Rent XCOM: Enemy Unknown for PS3
view large frontback

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

1304 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice surprise

posted by MatileM (SHAWNEE, KS) Feb 22, 2013

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I hadn't really played many strategy games recently, I think my last one was Civilization 3 on my pc. So I wasn't really sure what to expect with this game. I was surprised at how much I really enjoyed this game, so much so that I decided to buy it because I know that I will want to replay it.

I haven't beaten the game yet, so this review is based on my experience so far. I like how the game presents you with several options in terms of what you want to focus on as well as completing missions. While some missions are tough even on an easy setting it has taught me to save often just in case all of my soldiers meet a tragic end. I have found myself getting attached to some of them that I have had since the start of the game and haven't lost them after 30 missions in.

If you are interested in a different type of game or even a strategy game I say that this game is worth at least a rent. Who knows you may end up being surprised and love it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I've played this game 15 times

posted by WTTChadW (CANOGA PARK, CA) Jul 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had to play the game at least 5 times till death just to understand how to manage my squad without loosing any. Which is still a challenge on my 15th play through. The longest I have survived is 419 days (I had to save the game 112 times) which I recommend by the way; save a lot. Save before you start a mission; save every time you accomplish a feat, like killing or capturing. (plus I recommend deleting other auto saved files; especially if you want to go back a few steps; you'll see what I mean). This game over-all for me is a 15 out of 10. I wish more people would download the FREE version offed by PS3; then I could have some competition. If your looking for some early pointers, here are a few.
1. South America is the best for beginners - autopsy's are instant and this will give you an advantage for weapons and other advancements rapidly.
1A. The United States would be the next best - I finished the mission twice by using this Country.
2. always keep a good balance of solders - about 20-24
3. not all solders with "High Will" will be eligible for Psi training (this calculation should be looked at)
4. you must care about your people
6. rookies should always carry first-aid, unless armor is available.
7. Always try to have a sniper; if not two on missions where you save people (if not a sniper; then a one of the vehicles)
8. make sure you have a full ammo clip before you go into the next battle.
9. Remember that you will loose countries no matter what you do. there will always be a consequences to your decision to help one of the three.10. remember as long as you have (1) country left; you can still accomplish the mission (just hopefully your fully developed by then).11. only two out of your stock of PSI will be 'volunteered' for the final mission. Which isn't when you raid the ship.12. try to keep your people in a cluster
this is a game of patience. I really enjoyed the two turn base strategy. now i want all other type of battle games to follow suit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Turn Based Squad Command Strategy

posted by tallyn88 (BEAVERTON, OR) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is not a RTS, it's not a shooter, it's DEFINITELY not a follow the leader game. The tutorial is about 5 missions long for good reason. This is a complicated game, with lots of different strategies.

You are the commander of the XCOM force, you decide how your base is built, in many cases which missions you take, what you research, how you train and equip your soldiers, and finally you command the squad in combat. This provides a game with a lot of depth.

It also provides replayability. Many missions are not static, and you can focus on different technologies, different combat strategies and different difficulty levels.

Overall this game is a nice change-up from the Gears of War/Killzone/Call of Duty violence, that gives you a decent story, lots of customization, a firm challenge, and a good bit of replayability.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tough

posted by ikeredwolf (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Oct 11, 2012

Member since May 2004

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This game is hard there's no two way around that fact. Don't let the settings options fool you this game is Difficult even when set on Easy. Its also slow and methodical. Its a thinking game and it punishes errors more harshly then modern games generally do. You will fail, you have to fail because you can only coast on luck so long. The upside is that you can truly learn from failure, and when you do there is a sense of accomplishment.
This is not a game for everyone, it probably not for most players but to those who have the patience there is a lot to learn and enjoy about this game.
Maybe Im giving the game too much credit because there hasn't been a good tactical RTS style game in years.
Maybe the difficulty setting will scare players away, maybe the fact that the game is "boring" will cause the ratings to drop. But in the era of Borderlands and Modern Warfare I think a game which rewards thoughtful consideration and tactics is a breath of fresh air.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by tyoung69 (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It obvious that everyone is not going to understand a turn based game in todays twitch fest world. Bu XCOM executed with brillance.

If you are expecting a run and gun fast paced shooter look elsewhere. If you are looking for a very involved strategy game with indepth reaserch and political intrigue then you struck gold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strategic, Challenging and Fun.

posted by spowell44 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of strategy games, than this is a great pick up. If you're not a fan of strategy games why are you even renting the game and reviewing it? Despite the fact you can play this on the PC, I view this as a console styled turn based strategy game. As that goes it's still gets pretty deep and hectic. The game wont hold your hand and you will fail- alot. However the Game is rewarding fun and challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay, but could be great

posted by illuminaughty78 (GREENSBORO, NC) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First the bad:

Line of Sight - The aiming and targeting system are just plain bad. You will have aliens shooting from the ground floor of a building through two floors at someone on the roof. You will have instances of shots being fired when there is no line of sight, through solid objects. This is one of the biggest let downs of the game, but could be addressed in a patch. You position your squad tactically only to realize half the time you can be shot at through solid objects. Line of sight needs serious work.

Framerate - Cut scenes and even gameplay can suffer from horrible frame rate. Not to mentiont hat the cut scenes often show your squad members at awkward angles clipping through buildings and such taking shots while facing the wrong way.

Crashes/Freezes/Hard Locks - They happen a little too frequently. Not all the time, but when they do it is VERY annoying.

The Good:

All the above are fixable through patching. It's bad that buggy games in need of patching are the norm on release these days, but on the other hand a few months from now hopefully this will all be patched away.

To old school X-Com'ers:

If you played the original, like I did, this game feels like a prettier, but very dumbed down version of it. To me it is a bit of letdown. It's been stripped of much of what defined the original X-COM to make it more main stream and to cater to the average console player. The original X-COM is better in every way except graphics and ease of interface. It's still a fun game, but for me as a fan of the original, it's a pale imitation of a classic. Still, get the game, and give it a try. It's fun enough, but brings on a desire to dig out the original when you could truly build your own base (and more than one of them) and actually have it invaded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Near perfect....

posted by barichristopher (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game simply blew me away. A friend had told me all about it and I just didn't believe him.
This game is up there with Dragon Age (the 1st one)
Mass Effect series when it comes to originality.

XCOM brought me back to my childhood for a true Strategy game & how its supposed to be all about.The game helps you get established well.But as soon as you think your top dog they creators throw in some nice turn of events.Money isn't something you just want to throw around and the possibilities are endless with each field you goto.Some spots look the same but in actuality aren't the maps boundries change constantly and you definately need to bring your stegic A-game.
Bad specs: Creation is all i can complain about....troops could have been way better.Don't get me wrong you change their name,loadouts,looks...I just felt you should be able to change the gender and place they're from.
rent it and im sure you'll want to own it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No walk in the park

posted by papaxyang (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Needless to say that the game got bad reviews simply because most people are used to the mindless FPS where you hit the deck raining bullets, and this is not. The game is a turn-based strategy game, its incredible addicting and difficult. The extended tutorial is extremely helpful to see how to properly excavate the game to its full potential. although you literally spend the first half of the game playing catchup for resources and troops, once you get through the fundamentals, the game really kicks off into high gear. Then again, that's just me, maybe for those you pro gamers found it a breeze and just blasted through those aliens, but I still enjoyed being able to command my troops, position them for attack, doing R&D, level up my solders (now 5 to Colonel rank within 6 hours of gameplay), and then ultimately conquering the enemies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A little too much randomness

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I haven't played the original Xcom, so here's a review from just a general gamer:

This a turned-based strategy game (which I don't play much of) similar to Disgaea or FFT in its basic gameplay foundation. The story revolves around an alien invasion, and if you've seen anything based off of that premise, you'll know what the game is about; it doesn't really bring anything too unique to that basic storyline.

The problem I found with the core of gameplay is that it doesn't really make a lot of sense when put together. Playing against overwhelming odds (in terms of numbers, health, and whatnot) is fine in a strategy game, but the crux of it is I think is how accuracy works. Generally the enemy AI gets a gigantic advantage over you in terms of accuracy - they hardly miss, even if you are in "full" cover. In combination with the enemy generally granted more numbers (sometimes 4:1, even on Easy), and the player having a relatively low amount of healing options, survivability can run potentially low.

Not to say it isn't possible to beat, it just requires a lot of trial and error, due to the RNG of accuracy and enemy placement. I found myself reloading frequently, simply because I have no idea where enemies are until they are in the soldier's field of vision. FOV is also a problem because when certain areas are blacked out due to it, you end up moving forward inch by inch just so you don't walk blindly into an ambush.

Soldiers can "level up" but if they get injured during a mission, they are "wounded" and thus force you to take a different, potentially under-leveled, replacement. If a soldier dies, he's gone for good.

I can confirm that line of sight and cover mechanics make very little sense - you can shoot through buildings, rocks, just about anything. Targeting also makes little sense, sometimes things are directly in front of me, but I can't target them. I can also confirm an extremely choppy framerate.

Overall, it just feels incredibly sloppy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I expected it to be but in a good way.

posted by bigpappaw (NICHOLASVILLE, KY) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I expected something along the lines of Halo meets Mass Effect 3 or something along those lines but nope not even close. Its not even a first person shooter. Its a sort of a.... you know what...I don't know what you call this type of game so I will just explain it a bit. You are in charge of a troop of soldiers and you they don't move a muscle until you tell them to, thats right, you have to tell them or make them move not just move them with the joy stick. You have to click on the spot behind cover as best you can and then they run to that spot and prepare for what ever happens to them next.

Its not a bad game once you get use to it. It is very entertaining watching your guys blow the little aliens away with all sorts of weapons. You even have to capture some alive which can be a hoot let me tell you. you rely get attached to each and every soldier too because you build a relationship with each one of them as you promote them up the ranks and assign them new and awesome abilities unique to that person. You don't have to spend a lot of time tweaking their looks either which I'm sick of doing by the way. Was it Tiger Woods Golf that started that, where everyone would spend 2 days trying to make their player look just like them and it never does but you can't tell them that can you? Nooooo you can not. But this game lets you do the basics, the hair, the facial hair, skin color, but it doesn't go over board with it.

The game is not a free roaming board either its usually just a straight grid with obstacles in the way that you can hide behind. But don't get me wrong they did a very good job with this and it looks great once your in it and rolling along. Its much like a good game of chess / laser tag. Yeh thats it exactly Chess meets Laser Tag, Ha ..I love it. Play it and you will see, it is a good game and worth a look. Just don't do what I did and expect a run and gun because you will be quite upset if you do. It's a thinker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhh

posted by Gary_V (KENNESAW, GA) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

When I write this there are two reviews - one is a 9 and one is a 1...I will average them together and give it a 5...people half my age will not even understand why this game was made cause they never seen the original for the PC...the original game was one of the best games I can remember in that period...the original was better than this and I am sure they must have had more budget this time around...the PS3 is certainly more powerful than my PC was back then...unfortunately they did not come close to using the resources in the current hardware...I wanted to like it because it was different but after an hour I am mailing it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I hated this Game, It was to slow and boring,7Not!

posted by OldGamerDoItBes (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I think the people who made this Game should be Fried and think about another line of work.!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

XCOM ENEMY UNKNOWN

posted by BUBBA2866 (PEORIA, AZ) Apr 21, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

THIS GAMES SUCKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

xcom

posted by Morales1949 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The Worst ever shooter game made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehhhhh

posted by 2muchspl (LYNWOOD, IL) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 23 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Didnt really read review just kinda blindly picked this game, turn based games are not for me. 4 min played,back into envolope

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT IS THIS GAME

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 60 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

I played about 5 minutes of a point and click follow the leader, babysit your teamate bore-fest. I dont know what is this game supposed to accomplish ? If this is fun, then im goin to the dentist and have a tooth pulled, LOL,,,,but rent this and the jokes on you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enemy Within

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) May 6, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

For those who dont know. Enemy Within is the exact same game. No, really, it is. Enemy Within came after Enemy Unknown. Enemy Within has everything this title has but more classes, enemies, and a bit more story. THIS IS A RTS. Anyone expecting more will be disappointed. However, for everyone who knows what an RTS is, its great.

Classes very. Each class has its own skill trees. Snipers, Assault, Support, Heavies. Upgrades to armor, weapons, even psi powers. Same goes for airborne tactics and your HQ. Setup satellites to track and engage the aliens. Use your jets to make em crash. Engage them on the ground. Salvage their tech to upgrade things further turning jets into Hybrids. Upgrade uplinks for more sat coverage, workshops for your ground units gear. Labs to further research and unlock more upgrades. It gets repetitive but at a certain point things start picking up pace and the progression of story versus combat seems to mingle well.
Sound FX are choppy. Voice casting is kinda ok but nothing spectacular.
Gameplay is kinda like playing chess or Warhammer. Your almost always outnumbered so pick and choose engagement wisely. You'll find that you'll start treating your troops with a certain love and affection cause of all the time and effort you put into them.
Lastly, this title is pretty solid. Got drawn out due to slow story progression. It picks up however and when it does it flows pretty smooth. More airborne fights become apparent, goals for victory become clear, and the psi element later on in the game keeps you busy. That being said rent it, enjoy it, pass the good word on. Thanks for your time and game on players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Syfi strategy at its best!

posted by Deebo22 (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

The story is alive and awesome in this long awaited return to a cult classic. I really enjoyed this game. Now before I go further this is a strategy game first and foremost.
Great story. Original, gripping, and just good.
Graphics are tops blooby. From character designs, armor, weapons, crash sights, aliens, ufos, weapon execution (breath of air), city environments, alien environments. The list goes on and on.
Sound fx. Meh, nothing to write home bout. Sounds can be sketchy and rough at best. Voice cast is ok...I guess. The sounds just didnt match what was goin on. You just have to play it to understand.
Gameplay. Now for a strategy game I thought that some of the additional content was pretty good. The stuff that set it apart and made it different. The base of operations and upgrading it was cool. Capturing and interrogating aliens was just fun. Upgrading your weapons and armor and character classes. Upgrading abilities and giving your soldiers psychic powers is freaking amazing.
For real. For a game in its genre you have to play this. You wont put it down till the conclusion is concluded. As always thanks for your time. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good .....

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Aug 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

It is a pretty Long Game , with many options to choose from :

Weaponry
How you Fight Tactically
And Basic Features

However the Only reasons I did not rate this Turn Based Style Combat Game better are :

1. Often (Easy) close in shots are "Missed" against enemies , especially when it counts

And 2 What would have made this Game truly fantastic , is some sort of Story , or RPG type character element. It feels like just regenerating Robots (Sending out to fight) Rinse and repeat.

My Suggestion Take this game and cross it with say Mass Effect : Truly Awesome I reccommend as it is a Fun play , Perhaps a Unique Own , but just not Sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Takes the fun out of games

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

Ok let me begin by saying I was really addicted to this game when I started playing it and gettting the hang of how things operated. However that addiction was met with a punishing AI and difficulty that is just too much. Since this was my first run I put it on what they call "easy" but it wasn't long before I realized that the developers never understood the concept of "easy". It may have just been coincidence but it seems once the game notices the player getting comfortable and having an upper hand then it throws twice as much challenge right back. If you are a glutton for punishment then this is for you but as far as I'm concerned it takes the fun out of playing.

I give this game a 5/10 for overly difficult settings even on "easy" and for limiting player appeal by discouraging the new or casual gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hope you have a lot of time

posted by jasonjones63 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 8, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

By far one of the most compelling games I have played in a long time. Very punishing even on easy. Save a lot and if you love tactics and a fairly good story this will definitely satisfy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

XCOM

posted by Badhelm (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 6, 2013

Member since May 2013

Great original game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not as good as the original

posted by Johnwooninja (STONY CREEK, NY) May 6, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The reimagination of xcom enemy unkown is great. That being said it is really easy on the hardest difficulty compared to the the MS Dos originals only dificulty setting. If you expect to have soldiers die all the time and have aliens attack your base while your squad is at a crash site resulting in a game over screen sadly you're out of luck. I'm glad I preordered this game and would suggest this to anyone who wants to play a good stratergy game on a console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by mickblecherwebb (GILROY, CA) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game is so boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse