Rent X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition for Xbox 360
view large frontback

X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS, PS3, PSP Games, Wii
GF Rating
7.9

15321 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Get ready to seriously sink your teeth into this!

posted by ProPanda (SAN LUIS, AZ) May 3, 2009

Member since May 2009

135 out of 148 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

What can I say. Simple games are simply awesome. There's not a lot of gameplay mechanics you have to memorize to execute stylish finishers here. Even the achievements are done swiftly and in progression of the game. I'm not saying that being simple is bad by any means! This is a good thing!

The camera angles are great, I never felt out of place. The boss fights were fun and challenging! The story is of course tied to the movie, but not completely. I won't spoil anything.

For those that hold a games reputation to the graphics department, let's just say you won't be disappointed.

The animations are fluid, sound is superb.

I know what you're thinking.. Aren't most movie games supposed to suck?!

Well not this one, I for one like it and I believe a lot of people will appreciate the simpleness of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, Stabby Fun

posted by RBCurran (HARLINGEN, TX) May 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

36 out of 40 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is a blast for as long as it lasts. I beat it in four days, but time with it may be longer, since I rushed through it. The play mechanics (including Wolvie's lunge move, which was my favorite) are rock solid, the presentation's great (this is the first time I've seen a game represent Wolvie's healing factor visually, with all of the gore that goes with that), and if you like the character or visceral action games at all, you will definitely enjoy this.

Like most beat 'em up/brawler games, it can get repetitive. You can only fight the same rock monster in the jungle levels so many times before it gets tedious, for instance. But there enough bells and whistle (from upgrading your character to some epic, God of War style boss fights, and even some fun, non-Marvel pop culture reference based Easter Eggs that give you achie that actually give you achievements) that's really only a minor quibble.

This is a rare licensed game that isn't hamstrung by being tied to a big budget movie release. Definitely a must rent if you can get your hands on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun times

posted by seawolf (ASHEVILLE, NC) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

i always rent the hack and slash games with my fingers crossed. They tend to have 1 of 3 things that make them unpleasant to me
1. repeatedly mashing one button melee attacks = boring
2. boss fights that seem near impossible
3. lots of jumping that unless perfectlly timed has you pulling your hair

wolverine i think has balanced these very well. I never got tired of leaping from enemy to enemy slashing my way to bosses ( who were challenging but your fight strategy quickly becomes clear)
and every failed jump didnt necessarily cause you to start all over again

the games graphics are good and i think the story line was better than the actual movie

i was pleasantly suprised with this game and highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New Wolverine Rocks!!

posted by PhRoZyN311 (HOUSTON, TX) May 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

18 out of 25 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Dude, this game is sick! Lunging from enemy to enemy, the controls are easy to figure out, the upgrades are simple to figure out, and the special attacks are awesome, especially once they are upgraded.

The only con I can see in this game, is that the story goes back and forth quite a bit, making for the storyline to become quite confusing. Other than that, definitely rent this game!

-THE RATATATTAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greattttttt

posted by MegaMillz (BROOKLYN, NY) May 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

37 out of 53 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

this game is simply the best rent iv got from game fly if your a fan of x men or wolverine you'll want to buy this no online but the action is A 10 the graphics a 10 and the story a 10 it fills in the blanks of the movie to witch is great if you see the movie and like it the you will love this game. They did a very very good job on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Rental

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Movie tie-ins suffer badly under review but this game doesn't need a movie behind it to make it a blast to play.

This is a perfect action game for those people who aren't die hard gamers. You can pretty well button mash your way thru the game, at least on the default difficulty. But the game rewards the skilled player with flashy combos and action movie style combat. By mashing, you will still finish the game, but by playing well, you really get the feeling of what Wolverine is capable of.

This game is good all over, with only small complaints to be had. Near walls or in confined areas the camera can be an issue, leaving you unable to see yourself and attacking enemies. Certain platform puzzles suffer from twitchy control response.

Level ups are mostly pointless since you'll end up leveling pretty much everything. Could do with just giving you new attacks rather than selecting power ups. On the upside the checkpoints are frequent and well placed to keep even tricky sections from having to be repeated over and over if you die.

The downside is little replay value. It's fun enough you will probably play it more than once, but the story and pathfinding will be identical. Combat is so good though that on a second play through you'll wish for shorter cutscenes to get to the action.

The cutscenes, voice acting, and game adapted story are well above the standard for movie tie in games.

The violence is incredibly over the top, with blood and gore everywhere, which most people expect from combat with a guy that has two foot metal claws.

One of the best rentals in the action genre to come along for awhile. From the casual gamer to the die hard, whether you see the movie or ever read a comic book or not, this game is absolutely worth playing for anyone with a console.

Put this one in your Que

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME ROCKS {x-men}

posted by monsta2 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

X-men is a very good game the controls are standard and the gameplay can never be better.The storyline is the problem the story goes back and fourth and its confusing so if u never seen this movie then u pretty much wont understand the storyline.The game is 8-12 hours long if ur playing easy for the first time but if u already know the it could take 6-8 hours.This game is worth renting i unlocked all the achievements in this game it took me about 4-5 playthroughs so it may take a while to get a 1000 but its still worth it.RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wolverine Origins Is a Real Beast!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) May 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

First off, I have to point out, that the storyline & controls are virtually flawless! I was so impressed, that I had to take the liberty to let you gamers know how great it truly is! The controls are fluid, swift & couldn’t ask for a better battling system. When you go into Rage mode, you can do spinning claw combos that are sick to watch obliterate your enemies! While holding the Right trigger, press X or B for brutal finishers & claw attack combo moves! On a side note, I had a difficult time at first, getting past the 3-4 statues you have to leap in a sort of timed trial action. You only have a matter of seconds to pull it off. I got it around the 3rd time thankfully!

Graphics- 10 out of 10. Beautiful, fluid movements, cut scenes rock!

Gameplay-Storyline is very well stuck to the movie (not giving out spoiler of the film), rent the game/see the movie too! It’s amazing.

Controls- 10 out of 10. I couldn’t express enough, without hype, the controls are tight & awesome!

Overall, I have nothing bad, this game is the best X-Men game I’ve played in years. I hope for those who read this, go rent & buy this game!

Replay value- 10 out of 10. This has 1 of the highest replays of the many games I’ve played, & I’ll definitely be playing this game again after I beat it! It’s my new favorite X-Men game.

Happy Gaming Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun rental, but that's all it is.

posted by Darksabre (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

From the first cenematic, the tone is set for this slash-fest. A good way to describe the grapics is to take a bucket of blood, and throw it on your TV screen. In addition to having a standard health graph in the top-corner of the screen, you actually get to watch gaping, gory wounds slowly close up as you heal.

Over-the-top gore aside, there is a fun game hidden in there. You have a suprising amount of powers and abilities available to you as you progress in the game. For achievement hunters, you can pull 1000 out of it in about 4 days of game play. There's a very good guide on Gamespot that will show you where all the hidden powerups and collectables are.

On the downside of the game, it does have a recurring bug in it. Namely that thrown enemies have a chance of winding up outside the game boundries, but in a spot where they won't actually die. I've had that cause me to backstep to a checkpoint because I was in an area that I had to kill everything to move on, and couldn't. To be fair these bad throws happened about once every three hours or so on average, but it's something to keep in mind.

To sum up, I would highly recomend renting this game if you're an action or comics fan, but I couldn't reccomend shelling out the big bucks to purchase it. If you really want to own it, you're better off waiting for it to hit the 15-and-under bargain bins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wolverine, The Animal

posted by cheetah94 (CYPRESS, CA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok this game has one word Awesome. it has all the gore violence that you can expect from Wolverine. The graphics are 9, sound 10, gameplay 10, blood and moves 100. althrought out the story it takes you back to the jungle mission as a flashback to play a misson. Bosses are easy and ripping apart enemys is also easy. You can either rush through gameplay or play calmly. In feral sense you can go toward your objective or see green color things to impale enemys some enemys cant be killed normall easily so impale them. this game just simply rocks and there are NO bad things about it. this game is a rent if wanna play one time but BUY if you wanna keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Camera is the deadliest foe

posted by EvilTranc3 (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The good:
Great graphics
Good story line that doesn't follow the movie exact, so it actually makes you want to watch the cut scenes
VERY violent. I was actually shocked at how violent this game is.
You've got several moves and combos, and attacking multiple enemies makes for a bloody good time.
There are some puzzles, although most are easy, it breaks up the tedium of this game being a button masher.
COSTUMES! You can get secret costumes like the original brown costume, yellow costume, or weapon X. Even better you have to fight a Wolverine clone to win them, and I have to say those were some of my favorite fights
The bad:
After you get to a higher experience level and rank up, most enemies become almost too easy to kill. Dying after only one or two hits.
The amount of different enemies are lacking. Now I'm not saying it's as bad as some games where you have one enemy with a knife, one with a gun, but as good as they did the enemies on this game I would have loved to see more styles.
Bosses. Eventually they all have one way of getting killed. And, after a while it gets tedious pulling off the same move 20 times.
THE CAMERA! Probably the worst part of the game. It will move at will. Which for most of the game isn't a problem. But some parts where you are in close combat with many units, it's hard to tell where you're at and what direction you need to be attacking. Even worse, the last boss battle I died 5 times alone because the camera angle would change MID JUMP and of course I didn't have time to correct my jump direction and I fell to my death.

So, the bad is not a deal breaker by anymeans. I would even suggest buying it, except I myself am not into playing a game after I beat it usually. And, for being loosely based off a movie, it's probably one of the best movie based games ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

High points and low points

posted by clancy923 (FRANKFORT, KY) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Origins is definately one of the most fun games I've played in a while but however is does have negative points. After a while the game does start to become repatative there are only so many ways to kill each enemy before you have seen them all. But the game does do a pretty good job of keeping it entertaining although it gets repetative I personally never get tired of picking someone up and impaling them on a spike or a forklift. They also put a wide variety of enemies for you to fight in the game some more challenging than others. There are there are the major factions in the game each having regular enemies, advanced enemies, and a giant (Leviathan, W.E.N.D.E.G.O Prototype,Mark V1 protoype) all have a special way to be killed. It also has some puzzles to get to your next objective some can be challenging others can be quite simple but most of them are time and you have to complete them before time runs out or you will have to redo it. Overall I would recomend a buy for this game its fun and it keeps you entertained especially if you are a fan of blood and gore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Wolverine/Xmen game to date!

posted by Renegadex (NEPTUNE, NJ) May 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

There is only one down fall about this game, the in-game graphics. The creators of the game could have done a little better with the graphics but other then that the game is great in every way. This game makes you feel like you are Wolverine with all the abilities you are able to use and the regeneration is great. This is deff. worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a while.

posted by Christoph9 (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I will admit, I had fun playing this game. But it gets very repetative very fast. How many lava monsters do I need to kill? How many prototype creatures (which are almost exactly the same as the lava monsters except for appearence) do I need to kill? The quick kills are nice, and the visceral approach made this game intriguing. However, it doesn't last. 5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unleash the Beast

posted by DarkStar00 (BURLINGTON, NJ) May 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is probably the greatest super hero game ever made(that is until prototype comes out). It does a perfect job portraying the blood shed and claw ripping action that wolverine is known for. Although the game, as well as the movie shows sabertooth being wolverines brother, HE IS NOT HIS BROTHER! Besides that this game, as i said, is the best super hero game you'll ever play. It is a must buy.

P.S. the movie was amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Game

posted by powerbomb1 (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) May 17, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very solid and addicting game. I know X-2: Wolverine Revenge got a lot of flack, but that game did a good job of getting the power scheme right where other games have failed.

This game did an even better job getting his power scheme right. You really got to feel like you were Wolverine. It's clearly a hack/slash game, but Wolverine is a very hack/slash character a good chunk of the time.

And I don't play video games too much. I tend to but a couple a year, and play it a few times. Which is why I came back to Gamefly. The game is addicting so far and it's easy enough to be fun while challenging enough to keep me coming back when I fail.

It's rated M for a reason. It's very bloody and gory.

This is not the movie, the movie was very bad this game is very good.

If you want a Wolverine game done right, this is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BLOOD!

posted by expert (KAYSVILLE, UT) May 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When you think of wolverine games you think stupid T rated kity games.
THIS IS THE COMPLETE OPPOSITE! This game is like god of war but even cool you can upgrade wolverine to which is awesome.
I have seen the movie and the game is the same story and the same lines. RNT OR GET THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blood and Guts

posted by Happyjack (EL MONTE, CA) May 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

How doesn't love blood and guts. If you looking for a game that delivers, then you'll love this game. Exellent graphics, great story line. I give this game a 10. You wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but i beat it in 2 1/2 days

posted by SMD1985FL (STUART, FL) May 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lots of fun start to finish worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Snikt!

posted by Theodore (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay, so we're presented with Wolverine, a game based on a film based on a comic book. SImply by sheer video game suckage physics, this game must suck, right? Wrong! This game is actually several great ideas bundled into some sloppy presentation!

The pros of this game really do shine though, presentation be damned. The combat feels REALLY nice, it's fast, it's fluid, & great googly-moogly, it's brutal. Be prepared to beat people to death with their own arms. The controls are responsive, & all in all, Wolverine simply handles how he should...in combat.

Speaking of outside of combat, this brings us to the cons. The platforming sections in this game seem far too simple & easy until you realize that the clunky control during platforming makes it painful. It's not as if the platforming is an abomination, or anything, but the controls are clunky & the layouts are unimaginative. The game's presentation is REALLY weak though, & it tends to hurt the game. The graphics are sub-par, the animations are dull, & the gamne feels rushed.

But, despite it's flaws, this game is highly enjoyable, presenting a chance to pop the claws & get pretty messy. I highly recommend a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

X-men Origins: Wolverine is the best yet!!!!

posted by bangbang (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed this game.

I've played a bunch of movie adapted games such as Incredible Hulk, Superman Returns, Iron Man. And none of them really fleshed out the character as much as this game did.

Sure it can get repetitive and boring with the same moves but this was a visceral game. The imagery was so in your face and with 5.1 surround sound I thought I was there with him.

Only bad side of the game was after unlocking the hard difficulty, we had to start from scratch to re-acquire all the skills and experience.

The costumes were a nice touch. Wish they had the original x-men movie costume.

Thumbs up on a fun game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Xmen Origins: Wolverine

posted by cantor00 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While I did not have great expectations for this game (after watching the movie), I must say I was pleasantly surprised once I started playing it.

First off the controls are simple. Not a lot of button bashing is required (except when the system prompts you to press X to complete a finisher).

Second, the video game tries to adapt to the comic book story. I was very disappointed with the movie however the game somewhat salvaged the two wasted hours I spent in the theater.

There were some frustrating parts in the game, especially some long jumps that took several attempts to complete and the end boss battle (Weapon 11) where the floor keeps collapsing plunging you to death.

Overall, a very good game!! I recommend you RENT and not buy it. It is rather short and with no online capabilities is really not worth the $59.99 plus taxes price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition

posted by refionce (CLOVIS, CA) May 28, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One the of the best games I have played in a while! For the first 2 days I didn't put it down! slept like 2 to 3 hours and went to work!!!! OK story but the game play and non stop action kept me in!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

X-men Max!!!

posted by Cellfliier (OAKLAND, CA) May 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

X-MEN Origins: The First Game I've finished in GOD KNOWS HOW LONG! I love this game!!! This is the first game I've played in a long time
that didn't crank up the dificulty so high that it becomes almost impossible.
(Thank you raven) But don't get it into your head that this is a walk in the park, the boss battles can be insane & some of the other bad guys can
really work your last nerve!
PLAY THIS GAME AND SEE IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO HAVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game.

posted by CMoney0330 (ANNAPOLIS, MD) May 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game play is really good. And it goes with the movie is some sort of way kind of. Really fun game to play. Worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse