Rent X-Men Origins: Wolverine for PS2
view large frontback

X-Men Origins: Wolverine

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.7

456 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

WORTH A PLAY

posted by butterflyf (SARASOTA, FL) Sep 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I GAVE THIS GAME AN 8. AND HONESTLY ITS HARD TO GET A REAL GOOD RATING FROM ME. ESPECIALLY ON MOVIE BASED GAMES THAT ARE BASICALLY MADE JUST TO MAKE ALIL MORE MONEY. THIS GAME TAKES A LIL WHILE TO PICK UP AND ONCE IT DOES ITS ACTUALLY ENJOYABLE. YOU WILL PROBLY NEVER DIE FROM BEING SHOT OR FROM HAND TO HAND COMBAT, BECAUSE OF HIS HEALING FACTOR THAT AUTOMATICALLY KICKS IN. BUT THIS GAME INVOLVES ALOT OF PUZZLES AND USING ALL WOLVERINES ABILITIES. INCLUDING SOMTHING LIKE "SPIDER SENSE" THAT LETS HIM SENSE THINGS NEAR HIM THAT ARE HIDDEN. THIS GAME IS DEFINITLY WORTH THE TIME TAKEN OUT TO PLAY IT. ONCE WOLVERINE IS LEVELED UP HES VIRTUALLY INDESTRUCTABLE. AND YOU WILL SEE THAT FIGHTS AGAINST THE BLOB,SABRETOOTH AND DEADPOOL ARE QUITE EASY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sick Wolverine

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

"X-men Origins: Wolverine" for the PS2 is a sick game. And not sick in the good sense, either. Like its cousin on the next gen system, "Wolverine" traces the story of everyone's favorite X-man. And give Activision a little credit for wanting to give PS2 owners a different experience than that on the PS3. Sadly, they didn't give them a good experience. A fixed camera (with no way to rotate it), a clumsy control system, poor graphics, and some God-awful voice acting all add up to a disappointing game. Even quick time events can save this mutant blunder of a game, and the trial and error that follows poor explanation of how to use the controls leads to a great amount of frustration. A real shame, as this game should have been fun. Recommend you definitely rent before you buy. At least combat is quick, but the enemies are lackluster in both appearance and abilities. Activision would have been much better off porting over the same control scheme used in the PS3 game. Activision should know better. PS2 owners are better off going to play "X-men Legends" or "Marvel Ultimate Alliance" to get their Wolvie fix instead of this broken and obviously rushed game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a waste of time

posted by 7T2Z28 (MADISON HEIGHTS, MI) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To put it simply, this game sucks. No point to dance around it while trying to juggle clever analogies and witty adjectives.

For one, the controls are terrible. Every single button on the controller does something, so if you hit it accidently it will screw up your entire process. What's more, there are "abilities" that you are supposed to use on certain obstacles, but the tutorial tells you it's an attack. What's more, if you try to use it as an attack, you just stand there waiting for your "prompt" because you never get one. Overall the controls are really clumsy and there's not much room for error around some of the cliffs and "lunge" jumps. You can do what a lunge sequence tells you, and you'll die anyway when Wolverine screws up a lunge.

As if the controls weren't bad enough, the camera angle is atrocious. Most of the time, the camera is behind you, but as you move so does the camera, and there's no easy way to get it to move. Often times you'll end up looking backwards, which means you can't see where Wolverine is going. Part of the problem is the AI pathing. The environment is, but your path is trying to be an old 16-bit side-scroller.

Finally, the boss fights are just freaking ridiculous. In the second fight, you may as well just give up, because even on the easiest level it's nearly impossible. It took about 70 tries, I'm not kidding. Everytime you are about to win, the game pulls out a cheat and kills you almost instantly. And that's AFTER you go through some ridiculous half-game-half-cutscene where you need to push a certain button, but they give you about 1/10 of a second to do it. It takes about 15-20 or so deaths as you try get the sequence down. What makes it hard is half the time you will push the button in time, but the game ignores that and kills you anyway.

In conclusion, what we have hear is a really cool looking game that takes full advantage of the aging PS2's graphics processor that plays like krap. Not worth full price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by bgdg00 (RIALTO, CA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry. This game is horrible. Say it with me people, functionality. That is one of the most important traits in games today and this game just doesn't have it. I've never experienced it where a game that's not on a PC lags and this game does. Lag glalore. Basically I gave it a two for voice acting only which are decent at best. This game is not worth renting. Seriously, pick a different game. Don't waste 4 days trying to get this game just to send it back after 5 minutes because that's what I did. The sad thing is that this game didn't have to be this bad. Just because it's on PS2 doesn't mean the graphics,functionality, sound, and collisions, had to be as bad as they were. There are plenty of games of the same genre that aren't this bad. This was just a bad...game. I'm glad I didn't buy it(like in the commercial).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible read and i tell you

posted by brianthomas3922 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As soon as i got the game i was expecting to not stop i was sso happy but AS SOON AS I PUT THE GAME IN HORRRIBLE!!!! SOOO HORRIBLE LIKE SRSLY I PLAYED IT FOR ABOUT 30 MINS AND PUT IN BACK IN THE CASE AND WENT TO THE MAILBOX PLACE AND RETURNED IT IT SUCKED JUST THAT MUCH!!!! TOTLLY NOT WORTH MY TIME AND ANYONES TIME I HOPE THIS WAS HELPFUL!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

fun

posted by mak366 (COTTONWOOD, AZ) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

found the game to be preaty intresting and enjoyable to play but the parts were you jump from one place to another in order to continue with the progress of the game to be hard and didn't understand what was path no book with game makes it that much harder

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The baddest game I had played

posted by karakara (DORENA, OR) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It just keep lagging and saying Game over EACH time you look away for one sec.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DO NOT PLAY FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!!

posted by ACS92188 (EUGENE, OR) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

The game for PS2 was horrible. I played the 360 version and it was way better. As far for the PS2, they could have gotten the guys who did God of War and it would have looked much better. They didn't spend much time on the game as far as every aspect of this PS2 version is concerned. That includes gameplay, graphics(Final Fantasy X had way better graphics than this), and timing of the voice actors with the characters. It's 15 fifteen minutes of my life I'll never get back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Coolest Game EVER!!!

posted by coolio2525 (WYLIE, TX) May 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I tried this game, and it was so fun! Dude, at the beginning when he finds his girlfriend she was all bloody and stuff, it was so weird. Well I think you should rent it or buy it, whatever you feel like

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

get ps3

posted by timsmoove (DETROIT, MI) May 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

well 1st off the ps2 is soooo slow n lame controls r funny bunny n the sound is bad as kids in school wit a sub teacher, story was ok its the onl thing that was good...sorry ps2 but ya time is come.now 4 the ps3 ... down rite awsome stroy stuck close 2 movie n action was nonstop controls tite n graphics actin sound on point like a intra red beam u can get al least 3 days worth off playin time toatlin 5hours a day. rent it jus 2 be sure but 4 the ps2 copy like a stray dog.. leave it where u see it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lame

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

Level ups are annoying. Wolverine dies too easily from minor stuff. Your path is confusing most of the time and no camera control makes it worse. Your senses are temporary? Come on!!! X2 Wolverines revenge was better than this. Its fun for a time killing hack and slash but once the lunging comes in its no longer fun. Definately not for younger gamers because of the high frustration level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game to easy

posted by mak2k85 (STUART, FL) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I got this game, and played it for five hours and beat it on easy. When you beat the game in easy though you can continue playing in the next level medium or berserk and the cool thing is you get to keep all of the skill point that you have earned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

x-men game

posted by piro4134 (CORNING, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game slow and hard to get in to but a little fun, not the best game i have played but i give it a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT WORTH MY TIME!!!

posted by kickass209 (STOCKTON, CA) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game wasn't at all what i was expecting. the movie was 10 times better. my advice to anyone who wants to play this game, it's a waste of time!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wolverines

posted by cmratt (MURRAY, KY) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I beat this game in a day and half.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Xmen origins PS2

posted by Darkonite (MIAMI, FL) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game is worth buying not renting it has amazing graphics very RPG you can actually level up Wolverine and it sticks to the story line very much not to much how powerful you become in the game this game is a must for anyone who is looking for a different game experience you can decide what power you get first which ones you wanna level up first or the most you can destroy almost anything with your claws and some many different moves to punish your enemies the game is just great MUST PLAY i give a 10 im 27 i have been playing video games since i was 8 so trust me i know when i see a good game take my word for it and rent this game or buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Snikt

posted by leclercq01 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Wolverine Origins wasn't too bad a game. There were a few glitches here and there. The graphics were pretty good. The use of Wolverine's healing ability is about as realistic as the comics and movies show it to be.

7/10 because I'd definitely play the game again, but I wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG. Worst PS2 Game EVER?

posted by sstone1972 (RICHWOOD, OH) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I didn't even play it past the Lung 'tutorial" that's how bad it was. Maybe I'm just spoiled cuz I played the PS3 Demo for the game, but the graphics suck, the controls suck, and the story sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »