Rent X-Men: Destiny for PS3
view large frontback

X-Men: Destiny

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
5.4

2436 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Activision, stick with Tony Hawk

posted by Cazz (OCEANSIDE, CA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

47 out of 52 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Let me just start off by saying I am a X-men fan. To finally play a role in the mutant filled universe was a dream come true. Let's just say, that dream was shattered. I've grown to have a disliking for Activision as well seeing how they don't really take creating a game serious, or so it seems. It is as if this game was intended to adolescents who are fresh into the phase of gaming. And on to the 'review"

Graphics: 3
It was completely horrible and made it kinda hard to get into the game from the get-go. Felt like I was back on my gamecube for a minute. Characters looked stiff and scenery is most likely unattentionally cartoony.

Voice-acting: 5
Another thing that made this game hard to play. Sounds like amatuers trying way to hard to the point where it just sounded corny with false sense of emotion.

Gameplay: 4
I will admit. I like the whole concept that you are able to choose. From being a loyal X-man or kin of The Brotherhood. You get to choose your power and upgrade them; even choose how you upgrade them. Also that you get to chat with some of the characters you love from the comics. That's probably the only "pros" to be said. Otherwise... Beyond boring action. And when you fight it feels as if your not even laying a punch on them, that they just fly back for no reason. Even though I have not beaten the game, nor do I have the will to, It's only about 4 hours long, give or take.

Music: 2
Very very very bland. Don't really have much to explain about it due to that very fact. One other factor that made the game boring

All in all, Marvel Mutie fans, do not expect much from this game. Hopefully Marvel will get the hint in funding more into their games and get an actual good company to make their games. If DC can do it with Arkham Asylum, you guys can do it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hmm... Still worth playing

posted by JahSoulSun (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yeah, this game was sub par for the normal standards of games like Infamous 2. The graphics were terrible, looking like a launch title of this generations systems. Very bland textures. It moved a little choppy like the other reviews said.
However, if you are a big Xmen fan, I think its still worth the play through. The format of the game/story is descent. :You start as one of three humans who get their mutant power during a big explosive event (kind of similar to the very beginning of the original infamous. You can actually choose from three different power sets. Through out the game as the story and your character develop, so do your powers. Through out the game you have to make good evil decisions which will taylor your ending. I liked the fact that I felt like a superhero in this game. Taking on 20 guys at a time with ease and getting that indestructible feeling was a good time for me. Boss fights were good, feeling kind of Zelda like, pulling away from the typical hack and slash the game is, and forcing players to find weaknesses though puzzles in the environment.
Don't get me wrong, this game COULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH MORE. But if your waiting for the big titles, and your Q is getting thin, and you are a big X-men fan, I think its a good rental. Descent story kept me playing, and I beat the game in two days on normal level. (Too short to buy)
I think the important thing to remember when renting this is its a average game. The only real appeal is the X-Men universe, its characters, and its story. The plot generally feels like it is taking place shortly after the 3rd movie as Professor X is dead, and there is a split between mutant groups and the fight for humanity that comes about because of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste of a weekend

posted by betterthen (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is completely garbage. I got it on Thursday and I returned it on Thursday without completing the second "level". The graphics are terrible, the storyline is trash, the voice overs are very generic. Its 2011 and with games like assassin creed and gears of war out there why would activision ok this game? Sigh..now I wont get another game till next week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It is your destiny to be disappointed....

posted by IllogicalJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 30, 2011

Member since May 2005

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Mike Carey's a terrific and dark comic book writer, and Silicon Knights have produced some envelope-pushing games, from the bloody good Legacy of Kain to the groundbreaking Eternal Darkness. Their collaboration here, however, is a cheap game, akin to the little-known Fantastic Four film from 1994 which was created simply to maintain the rights to the licensed property.

Aside from extremely outdated graphics and laughably second-tier voice acting, the gameplay itself is awful -- a beat-em up with a heavy and light attack, neither of which appear to work in tandem with the sluggish dodge or wonky jump buttons. You can "modify" your character by equipping X-Genes, and you can level these up with experience earned from the traditional "orbs" you collect from enemies and side-missions, but even when blatantly borrowing from, say, God of War (the original), it's still a step backward.

There are also tons of unforgivable design issues: challenge missions can be undertaken only once, X-Genes are "hidden" down forkable paths that you cannot return to collect if you've explored the other path first, and dialogue cannot be skipped or sped-up (especially troubling for replay as one of the other three characters, or if you're attempting to retry a level). This, coupled with an auto-save, locks you into a frustratingly linear game -- one that's as easy (on the hardest difficulty!) as it is short.

Such a release is shamefully derivative and unoriginal, particularly in the age of Batman: Arkham City and Spider-Man: Edge of Time. It's still better than the unforgivable Superman 64, but that's a pretty dubious honor and about as backhanded as I can get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The developers should be ashamed of themselves.

posted by Xolitz (ANAHEIM, CA) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

There is clearly a story written by someone who knows the Xmen cannon and then it was developed by a bunch of morons who not only dont know who the xmen are but they clearly have no idea what a combat system is, what powers do or what one expects when they level up and progress a character. All you do is hit a couple buttons throughout the game. There is no strategy there is no figuring out which powers best compliment each other you just smash buttons until you get a cutscene asking if you think "Xmen are Awsome" or "The Brotherhood is Cool" Honestly this is just a flat out attempt by activision to steal peoples money by wrapping drog droppings in a box and calling it a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disapointing and clunky and bad graphics

posted by Deadpoet (CORONA, CA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

So here we are, another Xmen game. Lets start out with this, wolverine was way better. I haven't been satisfied with any of the xmen games that have released in years. Best ones were on sega. I love marvel, h.e double hockey sticks i have a huge collection of comics and marvel cards. This isnt marvel. The jock look like a buff fat baby, the girl looks stereo typical japenese fan girl and the other guy looks like he belongs to the K/K/K which is i guess the point. The audio and story are pretty much the same no matter who you choose. the bosses are clunky. I jus bout gave up on the guy that changes 3 times into something super ugly. Id like to point out that ODing on mutant juice doesnt do that. The minions are repetive. The only reasoin to rent this game is that rage doesnt come out for a few more days and skyrim is a good month away. This is mockery of the xmen franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful

posted by fubert (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Feels like an incomplete game from the start. I could tell from the frigid movement of the camera that this game was either hurried or completed by a different development team. Feels unfinished and not current generation. It was back in the mail less than 1 hour after opening it...Awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

X-MEN DESTINY

posted by awg45 (PENSACOLA, FL) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME WAS STUPPID IT WAS WAY TO EASY AND WAY WAY TO SHORT JUST WHEN THE STORY GETS INTERESTING THE GAME IS OVER I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

There are Better X-Men Games

posted by OOMidas (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game started off very boring and the graphics and voice acting made it seem very childish. Since, I felt like knocking out a few trophies, I kept going. The game does get better, but it could be that my expectations came down to this level.
The X gene attributes are far less important or influential than the powers that you choose. The outfits are a decent idea, but most of them aren't that cool and if you choose to switch, it affects the ability to go into X-Mode. X-Mode was for the most part a joke, I used Colossus most of the time, but I did switch it up as I had XP to burn.
There are flashing ledges to tell you where to climb, which assists in the easy childish feel of the game. I assume it save the developers a lot of effort since the other "ledges" in the game were merely wallpaper. After a while I liked the flashing ledges, because I was in no mood to discover where to go next.
It was fun enough, because I was stubborn enough to get the Platinum, but I wouldn't want to see the storyline with one of the other characters; I was the football guy. I would not buy this game for $5.
The faction choices did effect the story, but really had no importance, because your choice is ultimately made after battling Magneto.
Good game if you are under 15, maybe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Destiny Awaits

posted by Viper561 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

X-Men Destiny allows you to create a new mutant with a specific past thrown into a war between humans and mutants. You have the option of becoming part of the X-Men or join the Brotherhood, the choice is yours.

Pros: The story takes place with the death of Prof X and Cyclops leads the X-Men. You choose from 3 characters and can choose 1 of 3 different powers to start off (shadow melee, optic style, or psychic aura). Each power is sectioned into 2 zig zag pathways in which you choose as the game progress. Each new power can be upgraded from level 1 to 4. Your also able to obtain suits, offensive, defensive, & utility add ons from different mutants and combine them in different ways. There is a small amount of platforming and random challenges (15 total) during your missions. Very easy game to beat on hardest setting & obtain platinum trophy.

Cons: Graphically fades in & out occasionally, its a non-destructive environment. Sound can sometimes disappear during heavy enemy battles or loading sequences. Camera angles are bad with no centering ability (your able to highlight a single enemy but still need to turn analog stick). The game is about 8-10 hours long depending on if you search for in game items. Boss fights are redundant, they have attack patterns that are easy to see. Dialogue between character & NPC's are boring and contains no substance. Story narration is absent except that you know its X-men vs all.

All in all, its a game you can rent and never play again. The gameplay is very similar to that of Origins Wolverine and its a basic beat-em up. If they had added elements of Ulitmate Alliance and Spider Man Dimensions, it may have been better. Play the game for fun only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

White Queen says 'Thank you'???

posted by tyler9s (SAINT MARYS, GA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This is my first written review on GameFly and I just couldn't stand to not write about this game. I was very excited to receive this game, as a die-hard X-Men fan I have been looking forward to this for quite sometime. The game seemed to start pretty multi-dimensional with multiple character options and powers. Then as you further yourself along many singular army's of basic enemy's whos faces are all the same you find yourself wondering where did the design team go? Coffee break? But wait! Because having the choice between Havok, Psylocke, and Colossus like powers aren't enough, it seems you can X-Gene everyone elses power too. Oh and out jumping Toad is just a basic power all good X-men should have to start?
Over-all the graphics were wonky at best and the characters left something to be desired.
This game should have come out years ago on the Playstation 2 and stayed there to be forgotten in shame.
Next time Marvel, think twice before allowing your name to be used so freely on something less than Marvel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dont let a few bad reviews make you skip this

posted by Andrew85 (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After reading the reviews giving the game a 2-4 saying they played half an hour and sent it back I almost fell into the trap of thinking this is a game to skip. It is a short game but the story is pretty good making it a good rental the controls are pretty easy to get used to and you get to choose what you want to do the game ends and sets itself up for a sequel. This game was a good weekend rental since the story takes about 6 hours to complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by exodus6k6 (SALINAS, CA) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Considering how good X-Men Legends was, I was expecting a good quality game. Especially for current generation consoles, but this game is garbage. Opened it, played for an hour, and back it went.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than ultimate alliance

posted by taavon10 (GWYNN OAK, MD) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

the game graphics are good love the story so far going to be a good game i can see

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken

posted by Cazzin (FORNEY, TX) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The Disk would not fully install before launch. Once the game launched i could watch the opening scene but not start a new game. After many attempts and a disk clean i gave up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was OK

posted by hunt229 (TIFTON, GA) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It could have been better but It was still enjoyable to go thru the first time but i dont know about the second time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i dont know what this game is about

posted by tannerrocks (LONGVIEW, TX) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

but i think its a freeplay game tons and thousands will love it more if was a freeplay game.!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game its pretty fun

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I like this game this game is fun a lot people hate it I don't know why I like it its worth rent not buy pretty easy platinium also I like it when you keep your power and stuff. The only thing its weird if you go to main menu and click contuine it will start all over but you can keep your stuff you have to go load game and continue from there you keep all your stuff. I think it's worth renting but hard mode can be frusting so its worth check out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by Angelicatt (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I love the X-Men....but this was really disappointing. The graphics are terrible, the dialogue corny and gameplay repetitive and boring. The story is too short and the choice menu was too brief to really flesh out this new mutant you had to create. Like they could make a life altering decision such as that one all in one day...AS IF !
Only thing going for it was the voice cast but not even hearing Steve Blum, Nolan North, Phil La Marr and Kari Wahlgreen made playing this any more interesting. There was so much wrong with it and that's too bad because it had great potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Half and Half

posted by TwistWii123 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

X-Men Destiny seemed like a pretty solid and cool game on the commercials but when you play it, it's not that great. If your looking for a game that your little brother can play to keep him from annoying you this the game but if your 12+ and you want a good game with some depth please look somewhere else.

Pros- You see some characters you dont normally see in media and that pretty good because alot of times they dont show some of the good characters. And thats kinda it.

Cons- The game graphics are not that good it kinda looks a little cheesy. Also the sound fades in and out at times and you have to replay it like ten times to hear what u need to. The story line was not very good,at the beggining its pretty good but after that I found my self saying " I'm loosing the plot here" becuase i litterally couldnt quite understand what I was doing it and why and then the game just kinda of lost me. The game is not the most interesting in the world because when you loose the plot then you get bored because your like what the heck am I doing. I think that the game would of been much better if it was longer had more detail and just a tottally different plot. It took me about 3-4 hours to finish the game and half the time I wasnt really interested. The bossses are worth nothing cause it just like fighting a regular guy in the game. I have played much better marvel games and this one seriously disapointed me.

After you play it once youll probrably never touch it again cause youve already played it once and it's boring. So if you want an interesting game with fun stuffand depth in the story line this is not the game I hope the next X-Men game that comes out is worth something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by tweeterbob22 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

The new powers are interesting at first but are extremely limited and become somewhat boring. There are also parts of this game that have multiple glitches. I did like how you could choose and bounce back and forth between the Brotherhood and the X-Men. That part was interesting and kept my attention for a short while. Overall this game was not as I had hoped and couldn't even hold my attention for two days. Not going to buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

TWO THUMBS UP

posted by MADGAMER13 (WAUSEON, OH) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

COOL GAME IF YOUR INTO THE OLD XMEN TOONS AND THE PLATINUM IS A SMALL CHALLENGE BUT EASY ENUFF ALL IN ALL A GOOD GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If Your Not An X-Men Fan Don't Play

posted by jmyron (METAIRIE, LA) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

graphic wise, ok
game quality, ok no free roam
character creation, weak should've actually let u make ur own person apperence wise
missions, suck all u do is run around and fight should've actually had a real story
short game I beat it the same night i got it wouldve been dissapointed if I wouldve baught it from gamestop

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice Cameos, For dedicated fans, Will bore others.

posted by kev822 (OLD BRIDGE, NJ) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

The story is somewhat entertaining, but it lacks to keep the player interested. Also, the game claims to provide a sort of freedom with your character's choices, but even after playing through 2 different characters/powersets, the game felt like the exact same game.. For the comic geeks, the game provides a great cast of many loved mutants but that is all I enjoyed, seeing my favs..(even thought i rather play as them). Short, one-dimensional, yet somewhat fun for the fanboys...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Alright, but nothing to write home about.

posted by EnixHighwind (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game was not bad. Not that it was good, but to be fair, it was a button masher. Below is my review:

Story: 4/10 The game had a decent plot, but it was told so disjointedly that it was hard to follow. Also, the entire game was about 6 hours long (and I didn't speed my way through this). I found that I never really liked my character throughout the game, and never connected with any of them.

Gameplay: 6/10 As I said before, this is a button masher. It's got a few intricate parts with the power selection and equipment, but make no mistake: You'll be hitting square, square, square, triangle alot. Still, it was nice to beat the snot out of people.

Replayability: 1/10 When I reached the abrupt ending to this game, I felt no desire whatsoever to pick it up again. I think the central problem with this game is that the characters just aren't interesting. While Marvel Ultimate Alliance had tons of characters and powers to play with, or Xmen Legends had characters you knew and loved, this is essentially 1 character with 4 powers throughout the game. Also, the challange to this game is either nil or almost impossible (In about 2 fights). There's no real in between. I found myself literally saying as I was (Unbeknownst to me) fighting the second to last boss, "I just hate this game.

Conclusion: If you're a die hard xmen lover.... maybe? Or if you're looking for a few minutes to kill time, sure. Otherwise, avoid this game. It's not worth the time you'll invest in it, and that's not much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse