Rent Xbox Live Arcade Unplugged Volume 1 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Xbox Live Arcade Unplugged Volume 1

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.7

810 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Live Arcade for everyone

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 11, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

60 out of 67 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Unplugged is a great rent for two kinds of people: people that aren't on Xbox Live and people that liked the trial versions of the games and want to earn the achievements. Included in Volume 1 are the following games: Geometry Wars: Evolved, Bejeweled 2 Deluxe, Outpost Kaloki X, Wik: Fable of Souls, Hardwood Backgammon, and Texas Hold'em. It's a good mix, and all of the games are decent (some obviously better than others).

I'd say the main draw here is Geometry Wars. It's basically a space shooter, like Asteroids, but it pretty much looks like fireworks. There's bullets and explosions ALL OVER THE PLACE, with everything shining in bright colors. It's very addictive.

Bejeweled 2 is a puzzle game, similar to Hexic HD. Unlike Hexic, however, you have a checkerboard-like playing field and instead of spinning three pieces at once, you move a single piece at a time. Ultimately, the goal is the same: connect like pieces to make them explode and disappear.

Outpost Kaloki is essentially a tycoon game, where you have to manage and maintain a space station. There is a lot of time that can be sunk into this game, especially considering the large number of downloadable scenarios available on the Marketplace.

Wik is basically a side-scrolling platformer, somewhat like Earthworm Jim. Your character is some kind of frog thing, and you can swing around from branches with your tongue. You need to collect little caterpillar things and then feed them to some big purple guy. Yes, it's kinda strange, but it's entertaining and that's what counts.

The last two games are fairly self explanatory. Hardwood Backgammon is, well, backgammon, and Texas Hold'em is Texas Hold'em, which is a kind of poker. Backgammon is easily the weakest link in this group, but at least renting it through Gamefly means you don't really have to pay for it.

Essentially, that's the benefit of this disc in general: get a bunch of Live Arcade games (and achievements) without having to purchase and download them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok for a rent but even that might be a stretch

posted by dephile (MOBILE, AL) Sep 8, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

XBOX Live Arcade Unplugged allows you to play 6 of the "hottest" XBLA games out at the time it was released. Most players may only enjoy half of the games included (like geometry wars for example). The real market for this title would be people with an XB360 that has no internet access. Otherwise you would be better off downloading the free trials of these games (and many more) from xbox live arcade. If you enjoy the games, drop a few points and pick them up to play again and again. For those without a networked XB360 this could be a fun diversion, everyone else should probably throw something else in their queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Xbox Live on a disc...

posted by s10blazed (ROCHESTER, PA) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

What a waste of a rental since every game included is a downloadable demo from Xbox Live. Most on the disc are even demos. Please don't waste your time with this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Know what your renting!

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 26 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Sure the games are ok. Geo wars rocks. But you can NOT rent this disc and then save the games to your hard drive or mem unit. The games stay on the disc and play from it. If you want these games down load em. If you don't have LIVE, you prolly don't have online and GameFly anyways. Otherwise just buy the Disc, this is a weak rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Arcade 360 a waste of money and time

posted by feetfirst (YELLOW SPRINGS, OH) Oct 25, 2007

Member since May 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game disk contains 10 games that you could have played on an Atari system ten years ago. One of the games, Bejeweled is a decent game, but it is available to play for free at several online gaming sites. I might buy this set of games for my pda or smart phone, however, this is not a game I would buy for a $500 gaming system.

At least one of the games on the disk is a trial version. Why would I pay $30 for a game with a trial version.

My opinion is don't waste your time or money on this....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

unplugged means unplugged

posted by doctorz (DEKALB, IL) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

game is fun but unless you have xbox live you can not access all of the games features.why would you buy a game where all of the games are trial versions
makes no sense to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not wort ur time

posted by dizzya05 (LANSING, MI) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All i have to say is that don't bother rent this game un less u go to the game store and buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

doesn't even work

posted by saltatious (BEECH MOUNTAIN, NC) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if i could i would give this game a zero, i say this because, 1. it was horrible, 2. i took 45 min. for my disk to work, and 3. if you have any dignity you will NOT rent or buy this abolishment to the gaming world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this is bad ....very bad

posted by tempast (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Nov 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game should not be a rental...this is all the games you can play online ... If they really want it to make it any worst than it is they should of put E.T. as a playable game for the icing on the cake..............please dont rent this.......and if you do .......... hit yourself in the head once you learn you wasted a day waiting on this game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Microsoft should revoke license

posted by laccal (KENNER, LA) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It has replaced my previous #1 (Intellivision lives) as the worst game ever. Don't waste your time. In fact, you may instead consider that tooth extraction you've been putting off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't bother with the disc, just download the game

posted by LOKI60 (EUGENE, OR) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

so i pop this game in, find out that i already have the 2 games i care about downloaded and the rest of the games i have to pay for??? what the he77????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Arcades are always great!

posted by RedNara (LEXINGTON, MA) Sep 7, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

This game is just great, there is whole bunch of arcades which is definatly worth borrowing. Good stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Geometry Wars Rocks!!!

posted by jwilson (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Sep 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

I haven't played the other games, but if you don't have access to Geometry Wars by other means then you should get this. Geometry Wars may be one of the best/ most addictive games ever made. Before long you will have a true hatred of simple shapes and colors. Take that squares!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Arcade UnPlugged

posted by Andar31 (FARMINGTON, MO) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The game won't play when I put in the XBox 360 it say's disconnected from xbox live then goes back to the dashboard! Sending it back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Does Not Work

posted by RedGinger (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game will not update properly due to the changes on Xbox Live and the removal of some games. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucked.

posted by bckeyekila (YPSILANTI, MI) May 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

tried to play this game and it would not allow me to play on my xbox... kept signing me out an stuff. really sucked. wanted to play geometry wars really bad. sucks. I even tried to sign off xbox live... and it kept signing me in and NOT allowing me to play on or offline... although the sleeve it came in said and i quote... "Xbox live goes unplugged with this first ever collection that lets you experience xbox live arcade favorites without going online...."... i repeat...(WITHOUT GOING ONLINE).... not sure what happened. if u had same problem, please post review like i did. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really, Why the bad Reviews? MOST TRUTHFUL REVIEW!

posted by blahman777 (BOILING SPRINGS, PA) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

Anyone who says this is bad, they obviously dont know what theyre talking about. Don't rent this!!! Buy it at gamestop for $5!!! You may not like all of them, but you will most likely like one, and even thats enough to save money! Most of these games are $10 on arcade, so do yourself a favor, go buy this. If you rent it, you are wasting a rent. Thats right you would SAVE money if you bought instead... That is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth your time

posted by Armywife (LEXINGTON, KY) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Couldn't even play the game, just kept kicking me off of Live and going back to the main 360 screen. Sent it back the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game Wasnt As Good As Claimed

posted by WandanEric (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

It stated on there that you didnt have to be in Xbox Live, that was wrong. The Texas Hold'Em wouldnt let you play 2 player as claimed on screen when logged into the game. Bejweled 2 was the only game that was good on there. The other half were demos, couldnt be played two player or just wasnt good at all. Kept only 1 night and stuck back into the mail. Glad we didnt buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game is a terrible RENTAL!

posted by CrazyJim07 (WAPAKONETA, OH) May 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I just received this game in the mail today. Expecting a fun filled evening of trying different Arcade games with achievements! Sadly to say THIS GAME DOESN'T EVEN WORK!!!! Offline or online the disc would not boot up. I was very discouraged for a waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

arcade unplugged

posted by thee24me (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this game is the same as the games you can find online, it's not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's Like the Worst arcade games thrown together

posted by glthrowdow (ORANGE PARK, FL) Sep 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game is seriously bad. The only good game on this disc is Geometry Wars but that IS IT. All of the other games just don't have that same appeal.

If an arcade disc is made... it should at least have games that gamers would want to play.

Avoid this disc all together, save yourself some time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Great...

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Apr 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

The xbox live arcade edition 1 is not very good there are two games on it that were ok geometry wars and bejeweled. The other games on this game were dreadful they were boring and didnt keep me playing this game for more than a few hours. It was boring and if you want to play this game you must be a dedicated player but you shouldnt waste your time on this game instead play call of duty 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

if u like backgammon try this

posted by Travis360 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

the only game i found on this collection that i liked was the backgammon me and my wife play together. the rest of the games didn't do anything for me. I just didn't get them even geometry wars which has gotten good reviews from others did not a thing for me just a prettier version of asteroids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Xbox live Arcade Unplugged Vol. 1

posted by Sarah77 (GLENDORA, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

I like it because you can play the arcades with out downloading them. I had some zeros on my list from when arcade trials used to give you zeros. So this was a good way to get some achievements on arcades.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse