Rent XCOM: Enemy Unknown for Xbox 360
view large frontback

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

2380 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very suprised

posted by WalkInD3ath (JUSTIN, TX) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

26 out of 27 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Im a hardcore RTS fan i must say, the game is great so far but is a challenge, this game is not for the weak hearted. The base builting, upgrades and turn based make this game a true strategy game at heart, if you dont play it right its game over, i played about 15 hours into it and realized i had to start over. Give this game a shot if you like RTS and dont mind turn based, if not skip this one. Overall i was suprised and happy to be, the things you can custimize help make your team feel real and grow on you so when you lose a squad member it sucks. Graphics arent the best but are far from bad 7 out 10, sound 8 out 10, story is typical alien take over 7 out 10, and replay value 10 out 10. This is a game i will play multiple times for the simple fact nothing is same in every playthrough it varies even after reloading a save.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by Newtin (MERIDEN, CT) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you were a fan of the original game this is based off you will not be dissapointed. They captured everything that was good about the original and improved upon it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by ITzDeparted (HENRICO, VA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

XCOM is an amazing game. I never played the original, so I do not know how a long time fan would review this game. XCOM is a mix of turn based strategy and RPG. I was very skeptical at first, but my assumptions were quickly proved wrong. The one and only down side to XCOM is its difficulty, it is very easy to find your self 10+ hours into your first play through, just to find out it is impossible to win. One tip to people that decide to play this is be careful with your decisions, because they all have a positive and negative effect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by Krammmit (BROADUS, MT) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game having no clue what it was about. As I started playing the turn based game I realized, I still don't have a clue what I am doing. Into the game I started liking it almost obsessed. Then it got old with only a few missions left. All in all the problems are this, percentage shots. Its a luck game. You have 97% chance of hitting and you don't and you're dead. That is also a benefit of this game. The negatives for this game were this. Its a turn based game but you send your men out and instead of them appearing, they get a turn to move during your move and end up flanking you, but you do not get to move so they kill you. If When you spotted an enemy they just stood there just like you do I would have given this a 9. There are also bugs when you shoot someone. If there are obstacles in your way or an enemy in front of you, your shot will go behind you to hit the guy in front of you. All in all a very decent game. I would rent it first because it isn't for everybody. I was surprised how much I ended up enjoying it. Don't think I will play through twice though. Also, if you can level up your shivs it would be beneficial to you otherwise you will be going through men like crazy. Also, capturing enemies are more beneficial to advance in things like psychic powers. Good information to know BEFORE starting the game. OOh and upgrade satellite EARLY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good Game

posted by Fledgehole (LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will start by saying I am not a turn base fan, but this game held my attention longer than any other. The story was well told and I enjoyed the interjection of cut scenes. The game play was quick and easy to learn for a novice such as myself. I really could not find much wrong with the game except for the growing tired of the turn base strategy itself. Anyone who is a turn base fan though I would imagine would love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hardship, Humanity, lets murder E.T.

posted by Xaivy_DShau (OWINGS, MD) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

XCOM is one of those games that comes around ever so often that has enough elements to make it amazing and addictive.... but just not enough to be perfect.

PROS

Story - Interesting, not as creative as X-FIles but it gets the job done. Youve got tense world gripping fear motivating you to fight hard and fast. Sometimes the pressure feels overwhelming and nations fall, but you have to push on.

Gameplay - Not quite final fantasy tactics or ogre battle but man does it do tactical combat good. It starts out rough, scrub soldiers throwing theyr corpses at enemy fodder. The difficulty steadilly climbs as you claw your way to having an efficient squad. You grow attached to the sniper, medic, grunt, that leads your team into the fray of an hour long fight. It is glorious! But like in life, there are casualties. Can you reload your save? (i recommend saving often) Yes! But sometimes its not worth it and you have to cope with the loss of a beloved soldier. Also, maps are randomly done so a reload might lead to a harder battlefield with worse vantage points. So when the mission battles ramp up in difficulty, you will struggle and it will feel amazing when you push through, losses and all.

CONS

-The game has a tutorial that helps a bit with the learning curve, it doesnt answer everything though.
-Difficulty ramps up about a quarter to half way through, this is due to new enemy types and smarter squad tactics. Also missions huger in scale.
-World terror levels seem like a good motivation but at times it feels like brutal peer pressure.
-You grow attached to a good soldier and when the game inevitably snags and slaughters said soldier...... RAGE!!!! (reload) It happens to another favorite soldier.... >_> (reload) you try again..... RAGE, RAGE, RAGE, VICTORY! Everything turns out right.. Only 2 green soldiers die instead of a favorite this time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pleasantly suprised

posted by jayswift (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

didnt realize just how great this game was gonna be. would never have played this game if i wasnt a gamefly member. i play a lot of games but i have to add that this is one of my favorites this year. not perfect but pretty darn close for a rebooted/new ip. hope theres a sequel...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

My review is unfair

posted by Turdule (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 15, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. It is kind of intimidating when you first start out but once you get the hang of it this game is addicting. Graphics are ok, character dialogue/acting is good, and the plot is interesting also. The details, side missions, and "home base" building are real cool as well. I want so much to give this game an 8 or a 9 because that is what it deserves. But I HATE these roll of the dice shooter games that give you a chance to hit % (like the Fallout games). I understand that if I'm a 100 yards away with a rifle it's a more difficult shot than if I was 10 yards away. Logical. But if I'm 2 feet away (or two squares away in the games) and have a flanking position on my opponent who IS NOT in cover, why is my hit % with a SHOTGUN at 97? Follow up question, why did I miss!!?? And why did my next character who was the same distance away with an assault rifle have a 94% chance and miss!? And my next turn against the same peon enemy my sniper who was a little further out had a 94% chance to hit but missed. These misses led to my team being vulnerable to a counter attack which led to 2 members of my team dying. If you are going to try and be "realistic" with these hit %'s then do it! No one in existence has held a shotgun at someone at point blank range and said "I have a 97% chance of killing you right now". They say "You move and your dead" and the person who is being threatened doesn't move a muscle cause they know you don't miss at that range with that gun. I'm fired up right now about this since it just happened so I apologize. If you are like me and don't like the hit %'s then avoid. If you are not like me, then you should definitely check this game out because it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great experience

posted by ooK1ngP1noo (EASTMAN, GA) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't know exactly what to expect when I added XCOM to my que. I had an extended weekend coming up so I bumped it up in the que, thinking that it would be a good weekend run thru type of game. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very solid game.

XCOM forces you to care about your soldiers. During my playthrough there were times when I was able to accept the death of a squadie but when it was my veteran sniper, who ended the game with 100+ individual kills, it was time to reload to an earlier save point. XCOM is definitely worth a rent and a buy. Once I had my A-Team together it was scary to rotate in rookies but I knew I had to in order to keep the next man up ready for action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Love hate relationship.

posted by noheart (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very challenging; it enforces patience. When you're doing well you may feel on top of the world, two turns later you're screaming about unfair critical hits on squad members in cover. I never finished this game, which is rare for me, because I just could not have fun getting handled by an AI. If you've got the patience this game can be a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fantastic

posted by acrm001 (BRYAN, TX) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Had a blast playing. Saw a lot of elements from the original game that transferred well in the update. On normal, the game was challenging, but not impossible. Unlike the original, there's a tutorial so the learning curve isn't 90 degrees.

But then I played on easy for my second play-though, to get all the things I missed on normal. I suspect "easy" was a practical joke, because it was harder by far than the normal setting. 10X as many soldier deaths, constant alien abductions, stronger enemies sooner. I don't know what was up with that, but it certainly not "easy". still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

INCREDIBLE: A Great TBSG for X360!

posted by Rill (BOISE, ID) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm ADHD and still get addicted to both the old XCOM: UFO Defense and this new XCOM: Enemy Unknown!

The old one is the more addictive of the two, I've even downloaded it from Gamefly to compare my memmories of the game with the new one and it was the best game of its time, pure magic.

This one feels a bit scripted, rather than open like the original, and it is ends so fast. The old one seemed like you could play it forever, but this one tries to instill a sense of urgency toward completion. I find myself skipping tons of research and equipment, simply because they are outdated so fast anyway.

Scanning the atmosphere for UFOs, intercepting them, and the generation scheme for possible missions all pale in comparison to the old game, but if you are not intimate with the differances, then nothing will be missed.

Battlescapes are still randomly generated, so you can save inside one to preserve it, or before launching the Skyranger transport ship if you want to load random; be warned though, the old game had truly random maps, the new game only has random starting locations and enemies on a finite list of maps.

The battles are where it is really at! Example: Landed in hot zone, both snipers threw light beacons in different directions to light up the fog of war. Coast clear, everyone advance to cover behind cars. Enemies in building, so shoot a rocket to destroy their cover and injure them, everyone mops up. Reload soldiers and use grapple hooks to get on rooftops. Then use them to fly over alleys to other roofs, being careful to stay in cover. Enemies spotted on street, an alien Berzerker (massive melee brute) climbs drainpipe and meets a soldier face to face, soldier on Overwatch fires, 8 of 20 health removed; Sniper fires across alley, blows alien off the roof... The olther soldiers shoot fish in a barrel, since there is no where to hide in the alley below due to cross-fire. Reload, dart between cover and continue the hunt. LOVE IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun...not beautiful

posted by straytedge (BRANDON, FL) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

build your lab/armor/weapons with pieces that you pick up during combat. The game is slow paced but fun. It's one of those "just one more turn" games. Haven't played online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new look at an old favorite

posted by MatrimFTW (BROOMFIELD, CO) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played XCOM and XCOM Terror from the deep AGES AGO! When I read that they were remaking it I was pensive at best. After making it through the (dramatic) opening mission I was hooked.

The UI is easy to use most of the time, there is definitely a learning curve, and if you lose a major squad member there is a big gaping hole you'll need to fill. And fast.

My only problem is that the maps can be repetitive and the missions may bore some after 30+ hours. I however would call this a must get for anybody that loves a real challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great strategy game, but too short

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Excellent turn based strategy game based on the old 90s XCOM games, but combat is more similar to Valkryia Chronicles.

Positives: Very engaging combat, challenging but not cheap, the two different modes work well together, very deep gameplay, lots of things to research and unlock.

Negatives: Weak story, your soldiers are all generic, graphics aren't great, some annoying camera issues, environments are recycled too often. Game ends abruptly.

Overall: if you are a fan of turn based strategy games, this is probably the best one for the console in a long time. If you liked Valkyria Chronicles, I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but hard

posted by Keithra (WEXFORD, PA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I generally enjoyed this game. My biggest complaint is that the combat was harder than I personally like. If you like to pay close attention to your tactics, and like the feel of consequences (e.g., permanent death of squad members) if you don't get them right, you will probably like this game.

Positives: it has turn-based combat, which feels a little retro, but is well executed. I really like the R&D and strategy component of the game, where you can use money and alien technology to improve your weapons, etc.

Negatives: I like a relaxed gameplay experience, not stress-filled, and as a result usually play on Easy. Even on Easy, I found the combat too hard, needing to Save/Restore many times per scenario. It was just too unforgiving for me.

The game also pushes me into missions too fast. I would happily spend hours playing around with R&D and then say "okay, now I'm ready for a mission." The game wouldn't let me do that, because missions keep popping up that you can't ignore (without countries getting upset and dropping out of the alliance). If it let me go at my own pace, I could easily see myself playing this game over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nearly Perfect-Great GF Game-

posted by gopreds303 (ANTIOCH, TN) Nov 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I know I've said this before, and on most other reviews but I tell you what. I probably wouldnt have bought/played this game, had I not been a GF subscriber. However I am gonna keep this review very brief.

Honestly this is turn-based, and that'll immediately turn many many many people off. Especially now (early November) that Halo 4 and COD Bl Ops 2. The problem is ... this game gets shoved under the rug, because it's not an FPS. This generation of consoles and gamers, just goes towards FPS (modern shooters). I however am starting to get so frustrated with it, since there aren't too many studios and publishers taking that risk. Again bottom line... it sucks.

On to this game. Let me preface by saying, i've never played the previous XCOM games and didnt know what to expect, outside of a few youtube videos. The story isn't 'amazing' or anything, but the variables, the loss scenarios, weapons, classes, ships and level design are top notch.

I'm looking forward to the next of this series (hoping they make it).

Now some negative points, I can see, some people would rush through and get in over their heads and be in a 'never win' scenario. I took my time (lost no countries and 1 soldier). The camera angles (on shots and rotational pieces, sometimes a bit choppy). Also, I wasn't just ... 'drawn in' like some other games (Mass effect 3 and other games).

SPOILERS!
If you want to win DO NOT DO THE PRIORITY MISSIONS UNTIL YOU GET ALL THE OTHER RESEARCH DONE. It's VERY VERY VERY important to get the satellite uplinks and satellites early. Second priority will be Laser and Plasma weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by isa_scout25 (PHILIPPI, WV) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is excellent. It's like a mix between micro managing your villa in assassins creed and the gameplay of something like valkryie chronicles. If either one of those components interest you then do yourself a favor and rent this game as soon as possible. One of the best games I've played all year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a great game for the fans it's geared to

posted by CMakaCreative (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let's put it out there off the top, this game isn't for everyone. If you're not into RTS I can't see this game changing your mind. It isn't fast pace, it can be really difficult at times and the graphics are good but not jaw dropping. Now if you're a fan of the original (as I am), then this remake is what you've been waiting for, for the most part.

After reading the reviews here. I can see why someone would absolutely love this game and why someone would toss it in the trash. RTS is one of those genres were you love it or you hate it. There's rarely an in between. Now if you find yourself not knowing where you fall and are curious of how RTS plays, there might be another game more suited for first timers. This game can get difficult in a hurry, especially if you don't know what you're doing. It can ruin your experience in a heart beat. But if you're like me, who has played a few RTS in your day but not super hard core into it, it can be a great entertaining game.

Let's get the graphics out the way. If you played the original then it's 100 times better looking, but it's not even close to being better than most games out these days. It's not ugly but it's nothing special to look at either. The story is not going to win any awards but it moves the game enough to where you want to see the conclusion. The heart and soul of this game is the combat, building your base & you're squad. You'll learn to really love you're core squad, especially when the inevitable happens, which is your squad member getting killed. It'll happen. There's a way to by pass this from happening but it's pain staking. Lots of saves and reloads are involved (within the battle itself). But sometimes it's worth keeping a high rank soldier alive than starting a new one from scratch. The aliens you face are varied as you go thru the game and winning is satisfying. Upgrading your base, weapons and armors feel great.

Bottom line, if you like RTS, there's nothing not to like about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blocky but fun

posted by calebsdad (Bellevue, NE) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is quite engaging and I have never been a strategy game type. There is much to keep track of and the controls have been mapped very well. I don't feel bogged down in menus so I can get right to the action. I liken it to Sid Meires Civilization Revolution from several years ago. It was previously the only strategy game I had ever played. Here I am loving the balance betWeen the management and the turn based game play. There is a great deal of control and it is very fun. The only draw backs I can find are the graphics from 3 years ago and the cut scene animations are repeated so often that you loose the sende of story and flow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Heads Up

posted by captainzhao (BRIGHTON, MA) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. Be careful though, by default auto-saving is off. Be sure to either turn it on or make a point to save manually or else you could lose a few hours worth pf progress like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

XCOM: Enemy KNOWN

posted by Ravynheart (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yes, I know the title is called Enemy UNknown, but the true enemy is the developers. They botched this game in my opinion.

I played the original XCOM on PC way back when. This, is a not very reasonable facsimile of that great game. I have been wanting to play this game since it came out on the 360. Sadly, I did get to play it. There are some good parts, but, not enough for me to justify continuing.

First off, it does have nice graphics, especially in the cut scenes. The micro managing can be very simple if you don't want to mess with too much, or, it can be very very detailed, if that's your style. It's still turn based, just like the original, which is acceptable.

What is not acceptable, is the combat system, set up much like before, but with too many holes that keep the game from being entertaining. If the enemy moves where it can see your character, then steps behind a wall, that enemy can still hit you. Even through a solid concrete wall. It acts as if the wall doesn't even exist. Also, unlike the previous XCOM, when someone falls in combat, you CAN NOT pick up their gear, friend or foe alike. So, if you have a stun gun on one person, and that person falls, you will not be able to use that stun gun for the rest of that combat situation.

I seriously wanted to love this one, but, it just had too many holes that I couldn't overlook.

4 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

AI is brutal

posted by Barnhardt1 (MONTAGUE, MI) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but finally gave up after watching the aliens repeatedly kill my soldiers with a single shot over and over. How I could have 5 guys shoot at and miss an alien standing out in the open, then the alien return fire and kill a soldier standing behind a giant rock is beyond me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The good, the bad and the awesome.

posted by Altesien (KENT, WA) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Finally, an rts game that is fun. For all the fire emblem and super robot war og fans, this game is for us. The game tends to sway towards itself with hits because I rarely hit the aliens at 45% when they managed to do that practically all the time, another thing I disliked was that when you spot an alien they get a free move, I Shute wished that my guys would get a free move when they were spotted. The best part about this game is the stratagie and how on any difficulty, you still have to be in cover and think about what you need to build in your base and what to research first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Turn-Based Game

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 12, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I have never played a turn-based game until this one. It was great for what it was in the sense that there are aliens and you are trying to kill them before they kill you. I just don't like turned-based games because they take a little more time to get into than other games. XCOM:EU has great graphics and well, the control that you have is cool like when attacking an enemy it goes into this behind the back view but you still can't really move when you want, ever. You have 2 moves and then it is the enemies turn, like a board game or something. For what it is, though, it is good and a lot of people like these kinds of games. If you do like turn-based game than this is probably one of the best. It is gory and dark. Overall, a great game. I heard they are coming out with another XCOM not too long from now which may be a first person shooter which would be awesome with this story. I usually don't like aliens but the aliens in XCOM feel organic even though they are cliche. Ironic, I know. I would say rent if you are curious or a fan of turn-based games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse