Rent X-Men: Destiny for Wii
view large frontback

X-Men: Destiny

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, PS3
GF Rating
4.4

221 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Destiny won’t help this game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you’re going to give players a chance to play an X-Men title, then most players will want to play as one of the X-Men: Woverine, Cyclops, Colossus, Rogue, and so on.
But X-Men Destiny doesn’t do that. Instead, you are given one of three new characters to pick from, and which type of power they have (they range from shooting energy to powerful punches)
Along the way, you can pick up other abilities, like create walls, toss energy bombs, or make a shockwave.
This sounds pretty good on the surface, except when the gameplay starts, I found myself mashing the basic attack button to beat up the enemies. The controls for the added abilities are cumbersome and annoying.
And the game starts off with a lot of talking and cut scenes (which comprise of really bad looking comic panels). Here, you’ll have to listen to a bunch of people yap about mutants, people, and the war between them. The lack of action will test players’ patience to the point where some will give up and send the game back.
What will further test players’ patience is the camera – it moves about far too much and makes boss battles very hard. It’s easy to lose sight of the boss as he or she moves about the fighting area, and when I try to find the boss, I get blindsided by a cheap shot. X-Men Destiny needs a manual lock on in the worst possible way.
The payoff for all of these irritations is the ability to choose your destiny. But it makes no difference which side (X-Men or Magneto) you are on; you play the same levels and beat up mostly the same guys going through the levels. I found very little excitement in any of the stories told in this game.
X-Men Destiny for the Wii tries to follow the path of Marvel Ultimate Alliance, but it fails at almost every turn. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Not Fun to Play

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 13, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is intended to be a beat 'em up adventure (think God of War, for instance), but it is really just spoiled by a sub-par fighting system. Your choice of moves is very limited, and the controls make it a pain in the butt to do anything but push A a lot. The camera is difficult to rotate and good luck using any mutant powers you acquire more than occasionally. Pair this with the fact that the game seems to have no redeeming features (mediocre story, graphics, sound, etc.) and you're just left with a bad experience.

The bottom line is that a beat 'em up game lives and dies based on whether the fighting system is intuitive and fun. In this game it is boring and tedious. Fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A not so brilliant 'Destiny'

posted by Emperorflood88 (SEILING, OK) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am fully aware that not all games are created equal. A game for Xbox360 and PS3 will be ten times better (usually) then it's Wii counterpart. But this doesn't make it any less gratifying knowing that you are walking into something that the company spent less then ten hours to make just to please it's other fans. X-Men Destiny is a fantastic game, and shouldn't have been treated as a mere waste of time on the Wii. The controls were dumpy and slow, the graphics were subpar at best, and the plot was so watered down that it made the whole point of the game (being able to shape one's destiny to create some epic game and ending) moot. I know I shouldn't be disappointed at this point, but there are some games where the Wii has risen to the occasion to show up it's counter parts (MadWorld, Smash Bros, Any Virtual Console game, No More Heroes, etc). Disappointed, I supposed, doesn't begin to scratch the surface on X-Men Destiny Wii. If you're going to play, make sure you have a 360 or PS3, otherwise don't waste the money or the rental period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame Omg

posted by DjGhostEnt13 (MCRAE, GA) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Take this game off your catalog it sucks real butt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

X-men Destiny- do not get it!!!!!!!

posted by Marvelfan (PLAINSBORO, NJ) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

First of all, when it says you can choose your destiny, it doesnt matter because you play the same levels! Next, the camera keeps moving aroung and i cant see enemies and bosses attack me. I end up dead because i cant see them. Last but the biggest problem is that the attacks are weak and insufficent. it takes at least four attacks to kill the weakest of the enemies. by the way, the cutscenes and dialouge take too long and in the first level there is a whole lot of them. the only good thing in this game is that u can sometimes use powers from more famous mutants. its not worth the time, effort, and money to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Games I've Ever Played!!

posted by wdog14 (FRANKFORT, KY) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

I played this game through about....Five or six time's before I sent it back, It is SO good.
I love how you can choose from different kinds of powers to have instead of having one preset for each playable character. Over all, it was a Awesome game that has a high re-play thing going on. I would highly recommend renting/buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not horrible just bad

posted by NinFreakinJa (BLUFFTON, SC) May 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game was hard and just not fun to play you should not rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Who are these people

posted by Ryratt (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

There's 3 new characters (i.e.: not from the Marvel universe) you play as. Lame controls, I didn't even play past the first couple of levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just Sad

posted by shiftergs (SAN JACINTO, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

The story of the game itself is pretty simple, the character selections of whom you can be is a let down, the voice acting in hopeless, and the controls are terrorizing.

The voice acting in some aspects isn't too bad, its just you can't hear them most of the time when they speak. Music is too loud, or the speech is too low.

As for the controls, where can I start? Moving is sluggish, the lack of environment is depressing, and its basically a button smasher. Using the powers isn't as grand as it should be, and the worst feature is when fighting bosses. All regular foes are easy as pie, but the bosses are ridiculously tough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Destiny for the trash can...

posted by TommySquared (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This game was atrocious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nsixty what?

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

This game is so N64. I mean come on. The overall gameplay was ok 8 years ago or so, but not at modern times. Rent if you wanna see for yourself but definitely don't just buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't get

posted by jigoku (ETHEL, LA) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this game is dumb. It has horrible graphics with no real point to the story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »