Rent Worms: A Space Oddity for Wii
view large frontback

Worms: A Space Oddity

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.6

722 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worms

posted by cratchless (MANCHESTER, NY) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

OK so i've been playing worms for over ten years meow and was looking forward to this game coming out. I had heard they scrapped the online play. OK so be it i wasn't going to play online anyway. That being said, I got the game and the controls, although it took me 5 mins to get used to it, were surprisingly easy to master. I like how they made this a wii game. Nice and fun. BUT...
I do have more complaints than praises. First thing I noticed was the worms move too slow! It's like they're all on slow mode and it's much harder to maneuver. After that i began thinkin man there sure aren't very many weapons to choose from. So, thinkin i have to unlock this stuff i go play through the entire story mode in about 2 hours. Super easy stuff, but... no unlocking weapons. So i beat the game in no time... boring. Only like half the weapons as past worms games...boring. Even the customization of worms was kinda low end. You can pick different hats that you can barely see and different worm colors. Woopidy doo. Anyhoo, this game was a complete disappointment even before it came out. It's like I rented the demo and i'm waiting for the real thing. All these problems seem easily fixable, maybe next version of worms for wii will be better. I'd still rather go play it on the ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worms fans will enjoy

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Mar 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you have played worms in the past and enjoyed it you will love this one as well. It brings the old gameplay with a new twist and I must say that it is improved. Using the wimote makes destroying the other peoples worms even funner. So definetly try this out if you enjoy a good worm duel to the death with your friends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big Let Down

posted by Reidja (CLEAR LAKE, IA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I look forward to every Worms release and I am a fan of the series. It had its quirks but Worms 3D still managed to win me over with its decidedly fun multiplayer gameplay. This is a great game to be played with friends. Seeing as the Wii is a great console for parties, I had high hopes for A Space Oddity. It took me about 20 minutes before I could get accustomed to the wonky controls, win some games, and enjoy myself. Don't frustrate yourself and your friends. Pass this one up and hope the next one gets it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

poor usability makes the worms sad

posted by jenlarkin (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I love the old Worms games; they induce mad scientist laughter and that's always good. I had high hopes for this version but it just doesn't lend itself to my TV or the Wii controller.

I have a 30 inch TV. The worms were so small that even if I zoomed in, I couldn't tell which worm was which. They allow you to pick the color of your worm, the worm's hat, and the worm's victory dance but the worms themselves were so small that the only one of those details that I could see was the worm color. Sometimes even that was hard to make out. Despite the tininess of the worms (and like older versions), the board doesn't all fit on the screen at once.

But it has a zoom and pan controls, right? That should fix both of those problems, right? That's where the Wii controller problems come in. The firing angle control was fine but the throw power was a bit forced. I liked the power controls much better when I found the ability to test the trajectory (throw without letting up on the trigger). But it was irritating to adjust the power, since you had to start from scratch with the level after each test throw. Still, that's a small problem.

The real problem was the pan and zoom functions. Half the time they didn't respond. When they did respond, half the time they went the opposite direction. It usually took me 30 seconds to get the camera in the right place-- then if I did a test throw, the camera position reset and I had to spend another 30 seconds getting it back in place. Sometimes I would get the camera stuck in a useless place and had to do a test throw to reset it.

I love blowing up my friends and I love exploding sheep and I love games that make me yell out "BWAHAHAHA!" This game has all of those things and it was still so unusable that I gave up after a couple of hours. I'm gonna go sulk now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Middle of the road game

posted by mav1976 (MASSILLON, OH) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was OK. I have played games in the "Worms" series in the past, and found no major differences here (e.g. tools, graphics). The only difference was a somewhat counter-intuitive adaption to the Wii remote. To use certain tools you have to do different things with the remote. Some make sense and others don't. While it does give you directions on how to use the tool on the bottom of the screen, it takes too much time to read it and therefore takes away from the precious time you have to make your move against the opponent. So, like I said, it's a "middle of the road" kind of game...just OK.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its Fun

posted by ThanatosAz (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is very entertaining. The weapon are funny. The environments are a bit basic, but overall I like this it reminds me of a very old dos based game i used to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dissapointing...

posted by McPete (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge Worms fan ever since playing the very 1st game back on the Sega Saturn. I have played every Worms game that has came out, and I am sad to say, this game is one of the weakest entries into the series. Other than some interesting motion controls, this game is a huge step back in gameplay and quality over the most recent 2D Worms games.

Terrible graphics, weird physics, and frustrating single player missions in story mode. A bummer, I was really looking forward to this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Play the Worms for PC instead

posted by ITNES101 (SYLMAR, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Worms is a very fun game, except Wii controls ruin it. Play the computer version way funner than the wii version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just play Worms Battle Island

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jul 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

I played Worms Battle Island before I played this, that alone was a mistake. It was only a mistake because the controls on this one seem different and it is harder to play. I don't recommend this game, I recommend Worms Battle Island

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Classic Strategy War / Puzzle, New Art BAD Control

posted by VJFranzK (CLAREMONT, CA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

I like this series on computers.

There has never been a game system version with decent controls,
definitely INCLUDING this one. (What? Playtesting?)
IE its easy to jump by hitting A when you mean to fire with B.
The "flinging" action is gimmicky and inprecise.

The new space themed art is fun.

If you practice with the Wiimote a bit, maybe you'll get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Completely Disgraced

posted by DeltronDon (HONOLULU, HI) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Let me first start off by saying that I am a huge fan of the worms series for PC. This however is far from it. If you are expecting something close, this isn't it. the controls suck, the graphics suck, the weapons available suck. Everything about this game sucks! It should not be called worms or be tied into the franchise in any way. It should be called SUCK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is terrible

posted by rewier (RENTON, WA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game was so bad that in the first 5 minutes of playing i knew it was terrible please don't make the same mistake i did and don't rent this game trust me its the worst worm game ever made to date

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unexpected

posted by NascarBen (EPPING, NH) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

If you ever had worms for the PC and you thought that this would be similar to that experience you will be mistaken. If you don't have a big HDtv then you are going to be forever zooming and scrolling to locate your targets. There isn't as much room for customizing the experience and the single player experience is slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Long time fan only had a little trouble with it.

posted by ColShaggy (KAYSVILLE, UT) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Way back in the day, can't quite remember the date, I got my hands on a fully functional demo of Worms 2 and instantly loved the game. I went out and bought the Worms triple pack and played World Party for years. I even got into the 3D installments, enjoyed them immensely, and have been happily whiling away the hours with Open Warfare 2 on my DS.
When I got this I was glad to see the old 2D style back. There's a certain lovable nostalgia attached to it. The controls were the only trouble I had with this title. They took a little getting used to but, with a little perseverance, get used to them I did and I was quickly swingin and bombing just as well as ever. I loved the follow the cursor steering with the guided weapons.
True, the Worms could be a little small and hard to see when zoomed out, but you can zoom in to an easy to see distance with the same viewing area as the other Worms titles. I never had any trouble with the view controls zooming or panning.
This is a great first entry, to the Wii, for the Worms franchise and it will only get better from here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Feb 6, 2009

Member since May 2008

I enjoyed playing this game. My only major complaint was the zoom in and out and panning across the screen to see the entire puzzle. And that is what this game is - a puzzle in turns. You get to plan a shot at your enemy, then they get to shoot you. I played a few levels, then got stuck on one, but at least there is a battle option where you get a random battle setup to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just not the Same...

posted by Autobahn (GROVETOWN, GA) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I've been playing worms since Worms first came out on MS-DOS. Worms2 was a FANTASTIC GAME, there were many follow-ups on the PC, Worms3 was "3-D!!!!!!!!!!" and different.

Worms A Space Oddity at least goes back to the 2-D craziness that works better. The controls are somewhat confusing at first but there is a help tutorial for every weapon.

UNFORTUNATELY, the Wii version of this game just isn't as good as previous versions-
-the weapons are all substituted for different ones (that work the same as the traditional bazooka, grenade, sucker punches, etc...)
-Controls take a minute to get used to. They're just NOT as intuitive as they should be!!!
-Screen size is loopy! Zoom in so you can actually see what is going on and you can't see your target.
-Not as customizable as other versions.

It's an ok game, but could ahve been SOO much better with some decent controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stuningly bad controls

posted by POVDave (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game has the worst controller set up I have ever seen. When you fail the training levels, you have to back out to the main menu before you can enter them again. FAIL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TERRIBLE

posted by mdc92003 (LIVONIA, MI) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Had it in the mail same day. An absolute insult to the line of Worm games. Graphics were terrible and game play just short of mediocre. The interfaces looked as if they were put together by monkeys. THQ should really think about pulling out of the business after this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by BaronV (JAMISON, PA) Jul 13, 2008

Member since May 2008

The screen is small and the game is rated(by my kids) F

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by jason0299 (FOSTER CITY, CA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

Nothing like the old worms games..bad weapons..just a really bad game dont bother trying this if you like the old worms because i just ended up wasting my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

worms a space oddity

posted by pamtucker (SALEM, OR) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The game was kindov fun but I shipped it a day later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by Nevets01 (MADISON, TN) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

stay away from waso

posted by Gizmo1080 (WINDSOR, CO) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Stick with the other worm titles.
poor move recording. Bad lag. Just stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is a downgrade from any of the other wor

posted by Shredder66 (SEAFORD, NY) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is a downgrade from any of the other worms games. the controls are ridiculous. they should have made it differently... maybe 3d since that was where i thought they were venturing since worms 3d came out for ps2. this is a serious disappointment to me because i played worms armageddon years and years ago and this is nothing comparable to a game remotley as good as the older pc versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The only good part of this game is the interface!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

The controls are so slow and the mini game(s) are the only best part and that is a stretch because you can only play one and if you lose in a level you have to start from the begining. No worth renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse