Rent World Series of Poker 2008 for PS2
view large frontback

World Series of Poker 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

143 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

2008 World Series of Poker

posted by Tristan9 (Tucson, AZ) Oct 24, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're into poker and learning how to play better, this game is good for that. The tournaments are too long though, and if you try to quit, all your progress is lost! Also, unless you're playing on a huge television, the cards are hard to read. Is it a club or a spade? A heart or a diamond? It's especially hard to read the other players cards! By the time I was done with one tournament, my eyes were seeing blurry! It would be better if you could have a close-up view on your, and the other players' cards. There were times I thought I had a flush, but just couldn't see it correctly, and lost because of it! If you're playing on a very large television, you should be able to see the cards fine, but if not, beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

World Series Poker 2008

posted by furby25 (LOCHBUIE, CO) Aug 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

World Series of Poker is a long game. Don't sit down unless you have time to spare. Time meaning hours. Go through the career mode and you get to pick your own voice and create yourself. I sadly learned poker from caffeine and late nights with party people. So I sit in my room and have bottles of Pepsi sitting around. To play this game I need a trashcan next to me. Only play when your mind is working over time. It slows it down so you can get to sleep if you have issues sleeping.
Great game...not recommended for low attention spanned minds.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Backwards Compatible, NOPE

posted by Geocarlin (GRANITE FALLS, NC) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I rented this for use on my ps3 because the 2k5 version was backwards compatible so, boy, the new one should be too. I think the four rating might more be for my stupidity, although seeing the hosts speak with eyes, noses, and ears rearranged is amusing. Overall though, I didn't like Hellmuth's advice running all the time, nor did I enjoy the interface as much as I did on the 2k5 version of wsop. Not nearly as fun as it could be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay for now...

posted by bubbles25 (Wyoming, MI) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Okay, this poker game is adequate if you need time to kill. If there was anything else to do, then do it. I give this game a 5 out of 10. Do not buy this game, only rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

game

posted by eekfain25 (LOVELAND, OH) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

good game tounaments take too long though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better

posted by PanamaDon (WRIGHTSTOWN, NJ) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I was expecting better graphics, smother operation, and faster play. Makers should realize gamers don't want to wait around for the A.I. thinking time, but we also don't necessarily want the game to go so fast, we miss what's going on. There has to be a middle somewhere.
The makers seem to be hung up on how well they made the likeness of real players but I really don't need to see all of the close ups that many times and that often.
Cards are also hard to see. It's the most important part of the game and thank goodness I have a big screen. I couldn't imagine what it looks like on a smaller tv. I expected to see improvements over "The Tournament of Champions". It came up short. I like the variety of games and how the game plays it's just too slow and sometimes I have to look hard if I have a spade or a club and them same goes with the community cards. The side screen with everyones name was not needed. The poker creators need to view or watch an online poker game to see how they could use the basic setup to make a great game for these systems. I am wiling to pay the extra money to get a good poker game. Don't put a lot of "stuff" to make it seem like it's a good game. Put quality "stuff" and make a great game. If players will pay for a cheaply made game, they will surely pay for an excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »