Rent XCOM: Enemy Within for PS3
view large frontback

XCOM: Enemy Within

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great expansion and no need for Enemy Unkown

posted by Toast4Twenty (PARK CITY, KS) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was thrown off at first by how the storyline is literally the exact same as enemy unknown but then I realized it was even better. XEW is like a massive expansion pack to the first, including two new objectives added to the the storyline, many new maps and something called 'meld'. Meld is used to either genetically alter soldiers in the new facility called a genetics lab or meld can be used to augment the soldier with a new body armor that is upgradeable (I.E. Flamethrower etc.) Augmented soldiers are assigned to the 'Mech Trooper' class and have a refreshed and new ability tree as opposed to the 'gene' solider which keep their class and learned abilities, they get a separate gene ability tree- much like the psychic abilitree in Enemy Unknown except both sides of the tree can be obtained, which is nice way to relieve pressure of choosing an ability. There are many more choices in the player customization as well. You can now equip helmets to soldiers (they have no defensive plus stats, just for looks), in fact, there are over 20 helmets to choose from. You can also change the soldiers uniform style and color scheme. This is a great game and I am going to keep it. The way it includes the original storyline makes me feel like 2k and Fireaxis are saying "Hey, this is what we should have made the first time" and they nailed it!

Multiplayer also includes many additions. When playing duel matches against other players building a squad requires rationing points. Each category of soldier (either xcom or alien) will take a certain amount of points to have on the team. Equipment for the soldiers also take equipment. Players can choose to play an unlimited point match. Playing online only consist of duel battles and players will strategize against another in a random generated map from the game. It is addictive and ther are ranked matches.

It's a great expansion that doesn't require you to own or have played its predecessor.

Please thumbs up this review. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Exact same as the last game.

posted by cajuntigger (HOUMA, LA) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Whats the deal. This story line is the exact same as the other xcom game with the exception of a few newer mods and gear. They should have at least changed the story line up some. Plus whats with all the glitches and freezes? I am sure i am not the only one who experienced this. I got tired of having to reboot my PS3 just to finish this game. I had to reboot my PS3 at least 20 times due to glitches and it lagging out and freezing. One would figure if your going to make a brand like this after the first one you would have all the issues fixed but guess not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A role-playing installment of the last Xcom

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 16, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Not my type of game... If you like watching the AI play a game that you conduct you may like this title. These games are senseless to me, but the quality of the game is prestine. I was hoping it would have been like the last Xcom, where you are actually part of the game.. Instead you are strickly Commander and only command squad members to orders.

You play as the Commander of Xcom
An alien presence has began appearing, you are placed into the field to command squad members to liberate and remove any alien life or alien objects.

I liked the previous Xcom... This one is pure role-playing, turn-style based that I got bored with 10 minutes after playing. Its not my type of game... I'm more of being in the game not watching and given some order. The game is not a strategy game, where you have fleets to organize... Just a 4-6 man squad and the turn-style gameplay... Allowing you to move one time per-character is also annoying to me.

The graphics are cool... I like how the camera zooms into some characters as they perform manuvers... It gave a cinematic feel to the title while playing.

You outfit your command center too... To being the best alien counter-measure facility. Using upgrades you can enhance to the base and to your squad. Its very refined in numerous ways, but sometimes... It just feels like in instances that you are observing a massive ant farm of humans.

In all, if you liked games like... Dragon age or Tom Clancy's End War... Where you have no control of the character, but like giving them tasks to do... You may enjoy it. I only wish this title was like the previous title, where you are the commander and on the game floor. All the extra stuff, player customization, Command center customizations are great. If all that was in the last title of Xcom... It would have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Oh no.

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) May 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i cant begin to explain why this game exists. This title is Enemy Unknown with additions to classes, a few abilities, and some bonus enemies that mirror the additional classes and some side story. That is not worth $60 people! CALL THIS OUT! The economy is in shambles. I take my gaming seriously and companies will continue to exploit your time and money this way and also continue to make poopy games. Finally, the game is cool. Read my review on Enemy Unknown add what I said here. There you go. 2K has lost all my respect and I will never play another 2K game ever. Dont care. Call it what you will. Sorry you wasted your time and money. Thanks and game on just not with 2k games ever again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a lousy game

posted by dextermac (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Worst game that I have ever played on Xbox. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I love these seemingly simple games

posted by piatro (KILLEEN, TX) Oct 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

I love the strategy involved. Play it fast and loose makes you tge quick and the dead. Careful planning and team balancing is the way to go. Great expansion pack. Cant wait for the next installment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very successful expansion.

posted by RiosSumari (PALM COAST, FL) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I've been a fan of strategy RPG's for some time and playing Xcom Enemy Unknown was a very enjoyable experience for me, so sitting down to play Enemy Within I had alot of hype to go on. All in all I was not disappointed, Enemy within takes everything that was great about its predecessor and makes it better. New enemies, new allied units, and new weapons make it all the better. If I had to pick one reason why this game stumbles it would have to be that trying to keep the panic meter down for every country is still a vicious and almost unfair challenge, and no matter how hard I try I always seemed to lost at least one countries support. Ultimately this game was what I wanted it to be, the story and most of the cinematic's were the same but this isn't a bad thing since its more of an expansion then direct sequel. So if you liked the Enemy Unknown do yourself a favor and pick up Enemy Within as soon as you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

They broke the game this time.

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

After being a BIG XCOM fan for years now, I'm officially disappointed and annoyed.

(1) I had to set the game to EASY just to get through some of the early levels. I know, I know, the point of XCOM is that it's a super-tough strategy game, but come on! This is ridiculous. Stupid-hard.
(2) More to point (1): when you get to the "defend the base" map, be prepared to throw your controller at the TV. You thought the early levels were hard? Be prepared to lose most of your team. That is, if you can beat this level at all. Near impossible.
(3) The game crashes constantly. Like, every other time I play. Sometimes it won't even load saved games. Sometimes it just freezes during the opposing team's turn. Save often.

Bummer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An interesting improvement on Xcom: Enemy Unknown.

posted by GreyOgre (DAYTON, OH) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

To say that Xcom: Enemy Within is a brand new experience would not be exactly correct. If you have already played Xcom: Enemy Unknown, the previous Xcom title, you will notice that's practically the same game but with enough added features that it takes the high stakes pressure vibe to a whole new level.

Xcom puts you into the role of a commander in charge of an international project who's goal is to figure out how to best protect the earth from an alien invasion. In the beginning, only armed with earth tech and funded by a bunch of nervous countries who's faith in the Xcom project can quickly evaporate over time, your resources are limited and dwindling. It's an uphill battle trying to defend the earth, outmatched on the battle field and struggling to manage your bases' horrible time sensitive economic situation between missions. In fact it's so stressful, that every step you take forward, it feels like a wonderful victory.

Xcom is not about winning with god-like dominance, it's about not dying as the bug who refuses to be crushed. It's about hanging on by your fingernails and surviving by the skin of your teeth.

In Xcom you survive by your wits and organizational skills alone. You tell your soldiers who to assist in a crisis, you can't be everywhere at once after all, and that decision will have consequences both good and bad. You tell your scientists to spend what precious time they have on what alien artifact your soldiers found in the vague hope that such research will yield good results for your survival in the future. You tell your engineers what you need to spend your waining funds on to improve your base and soldier's equipment.

With Xcom: Enemy Withins' additional features you get another wonderful layer of risk and reward by fighting with a rival earth organization, EXALT, along with new MEC cyborg units and mutant abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, wrong system

posted by Seagoblin (EAST EARL, PA) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

XCOM: Enemy Unknown and Enemy Within are fantastic games. However, even with their mediocre graphics, the game just isn't cut out for the PS3's hardware. Every little motion, ranging from changing mission control screens to shots fired, are very laggy, and load times are incredibly long compared to that of PC play. These things just make the game not nearly as enjoyable on PS3 as it is on PC--even if your PC isn't that great.

Maybe I'm just being biased since I have already played it on the PC, but my recommendation is to skip getting this game for the PS3, and have fun with it on a PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

XCOM ENEMY WITHIN

posted by libraman (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

It's fun to play but will freeze up in game and on return to base other than that it's a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »