Rent World Series of Poker: Tournament of Champions 2007 for Wii
view large frontback

World Series of Poker: Tournament of Champions 2007

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.9

287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

About as average as average can be...

posted by intruder44 (LEBANON, VA) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the moment this game made it into my console, the only thing I could think about was how average this game is.

At first look there were a couple of game play options available (including a quick play option that throws you right into a big tournament).

The default options set up for the game slow it to a crawl. It's got a great feel of a real poker game in that sense, because the computer players take time to think just like a real player would. This gets old really fast, as it can take a 18 player tournament 3 hours to finish. If you stumble your way into the options you can speed the game up tremendously (I won a 27 player tournament in 20 minutes on the fastest mode).

The voice overs in this game are worth mentioning. I found them somewhat entertaining at first, but as the same statements are said over and over they get old real fast. These are also turned off by speeding up the game in the options.

One part of the game that I particularly enjoyed was the poker tips. As you enter tournaments you are given tips about the playing styles of some other players. These tips seem to be great advise!

My overall take on this game:
For me, this is a game to own, not to rent. When I get in a mood to play poker I can pick it up, play for a few hours, and then throw it back down for a few months without getting attached. If you're like me and get the urge to play poker every now and then, this game may be for you.

If you're looking for a game that's gonna blow you off your feet, I'd suggest something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions Wii

posted by smoothsuav (DICKSON, TN) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I could not wait until the games release, when it was released I already had it in MyQueue and then it shipped. I hoped I would get it in the mail before Xmas so I could play it with my friends. So I got it the day before Xmas Eve. Well I was guessing on how the motion would be used in the gameplay. All in both hands forward, perhaps a flick of the wrist to muck the cards. So I started it up, Quickplay and noticed the keypad displayed at the bottom just like on all the other systems. I thought that was nice to include just in case you wanted it. So I moved all in and noticed nothing happened. I thought to myself are you serious. Unbelievable, totally disgusted with the game I immediately shut the game off and put it back in its return envelope and off it went.
Breaking Down My review
I beleive the game is similar to that of other systems.
Graphics were not bad, but nothing special.
I did not go far enough into the game to really judge the overall gameplay, but I am still disappointed in the developers not taking advantage of the wii. They should be fined for not thinking about gamers and the difference they could have made by using the devices the wii supplied for far greater gameplay than any other system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not impressed

posted by gamerchix (DESOTO, TX) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sorry but this game sucks for me it may not suck for you. but for me it just sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, Don't Buy.

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) May 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You will learn how to play Texas Hold 'Em. Gameplay is easy to understand. Commentary gets very redundant after a short period of time. The game is fun for about a week.
Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Would be fun if it was designed better

posted by bruceettan (GRANTS PASS, OR) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game would have been fun, except that it doesn't really work.

It starts off ok, but pretty soon you start noticing that it's not very responsive to button clicks. A little while longer and it's getting way behind. You click you choice of raise, call, etc and it sits there for a couple of minutes, then finally registers your selection, a little while later it becomes completely unresponsive to clicks, and you can't even quit the game without power cycling the wii.

I did some troubleshooting with other games and ruled out a problem with my console. I thought maybe it was a problem with the disk, but it looks brand new and seems to work fine. I think the game is just a poorly designed and poorly tested dud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

suggestions

posted by bonjay (SCHENECTADY, NY) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I like this game very much but I thought the graphics could be a little better and have the characters do more than stretch and yawn continually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much effort is needed to play

posted by willdog40 (TROY, IL) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

if your going to put forth this much effort and playing time , you might as well play on line where you can leard and win REAL $$$ ,instead of play $$$

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Typical Poker Game

posted by HuskerGal3 (DENTON, TX) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The game was decent but nothing spectacular. The quickplay game is fun to be able to play different types of poker games in a tournament setting. There is definitely a lot of information about poker, particularly no-limit texas hold-em poker, which is a plus if you want to learn more about odds, hand rankings, etc. Overall, nothing makes this poker game stand out from the rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lousy interface, mediocre AI - only for addicts

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

Poker is such a basic game that it shouldn't really be that hard to mess up. Unfortunately this offering shows how to mess it up.

Highly mediocre AI is what really lets this game down but it then adds insult to injury by having a bad interface and graphics that someone knocked out after a bad night down the bar.

I find it very hard to say much good about the game - it knows the rules - there i found something.

If you have a PSP play Stacked whcih while not super good either at least has a halfway decent AI.

This one is only for a hardcore poker addict who can overlook the shortcomings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So So...

posted by Masterofal (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

The game was fun, but it is too slow moving. your computer opponents take too long to act. Another thing is in the tournament mode, out of a table of about 8 only 2-3 are playing any given hand so it takes a long time to get out of one table to move up in the tournaments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could not get it to add players!!!!!!

posted by jodidit (SWEET HOME, OR) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Waste of time and rental $$.

I rented this thinking it was multi player! Waste of time we could not get into anywhere to get more than one player. Not sure if we have wand problems or if this being a rental we are not able to get into all areas...surely with a 9 seat game you can add players....if I wanted to play by myself I would have played online.

If someone knows how to add on players...let know...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's Like Watching Poker

posted by gorilla91 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Chris "Jesus" Ferguson is contracted to train you to be the best poker player. He gives you inspirational speeches before playing each poker tournament.
The gameplay is just like TV. A little table chatter and you wait and wait and wait some more for your opponent to call, fold or raise.
Their is not much to the controls, so the Wii remote is not a problem. You play against both fictous and professional poker players, including everyone's favorite actress Jennifer Tilly.
The game lacks online play, so it gets kinda boring as the game goes on. Winning tournaments to qualify for the Main Event at the Rio is the goal.
The games graphics are average, but then again it is a poker game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Avoid This get the Other!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

This game does not deserve a great amount of time of review. Everything is bad but for it being on the Wii it is above average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No online game play!

posted by augiedog34 (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I rented this game to play it online but there is no online gameplay option. The regular game play is very slow and choppy as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Save your time...

posted by NexusTx (ROUND ROCK, TX) Feb 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I was excited about this game having played online for years. Well this game falls well short of my expectations. Game is always moving so slow. You can skip thru the betting but then it seems like it went by too fast.
The AI is weak. The voices of Norman Chad and Lon Machearon from ESPN's WSOP broadcast are accurate but sound robotic and limited.

Glad this was a rental and not something I bought!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

is this A game?

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I know I ask myself that a lot this game has horrible voice acting it sounds like that guys voice who discovered that the “black-hole” was not “black” anyway you can use the numchuck to well nothing the numchuck is useless what's the point of having it connected I rather watch p0rn & play with mr. hanky

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WSoP: ToC Ends Up Short Stacked

posted by N64STING (REDMOND, WA) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

I've always been interested in the strategy behind Texas Hold 'em. Sadly, this game falls short of providing any engaging game play. The entire game revolves around Texas Hold 'Em and its three betting variations (LIMIT, P0T LIMIT, and NO LIMIT).

Centering the game around hold 'em wouldn't be so bad if there were some decent AI to play against or at least an online multiplayer. Unfortunately, this game lacks both. After a couple of hours the game seems to have outlived its appeal and becomes tedious.

If you're looking for a game to help you hone your poker skills, look elsewhere because this game is nothing but a flop. (pun intended)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Big Disappointment - Groan

posted by fredericky (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I play a lot of poker so I was excited at the prospect of a game featuring many of the celebrity pros that exist within Tournament of Champions. Unfortunately, the game is painful to play. It seems like it is always going way way too slow (for instance you command a fold and your player sits there playing with his chips thinking for three seconds before he says "not this time" and finally folds - who needs that playing one player!) unless you speed it up in the options menu to fast in which case it becomes way way too fast. Playing at a fast setting makes the game move along which after an hour of plodding along you'll be desperate for, but then I definitely felt like I was missing out on the upsides of the game like the professional computer opponents comments. It is also impossible to get a read on your opponents playing so fast - although the AI in the game isn't hard to figure out and it definitely makes tons of questionable decisions. Poker though is also a game of luck so you'll need it. The character creation is decent though it's probably unlikely you will look like the player you create. This review isn't so well written but the point I want to make is that especially without multiplayer - TOC07 is unsatisfying any way you play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »