Rent World Series of Poker 2008 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

World Series of Poker 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2, PS3, DS
GF Rating
5.8

1070 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Poker What you want...Poker what you get.

posted by Brikz3488 (ROCKVILLE, MD) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

All in all a pretty good substitute for online poker. You even have the option of playing online if you are enabled.

As for the single game you have the option of playing cash games, Heads up to beat Phil Helmuth, other single minigames, and of course WSOP.

I played the game on the hardest difficulty and it is nutz. In all 54 days i think i only placed in the money 6 times but i did happen to win a bracelet in 7 card stud... On this level bluffing is the name of the game and the computer players are winning. Ex..2000 big Blind, 200 ante, 8 players at the table I'm under the gun (3) with 62,000 dealt a pair of 7's, i raise to 8k, the 5th player reraises to 24k the cut off (right before the button) reraises to 42k, looks like i'm beat so i fold. They both go all in. One player is holding Q 3 off suit (?) and the other Q 9 offsuit (???) the board makes the Q3 guy hit a straight.

These bad beats and crazy all in raises are common and sometimes i found myslef tilting and making bad calls or raises because it almost felt like the only way to win was to outrace or bad beat someone.

Fun game if you like or want to learn poker with the tutorials and lessons but not to realistic in the players playstyle. Look for tells in the close up screen though because they can help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game plagued by online bugs...still.

posted by HoustonTex (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Basically you will be playing last years game with a face lift. For those new to the series, I'm assuming you've played some sort of video game poker. On that assumption you will enjoy this game. It's T.V. style broadcast feel wiil make you feel like you are watching a tourney on t.v., although the repetitive anouncer kills that aspect to a certain extent. The leaderbord, which is the main reason to play "free" poker is still flawed, and in my opinion that's what sets this game back from being excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad at all.

posted by Spidey223 (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Last year's version was the better of the poker games available... this year's is definitely an improvement over that one. So if you played last year's and had fun with it, this is definitely a buy.

The AI is still a little funky, but the games are fun and gameplay is fluid. You get a big assortment of poker to play outside of your yearly WSOP goals, which I personally like. The character models aren't quite as frightening as they were last year. Now at least they resemble real people.

The load times have improved as well. But for some reason, your character will still perform an unecessary amount of artifical "thinking time" before it will actually fold or raise. So many times, you've made your decision, but you are stuck waiting for the animation to conclude your action, because it wants to pretend your avatar is still "thinking" out the action carefully. It drags the time in the game down a bit if you are on the impatient side.

Overall, decent offline poker game, real nice online games and interface. Lots of poker styles (HORSE, STUD, RAZZ, HI-LOW) to play. Fun yearly WSOP goals. Worth a look if all that sounds interesting to you. Worth buying if you are looking for a poker game to absorb a bunch of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WSOP 2008: Battle for the Bracelets

posted by kagedgamer (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I had alot of fun playing this game. In the career mode you have 10 years when playing in all of the events in the WSOP. I really enjoyed this game. In retail stores in only 49.99 and if you want an inexpensive game go out and buy this game.

Thanks.

KagedGamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good!

posted by RaiderMan1 (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This game isn't a 10 but its real close.If your a fan of poker then this the game for you.The best poker game ever! Its not a waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just plain boring

posted by Horsepower (LA MESA, CA) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Was looking forward to a new poker game but this one is just the same old thing. Not much changed from the last. The AI is simply stupid poker playing. I wish somebody would produce a good poker game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for newbies

posted by LaurieSchmid (VANCOUVER, WA) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

If you have never played poker and want to learn how to play - this is not the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WSOP 2008

posted by N1ghtEag1e (PINCKNEY, MI) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game was not the best ive ever played but if you have a great reading eye and a lot of patience this is a game for you. this poker game is an ok card game but my 1-5 star rating i would rate it 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stick with online poker.

posted by oppy1984 (CANTON, OH) Nov 16, 2010

Member since May 2010

This is ok, but online poker is much better. The comments will get on your nerves very quickly due to the receptiveness of what they say. Over all this was a waste of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What are my cards?

posted by brram77 (MONTVERDE, FL) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

While its true that poker is poker, so not much can be done to add to the overall experience, its also true that when playing poker I should be able to tell which cards I am holding! I tried to give this game every benefit, until for the last time I thought I had three eights but what I really had was a six, and eight and a nine! The graphics are HORRIBLE! All they needed to do was make the numbers and symbols on the cards legible! If you do anything right, that should be first and foremost. Who cares what Phil Helmuth has to say if you cant even tell what cards you are playing with? I thought it was my TV....maybe it was dying on me..... but then I played Batman: Arkham Asylum and was blown away by the graphics and clarity. Very frustrating. Id recommend avoiding this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Takes forever

posted by meecea1 (ERLANGER, KY) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game is one of the slowest loading games i've ever played. The online version is AWFUL - you have your typical donkeys who go all in on every hand. If you want real poker - goto a casino and play a cash game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You played 1 poker game...you've played em all!

posted by Deuce9er (HAMMOND, IN) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The game is fine. To me though it seems like any other poker game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no good

posted by pellowski2 (MOUNT CARMEL, PA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this game is junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

wsop 2008

posted by noddy1992 (BRISTOL, VT) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

good game online and not a bad game offline either the commentary and players voices become dull and tedious quickly so have some music in the background to crank up. If your not a poker fan this game is for you as it does have some elements in it that even the average poker may become better. plenty of games to choose from and plenty of hours on xbox live which makes this a 7 out of 10 game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WSOP 2008

posted by flushola (CLAWSON, MI) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

For a poker game, it's the best I've played so far. Nice graphics, good customization features and it includes all forms of poker, including mixed games.

Online play is available, plenty of easy achievements (but some pretty tough ones too) and being able to play against a lot of pros makes this game very fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BORING!!!

posted by tmacandash (EVANSVILLE, IN) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

First of all I like to play poker, on line poker and even the xbox live arcade poker. But this game is horrible. It put me to sleep the game play was slow. Don't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent poker game.. best yet

posted by avalanche (DENVER, CO) May 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I was surprised how good the game was when i got it. the graphics are nice except for the cards are half cut off when they turn them over. the cards are kinda blurry so they need to fix that next time. other than that the game had some nice graphics and game play. the speed option was nice. online multiplayer was fun it was just lacking people most of the time. I think that was due to alot of people play on the pc. over all i gave the game a 9 but i still wouldn't spend the money to buy it because i can play for free on poker stars, absolute or a number of sites online which have a ton of tourneys and people which this game lacked. for single playing by yourself the game was awesome. so if you are just learning poker this would be a great game to learn on which does have poker tools. If you're already a seasoned player i would pass on the game and try your skills online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For The Poker Player in You!!

posted by DetailedD (RICHMOND, KY) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

For all the "Couch Chip Chuckers" out there this is the game for you. If your like me, and the closest you'll ever get to Vegas is your living room. Well then you cannot beat this game. Offline, ya maybe the learning curve is some what to be desired, but it's frickin' poker. Online... can't be beat. There is nothing like checking a dude to the river watching him go all in, and you know you have a full boat to ruin his day. That, and that alone my friend makes this game worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Can't SEE!

posted by DPM126 (WEATOGUE, CT) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I really enjoyed the face import feature, it works really well and looks just like you! However, it is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to see the turn cards. I found myself straining to see them on my standard definition television. Also, the game can seem very slow at times especially when you are betting your chips. Overall I was dissapointed mainly in the fact they made the turn cards so darn small!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OKAY GAME

posted by dinise (SAN MARCOS, CA) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this game looks very fun but has tight squished screen and hard to see turn cards i recomend to rent thiis game first before you waste $60

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »