Rent Xenoblade: Chronicles for Wii
view large frontback

Xenoblade: Chronicles

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1583 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii game

posted by Poonac (WATERLOO, IA) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best Wii game to ever exist.
It absolutely blew me away. The story, the soundtrack, the combat, and the beautiful world it takes place on is incredible.
These words mean nothing, unfortunately, unless you've played it.
Just rent then buy it and love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!

posted by digitalman (ANN ARBOR, MI) Apr 14, 2012

Member since May 2010

19 out of 27 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This is the RPG I've been waiting for! What really hooked me was the battle system, open environment, music and just how simple its to get around to any location you want. The battle system is similar to an MMO but much quicker and more strategy is involved. 19 hours in and i'm still learning new ways to battle. Its so simple but deep. really love the scope of the open environments. I spent about 10 hours just in the first town and beach/forest area completing missions and getting to know the characters. Its such a joy to just wander around I didn't want to use the jump to any area feature. I can't believe that the he Wii can handle a game as huge as this with almost no load times! wow! I can't say enough about the music. For the first time since final fantasy 10 I just sat there listening to the music during the title sequence. everything else is just magic. some areas like the bionis leg (during day) are ok but most of the music is Uematsu caliber. The gem crafting is a bit overwhelming and confusing. I'm still trying to figure it out. The story is interesting and will get you hooked from the get go. Some minor stories can be predictable. The characters are solid; some scenes are better than others. The overall dialogue is mostly good but there are times that it seems a bit awkward due to the character animation (very old school) and scripting. The english dub is surprisingly good. The only character so far that annoyed me was the villan Xord; its over acted. I'm happy that they included the original japanese dialogue and it can be switched at any time! I like to listen to the main plot in japanese and the battles in english; so I know what the heck my characters are doing and I can follow up at the right time to chain a combo. I'm about 20 hours in and loving every minute!The awesomeness of the game completely overshadows its minor shortcoming. This is a must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by KamenRiderZero (KEENE, NH) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The ONLY game I consider better is EarthBound on SNES. Xenoblade has the most beautiful soundtrack I have ever heard, the graphics are gorgeous for a Wii title, the characters are well written and if you don't like the British voices you can switch to the original Japanese voices ( all text will still be in English ) but the voice acting is actually very good. The battle system can seem complicated at first, but once you get into it it's a lot of fun. 100+ hours of gameplay with nearly 500 side quests. BUY THIS GAME IF YOU LIKE RPGs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game! So much packed into it.

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game might just be an all-around winner. I am not too easy to impress, but the game's story and setting is so unique that the game could be praised just for those.

Graphics are so pretty and ingenious at the same time...all without not compromising the pace of the game. The developers really paid attention to the small things, such as the effects of the weeds/plants, or the clouds/sky. The environment changes from day to night and vice versa, and the music has its own changes with the time of the day. Field of vision goes on forever it seems, and the character/monster design is well made, with shadows to boot.

Gameplay is very unique to say the least. You can travel in groups of three, and you get special bonuses if your party builds their friendships with one another. Also, depending on who you have in your party, they will talk to each other differently--making a more personable game. Environments are immense an as far as foot travel is concerned. Combat has unique combinations of tactics that can range from pinching a monster to KO'ing it instantly--so you have to use your brain to progress in many instances in the game. Add that with infinite armor and weapon customisation with accessory decorating for special skills, and you have a recipe for a fairly addictive game.

Music is symphony-quality! +1! Great music score.

With the graphics + music, I just have to say that some of the places in this game are so ethereal that it would be award-winning. Eryth Sea daytime to nighttime? Are you kidding me? I don't think I've seen an environment more beautiful.

The only contests I have to the game is two things: Side quests, because they are too tedious and way too many. Also, the voice emotions. The sad/angry voices lack emotion; seeing how much work the developers did in everything else, they could have taken it up a notch in the voice department.

Either way, you need to get this game if you haven't already! You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Longest. Game. Ever.

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, Xenoblade is an amazing game. A zillion sidequests, great story (don't listen to the haters saying it's immature... they clearly didn't play through enough because there are PLENTY of twists and turns), solid combat, and a huge world to explore. It's a Wii game so if you were expecting amazing graphics, you're probably not the brightest dude (or dudette) around. In case you haven't figured it out yet, great graphics have nothing to do with making an amazing game (nor was that ever a focus of the Wii). All of this said, this game is LONG. Like really long - Like easily 60+ hours for the main quest alone. All of this said though, I do agree that it's one of the best JRPG's to come out in a long time.

Final Word - If you have MANY hours to spare, yes, play this game. If you really love RPG's with a great story, awesome characters, and fun combat, yes, play this game. If you're a side quest fan (literally a billion sidequests), yes, play this game. If you're looking for a graphical masterpiece that you can beat in 6-10 hours, sell your Wii and go pick up a PS3 or Xbox because you're looking in the wrong place, bub.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally a reason to not sell your Wii

posted by schultzism (GERMANTOWN, TN) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that after you have play it, you look at the game time on your save and realized you have been playing for 80+ hours.

The story line though can get a bit corny is still amazing (FFVIIesque). The characters actually grow on you pretty quickly and by the time you know it you think you can talk with a British accent and you begin calling people jokers. My favorite part about this game is that you have the option of free roaming or you can continue with the story. A lot of the fields are open to you very early in the game.

The fighting in this game rarely gets boring. You can control any character you want which is always a + in my book. You actually have to move around if you want to be effective. The healing system is awesome cause i hate to sit after battle and potion up. It reminds me of the SWOR battle system which is built for grinding w/o getting boring.

The graphics are incredible (why couldnt this game be on xbox or ps3) for a wii.

I have owned this game for nearly a year now, and ran through it twice.

To sum it up,
It has elements from Chrono Trigger, BOF II, FFVII, SWOR, and many other rpgs. 10 out of 10 for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I have missed games like this

posted by Kizna (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love tradtional RPGs and this game is just that. It is lovely world and with huge amount of things to do and see. As to graphics it is a Wii game don't expect PS3 or 360 quality in the visuals but look for the little details that are put in. They make the world just that more real. Expect to do lots of little mini quest, this game is full of them, and expect to do lots of monster grinding for them, but this isn't the usual go there and hit them. The combat is very fluid and with chians and mixing of skills in real time make the game fights go faster and flow better.

I wish we had more games like this in the market and with Last Story an Pandoria's Tower to come the Wii is going out on a strong RPG foot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Wii is dead, but this Epic JRPG keeps it alive

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Dont let the fact that its on the Wii dissuade you, this is an epic JRPG that melds JRPG gameplay with western MMORPG mechanics. Its long, its got interesting characters and a deep story. A very involving battle system, Its got tons of customization, side quests, and places to explore, epic mobs to kill. The only downside is that its on the primitive Wii, meaning the graphics just arent meant for HD screens. If you can overcome that, you will enjoy this massive JRPG. SquareEnix could learn how to make a good RPG from these guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If your Wii is a few years old, BEWARE!

posted by thatoneguythatg (BELGRADE, MT) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

If your Wii has ever had any disc-read problems then theres a good chance you won't get to play this game much, if at all.
The small amount I got to play I enjoyed, but what happened after rendered that joy into sorrow and remorse. Here's what happened; I got Xenoblade in the mail and I excitedly put it in my Wii only for it to tell me that it is unable to read the disc. I've had this problem before and it was only a matter of re-inserting the disc until it started to spin. Well after about a dozen tries it finally fired up. I played for several hours and then I shut it off and went to bed.
The next day when I tried to get it to play, it just plain refused. So I get on the net to see if other people are having the same problem and how I might fix it. I found that the culprit was a dirty disc-read lens coupled with dual-layered discs. Nintendo used to make a cleaning disc that seems to be discontinued. So I look on youtube to see if there is anything I can do without an official cleaner and found several videos detailing how to make your own cleaner.
I was a bit skeptical but I really wanted to continue this game, so I made my own cleaning disc and carefully wiped the inside of my console and to my relief it actually worked, the game played on the third try.
So I play for several hours until I went to make dinner. After eating I went back to play and it worked after the fourth try so I thought it must have worked, right? WRONG!!!
About ten minutes in my Wii starts making a horrible buzzing. I turned it off for a while and then turned it back on. It seemed to be fine other than not being able to play the dual-layered disc (others played fine). I should have given up at this point but like a fool I decided to try cleaning it again . The pad on the disc got caught on something and is now stuck in the disc drive. Now I have to risk ruining by taking it apart.
It looks like I'll have to wait until I get a Wii U to play through this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy this game!!

posted by Tazh (KILLEEN, TX) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Greatest JRPG Ever get it before it'd to late!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad but not my style of play

posted by Deckmonkey (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It has very good graphics and story line but the control was very hard and to many things to press just to do something. Combat was hard because while I was trying to scroll for a skill I was getting attacked and just to much to do to do a simple action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Single player and RPG for the Wii

posted by chrimson85 (KENT, WA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've played over 70 Games for the Wii. If there is a reason to own a Wii this game is it. It is a tragedy that this game was not made for the other consoles. I think if it had better graphics it would be perfect in my opinion. But there has been plenty of games with amazing graphics that are just plain boring, short, or have under developed game play. This is a must buy game for the Wii if u like rpgs!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is so dang long, but it's awesome

posted by SoulGamer (STAFFORD, TX) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After hearing how great the game was, i decided to try it out. The gameplay is so fresh and original, I don't want to explain it so go watch some youtube videos of it. The game have tons of sidequest and the main quest too me 60 hours to beat. This is worth the 50 bucks if ya plan to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game should have came out 10 years ago

posted by neokat (DALLAS, NC) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I didn't completely hate the idea of this game,
however, like most current Wii games it just seems that they are
dressing up old Gamecube games and adapting them to the Wii controls, I don't want to say this a completely terrible game but
considering the price for it NEW to purchase is a real middle finger
to a game audience.

as for graphics, wow, they didn't even try to dress this game up,
I mean I don't expect much from Nintendo nowadays, but wow....
these were bad graphics even for Wii.

unless your a hardcore JRPG fan I wouldn't suggest this game
to the average gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by Skoke (SHEFFIELD, AL) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Decent mmorpg styled game, but not really something I can get hooked on for a console game. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need to Play!

posted by RemnantWings (ALAMO, NV) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Aside from the title screen, the graphics are on par with... PS2, but unless you're a snobby rpg player you will enjoy this game. This jrpg definitely needs to be played, admittedly it took me a while to get used to the battle system which ended up involving more tactics just auto-attack like i thought it would. The voice acting fits well with the jrpg scripts but honestly I can't tell the difference in the voice of Shulk and Reyn who you will hear a lot of. If you are an avid RPG player this game definitely needs to be played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sorry to say.

posted by vocal_hero (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Xenoblade chronicles had the potential to be a great rpg in my personal opinion, but the fact that it was made for the wii left it dead in the water. The mechanics, story, characters, world, and battle system are all great and redeeming qualities of this graphical eyesore of a game. Yes, I am completely aware of the wii's specs in comparison to other platforms and have come to expect the low end quality and visuals, this is why I have to exclaim, its a shame a game like this landed on the wii of all platforms.

Now don't get me wrong, I am a very nostalgic kind of guy who loves to revisit older platforms and often replay a lot of my favorite titles and I have little issue with graphical quality. But the wii seems to pump out a relentless onslaught of low tier junk, closely resembling diarrhea. It's hardware severely limits the game designers resources and productivity, often scaring away 3rd party designers all together. The bogus controls have definitely overstayed their welcome, and can single handedly destroy any interest one has in any wii title in general.

That being said I have to give Xenoblade chronicles two different ratings as it would be unfair to rate it solely on hardware limitations. 9/10 in gameplay while I truly believe it earns a 3/10 graphically.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great if you're 12-13 years old.

posted by Fluffy (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I received this game hoping to play an epic RPG that had a solid story line, good gameplay, acceptable voice acting, and an overall enjoyable experience.

What I found was that I would have found this game great fun, if I were 12. I'm assuming a great number of gamefly customers are NOT 12 years old, so I would advise against renting this. If you ARE a 12 or 13 year old, then you very well may enjoy this game.

The voice acting was absolutely TERRIBLE, the storyline was excessively juvenile, and while the combat system wasn't terrible, it was in my opinion, sub-par.

Save yourself some time and energy, and find something else to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't get it

posted by Trafalgar (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 28 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I tired sitting down and play this game for about 3 days I wanted to like it but the poor story line, graphics, hours of having to grind and die all most every 5 mins was annoying and for some reason everyone talks like they're from Australia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by chuck45 (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I did not enjoy this game it had more story time than game time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Much Story, Not Enough Play

posted by Ancient_Gamer (PEORIA, AZ) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

The title says it all, I felt as if I was watching an animated movie, and not a very good one at that. There simply was an excessive amount of time spent waiting and watching events unfold. Furthermore, once you actually get an opportunity to be involved, your role is limited to running up to the foe, selecting from a minimal set of moves and then waiting for the game to do the fighting. Very lame indeed, there are instant streaming games online which offer more player involvement, excitement and fun. I only gave it a score of four because the graphics and video where decent, plus, there may be extremely laid-back players out there who might enjoy watching a movie which has some interaction interwoven.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow thats lame

posted by worlddomanator (PUYALLUP, WA) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 41 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

first off if like me you thought this would somehow tie into xenogears or xeno saga no ot doesnt. next issue this has THE LAMEST BATTLE SYSTEM EVER. all you do is swap between skills to do any damage and while if your close enough attacks auto for no damage.its like wow with downs. the only reason i even gave it a 2 was cause the wii finally got a new game. if this title was put under any other console it woulda bricked and never made it out. thanks gamefly for saving me the money that woulda been wasted too bad i wont ever get that 4 hrs of my life back. dont bother renting this seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by mook0627 (NORMAL, IL) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

i started the game and it took me two minutes to take it ut and send it back i did not like the fact that u could not just use the weapons with the push of a button you had to go through multiple steps to fight it for kids not anyone 15 and up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

camera

posted by mspurple6535 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 27, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

the camera was janky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Battle System

posted by Supershadow95 (MECHANICSVILLE, VA) Jul 17, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

I saw at least 10 reviews that say the battle system sucks. It's an RPG! You always select attacks. The idea is that you can move, you autoattack. The strategy is picking the RIGHT moves. If you really gave this game a 1, you're looking at the wrong game, CODfag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse