Rent Yakuza 4 for PS3
view large frontback

Yakuza 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

1577 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quite Fantastic

posted by RiseOfCybertron (LA MESA, CA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I am very much enjoying this game. It reminds me of Shenmue, also being a JRPG. The story is great, voice acting is superb, and best of all, ITS IN JAPANESE (subs of course). People try to compare it to GTA and I don't think that's very accurate. Except for the free roaming of a city, this isn't similar. The side missions are long and rather boring, but it does add to the character development of the game, which is awesome. The fighting is pretty fun, and you can level up your character as you speak to certain people, and fight. If you enjoy an interesting story and fun hand to hand combat, I would definitely recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Yakuza for Yakuza fans.

posted by Ascalon (LEWISVILLE, TX) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Personally, i'm a little torn on the multiple character/perspective twist. On one hand, all four characters are superb both story and gameplay wise, but on the other you just think that it would be better if you just controlled one guy and just have the game flesh that one particular character out.

Yakuza 5 should be out sooner or later with the same approach(and i'll probably play it), but i think they really need to reboot the series with a new main character/location.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Game I Ever Read!

posted by joecessini (LEBANON, TN) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had never before played any Yakuza game and I am glad to say I am now a fan. The game is a good mix of a beat-em-up and a touch of RPG with an ultra-complex and very deep story, covering the lives of four very different people all with ties to the Japanese underworld. The range of emotions that they experience is like a roller-coaster ride and you just need to hang on, some of the concepts MAY be difficult for some people to grasp, but it does not detract from the story whatsoever.

The fighting is simple and satisfying, enemies for the most part are simple, but there some fight sequences that seem to last forever and you wonder if you have enough stamina to make it through. Oddly enough, to me, the fights got a little easier toward the end, this may be due to the leveling up or maybe it was easier.

The only English spoken in the game is "Sky Finance" other than that, none. I was a little disappointed in that fact and I felt it should have been also done in English. Also the cut-scene to dialog box back and forth switching was a minor annoyance as well as the frequent cut-scenes.

All in all a great game and I would highly recommend this title to any fan of the series as well as newcomers such as myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same

posted by YanniDepp (OVIEDO, FL) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

to me its basically the same as the one before (3) but new characters, and a little of new things to do. Plus this time the story is actually traceable, you can tell what is going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like a Japanese Grand theft Auto.. only better

posted by zizimonsta (BRONX, NY) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yakuza 4 is a open world game with many side missions and mini games to do when you want to take a break from the story. You play as 4 characters. There's Kazuma Kiryu who is in the previous games and we're introduced to 3 new characters. All have different stories but intertwine towards a common goal.

My favorite character is one of the new guys, Shun Akiyama. His charismatic personality is addicting and he is the only one that has the mini game, Hostess maker where you recruit a girl to become number 1 at his hostess club. You get to pick her outfits, makeup, and train her to be the best. The game is very macho but this little mini game catered very well to my inner girl.

The game felt more like a jrpg (genre that I love btw). You can level up, get new skills, buy armor and weapons. You'll also encounter interesting characters that always have something quirky to say. Japanese humor is the best. The tranny at the bar is very happy to see Kiryu again ;).

Some people may see the lengthy english subs (not dubbed and spoken entirely in japanese) to be a negative but being a anime fan I'm pretty use to reading captions.

Amazing game, my fav for the ps3. I can't wait for the next one. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Yakuza yet.

posted by DJInsomniax (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The story is absolutely amazing. Plenty of things to do and plenty of side stories. Yes the game is only in japanese but with english subtitles, but that's actually how I prefer my imported games. The gameplay has been pretty much unchanged from the last game. The graphics are good not great. Voice acting is great and the story is very interesting. This is a must rent if not a definite buy in my personal opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by goatamus (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of the series then you will love this one. I was worried about playing as different protaganists, but it works really well and there are even more minigames and such then yakuza 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun action drama

posted by scsa852k (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Yakuza 4 is a game that will more than satisfy the fans of the series and provide unique style of action play to new fans to the series.

This year's title brings back Kaz Kiryu, the main character from previous Yakuza series, and also provide 3 new characters who all have their own unique personality, style and story to back up.

The best feature about Yakuza 4 besides great action, lots of side stories and mini games that you can linger around for a while, the game tells incredibly deep story that will grab your attention from the very start.

Besides main plot stories that has 4 chapters for each characters and the grand finale, the game still provides a lot of mini games and side quests to go through. The main plot of action will end within 10-15 hours but that number could double or triple based on how much you would be involved in side stories and mini-games.
Mini games range from DDR style of Karaoke, Slot machines and even a 18 round trip of a golf course.

But of course, the strongest part about this game is its story and action. The action is very fun. It's a little too easy at first but as you progress the game will challenge you but by leveling up and mastering new moves will give a variety to the style of fighting for each characters.

Downside about the game is that the graphics do look a little outdated. Sega rocked gaming world with Shenmue almost a decade ago, but it doesn't seem like Sega has revolutionized its graphics since.
You will have to come across LOTS of cut-scenes, and I do mean a LOT. Maybe a little too much when in comes to a video game.
You would hope that you would have more free-roaming access to the city of Kamorocho, you are only allowed to enter certain buildings and talk to only certain people.
Playing this game reminded me of my desire to play Shenmue 3 even more so than before. Yakuza 4 somewhat satisfied but didn't fulfill 100%.

My rating - 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Time Playing Yakuza

posted by Justin_Bieber (AUSTIN, TX) May 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

As a big fan of the Shenmue series I thoroughly enjoyed playing Yakuza 4. I could tell it's come a long way since the Shenmue days. The cinematics are beautiful, albeit long. Storyline will keep you you playing for hours.

As others have said, this game is not for everyone, but I would recommend others to give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really good game

posted by sandman441 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Mar 23, 2011

Member since May 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The whole game is really fun and has a good story. The only really negative thing are the cinematics which last a bit too long at times but once you get past that the game is fun. But careful though because it will suck you in a few times I stayed up until 5am playing the game because I couldn't find a spot to stop at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for everyone

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this a game in which i would suggest you like to read. the graphics are actually suppose to look this way by the way. the yakuza games have always used this style for a certain look so if your looking for ultra detail then i say turn away and find another game. the fighting is fun and the finishing cinematic moments are satisfying. if you are a hard core fan of this hardcore mythical Japanese universe then i suggest you play this and you will be satisfied. or even if you are just a fan of kung fu in a tokyo setting. I WOULD SUGGEST RENTING THIS BECAUSE YOU WILL PROBABLY ONLY ENJOY IT FOR THE FIRST FEW DAYS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much improved

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) May 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The first improvemnt you will notice are the graphics. They are so much better than prior versions. On par with an anime movie. The storytelling is amazing and even though this is a reader, the nuances of Japanese culture (even humor) are apparant. I've been playing for a few days and I don't have a feel for how long the game is going to be but I think there is a long way to go. The downsides are still the too frequent streetfights. The lack of save points and the reading interface is dated. If you can put up with alot of reading and are interested in Japanese culture, this came is worth a try. there are lots of mini games that are unique and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It could have been epic but it wasn't.

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was the first time I had played a game from the Yakuza series and will be the last the graphics were bad the story was stupid and the game play was awful I was expecting something like Mafia meets Sleeping dogs but what I got was a cheesy game that felt like it was a arcade game, I gave it a 2/10 just because I have played a worse game, but remember just because I didn't like it doesn't mean you wont but if you're expecting something great look somewhere else and save this for when you're out of games in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yakuza 4

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not my cup of tea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Should have been an expansion instead of a game

posted by Ryokan (GARNER, NC) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yakuza 4 (Y4) has a good story, which is a great refresher as far as games go. There are also a lot of options to pass the time in side games, some of which are enjoyable (kareoke) However, having played Yakuza 3 (Y3) this sequel is the hallmark of disappointment owing to what can only be assumed to be laziness on Sega's part. Playing through I could only feel that I had just gotten an expansion of Y3 and was dismayed at lack of effort Sega shown on this one. The game is set in Kuramancho, which was one of the big maps from the predecessor. True to the predecessor, over 90% of your game time will be at Kuramancho. That would've been fine and all if the city had received some renovations and new areas to explore, but it didn't - nothing material anyway. In fact, it seems for every new exploration spot that was added Sega just yanked another out. What's changed with the city? Basically nothing. You have new quests and missions that follow the "find this/save this person/fight so and so" variety. The most notable upgrade over Y3 is the hostess option, which was actually released on the Japan version of Y3 but never the US. Even that isn't saying much as the interactions with the hostess lose their flavor quickly and are more tedious than enjoyable after the first 30 minutes sparring in mind-numbing dialogue. Each meeting you spend lots of dough you don't often have trying to talk to a gal. You wine and dine her, and after 100K and an hour has gone by you'll see hearts on a screen (ineuendo that you will managed to seduce the girl into bed), a sparkling business card, and get a text pic of your hostess. Without hostess clubs there would be little point in earning money as there's not much else you can do with money (for me at least). You could buy weapons but they're really not needed. Other features aside, nothing's really changed. All the bad stuff you hated in Y3 is still there and the good things are too. Kiryu still fights the same and still only has one suit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Yakuza 4

posted by Iamskry (WHITEMAN AIR FORCE BASE, MO) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game was just upsetting. It was advertisd to be a japanese grand theft auto, which sounded pretty cool, so i rented it. three hours of dialogue later and all I was able to do was run down the street once to another location for another 2 hours of dialogue, i gave up at that point. If i wanted to read that much, i'd just get a new book, not a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much cinematics

posted by bertconner (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

Takes forever to do anything in this game. The first four cinematics are about 10 min each. Gameplay is fun but it should have more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is this 2011???

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 41 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

With Yakuza 4 Feels like 2004- Text Reading for 2011 you have too be Joking- Then when it goes in too Voice Acting you cant understand a Word- Sega At times i am so Lost with the Games you Put out- The City is just awful looking and you want me too spend Hours walking about Text Reading- with People i cant Underatand When they do Talk- Fighting is ok but even that feels Stiff outdated- Been one heck of a day Frist i play HomeFront and thats Outdated now Yakuza 4- Well Thank God for Gamefly Saved me some Cash'' Hey its my Views if you like 2004 Games well Today is Your Lucky Day Enjoy""

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Way!

posted by RoDawg (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This is the worst game I have ever attempted to play. There is no way this game was created in this decade- No Way!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Designed Game!

posted by 3stooges (BOCA RATON, FL) May 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I am new to the Yakuza series and I loved this game from the beginning to the end. I like the fighting a lot in this game and the story was awesome. The game designers did an excellent job creating a really neat storyline. Yes the fighting can get repetitive but if you are new to the Yakuza series definitely rent it out you will not be disappointed. There is a lot of fighting moves you can learn and there are several characters you play through the game each with their own distinct style. The ending is probably the downfall of this game, they could have done more with it! But overall I was very satisfied with this game, give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the Top Five Worst Of All Time

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) May 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Sooooooo BORING. I couldn't make it any further than like 20-30 minutes in before I took it out & shipped it back. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Forgettable at best :/

posted by Leoj305 (HIALEAH, FL) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I'm not just simply trolling' this game lacks any real creativity as far as game mechanics go. It's a sandbox game with no sand to play with in the box, if you get my drift You're just mindlessly walking around from point a to b for most of the game and forced to to engage in repetetive battles that were fun at first. The story is very convoluted, especially if you haven't played the first three games(I didn't) They have a reminscing option that recaps the last games for you but forces me to sit through even more drawn out boring cut scenes. Believe me, this game make you watch more than enough of them as it is without you having to "reminisce". I gave this game a fair chance and played it for ten hours and it still didn't grasp me, not to mention at least 3 of those hours were spent watching cutscenes :( This game reaffirms my suspicions that Japanese gaming is becoming less and less relevant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sega + martial arts= horrible

posted by ridgybarracuda2 (BOCA RATON, FL) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The only good thing about this game was the graphics.
The fighting is awful and stupid. Also they only speak Chinese or Japanese with slow english subtitles. I think this game was one of the worst games i have played in my life. Didn't even want to finish the game, good thing i didn't buy it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really Yakuza?

posted by Cakerupt (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I loved Yakuza 3 for the story and combat but the engine was outdated the way you had to sift through 10 mins of dialogue boxes to the controls and the map. Yakuza 4 has the same issues but they seem more annoying because the story is not as good. I'm done with this series until they revamp their system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

YAKUZA 4

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

This game was better than the other one, had more action that i love. And was not boring, I will be sending this game back tomorrow which will be on the 17th of this month. I would like to get the game that is available now, UNCHARTED 2,AND TOP GUN IF IT IS AVAILABLE OR MORE DYNASTY WARRIOR GAMES IF AVAILABLE.....THANX ALOT,,,,,,,CHARLES DISE,,,,,,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse