Rent XCOM: Enemy Within for Xbox 360
view large frontback

XCOM: Enemy Within

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $17.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.8

353 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very well done game.

posted by illuzn21 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I haven't put a lot of time into this game yet, but so far have been impressed. This follows pretty much the same story line from "Enemy Unknown". Way more options for your squad members. There is a new meld resource which challenges you to explore faster to find it before it is gone. It adds a new layer to the game having you split up more to find this each map before it runs out.

Randomizing the upgrade tree is a cool option to have. You can now have a sniper with assault skills and heavy skills which are randomly generated as you lvl. 2 skills per class will pop up per level and you choose which one. lvl 2 could b 2 assault choices, lvl 3 being 2 sniper choices and so on. It is something you can turn on or off. You can turn soldiers early on into giant mech soldiers who are much tougher or mess with there DNA to give so many more options outside of the normal upgrade tree.

This is a total standalone version that does not require enemy unknown. The is one huge issue with this game which is why I could not give it higher than a 8 rating.
You can be flying into china but yet like before there is never anything that distinguishes that you are actually in china. you will see the same map later for china when you are in germany. They do have over 40 new maps so you are much less likely to run into the same map like before, but i would of loved to see some changes with how the maps look based on the country you are in. Keep the same map for china or germany, but maybe have the windows to have the appropriate language or change the types of cars you see on the road to give it a better feel for where you are.

Other than that it is an amazing game. The UFO's land in way more spots and you randomly start maps in different spots to give the same map a new feel. The soldiers speak their native language as well. Would of liked to see a change from the storyline a lot more considering it is a standalone title. If you like thinking games than you will like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DLC not a new game.

posted by DGunik (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 25, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm giving this DLC 3 points because that's what it is. It's a DLC not a new game.
When you take an existing game and you add, weapons, enemies, skills, etc. You call that a DLC and price it accordingly. Shame for trying to sell this as a new game.

That aside, if you enjoyed X-Com enemy unknown then you'll feel right at home. Same exact game with some new additions.

The game froze on me at various points of gameplay. Making it really annoying since it would usually happen during a mission and force to restart the game, load the savegame, and start the mission all over.
Note. This has never happened with the original X-com Enemy Unknown, even after several play throughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stellar additions make this a stellar game

posted by multigame7 (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Oct 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

Let me start off by saying that this is essentially the same game as XCom: Enemy Unknown; however, this version of the game adds in a lot of new concepts to the game. These new concepts and add-ons include new weapons, new technology, a "mec" system where you can build mec suits for your soldiers, new mission styles, and some overall much different concepts than the original. Therefore, although it should probably be classified as downloadable content (DLC) as opposed to a new game, it still adds quite a bit of new content to the game to warrant another few play-throughs.

That aside, this is a stellar game. Especially if you're an old-school XCom fan from it's original launch in the 90s, this definitely keeps true to the game's original gameplay, but expounds on it in an amazing way. It's turn-based combat with modern and even some future technology. Additionally, throughout the game, you manage your bases around the world, your research, your weapons development, and a lot of other complex processes that make this game much more than just a simple turn-based alien invasion game.

Overall, the replay value is just unlimited. I could play through this game twenty times and each time play it in a different style - concentrate on a different area of the world, research down a different technological path, etc - and it would keep being a different playthrough.

I'd highly recommend this game to anyone. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Turn-Based Combat is Awesome, Great Features

posted by HarisonGross (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2004

This is overall, a very good game, especially for the price that it sits at. Having not played the first game I cannot give any biased opinion on whether it's DLC or actually a new, full game but it is awesome.

The turn-based play is very well thought out and it leaves for all kinds of open choices for game play, but also a lot of hardships. Taking one turn without fully thinking it out can get one of your best soldiers killed in one move, and that can be very frustrating, especially after you've built that soldier up using the game's awesome upgrading and leveling system for soldiers.

Just to give you an idea of how hard it can be, I'm playing on normal and I've been playing all types of games for about 20 years now (given I was 6, but I was playing haha) and I have "rage quit" to avoid losing soldiers about 8-10 times. The opponent AI difficulty is just unbelievable sometimes (aim and range are a big factor in the game so it is literally impossible to shoot someone, other than with a sniper rifle, from more than 50-75 "game feet" but, lo and behold, if the enemy wants to they can hit you, with a pistol, with ease from further ranges and from difficult angles even)

Overall though, deserves a 9 or 10 for the concept, play and features but have to downgrade it on the "difficulty".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by jayjay8382 (DULLES, VA) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2009

Nothing really special about "enemy within." It's still frustrating to play and repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this is DLC, not a new game

posted by Xrage (HAMMOND, IN) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

I loved XCOM enemy unknown and was excited to play this game, but other than a few new additions, ITS THE EXACT SAME GAME.

you can build some new buildings and there's mechs now but what little new things there are isn't worth playing the same game over again.

If you never played the first one then rent this, you won't be disappointed, otherwise don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »