Rent Yaiba: Ninja Gaiden Z for PS3
view large frontback

Yaiba: Ninja Gaiden Z

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.0

176 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enter the Ninja

posted by Lupinite (WINSTON SALEM, NC) May 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was what I expected going in. A cyborg Ninja kills swarms of zombie's easily, but then you come across specialist zombie's. Clowns and Holy men you know how it is, kill them right and gain a unique weapon. The story is Yaiba being the Ninja Slayer decides to fight Ryu. Considering he has a cyborg body I'll leave it to you to guess what happens. He wakes up to find himself surrounded by zombie's and sent on a mission to kill Ryu and stop the zombies. Some plot twist's happen, it gets very Ninja Gaiden near the end, if you thought this was just some game that stuck the title on your wrong. The story strays back to its roots.

The tutorial is good, not a whole level, but more of a explain as you come across it. The fighting style is fast paced, and brutal. Mainly using your sword and robo-fist. The combo's are easy to do and rewarding as you use your upgrade tree. When you execute an enemy its a close up, so you get the full gorey goodness.

The upgrade tree, on my play through atleast, was completed by the last level or around there. You earn upgrade points as you kill, collect collectables, and complete levels. You might be able to finish it earlier in the game if played right.

The art style fits this game perfectly, its comic book style but 3-D. I felt that needed to be stated. The out of game cutscene's were done comicbook style, but that fit in very well.

The voice acting was well done. Not phenomenal but better then some people might expect. Yaiba's voice actor got the gruff and arrogant just right, while Ryu sounded humble but confident. Miss Monday and 'the Spanish peanut' matched perfectly with the voice's given to them. Most of the lines in the game, spoken out of conversation, were ether violent one liner's or pervy lines aimed at Monday (when you see her, you'll understand why).

The arcade mode unlocked after beating the story is a side scroller, no executions or grabs, but its decent. So give it a try, the intro is very broken englis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ninja Time

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 20, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This Game is ok- But the Unbalance Difficulty Level is painful - You will be doing OK then a new enemy will come up and be tough as nails and you will see the long loading screen over and over. Upgrades are not all that great. Plus this is no true Gaiden game- Why not just name it under a different name? Just call it Yaiba. Over all i am having fun its OK- Great Rent Game - Sorry for the poor writing skills i am just a old man that loves Games . thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Failure mechanics Ruin a potentially fun game.

posted by Vorthinos (FORT OGLETHORPE, GA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

There is no reason a boss fight of three stages with a camera angel that looks like it belongs in a PS1 title should be released in this day and age. The game's final fight is unnecessarily complicated, with no hint and even when you do figure it out the enemies will simply stun lock/chain combo you into a never ending loop that you cannot counter and is not able to be blocked. Once your health has been depleted you are forced to start back at the previous checkpoint, which means having to do the entire fight and it's broken mechanics over again. When firing the bile bombs at the final boss during laser eye sequence he will have invulnerability frames and if he moves at even the slightest angle then you will lose the target thus making that entire round of waiting on him to fire the lasers after acquiring said weapon useless. Let's not even get into some of the other detection and recognition mechanics that this game has failed to yield proper results, in short remove from your gameQ or send it back ASAP so that you do not waste time or part of your monthly subscription on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just rediculus

posted by Silohara (ELMIRA, NY) May 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

I had high hopes for this game... I really did and tried to give it a chance butit just does not match up to its predecessor.... iI like the comic book look but the controles and the stories and mainly the story did zero to help this game... I do not reccomend at all steer clear people.... you will get this game and the next day send it back I promise....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid, fun game. Don't see why ppl are hating ??

posted by chdezjr (MIAMI, FL) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I admit I'm not the type who stays at home all day and plays video games. I work and during the little free time I have, I occasionally turn on the PS3 and figured I'd give Gamefly a try - this was the most recent game I received and being one of those who actually remembers playing the original Ninja Gaiden on NES, I'm glad they have kept the franchise around up to this point. Granted, this is totally off the beaten path for Ninja Gaiden, the game provides alot of fun elements. The graphics were over the top when they needed to be and I found it to be a good rental. Would I buy it? No. it was too short a game. But for a rental, I'd say it was one of the better ones I have received so far. Ninja Gaiden fans who hate on this game need to stop being such purists. It's not always a bad things to try to do something differently and I for one applaud Ninja Theory on their work (even if it was just as supervisors) on this game. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a few days of decent game play, but not as a purchase...just a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like a Genesis game

posted by GlassDarkly (STEVENSON RANCH, CA) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

If this was a Genesis game back in the day, it would be seen as a classic. That's how I view this game, and that's why I enjoyed it, although I have some criticisms.

At it's core, it's a somewhat simple beat 'em up, which is fine by me. Levels are simple, fast, and fun, and the enemies somewhat varied.

The game also has a decent sense of humor, which is welcome.

The downside is there's a sudden spike in difficulty around the 4th level (when you fight Ryu), and then the last two stages of the game just drag on, because they just throw more of the same enemies at you. I would have liked more variation.

It took 4-5 hours to beat, which is fine by me. I wouldn't have dropped $60, but for $20 or so, worth it. It's got that old-school feel that I like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

JUST NO.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Apr 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

I played this game an hour, maybe less. It just did not grab me. They only lure this had was using Ryu Hayabusa and the name NINJA GAIDEN, but this is NOT NINJA GAIDEN....NOT EVEN CLOSE. Its fast action fighting, but that's about there is to this. Its chaotic nonsense with an almost non existence lack luster story. The cell shading graphics didn't add much to the excitement either. The controls are wonky, and the upgrade UI is confusing. I packed this up and put it back in the mail the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Official Video Game of Warped Tour 2014

posted by Occams (BATON ROUGE, LA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

The thick lines and heavy colors give the game a pleasant art style but quickly becomes overwhelming when the action gets intense. A collection of mediocre ideas executed with a minimal amount of effort. Try this if you are bored or curious but don't expect anything special. Just go play Bayonetta instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fun concept poor execution

posted by Love4Games (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 14, 2014

Member since May 2005

This game wasn't worth playing. It took all the frustrating and not fun parts of ninja gaiden and stripped away everything that made it fun and worth playing.

The game wants you to use combos and block/counter with precision but the controls do not allow it. It is a button mashing game up until the bosses so you get no real practice through out the game.

I have never said "This is so stupid and frustrating" so many times while playing before.

You can beat the game in 1 day if you power through the frustration but it isn't worth it. Skip it, you have been warned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Straight... Awful...

posted by CrazzyAzzy (LARKSPUR, CA) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game is probably the worst hack n slash I have ever picked up. It's like Lollipop Chainsaw mixed with the worst God of War formula ever. No flow to the fighting what so ever and you don't even get the feeling that you're hurting the zombies. You just mash X, Triangle, and Circle until Yaiba randomly stops and press L2 when you see a tiny exclamation point above an enemy's head. Disposable weapon system is also really dumb because of the way you obtain them. The game tries to be a mix between funny and bad azz but it just comes off as trying too hard. The old Ninja Gaiden's were amazing, but this spin off is just trash. No wonder Ryu killed Yaiba.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

QUIT YOUR COMPLAINING.

posted by Naphtali357 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

This obviously is not your typical Ninja Gaiden game. But the thing that gets me is the fact that they say the previous games were "challenging, but fair" and that this game was not fair at all. But I'm going to be honest here:

Compared to THIS game, the previous games were a cakewalk. Yes, I said it.

See, there is often a hack-and-slash mentality from some (if not most) Ninja Gaiden fans. Were you really gonna memorize all those combos? No, you were button-mashing. How often did you use shuriken? Most likely never, because the enemy would reflect them back so much that you just decided to stick close range. Also, while the AI was smart, they were predictable. All they did was give you the same enemies over, and over, and over. True, they got harder to beat as you went further in, but eventually you get used to them. If you are one of the dedicated Ninja Gaiden fans who actually TOOK THE TIME to master the game, I applaud you. I wish I could've done the same.

Now, just to get things out of the way in terms of Ninja Gaiden Z: "Yaiba is just not LIKEABLE". He's not supposed to be. Though his own family DID try to kill him. "Ryu Hayabusa is WAY cooler than this guy." We all know that. Thank you for stating the obvious. You are so smart. (Note the sarcasm.) "This game is unfair." No, you just wanna button-mash and do a few combos like you did before. You fighting a horde of ZOMBIES! Not predictable NINJAS and SUPER-SOLDIERS!!! Zombies of all shapes and sizes are coming at you so you actually got to examine what the heck is happening and think. Sure, you blast your way through. That's the premise. But come on, you got to think SOMETIME.

The elemental system is a lot more useful than people think. And the game, as a whole, is better than what the "expert reviewers" say it is. I can't say everything here, because of the limit. But please.

Try the game and actually look at it thoroughly- WITHOUT BIAS- before going all "RYU HAYABUSA!!!!" on me. Please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

i like zombies but didnt like this

posted by mipal (HORN LAKE, MS) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

this game had zombies thats why i rented it. but when a game is too much like a game i get board i like open world mayhem. the levels were too small and the fighting was too much like mortal combat too many combos and no satisfaction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Prepare to be frustrated

posted by PipsMcClawski (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This game is incredibly frustrating. Mostly because it has a bad camera. Either the camera is fixed at a bad angle so that you cant see enemies off the screen or its zoomed so far back that everyone looks like ants and you cant even tell which one is you and which are the enemies. Which is really bad when you're getting swarmed by baddies that'll kill you in one swift combo...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »