Rent X-Men: Destiny for Xbox 360
view large frontback

X-Men: Destiny

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, Wii
GF Rating
5.8

4017 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

X-Men Destiny Promised Much & Delivers Little

posted by VeritasX (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

58 out of 61 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

X-Men Destiny was touted as this great RPG experience where you would craft a new mutant in the ruins of San Francisco along side other Marvel Universe regulars and ultimately tip the scales in deciding the ultimate fate of Human-Mutant relations and by extent the fate of the world.

Awesome! Right?

Not really. What you get is an average, linear beat em' up that involves choices that seldom feel consequential. The story line is interesting enough but the game tries create side "missions" pretending your accomplishing something new other then smacking around another 30 or 50 thugs (and trust me, I kept count because the game chooses to announce how many faceless enemies you have to fight).

The RPG elements are pretty light, really just what every hank'n'slasher has been using for a couple of years now. It works okay and can be tweaked for interesting options, but you use it on three pre-created character templates. Whats worse is that the game's idea of giving you clothing options departing from your original civilian attire is just borrowing some other X-Men regular's costume. You literally just wear their costume, minus the frills that make it look cool. Just your character in colored spandex.

The game even uses way points to guide you and it's a little humiliating considering that you've literally got one straight line to walk in and it closes off the path behind you often to prevent back tracking.

The game promised a lot. It could've created a new genre of superhero rpg's or even just a new Marvel franchise, but it fails to do anything it promised. It's okay enough for a while but it dries out far too quickly and long before the end. If you're looking for a superhero game worth its salt, I'd recommend trying 'Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2' instead. If you're a die hard X-Men fan or simply can't get enough super hero action it's worth a try, but don't expect too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been better...

posted by pcsman81 (ORMOND BEACH, FL) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dialogue and game play were pretty good. A very well balanced choice of powers made you want to play it again and again to try different combinations. However, you only had the selection of outfits from other X-Men. No option to create your own costumes. For example, I could find and choose Wolverine's costume, which in turn gave me healing powers. I would have much rather enjoyed creating my own costume instead of looking like a cheap Wolverine or Juggernaut rip-off. Cinematics were a little glitchy at times, 2nd-rate animation. but I give it a 7, because it was one of those rare games you have to play twice and get both stories and unlock everything. Gamefly says for $15.00 you can keep it. Well worth it in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A good Rental

posted by Mjd772 (DRAPER, UT) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first got this game I was a little sad because this was not the first game in my Q. I didn't realize it at first but the more and more that I played it, it was basically the same gameplay as darksiders. The orbs the running on the walls the jumping. It all seemed too short and to similar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than you've likely heard

posted by ClayBFX (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) May 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was a bit apprehensive before playing this game because of the abundance of negative reviews, but after playing it through twice I can honestly say it was an entertaining game. It is a brawler with not a lot else, but that's ok. Think God of War gameplay with Final Fight sensibilities. You begin by selecting one of three characters (whom you choose affects dialogue options significantly, but not the main story), then are soon after asked to choose between one of three core power sets. Each power set can then be expanded upon at set points in the story, as well as with X-Genes (collectibles that work as upgrades or boosts). The lack of multi-player is a poor choice, but the game is a lot of fun regardless. I suggest anyone that is a fan of X-Men or brawlers give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Decent rental.... wouldn't buy in a million ye

posted by KNoley (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is no way on Earth they tested this game before releasing it. And if they did, they must have found their testers on Craigslist. There are various bugs here and there that add to the other numerous annoyances about it. For example when one of the AI enemies gets stuck behind a wall during a challenge preventing you from getting all the necessary kills to pass the challenge. Oddly enough he could still shoot me with his flame thrower, but I was unable to hit him in any way. This has happened a couple times. There are also an abundance of cut scenes. I would venture to guess that there is as much cut scene footage as actual gameplay. Seems like you take a matter of steps and hit a cut scene, fight for a little bit, take a few more steps to the next room, cut scene, over and over and over...... The combat is also very so so, and that is being polite. One on one, it works well, but with a large group of enemies, which is something this game is in love with, it because a big cluster of annoyance and frustration.

The storyline is kind of boring and uninspiring, graphics are decent but nothing stellar. For as much fanfare as this game got in a way before it was released I would expect a whole lot more than this. I love the X-Men Legends titles for the original XBOX, and this largely pales in comparison on a next gen. console mind you. Pretty weak work!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short But Sweet

posted by CaptainX79 (AVERILL PARK, NY) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

40 out of 53 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I haven't written a review in a while, but seeing what other's have wrote has brought me back. I must defend this game like a super hero protecting the innocent. Destinies is in no means a perfect game, if you played Marvel ultimate alliance then you get the idea of the type of game this is. I wouldn't call it a clone, but it has the elements of those games. You start out by picking one of three NEW mutants(and I don't mean New-mutants) these characters where created for the game. Then you pick one of three base powers(melee, ranged, or in between) then you are off.

The levels are very linear and there is not much to explore besides some alcoves with hidden X-genes and dossier type collectibles. The genes let you add powers from existing Mutants to your own powers, and the dossiers just tell you about X-men and others in the game. You can also collect uniforms/costumes from characters that give you power ups like Wolverines healing or Collosuses(sorry spelling) shielding.

The games graphic's are quite good and the audio is on point, the characters for the most point sound the way the should. A little to much talking in my opinion and you can't skip the dialog, but it's tolerable. I get it though how else can they tell the story, besides you are given a choice to pick teams. You must decide between the X-men or The Brotherhood, the over use of dialog is supposed to help you decide.

All in all this game is a nice distraction from the same old same old, and it wont take the average gamer longer than day to beat most likely 6-8 hours if your lucky. So rent it, enjoy it, and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

4 Hours???

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Oct 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

okay so this game is not as horrible as I feared, I am a long time X men fan and not just the super hero side, I am a fan of all of the social points this series makes about difference and how being different effects people. Now Destiny has a little of that, the new x-men powers are kinda cool, and mixing them with passive abilities that the x men we all know to make yurself whatever kind of hero you want is a nice feature. However as soon as this game starts to really grow on you and you get your final and coolest ability, the end. There is a new game plus mode, but I beat the game on the hardest difficulty my first time through and the challenge was not that high, not to mention all character interaction is unskipable, so if you beat this game in a day(an easy feat) then you get to watch every single person say the exact same thing tomorrow. Even the different choices between X men and brotherhood pretty much lead to the same conclusion, the only real difference is who is the person talking to you at end game.
All and all the game is kinda ugly, glitchy at times, way to short, and nothing original. The controls work pretty well, but the gameplay is repetitive and lacks any imagination. This game shines in its sounds, lots of classic sound effects and the music is kind of cool. Worth a rent for die hard x men fans but I cannot recommend it to any one else

Story 5/10
Graphics 4/10
Sound 6/10
Controls 7/10
gameplay 5/10

P.S. How did they get Milo Ventimiglia(From Heroes) on this?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

x out the destiny

posted by tjbigblue (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to playing this game and I was very disappointed. Now I must say I did not complete the game b4 I sent it back but that was because I couldnt take it anymore. I've played X-Men Legends 1&2 as well as Ultimate Alliance 1&2 and this game is not up to par with those 4 games. The game play was not challenging and the story line was pathetic. I was expecting to be able to choose between good and bad and fight along side the x-men or brotherhood but the game let me down. You are allowed to choose your powers to an extent and choose missions for the x-men or brotherhood but its not as exciting as it sounds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun-filled with Replay value

posted by Cas (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game shares the play style of Marvel ultimate alliance. The story is good with a couple plot twists that make you want to play through a second time just to see what happens and to try different powers with your character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

X-Men : Destiny

posted by SistaKnight1318 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This started out good but after awhile I got tired of button mashing and getting turned around not knowing which way to go at one point. No, this didn't do it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Marvel button masher

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Oct 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Right at the beginning you learn that you control a generic mutant and will develop him/her throughout the campaign. The disappointment as a comic fan came from not being able to play as the likes of Wolverine, Cyclops, Gambit, Juggernaut, Magneto, etc. or any other mutant. There are so many mutant encounters, but they only act as AI the entire time. The plot is a simple X-Men vs Brotherhood battle, and you can choose at some parts to join either faction, causing different game paths.

You do however get to at least acquire all kinds of mutant powers from those you encounter in the campaign. You can collect power-up suits with special powers or unlock powers w/ story progression. It’s fun experimenting with different offensive and defensive powers. Sometimes you’ll want to equip Wolverine's attack damage or maybe equip Collossus’ metal suit for defense, for ex.

You can also choose from different mutant powers yourself as you progress. There is lots of depth in upgrading and leveling up these powers. The variety was there, but they weren't all that cool to use. Also, depending on which path you choose at points, you can get new abilities from either X-Men or Brotherhood mutants.

The lack of online play and co-op was a disappointment for sure, and the campaign was very short. The levels are too straight forward, and you'll encounter the typical boss battles you'd expect here and there. But you can seriously button mash X the entire game to beat up every enemy. Sidequests were all the same--kill X amount of enemies...like you couldn't come up with anything more bobby-generic than that? The lack of attack combos didn't help either, but it was just wasn't challenging enough. There is very little replay value for me, unless you want to start a new campaign to see new powers or get achievement points. You can get like 650G just from beating the game, so it's good for the hunters.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

where's the co-op??

posted by Boo420 (FARMINGTON, MO) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was expected, but no co-op what the what. how u gonna make a gauntlaet-ish game with no co-op??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rent if your bored

posted by Shadowkarm (KILLEEN, TX) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

You are a human who turns mutie when everything goes crazy at a rally trying to allow humans and mutants to come together and live in peace. The purifiers are capturing mutants, and with you new found powers you must stop them.

You can choose from 3 different characters a Japanese girl, a jock, or a military man. You then can choose from 3 different power sets. Strength, Energy projectile, or shadow blades. You gain xp and level up your powers. You run into different xmen and brotherhood members.

THE GOOD:
- Its x men, you see familiar faces.
- some cool powers
- you can collect costumes and x men powers (wolverine healing, colossus defense, juggernaut strength. These are only passives tho)

THE BAD:
- Outdated graphics
- Linear, no exploring
- Horrible voice acting
- two types of attacks (light and heavy)
- not many combos
- repetitive missions
- bad story

Verdict: Its a pass but you can rent it if you are bored. With the amazing upcoming games I would say wait till early next year to pick this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

X-Men Destiny destined for the "bargain" bin

posted by kvncnrd (MEMPHIS, TN) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Felt like I was playing a Playstation era game. The story was generic.(Final boss was a big robot that used a combination of other characters' moves, where have I seen that before...) Voice "acting" was off. Controls were overly simplistic. The X button(go figure) definitely gets a workout. The story is about five hours long. I actually feel sorry for middle school age people who save up allowance to buy games, only to be rewarded with this type of trash. In a nutshell: X-tremely forgettable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

X-Man or Not?

posted by inwhysee (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This a good one I thought I was gonna be one the X Men but the twist on it still made out for a pretty good game the power pulls were picked wisely I only wish there was more environment used to play with. But you can definitely get your " I wanna whoop someones tail off in this game, plenty of baddies to go against. I found myself caught looking for secret stuff a lot, there is a repeat play on this game I like that cause my character just got really good:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

X Men

posted by Paultl03 (TEMPE, AZ) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game was not good and it froze one me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

:(

posted by mickeymack (ACWORTH, GA) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is horribl please dont waste 1 spot on your game Q for this game. Super Repetitive and horrible graphics like a gamecube game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What can I say?

posted by denzo45 (ASHTABULA, OH) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Overall, I enjoyed this game for an hour or two, until I got to a certain level in the game, it could completely freeze my xbox up. I tried this on three different characters and on the exact same level it froze up. I couldn't even finish the game. Aside from the lousy graphics and lousy storyline, the relatively anonymous new mutants have some decent abilities. I would have rated higher if I had been able to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

X-men Mediocraty

posted by bigboy (DAYTON, ME) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I was pretty pumped for this game to say the least, and the end result was only disappointment. I would do a good bad and ugly, but it would end up being the bad and ugly. So I'll sum it up...Pick your character and ability (don't put much thought into it though they are all disappointing) And after you pick all that you are now ready to play your mediocre game!!
Graphics- decent at best
Game play- repetitive, press x and y and do some lame powers. Not to mention all the game consists of is walking and fighting.
Storyline- hahahaha.

Bottom line, rent if you are really feeling ambitious, but otherwise this game is a must skip!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only good for GAMER SCORE

posted by XxScarfacexX619 (EL CAJON, CA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

ITS EASY TO GET ACHIEVEMENTS...GAME ISNT HARD AT ALL...PRETTY REPETITIVE, DOESNT COMPARE TO X MEN I, II from reg Xbox or Marvel Ultimate Alliance 1, 2...Its a must rent beat and ship back if you dont fall a sleep playing it..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

x-men destiny

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

9 out of 45 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

dont waste your time like i did with this one. you cant fastforward between cut scenes, of which there are way too many, every couple of minutes. u cant aim or shoot u just blast away aimlessly untill all bad guys are killed. what a complete waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not so good

posted by jeancarlos (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

complete waste of time thank god that i rented it instead of buying it would have waste 60$ pretty much is like a cheap fighting game, with good graphics, you just have 2 simple basic atks, light punch heavy punch, you can customise your character in terms of abilitys there is a leveling system a cheap 1 that is.

and you get customes with special abilitys...witch sux because they are X men customs like wolverines and Gambit...

there is no rooming you go from Point A to point B...and there is way too much cut scenes..at 1 point they get anoying so yeah..pretty much if you are really bored and you dont mind the punch and kick type of game..this is it for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

could have been better

posted by wlbuddy (REDLANDS, CA) Oct 26, 2013

Member since Oct 2004

the game is very short and repetitive. Gameplay replay value may be only to see the other characters storyline. If they've had put more effort in this game it could have been a lot better. Finishing the game left you with the feeling that you wasted your time on this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Short but Fun

posted by untune (SCHERTZ, TX) May 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

the game tells the story of three up and coming mutants. You choose between the three mutants, there powers, and there power upgrades. be it a short game there is a entertainment value but not a replay value the perfect game to get for gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So an X-Men game...

posted by Ashes_Darkmare (CENTRAL FALLS, RI) May 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I give this game a 6 only because well... It was playable, Achievements wasn't that hard once you knew what to do... it was more annoying dieing 100 times to get one achievement then winning XD I beaten the story on my first play through on the first day I got the game rented... then beat it a second time... then a third and then a forth... leading too me getting 1000 G's... Now it returns to be rented by someone else. -Good day-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse