Rent X Blades for PS3
view large frontback

X Blades

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.8

1170 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little bad, A little good

posted by Firehawk87 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, this game has rather good graphics. I don't know what everyone is complaing about. I mean if you have a next-gen console then you should also have a 1080p big screen tv with HDMI interface. I found the graphics to be very awesome and really bright.
The gameplay and the storyline isnt that great. For one, at times you just wish you could advance to the next level. There are times that you have to battle monsters that fly and you can't get much energy/mana/w.e and when that happens just click R1 or w.e you have as the shoot button and keep moving. I just wish that the movement of the character was a bit better because at times its hard to jump and control ayumi. I will say that some of the monsters are a pain. Such as those stupid tri-legged things. Urgh they aggrivated me. Also I would suggest that you buy all of the upgrades you can before you defeat the dark knight in the temple. I'd suggest that you rent it before you buy it. Also idk how they do it but the people who beat it in six hours are insane. I have yet to defeat it and I played it for 10-12 hours. If you want a good game with good graphics and is long and has a better gameplay. you can't go wrong with Fallout3. Btw I will say that for a video game character Ayumi is rather hot. I mean her clothing leaves practically nothing to the imagination. Btw it is rather repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Needs to go back to the drawing boad

posted by Hazardpay (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

For people that like a good story this is not the game for you. If you like decisive action, also not for you. If you like replay value, also not for you. If you want easy trophies, well son come on down! Despite the advertised 20 hours of gameplay, this this game is relatively quick and easy. Played through on hard and I got about 75% of the trophies in one sitting(about 6 hours of play). The action is nice. I like having full control of the camera and a quick and simple targeting system. Although, the targeting is not automatic, which means when you are trying to dispatch flying monsters the ground ones get in the way and can be annoying. I think this nuisance may have been intended. Best part of the game was the integration of magic and the fast pace combat. There are gonna be long fights where you face hundreds of monsters but in rapid spawns not all at once. I think this game utilized that well as to not slow down gameplay with tons of them on the screen at once. I love the gunplay and magic and melee. Specifically, you have gunblades. This makes it fun cuz they have combos later on that integrate the gun feature in melee combat. Worst part of the game is the color. The red sky with clying elementals and flaming swords nearly burned the retinas out of my eyes. The graphics are gorgeous and the voice acting not to mention writing is horrid, but overall worst part of the game is looking at it, and the best part is not part of gaming it's the trophies. Hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What a disappointment!

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Feb 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

X-Blades is a game you can completely ignore. The idea is good on paper, but was translated poorly. There are so many things wrong with this game, I am surprised that it made it to the assembly line and shipped out. You play a feisty adventuress in search of treasure. You armed with a set of pistols and a pair of swords. Along the way you gain magic powers and can upgrade your set of weapons to dish out more damage and look cool eliminating the baddies. You can switch from blades to guns with the press of a button and its all done seamlessly. The gameplay is ok, think of devil may cry meets tomb raider, but made for 10 year olds. Yes the game is very easy and doesn't take to long to finish. The gameplay itself gets a bit hectic when you are battling many enemies on screen, but you have a variety of ways to deal with them. When they die, you collect their souls which you use to purchase new spells, etc. What makes this game fall below average is how its all handled. The camera needs to be constantly adjusted, causing you to move frantically around the level, while fighting dozens of enemies at a time. The enemies are automatically targeted when you face them, but having to move around so much makes this feature useless. The controls are very loose and have no level of sensitivity you can adjust. Button mashers will rejoice as this game requires no strategy whatsoever. Me? I prefer something more structured allowing me a little time to decide how to get rid of my enemy. The enemies themselves are your standard fare of things that crawl to things that fly to things that roar. After a while you will get bored at fighting hordes and hordes of the same enemies. I have to say that the anime cut scenes are great and the graphics are competently done. The music is a mix of techno beats and bad rock music. Overall, this game could have been much better. Rent before committing to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Short and Simple review

posted by vahdyx (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna keep this short and simple. Because a game this disappointing doesn't deserve a detailed review.

You push one button to Melee, One button to shoot and you have 4 slot assigned to L2, O, Triangle and R2 for magic.

After that, you go level to level doing the same thing which RPG'ers will know this as "Grinding". This game is a constant grinding fest! No story, well there's a story, but so forgettable you don't care. Literally just go to a new level which is like a medium sized map and hordes of badies come out and attack you. You fight gaining souls you can later use for new magic abilities.

And that's it. Enjoy the game! No seriously that's the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

X-tremely Bad

posted by Gatsby525 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you're like me, and you're renting this one because you think it will be like heavenly sword, get ready for a massive disappointment. The game is a huge disappointment on so many levels, but I will list a few.

STORYLINE. Oh wait, there isn't one. You touch some globe at the beginning and keep fighting this lion guy. It's difficult to care about any of the characters.

GRAPHICS. Weak! This could have been on the PS2.

GAMEPLAY. Awkward button mashing fighting the same enemies over and over and over...

TROPHIES. Yeah, it has trophies. My question is, who cares? Is anyone really proud of these silly things?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

traditional slashing

posted by evovled (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I only got this game for the trophies..after i acquired all 36 i sent it back..easy to understand and fight your way to the top..optional dungeons arent really necessary..the storyline was great though..the comical conversing between the main character and the main boss was funny even as you two fight!..a great rental prospect..the trophies arent that hard to acquire..i did it in 2 weeks and i was done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Devil may.... oh no its X blades

posted by KorruptK (COLCHESTER, CT) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So X blades has no story really its just a shoot and hack everything collect souls... remind you of anything?

The game would be short if some battles dont take forever! you feel its never ending. the graphics are okay ive seen worse but not the highest standard even if its '1080p'.

Pros:
Nice upgrade system, with plently of stuff to choose from
enjoyable bosses there actually quite fun to shoot!
magic changes it up when your in a tight spot

Cons:
Repetitive with no more then 8 real enemies just modified enemies of the orignals
Aiming system is slightly odd and sometimes makes it worse for u
5-7hr game shud reallly be a 3 hr game!
Looping bad music!

i played through twice once on easy and then once on pro (hardest mode) for the trophies. im glad i had a laptop with tv/film as after the first play through i didnt think i cud play anymore. but i grinded through and got there!

its a simple game for those days wher u just wanna blow everyone into nothingness =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but more could been done!

posted by Fastgamerk (OPELIKA, AL) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game but more could been done on it, it was way to easy to get combo and not stop attacking it and wen you got you Super powers the mobs was to easy and i play it on hard and it was still to easy for me this game Should get a Poor score but the Sound and songs on it gave it a 7 out of 10 but in all its a cool game to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

X Blades

posted by Lady02139 (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Please stay away from this game. I am a new gamer and I love stylish action adventure games and X blades failed to even come close to that. It features a half naked character who talks like she is friends with Paris Hilton. The levels in the game are all of the same and the monsters have no creative thought behind them.

I am a female and I feel like this game is objectifying females. There are a lot more games with great quality female influence like, Bayonetta, or Heavenly Sword that us girls can be proud of.

The acting is horrible and the storyline makes no sense.

The only good thing about this game is that the color is nice although if you have a history of seizures, I would not play it..Or if you are a smart person don't play it.

The only reason I did not give this game a 0 is because zero is not available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games ever

posted by felipeteno (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I've just received this one about less than an hour ago and i just quit after 6 min of game play by far this is one of the worst games that i've ever played and here's why:

- terrible voice cast
- horrible cell shading animations
- the most annoying controls ever
- poor game play

if this game has a good feature i could say that the boob animation is ok at it's best....i'm running to the post office to return this thing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Reason why its cheap.

posted by ShendowX (GARDEN CITY, KS) May 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Don't listen to people that say it looks good, the game looks like a old PS2 game in HD. The gameplay is bad, you spend more time killing the same thing over and over.

The only good thing about this game is the main song, everything else is bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful game

posted by Sorakun (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I had the game for a single day and sent it back, 2 hours in to it and i had very little idea of what on earth i was doing why i was doing it, why are the guys bad, where are these mythical x blades or are my starting weapons them cuse that what i looked like. I'm ok with a hack and slash type game but this was filled under RPG type game and looked like something i would enjoy but i was totally wrong, If your ok with games that give you 0 story in the first 2 hours besides a quick "Me treasure hunter" and "Don't touch shiny evil object" then it may be good for you. But for RPG fans and evern HAck and slasher fans stear clear don't waste the time. Unless you want to watch a girl in little clothing run around then your fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

X Blades

posted by Blackcage1 (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I have played X blades for only a few days and I think that its the most awsome game anyone can play. But I'm having a problem with this one level that I'm hoping I'll beat soon. But if anyone can help me that would be great. Well goodbye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Awful

posted by shinvegeta (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is terrible if I had more hands I would give it 4 thumbs down the gameplay is terrible you don't know if your hitting the enemy. Watching mold grow is better than this game if the developers put more effort in making the game play fun and less effort in making the main character naked this game would almost be playable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever!!!!

posted by Cloroxman0 (MILLERSVILLE, MD) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The title says it all. I actually owned this for a day... and immediately returned it the next day!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's a fun game

posted by Scythe_88 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game reminds me of the DMC series: fast paced action, skill upgrades, and great music. But the main problem is the horrid map. I found myself running in circles wondering where the next stage is but that's my only problem. Not a good buy but a great rental...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worst ever....seriously.

posted by KittyBangOuch (CORALVILLE, IA) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is the worst game I have ever played in my life. I made it through 20 minutes of game play before I almost lost my mind. I am not sure how other members even managed to give it a rating of 5.
Visuals horrible, heroine useless and stereotypical. Her only real power is the power to not wear pants and still look horrible. Dialogue also very horrible. Overall, the only thing that compares is Golden Axe Beast Rider. It was also crowned the worst game of the year back when it came out by XPlay.
Do not waste the time on this game, you will never get those precious minutes back and will waste even more pondering how this game even exists.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a complete waste of time, well almost..

posted by tropicalrays (WILLOW SPRINGS, IL) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

It would seem that X Blades' creators took a bunch of different RPG and a few fighting games, threw 'em in a blender and this is the result. And the result isn't impressive at all. Run around killing strange enemies while collecting souls and artifacts that lead to upgrades later. Graphics are so-so and the storyline, well there really isn't one. I'm glad to have rented this first, cuz even in a $20 used game bin, I still wouldn't buy it. But maybe for $15! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Less clothes, imagination, and more select button

posted by DarthLou (MARYSVILLE, WA) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

It is sad that Xblades had to rely on mature appeal to try and promote this game, but it still could not sustain the game play. The constant clicking to the select menu to refill your rage that enable you to utilize your magic was quite annoying. Once you get in a groove of fighting a boss or minons, you run out of magic and have to buy more! The duel gun blades was a good idea, but i think Squall of FFVIII would have like a better successor...especially one that's in a game with smooth game-play that don't rely on a thong and a select button to enhance the quality of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever!!

posted by dmazin11 (LACEY, WA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

This has to be the worst PS3 game. I played it for about 15 mins and the camera angles were horrible movement was bad and all you do is press the square botton over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A New Definition of Suck

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jan 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

Wow. Just... wow. Where to begin? The graphics are impressive if it was 1995, the character is undefined (and very annoying), the endless onslaught of identical monsters is tedious beyond description, the skill system is incomprehensible, and the level design is like something you'd expect from an autistic Martian. The only possible benefit I can imagine deriving from this game is if you're a 12 year-old boy and you like watching a cel-shaded thong-clad anime girl's butt while you mash the square button for five hours. Don't even bother renting this POS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow

posted by EricHunter (SALISBURY, MD) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

i came into this game after watching Adam Sessler give it "worst game of the year award" thinking it couldnt be that bad. i was wrong, it is. its ugly, its controls are clunky, the animations are terrible (jump and watch your char move stright up in a line as if she were still standing still), the voice acting is god awful. i mean, the keep price is only 12.99, but i still cant justify paying 13 bucks for this coaster. avoid it like the plauge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

you choose

posted by Sehnsucht8 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Didn't really like the game. the game play reminded me of a cheap rip off of devilmay cry, the only thing its got going for it is a cute asian in a thong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

oh man

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

not even trophies can save this game... Level designs were nice... but just after edging so much closer to that platinum in Wolverine... I thought I'd give this rental a try... oh man... it starts out promising until you see it is nothing but arenas after arenas of the same old things.... anyway only got like 16% of trophies and gave up.... and I am a trophy hunter.... don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a surprising failure

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Let's start out with name of the game, "X-Blades". With one of the most generic game name's ever, they really could've put any kind of content into this game that they wanted but they stuck with one of the shallowist hack'nslash titles since the Dynasty Warriors franchise. She has 2 blades, that are also guns, called gunblades (ripoff FF8?) yay.

You enter a usually pretty small area (some were decent sized). You get attacked by a bunch of baddies. You mash the square button for melee, mash R1 for ranged, and spam your best AoE magic attack whenever possible. When all baddies are dead, you move to the next area and repeat. That about sums up the entire gameplay.

The in-game graphics are sub-par with later enemies just as reskins of earlier models. The cutscenes are like bad cartoon quality. The basic storyline is the wornout tale of treasure hunter finds treasure, bad things start to happen, original owner wants treasure back and doesn't really go into any more depth than that.

There is no puzzle solving. The combat and magic upgrades are pointless because you only need to do the things I mentioned earlier. From what I played, you never actually get an "X" blade and you don't really use your gunblades like an "X".

Others have said this is a good game for easy trophy hunting and if that's your thing, go for it. I like to get all the trophies I can, but only on games that I enjoy playing so this one wasn't for me. I can't really recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse