Rent X-Men Origins: Wolverine for Wii
view large frontback

X-Men Origins: Wolverine

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

716 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by zylajpa10 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

hey if you like wolverine this is the game for you and especially if you like slice and dice games.THIS IS A AWESOME GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

x men origins wolverine for wii

posted by qwe123 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was cool good game get the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wolverine in a hack-n-slasher... fitting

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jun 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

X-Men Origins: Wolverine is a game happy to hack and slash it's way to passability. It's not very long, it's not very deep, but you get to kill lots of enemies with adamantium claws. That counts for something.
The game follows the characters from the movie as Logan goes from the tragedy in the Canadian wilds through his battles with fellow mutants and to the ultimate conclusion that leads him to become Wolverine. It's a nice story, briefly told. Most of the details are omitted from the game, mostly because it's so short (well under 10 hours long).
Gameplay breaks down to killing enemies and... well, that's about it. Except for some mild platforming and some quicktime sequences, fighting is what you'll be doing. You can perform light and heavy attacks, as well as lunges. Get in enough good hits and you can enter rage mode for more carnage. It's not deep combat, but it's working combat.
As you progress, you'll gain experience, which allows you to upgrade Wolverine's stats. This is a nice touch, but makes him too powerful by the end of the game. Even the final boss is easily defeated. You can keep your upgrades for a second, harder, time around, but your upgrades make this even easier than the first time.
If there are flaws in the game, they come in design decisions. Your camera is fixed and has a nasty tendency to move at the most inopportune times. Since you dodge with the D-pad, you'll find these odd angles causing you to jump to the side rather than leap forward, etc. And then there are the load screens. Each section, many of which are a couple minutes long, requires a load screen. This gets annoying fast. There are some technical issues as well. I had to battle Blob a few times, because he kept getting stuck in one spot.
The game doesn't feel as fluid or fast as you'd want Wolverine to be. But you still get to use his claws with reckless abandon. That really is worth something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor choices

posted by PapaMudd (MESQUITE, TX) May 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Are you serious? Who's brilliant idea was it to ruin what could have a great game on the Wii. How could they not utilize the Wii motion controls in this game? Jeeze Cooking Mama even does that with many different motions. The programmers could have spent the time to really make this an excellent game for the Wii, not like it isn't already set up to be a great game for it.

I have a Wii and a PS3, but I wanted to get this game for the Wii because of the capabilities. I don't even want to play the game at all now... I could have just rented it for the PS3 if I wanted to play a button smasher.

EPIC PHAIL for the Wii.

Now I'm sure the game itself is still great, but it is an epic failure because the programmers failed miserably in doing something with the game on the Wii version that can't be done on the other systems. Very depressing I had to wait to get this game to just return it and have to wait to get another game worth playing on the Wii...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay

posted by wyetukay (PITTSTON, PA) May 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Considering the lack of great games for the wii, this game is definately playable. not the best game in the world, but if your looking for a good play for a few days, this works. its takes a little while to get the hang of button smashing on the wii-mote, but plently of checkpoints and automatic saves almost makes up for having to die a few times in order to get certain parts right. got choppy a few times during points of big carnage but clawing people to shreds with combo points and wolverine button-mashing ranks it a respectable play(for the wii anyway).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Slashing party

posted by vic2000 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

X men origins wolverine is a good game.the graphics are a little bad though.this game is good because you can slash enemies in many different ways,thats what makes this game good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Health Bar problems

posted by gamerguy96 (GREENSBORO, NC) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is good in action and adventure but the only thing that I saw was wrong with it was the health bar. The game is very challenging due to the health bar being so small. Don't get me wrong the game is fun and all but its hard to beat bosses with the small health bar. After playing the same level over and over being killed by the boss I went to find cheat codes for health but there weren't any for the Nintendo Wii. So if you have a Wii and rent this game don't expect to be able to use cheats.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

needs work

posted by dkingrocks (DAYTON, OH) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the problem i noticed most with x men origins is the storyline is centered around revenge which in the end proves pointless and shortens the game and the quality. the only good thing that came out of it was wolverine getting adamantium implanted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

N64 Quality

posted by Shaner (CARROLLTON, TX) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Well i played wolverine on the wii, the graphics sucked, the dialoug was...well....sub-par. I would rather eat my own hand than play that brain burning game ever again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wolverine Doesn't Put up Enough of a Fight

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Okay, bubs. Wolverine's in town and he's out to avenge the death of his - er - the lady he loves a lot. He does it by hacking and slashing every person in sight with his claws and solving puzzles.
What? Wolverine has to jump over chain link fences instead of cutting through them with his claws? He can take a real sized missile to the head and not a spiked filled log to the body? Doesn't anyone who make this game know about Wolverine's manly health and healing factor?
Getting to the end of the game wasn't too tough - it took about five to six hours for me. But it would be a lot less if it weren't for the annoying obstacles along the way. Obstacles that include:
A fixed camera. Off screen enemies were a constant annoyance. Also, the camera would hide the exit to some areas (namely the mine), and it left me wandering about like a fool.
Too many instant death spots where a missed jump was the end of the game and you have to start from a checkpoint.
The Lunging. There was no clear indication when to use it, and waving the Wiimote about wildly to make the jumps was aggrivating.
The bad graphics. I know this is the Wii, but this game just looked awful.
What I did like about this game is the leveling up of skills like more health, improved attacks, and improved rage. Also, the conrols are easy to learn and there's simple button mashing fun on display here.
But for game lasting less than six hours, $50 is too high a price tag for X-Men Origins: Wolverine. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what I expected

posted by JohnE5 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What can I say, I expected a halfway polished game. This one has a fixed camera, buggy jumping controls, no real combo system to mention. It looks like they spent more time making the intro cut screen than the rest of the entire game. I had flash backs of playing "Hercules" on N64, do not waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I can't believe they still make cheapnes like this

posted by Santiago (WINNETKA, CA) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With all the technological advancements available to make GOOD games and one of the most famous Marvel characters and all they could come up with is a cheap hack and slash that keeps herding you along their unflinching trail. I thought Tomb Raider more than 10 years ago showed us that a game could be more than just move forward and kill useless computer generated weaklings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wolverine

posted by pradeep (LEESBURG, VA) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Very nice game.. i loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Deja vu

posted by QUEENPEACH (EVERETT, WA) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was almost exactly like play Star Wars Force. The graphics and movement were the same, the enemies were just as plentiful and easy to kill, and the controls were just as annoying. But the most annoying part was the gigantic gap between the skill level needed to kill the regular enemies and the skill level needed for the boss battles. It's impossible not to die a few times before you figure out how to defeat the boss, because there's no slow progression of difficulty. It's just easy...hard...easy...hard. The storyline, though similar to the movie, had even more holes in it, which made it less than interesting. Though, I have to give them credit for the sensory option and rage level. Those were cool, but not enough to keep my interest. I did not enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cage This Game!

posted by GameGeek72 (PORTLAND, ME) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

X-Men Origins: Wolverine is a unique game based on the origin and the beginning of the beast none other Wolverine. In the Nintendo Wii version I was surprised at how intense and action packed the game play was. You could lunge at a character and and slash there chest open, or grab a soldier and then separate them. Ha, man oh man did I enjoy that. But what really forced me to rate this game as it is, was the plot, the boss battles, the annoying traps, the voice acting, and last but not least the WII MOVEMENT AND CONFIGURATION!!! The voice acting was hilarious yet embarrassing. The boss battles were just plain stupid. It didn't follow the story in the movie AT ALL! I mean, why the heck did they put in snow levels??? The traps would take me an half hour to get past and the WII movement response was harder than trying to tell a police officer that you didn't just steal that bag of loot and didn't just shoot at a civilian for looking ugly. I mean, I'm sorry but someone please, don't keep this game Uncaged, CAGE IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not As Great As I Thought!

posted by Erasmus (ELYRIA, OH) Jun 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good game if you enjoy loading screens. There's many of them here! Graphics stink. Music is okay, when it is playing that is. There were scenes without any music, and the voices were very repetitive. Upgrading was way to easy, and all-in-all, the game was short... Too short. Enemies were very easy, and traps auto killed you. Even stepping one foot into water would kill you! Rage didn't really do much... and Logan healed kinda' waaaay to fast.

Honestly, this game seemed like it was just all thrown together at the last moment without any thought or creativity to it. I gave it a 3 because it did follow the storyline of the movie, and the movie was pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Willam (SUPERIOR, CO) May 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 24 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

X-Men Origins:Wolverine

posted by ceecee (MARTINSBURG, WV) May 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

8-year Old Son

posted by Nic77 (TRACY, CA) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I got this for my son since he is a big fan of everything SuperHero...he didn't like it and wasn't willing to give it more than a 20 minute try. So I gave it a one star because normally he will at least give it an hour before he brings it downstairs and asks 'mail it back'!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun

posted by NinFreakinJa (BLUFFTON, SC) May 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game was very fun but some parts were hard and the instructions were confusing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Never ending repetition.

posted by Dice (OREM, UT) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

For a Wii beat em' up, button masher. This is an alright game. There was just nothing to keep me playing. Level after pointless level of the same 4 or 5 types enemies. Till you level up then you get a new set of 4 or 5 types of enemies.

If you only want to feel like you are Wolverine in a Final Fight type scenario. Then this is worth your time. If you are spoiled and jaded by these types of games like me and desire more depth. You might wanna pass this one by. The fighting system is pretty good but that being the only aspect of the game aside from the few mini(and I mean mini) games with the wii-mote. There is not much to the actual game.

Dice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by Crazedvamp (COOKEVILLE, TN) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I beat this game in 7 hours it was fun & simple game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by mecha12 (ALDIE, VA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

It was a pretty good game, but i wouldnt recommend it to people that are new to video games. It's kind of hard, however its got a lot of action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wolf Urine

posted by stepholive (ARCATA, CA) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

It was killer until I got stuck trying to jump & lunge between 2 electrical towers. When you first approach the towers the game shows you a quick scan of the towers & their height but then the screen shot changes to only shows you half of the towers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wolverine

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I liked the game, took a little while to get use to the control actions. I would buy it in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse