Rent X-Men: The Official Game for Xbox 360
view large frontback

X-Men: The Official Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, GBA, DS, PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
4.2

2532 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Quite possibly the worst movie game ever....

posted by TaterSalad (LINTON, IN) May 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

56 out of 59 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Since this game is really comprised of 3 segments, I'll break them down individually..

Wolverine: This is how most of the game is.. It's also the most pointless action I've ever played. You just sit in a giant room as enemies spawn at you. There are moments here, but it's overall putrid. It's unresponsive, has canned combos, and is in several ways uninspired.

Nightcrawler: These levels were actually pretty good, which is why I gave the game a 2 instead of a one. The reasoning behind that is the Nightcrawler levels go by way too fast, and there aren't even that many to begin with.

Iceman: I may have given this game over a 2 if not for these abominations to gaming. They're supposed to be like a flight game I suppose, but if I strapped two honey baked hams to my feet and jumped onto a snowy slop I would have more control than you have in these levels. Iceman just sorta glides around aimlessly. You tell him to do something, he sits there a few seconds, and then says, "What?"

These are separate from the other problems plagueing the game, namely the subpar graphics, generally abysmal control, and only 3 characters.

My advice: Rent either of the X-Men Legends games or wait until Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is out. Any one of these are better uses of your time than X3. Especially considering you can get the X-Men Legends games for 20 bucks or less, and in fact, around 13 here from GameFly.

Overall:

GRAPHICS: 4. Servicable, but far from satisfactory. Overused bloom effects galore.
CONTROL: 1. Ugh. That's really all I can say about this.
REPLAY: 1. None. The Achievements are worthless, and you can obviously tell they ran out of ideas. "This Achievement is awarded when the gamerscore reaches 950"... Instead of simply making the hardest Achievement worth 50 more points.

FUN: 2. It's sorta fun I guess, if you're incredibly stupid and/or high. It only lasts about 4 hours, which would be better spent watching the first two X-Men movies again. Also, cheap deaths abound! YAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

To Me My X-Men! But take your time.

posted by Shlomotion (TEMPE, AZ) May 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

41 out of 45 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

It's very hard for me to give this game a "Fair" rating. I used to love X-Men. Collect all the comics, love the movies. Even when I lost interest in the comics I still had the movies and the X-Men Legends series to keep me going. And then this game comes along and ruins my dreams.

It's not so much that this game isn't good. Like I said it's "Fair." But if you take away the X-Men logo it's just your below-average action game. The premise is this: Wolverine, Iceman, and Nightcrawler all have to beat up people. That's really it. I'm only 70% done or so but that's what I got out of this. They throw in cameos of your favorite Marvel characters like Colossus and Storm but they don't really do much besides look pretty. Sometimes you can have them help you out but it feels more like a hassle than a helping hand.

Wolverine is like God of War if it were made on the N64 and had the persona of Rayman. Slash, slash, jump, slash. Iceman is Tony Hawk with weapons. You fly around on your ice, which admittedly is kind of cool. But in the end all your doing is flying around shooting ice at people. Nightcrawler is what makes the game as you probably have heard. It's alot of fun to teleport around and best up enemies. A very good move on their part to include him because without the awesome teleportation element this game would go down to a 3, X-Men or not.

All in all, I'm tempted to send this back without even beating it. If you ARE an X-Men fan then by all means give this a try. It's true to the characters (movie wise) and they throw in some extra X-Men references. For instance, when you revisit the Weapon X project as wolverine you'll see holding cells for Kane, Maverick, and Deadpool. I smiled when I saw this but grew very tired of Wolverine's shtick.

Give it a rent if you have any X-Genes in you. If not, don't even bother.

Graphics: 6
Sounds: 1 - Just horrible
Controls: 7 - Only cuz Nightcrawler is so durn fun
Replay Value: 0 - You kidding me?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do not waste your time

posted by kenja145 (BRIGANTINE, NJ) May 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

27 out of 31 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game blows chunk except for one reason. Nightcrawler kicks major behind. Expect to be so tempted to throw your controller that you better pad your room. The glitches, camera angles, gameplay, etc....... will leave you in fits. The achievements are terrible(they wouldn't let me leave an explicative) as well. You get 50 points for getting the other 950. It makes you get every little hidden icon with each character to unlock achievements and you have to max out their stats to get the rest. In other words you must play this pitiful game to death to get some achievements out of it.

Please do not play this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even X-men fans will like this game!

posted by priest401 (NORWICH, CT) May 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I could not wait for this game to come out. Then I reccieved it and could not wait to put it in. After playing it I can not wait to get rid of it. Being a huge X-men fan I thought this game was going to have some great cinemas and even better graphics. Owning a 360 thats what you expect from games now. This one however has stills for cinema and regular xbox graphics whats the point of making it for this console? Also once again an x-men game is built around wolverine. And only having three playale charecters(honestly I havent gotten far enough to see if there are other players) is not cool. I think they should have done so much more with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for an arcade machine, but not $60

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) May 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Despite what most people say, this game isn't that bad - unless you paid $60 for it. First, the graphics aren't great, but graphics aren't everything. Second, the wolverine levels DO have an annoying camera angle that you cannot change. But once you get past that, X-Men the Official Game is a decently fun throw back to arcade games. The levels are very short (for example Wolverine in a courtyard vs. spawning enemies for five minutes)and there are only three playable characters - each assigned to their own levels (which wouldn't seem so bad if X-Men Legends hadn't spoiled us). The three characters and their levels play differently and add some variety to what easily could have been extremely repetitive. With all that being said, the game can be beat in about 5-6 hours on the hardest difficulty (unlocking all achievements). And once you're done, there isn't any reason to go back - no scores, no time attack, no online co-op (all of which would have given it much needed replay value). Worth a rent if: 1. You're a huge X-men fan. 2. Like classic arcade brawlers (i.e. Double Dragon) 3. Want an easy 1000 achievements points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst game ever

posted by Darkwolf (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Yes folks it is the worst movie game I have ever played. The graphics didn't look like it was a xbox 360 game. It looked more like an playstation 2 game. You can only play three characters out of the movie. The way you played Iceman was totally dumb. They could of allowed you to move the camera when you played as Wolverine or allowed you to lock onto a target. Nightclawer....Well I have no complains about that. The only thing I like out of the game was the times I played as Nightclawer and some of the time I played as Wolverine. I guess I had high expectations before I was going to play this game and I don't know why I wanted the beat the game, which I done it in about six hours I think. I guess what I'm trying to say is this... I want those six hours of my life back and the movie is most likely better then this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An XBOX game on halloween

posted by mpc211 (WESTWOOD, MA) May 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is alright...for an XBOX game. With the 360 all you get is slightly improved graphics. If you have any other system other than a 360, rent the game for that. Don't even think about doling out 40 bucks for it on a PS2 or XBOX, nevermind the 60 bucks for the 360 version. Rent this game if you're an XMen fan. Otherwise, leave it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another movie game eh?

posted by Onisan (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) May 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

12 out of 27 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

First off this game is another movie game.. So what do we get from this title for the 360?
- Graphics are like a spoofed up xbox.
- Gameplay is limited. (What A Surprise.)
- Music is ok.
- Again, its a movie game X3.

Gameplay: For some off reason they cant get the cool wolverine action in. Now if this was a M rated title, maybe they could do some more things with wolverine ^^.
Wow this is a surprise, the other characters suck.
Not much moves and with that nightcrawler guy, you cant zap yourself to the end of the game.

Story: Well it follows the movie and adds a little extra just like all movie games, which ofcorse doesn't really do anything except make the game longer and more painful to get threw.

Overall: Rent it if your a huge fan. But if your not dont even read the back of the game cover. Not worth your time.

Gameplay: 5.5
Story:6.5
Overall: 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

xmen game

posted by burn2099 (ALBANY, OR) May 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is pretty solid in most factors besides it being pretty tough on the regular settings what really torks my tattors is the fact that the levels have no checkpoints so if you complete 75% of the level and then you die guess what... you guessed it back to the benninging with you. graphics are great and story is good the cut scenes which are stills like comics that look exactly like the ppl on the movie are real good. i would defiently suggest picking it up if you a xmen fan or not but prepared to be frustrated a bit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Mediocre X-men Experence

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) May 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Story- Play Through x-men 3 the movie scenes and
play as diff. mutants.

Graphics- Dull! PLain Dull ! Nothing To Look Forward to.

Gameplay- Controlls Are Hard And Even The A&I Is Mediocre!

Overall Review- 6.0
"Just Look Forward To X- Men Legends 3 And Not This "

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Movie game of 06

posted by Dansta (METUCHEN, NJ) May 16, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

X-men is a very good game. Why? Because it had intense battles, good graphics for the 360, and it really made it fun to teleport as night crawler, brawl as wolverine, and glide as iceman. Sure it has it's downsides like not having enough playable characters, some glitches, and every mission seems the same, but it has more good sides than bad ones. It is the best movie game of 06. Go buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by livingluck (IRVINGTON, NJ) May 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

WORST GAME EVER PLAYED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by jemez (CONCORD, NH) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

Between the Camera angel issues, and the flat out boreing game play this game is an insult to its name sake :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

X-men Goes Wrong

posted by higginsmmc (YOUNTVILLE, CA) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I absolutly hated the game the combat was horrible,graphics were disappoiting,and you die to easily in the game.The only thing that I like about the game is that the game is easy to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fans of the Series and of Good Games Be Warned:

posted by Rapture (EDINBURGH, IN) Feb 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

"X-Men: The Official Game" is, to say the least, yet another example of what happens when an insanely popular, multi-million dollar comic book/movie franchise decides to sell out its source material for an uninspired and disengaging video gaming experience. To put it simply, only those who can more than spare the money and the hard drive space will purchase or even rent something like this.

Nevertheless, I refuse to be a hypocrite. I added this game to my Gamefly rental account with the hopes that it would perhaps rise above the obvious stereotypes facing so many(if not all) movie-licensed games. It did not, and those stereotypes are more than justified after playing this game.

You must embark on a series of missions(many involving familar events and locales from the films) alternately playing as Wolverine, Iceman, and Nightcrawler. There's not much more to add to the plot summary because the aforementioned layout is just that: you play second-rate versions of the characters you've come to know and love in a tedious and arduous series of tacky, slapped-on missions with some of the most mediocre "boss" battles I have ever experienced in a game. I mention "second-rate" because the art design and personal attributes of the three main characters are hardly exciting or enthralling.

This is NOT the X-Men game fans have been waiting for, and is certainly not the game that fans like you and I have deserved for so long. This is just another successful attempt at additonal profit and licensing by the production companies, and a painfully unsuccessful attempt to please the many dedicated fans of the source material, which the production companies need to start taking note of.

In the end, you get what you get; the gameplay is far from spectacular, but you somehow get the sense that it tries to succeed. However, it fails miserably in this aspect and in many others, and hopefully someone out there will enjoy this game for longer than a half-hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could've been better

posted by Matt1975 (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

I played this back in '06 and didn't think much of it then, now that I am playing it again, my opinion hasn't changed. Even on the hardest difficulty it only takes me a few tries to get through a level, the worst character in my opinion is Iceman. He's always on his "sled" the targeting is less than accurate, and the stages are repetitive. Nightcrawler is the best with is teleporting, the stages are set up to take full advantage of that as does his combat. Wolverine is mediocre his stages are repetitive but his combat is fun. There are 16 achievements and one is for getting 950 gamer score in the game. and 3 are worth 0. I hate those!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Fun

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jul 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

I just really didn't enjoy this game at all. They could have done much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!

posted by JayV115 (BRONX, NY) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

This has to be the worst game i have ever played. If the rating system had a "0" i would of gave it that instead of "1." You play the game and the camera angles and controls are all bad which makes you gaming experience bad. And lets say you work hard and your about to finish a level and you DIE, you have to start all the way in the BEGINNING!! No checkpoints or nothing. Im sorry but this game really sucks big time!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

LOL

posted by JoshNipps (HOMER CITY, PA) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Everything about this game is bad except for two things. If it were a ps1 game it would be the best game ever, because the music is pretty good, and the gameplay is very fun especially as Nightcrawler. If you are looking for an intermission from some more serious gaming and want to play a fun game and boost your achievement score 500-1000 in a day, I recommend checking out this game. If you can get over the lower end graphics and the hilariously poor writing, this game is a good time

Graphics 5/10
Writing/Acting 4/10
Music 8/10
Gameplay 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just...

posted by JValentine (NEW ALBANY, IN) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its..Alright

posted by Josher (WINDERMERE, FL) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Well, i got this a while ago (not from gamefly) and it was okay.

I give the graphics a 6 out of 10

And i give the controls a 8

My favorite character is Nightcrawler, how you can sit there and pop one place to another, thats fun.

i give this overall game a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unplayable.

posted by eyethree (SPARTANBURG, SC) May 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

What happened to Z-Axis? The once great developer of great extreme sports games (Dave Mirra series) has fallen from grace. This is absolutely one of the worst games I have ever had the misfortune to play. Not only in the combat limited to two attacks per button, but the AI is nonexistent... The only thing this game is good for is the Achievement points and, well... To be used as a coaster.

Need an X-Men fix? X-Men Origins: Wolverine should suffice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

na

posted by thor12 (MESA, AZ) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

the game took me 2 days to beat it on he old xbox the bosses were easy but last level was hard the iceman was flying and u had to take out these huge things [ i think ] but bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stay away from this one.

posted by NexT2099 (RALEIGH, NC) Jun 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The game randomly freezes. The camera angles in wolverines levels are sometimes horrible. Some of the objectivies in the games levels are not obvious at all. I mean it doesnt give you any hints on what yur suppose to do. This game is horrible. I wouldn't beat this game again even if I was paid and certainly wouldnt pay 9.99 for it. Stay away from this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste your time!

posted by Validus (MCKEESPORT, PA) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This game sucks, it's just another exploitation of a name. All I have to say is "F" "U" activision, thanks for ruining the X-Men.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse