested in, except 300 and The Terminator. Sure they had parts from Star Trek, but what about Mr. Spoks line, " Live long and prosper"or Forrest Gump's line " stupid is and stupid does''. This game had a few good movies, but not that many lines, nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yoostar 2 In the Movies

posted by velvitymaru (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

BORING! It looked like it'd be interesting. It was a little exiting to get to play at first, but that feeling soon wore out after I played it only a few minutes. I have never rated a game till now. Gamefly rate a 4 out of 10, but my rate is a 2 out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game is not what i expected

posted by moxtor99 (SPRING HILL, TN) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Yoostar is game of where acting and movies come together using the kinect for the motions. This game is fun for familys who like to act like a bunch of fools or who just having fun and does help with acting a little more than what people think it would. But this game is not the game for me its ok to me but its not the best game i ever played. It has some good movies but some movies i dont know. Also not a good game if you cant read so not for little kids either. Its fun when your bored just not the game i really liked.
"Moxtor99"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse