Rent World Soccer Winning Eleven 9 for PS2
view large frontback

World Soccer Winning Eleven 9

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, Xbox
GF Rating
7.7

283 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

From perfect through balls to precise finishing..

posted by Tarek8 (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Guys..this is the most realistic games i have ever played, and in my opinion blows fifa out of the water. As said in the title, from perfect through balls to precise finishing it has ridiculous realism to it. Different techniques in dribbling, making a run to the net hoping to cut back and finish in the upper right corner of the net, these things are possible if demanded. Compared to any other soccer game, "WE9" has every aspect of game play covered. I highly recommend this game, although it may take 1 or 2 games to get the controls down, its all worth it to make the players on the field do what YOU want them to do. In fact this game is definitely one that takes the game of soccer outside the box, because of all team and player control that you are given, its a game that really can test a persons soccer IQ and "skill" as well. What i love most about this game is that, you could get Jose Mourinho (chelsea manager) to sit down and start playing this game, and his intelligence can actually effect the way the game is played by players. Because of these tactical and strategical influences that you can change to your liking, it makes your chances of winning that much better!

Thank you for your time boys..

-Tarek Fattal
Los Angeles, CA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Perfect Soccer game

posted by Aestro (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 2, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Winning Eleven 9 was my introduction to the series as well as being my first pro soccer game, and I was blown away. The selection of teams is outstanding (and contrary to the review of another user, Arsenal IS in there, although Manchester United is indeed replaced with Man Red due to EA having exclusive liscences on some teams in FIFA), the graphics and audio are both solid, and the controls are spot-on.

Those who complain about the difficult controls most likely did not play the game for any extended period of time, as they play with a sense of realism rather than an arcade feel - players don't just start and stop on a dime, but instead are carried by momentum as a real person running would. Passes follow as the ball would be kicked, and maneuvering the ball to or away from others just FEELS natural.

My only major complaint was that the difficult does ramp up RAPIDLY, being nearly unplayable beyond two of the five stars. Of course, since it is adjustable, the game is quite enjoyable on one star for beginners, and two for your average player.

This game is extremely in-depth. Each player has a spreadsheet worth of statistics which affect performance, and player development, management, formation adjustment, and everything else in the soccer world makes for an overall engulfing experience.

Rent this game. Then buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Ronaldinho (MIAMI, FL) May 25, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've e been playing WE franchise since WE5, so i'm used to the controls. To me there is no Comparison to FIFA, winning eleven blows it out of the water, the only thing that i really think would make this game a lot better is licensing, you have to know a lot about soccer to know the unlicensed teams or players. once you get used to the shooting this game is tons of fun. it is totally customizable, you can change the way individual players defend or attack, you can change your formation or put players specifically where you want them. the master league has a lot of depth as to how you control your team, and if you get bored of playing the com. you can always go online and battle others from around the world. great game and the WE franchise is only getting better and better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WIthout a doubt

posted by PS4Life (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like soccer, this is without doubt, one of the best games to play. Gameplay is good. It will get you out of your seat, shouting with joy, when that soccer ball passes that keeper and goes into the net. You like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It was okay

posted by Batmanfan (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was an okay game. Playable. But i liked number 8 better. If your a soccer fan you'd like it it was a little too hard for my liking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Booo

posted by Wicked1 (LOMITA, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

I have never played any of the Winning Eleven games before, but I have heard people said its good, so I have rented this 1 and the new 2007 also, and they both suck. Well not suck, but they are definitely not better than Fifa. I was disappointed, I expected more. Plus, what's with the game not having more than 2 teams that are in the Premiere League, on this game?

Do yourself a favor and rent Fifa 06, because I feel that its better than 07.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by bballfreak (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jul 19, 2006

Member since May 2006

running up and down the field constantly with no action no fighting. I'll stick to football and basketball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is great! However...

posted by Rooneytunz (PASADENA, CA) Jul 18, 2006

Member since May 2005

Do not expect to see all your favorite teams.
Konami does not have every team's license.
Even some of the national teams have fake named players. Rent it and you won't have time to find this game's true quality, since you will see bunch of strange teams with strangely named players. So buy this game if you want to and correct the team names, emblems, stadiums, appearances, of athletes, ratings, names, shoes, and etc cuz this game just lets you customize everything!(you can also buy a memory card with a patch from eBay or other places.) This game really delivers the thrill you get from watching a real soccer match!
Eventhough Fifa series has come a long way to catch up to the quality of WE series, still Fifa cannot be even compared to this great soccer game series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Met and exceeded Expectations

posted by Primalfear (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

I must say I played the FIFA 2006 before this and even though I had to send it back b/c it was damaged, I got to play a lil bit of this and the only good part about that game was the announcers, One was English and the other was Austalian but other than that, the controls were too confusing, with this game, the controls were easy, the graphics were good and you can feel the intensity when you play it.The crowd was hype the announcers were into it, there was a lot of emotion in the announcers voices rather than just dull talking. Everything about this game is good, I give it an outstanding rating..I will probably end up buying this one b/c its a good one. I highly reccomend this game to soccer fans and if you aren't that big of a soccer fan like myself, you will still love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Simply

posted by Sony4Life (WOODCLIFF LAKE, NJ) Jun 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

OK, this my first review, OK this game is extremely boring after watching FIFA 2006 i was like i really wanted to play a soccer game and i heard this was the best well it sucks, I played for an hour and i was mad the controls are just horrible the passing sucks its hard as heck to shoot, and this is being the best team in the game and playing the worst and on the easiest level. DONT PLAY IT WASTE OF TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh... it was alright....

posted by EARULES (VALLEJO, CA) Jun 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

it was an ok game but.... there were some teams missing for instence i didnt see alot of the Bundesliga teams were missing.... like FC Bayern Munich and some of the British teams were also missing like Arsenal and my favorite Manchester United... even though Beckham is not on the team i really would have liked to play with the team but despite missing all those things it was an ok game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Gister answers FIFA or Winning Eleven?

posted by TheGister (ESSEX, MD) Jun 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

FIFA is a decent arcade game that requires my ability to mash buttons while WE9 is an incredible soccer simulation. The love and technical knowledge of “the beautiful game” oozes out of this at times, astonishing game. What I demand of any soccer game is the ability to score unique goals. I don’t want to be able to play the same long ball and score at will. I don’t want button-mashing and hacking to be rewarded and I could care less about scoring a painfully over-rated bicycle kick. I want to create a turnover, build from the backfield, battle through the midfield, utilize a winger, counter-attack with speed and fluidity and score a SHOCKER because I tried a tactic I had never considered before. I want to have to think and react to on field action and WE9 demands all of this of me.

Deflections will occur so never give up on a ball and fortify your heart because it will be broken by both the AI and fellow online players. People will complain about the menus, music, lack of extensive licensing rights, difficulty in scoring, online bugs, set pieces, defensive player “freezing” and set plays and I will speak briefly to these points.

Deflections occur so deal with it. The menus/music is fine so deal with it. Only the lazy complain about the licensing issue. If you make the time you can have any player and team you want. Goals ain’t easy to come by in soccer. Get a cable modem and choose online green players only and block anyone that lags after giving them a try. The set pieces/pks/corners all need work so I can’t defend them. Defensive players “freezing” and the inability to choose the exact player you want to control on the fly on D are also problems I can’t defend. The game is not perfect.

In closing, the master league could be at least one more league deep but aside from that and the above criticisms this is the game for true soccer fans. Prepare to be addicted.

The Gister hath spoken!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The definitive soccer video game experience!

posted by FCgeist (YOUNGSVILLE, LA) May 30, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

Being an owner of both this and FIFA 06, I can say without bias that this is the definitive soccer video game experience. Excellent gameplay is what separates WE9 from Fifa, it is hands down the most realistic and fun soccer game you will ever try.

The passing system is so smart and fluid, that if a pass goes in the wrong direction it's your fault, because you will feel in complete control of the game. Gone are the vague passing systems of the past where you press a button and hope the CPU figures out what you meant. The ease of passing will help you create beautiful goal after goal.

WE9 looks amazing, too. The animation of the players is so lifelike, with the most realistic motion capture of any soccer game ever. There are more player likenesses than ever before, and look much more realistic than their FIFA counterparts. Signature moves and celebrations are also in this game, so if a player does a particular celebration in real life, it's in here too.

Another thing that makes WE9 great is the realistic ball movement. The designers recreated real ball physics so that the ball would move and act like an actual ball in a game. It is a completely separate entity from the players, and in game the payoff of this hard work is immediately noticeable and incredible to experience. No more watching the ball stick to the foot of a player who is turning!

The Master League, perhaps WE9's greatest feature, is so in depth, allowing you to be the manager of a squad you create and lead them to climb the ranks of the divisions and league competitions. Player attributes will rise and fall, adding RPG like elements to the game which will be sure to have you addicted in no time.

If you are a soccer fan, there should be no question that this game is for you. If you are a casual fan who doesn't know much about soccer, it may be a bit difficult for you. But don't let that stop you, because you are about to play the greatest soccer game in existence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Something's missing still.

posted by Penarol64 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) May 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

This is a very good soccer video game. I'm partial to the FIFA EA/WC titles mostly because I'm a loyalist. But I gotta admit, what FIFA doesn't provide, this version does. Somehow though, soccer video games are always missing that something that really gives the game a real feel.
I love soccer! I'm not an American. I was raised here with with a foreign flavor that included tons of soccer. I've played, coached and follow international matches regularly on TV, so I know soccer.
First off, let's get rid of English announcers, they invented the game and that's it! At least provide a variety of options in that dept. The game lacks a more specific way of controlling shots. Whether you practice or not your at the mercy of the game mostly. Team management was a bit confusing as well as subbing players. The graphics for these things was just too complicated.
The only comparison I can make with what soccer video games are missing are with some of the better NFL or MLB titles where you can regulate individual player abilities better. Soccer titles just don't have it yet. If you haven't polished your shooting skills in these games it doesn't matter if you're playing as Ronaldinho or Alexi Lalas, all your shots will end up on the bleachers. And when you've worked your tail off to get a decent opportunity on goal... boy! Is that ever frustrating!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Realistic futbol game!!

posted by killerkiss (NEWARK, NJ) Apr 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

When I first played this game, I had trouble adjusting to the controls. I had been a big EA sports Fifa player and was used to holding down the button and just kicking the ball way across the field and shooting into the goal. With Winning Eleven 9, you need to use the entire control pad to take control of the ball. After a bit of practice w/the controls you will realize how great this game is. Sure it doesn't have the many license uniforms as EA sports does, but you can easily look pass it and will we addicted to the game flow.
Presentation is good and the sounds of the stadium creates an electrifying atmosphere (make sure you connect your ps2 to a stereo system; you will feel like you are there at a live stadium).
So for anyone that loves Futbol, be sure to give this game a try if you have not yet done so!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »