Rent World Series of Poker 2008 for PS3
view large frontback

World Series of Poker 2008

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

680 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Same old story...

posted by nsumarty5 (MAMOU, LA) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

When i put WSP in my queue i was expecting a next generation poker game for a next generation gaming system. What i got was very different. The Graphics were good but in total it was the same game that came out on ps2 in like 2004 its the same game different graphics. I found it was a waste of time for that reason i might as well just stick in my 2004 ps2 version and online game play is like usual hair pulling because no one plays poker right online. One guy went all in every single hand. If you want a good poker game pick up 2004 in a bargain bin for 5$.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So So

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Dec 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I did not expect much when renting this title and I think it pretty much lived up to my expectations. It is a good poker game if you have not already downloaded the Las Vegas Strip Poker from the PSN. I really liked the Rivals feature online but the gameplay was very slow and not synched up very well. It takes a long time to play any significant number of hands.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT WORTH IT!

posted by sk8ordie13 (FOREST GROVE, OR) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game does not exceed even the lowest expectations of the year 2008. I found the create-a-player portion to be well put together but that is where the buck stops. The main menu screen is poorly put together and the graphics are a joke. A few of the sound bytes are pretty amusing, but all together I played the game for a few hours and sent it back. Last years game was much more enjoyable to me. The only part of the game I liked more than last year, was the hand percentages on screen during all in situations. I give this game a D grade at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Main Element is missing!

posted by Zlash99 (AURORA, CO) May 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The human element is missing totally from this game. The ability to bluff or take a hand on aggressive play style is nearly impossible. The game itself runs smoothly and nicely but with the CPU running nearlly all the hands with mathmatics instead of gut instincts that only a human has it makes this game quite dull quite fast.

I suggest a free online poker game as a helpful remedy to this piece of calculating junk.

Also... its quite funny how the only hand on the table that can beat you shows up MORE often then not (and on the river to boot).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

snoooooooooooooooooooze!!!

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

wow, i swear this works better as a sleep aid than a game... This is the first poker game i have played and definately by last!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth It

posted by Bakota (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

If you love poker, don't bother. Tons of bad beats, poor graphics, and it drags on and on. This could be a good game with some tweaks like skipping hands you are not in and when you fold, just fold. As popular as No limit holdem is I would hope they learned from this poor game and make one the fans would love. I suggest playing poker and not this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Anyone can play poker!!

posted by mattd112 (ANTONITO, CO) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

If you have never once played poker in your life this is the game for you. Only for one night though. Ive played a lot of live poker and online and it doesn't feel realistic at all. Like when you u go all in every time and everyone folds every time. I was starting to feel like a professinal. Online was ok but i didn't like how people take forever. The game is to easy and not worth waiting for. I'd give it 1 Phil Ivey out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by fabuloso (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I don't understand what is with everyone saying this game is slow? The game play is pretty good.

First, my Cons:

-Online Play has way too many empty tables.
-Announcers are repeatedly saying the same ish over and over.
-Music is cheesy, but can be dealt with by turning it down.
-Online Play = Lame.
-Options are limited, especially when creating your own character.

Now my Pro's:

-Game play can be either normal, fast and faster. Which by changing the game speed just like the 2007 version, the games go by without a problem.
-Feels real. It does, even when on Professional.
-Videos for Tutorials, not bad.

Other than that, this game is great for practice for those who don't know, and, for those who just need something to do in sharpening up some skills for online and the real deal.

People who complain about this game just don't understand poker. If they were every day players, they would understand the schematics of real game play, and this game is just as good as a real table, but in a video game sense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!

posted by benbec01 (ROSSVILLE, TN) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

THIS GAME IS AWEFUL!! YOU CANT EVEN SEE YOUR HAND WHEN IT GETS DEALT! DONT WASTE YOUR TIME LIKE I DID!! NOT EVEN WORTH A RENTAL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where's my magnifying glass...

posted by LT4Poker (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

One of the worst graphics I've seen - I'm not running hi-def so maybe that's the problem, but even up close you can't read the cards, your balance, the bet, the raise, it's terrible. No way to change screen orientation either. Or enlarge the font, it's so tiny! And no percentages for your hands until late in the heads up play. Seemed to focus on Phil's videos more than actual play tools. You will find some active poker rooms in online play though, so you can all suffer together. Thank god for GameFly, i would've hated to have bought this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great

posted by dlugoone (Port Chester, NY) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I is a bit on the boring side. I guess if you really love poker and have a lot of time to kill, great for the retirement homes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game for the severely injured

posted by Yankeescov (HOWELL, NJ) Sep 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

The game has excellent graphics and a great concept, but it is meant for the guy with a broken leg who can't leave the house for the next 4-6 weeks. The gameplay is setup so that if you really want to enjoy the poker experience you'll need to spend hours upon hours playing day after day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If ONLY it had subtitles...

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Being Deaf, it's very difficult to follow the game, although I'm familiar with Poker, but due to the lack of subtitles/closed captioning option for hearing impaired, I wont rate it above 5.

The game play itself is lots of fun, incredibly addicting. Graphics , if graphics are important to you, are a bit cheesy insofar as the player avatars, but otherwise good. Game tends to be a little "loady" due to high memory usage, but otherwise plays great.

Lots of things to do, including building your own poker room with rewards, among others.

Overall, game design could be more user-friendly. A Prior reviewer complained there was no way to save game, you'd have to play through a whole tournament. Actually there is, it just isn't obvious- simply quit game via the start button, you can go back to the tournament where you left off.. It just isn't very obvious from the menus, and menu is hard to navigate, it isn't well designed.

Avatar graphics look really stupid- just so 1990's

The worst part overall is just that there's no subtitles so a deaf player would have a hard time following along with what you are supposed to do.

Otherwise, its a great game, plenty of fun, addicting, and you can play this for months, it seems, without having to do the same thing twice.

I'd buy it, except the lack of subtitles..

Graphics: 4/10
Game Play: 9/10
Menus: 3/10
Lack of Subtitles: 0/10
My Rating: 5 (max Ill give a game without subtitles)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awuful

posted by Fregoe (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Way to easy imo but the worst thing is when after hours of playing in a tourney it just freezes up. I wanted to throw my PS3 out the the window. I like the career mode if you could actually get through a tournament.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

microscopic graphics

posted by Haseeb (LANCASTER, PA) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

very bad graphic you have to go to doctor to get glasses then you will able to see and you can not see what the winning hand was and all in all i hate this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

works but

posted by pspphanati (SECAUCUS, NJ) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

i rented this strictly for the online play. unfortunatly there is not a big enough community to play against.
the game was so slow, it was painful and i've been playing poker for years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst game ever

posted by Melons (CAMARILLO, CA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This has to be the worst game ever (not literally). The speech looks like the characters' jaws just fap up and down, they all say the SAME thing every 3 times they make a move. I like to play poker online, i was hoping to find a decent offline alternative, and this is definitely not it. Even if you are a hard core Hold'em player, you will be disappointed. I can say with confidence it isn't even worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

5 years in the past!

posted by nuclearcat (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This game looks like it was written when windows first came out. Graphics are dull and live video from vegas looks like from the early 80's footage. I do not recommend this game for the true gamers looking for details in a poker game including sweat, shaking hands, and the thrill of the final table.

nuclearcat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Win the World Series Tourney

posted by wiabomb (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This is really slow gameplay, even when put on the fastest setting. However, you're playing poker and it's faster then going to Harrah's and playing a sit and go table.

It's a good game to play online until you get the guy that's always all in no matter what he has. but if you can find a good table you can be entertained for hours. No if only it was real and I had a seat at the World Series and I could play like I did on the game, Id buy this for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

slow and boring

posted by munsoned (CUMBERLAND, MD) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

there is alot of limit games u gotta go threw with over 2000 ppl in the tournament.i was over 5 hours into it and i had to go. it has no option to save. so i pretty much played 5 hours for nothing.

another thing i hate about this game is u get bad cards almost every hand. one tournament i waited and waited for a good hand. im kinda low on chips and 2 ppl raised. and i then go all in with ace king of hearts. just to see the other two computer players to have pocket aces and pocket kings...

the online is ok but alot of ppl stall and take the limit time allowed before they make their move.

and i dont like how u can rebuy 25000 chips in the online so easy. this allows ppl to go all in pre flop all the time

i really wanted a good poker game for my ps3. but i wouldnt pay over 10 bucks for this stinker!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Friday night poker game

posted by gamerjim (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

If your a casual gambler you know a great deal when you see one. if your a serious gambler get some help I mean feed your family first for crying out loud. The old phrase baby needs a new pair of shoes is roughly translated into But seriously though rent this game first and enjoy it for the first hour or so and then do the smart thing and return it and download the poker available through The playstation network you will get your fix and it wont cost ya fifty bucks. Save ya a little lettuce to place on your flush draw at your buddies house on friday night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »