Rent World Championship Poker: Featuring Howard Lederer - All In for Wii
view large frontback

World Championship Poker: Featuring Howard Lederer - All In

Not Rentable
GF Rating
3.5

188 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

I can tel the future!

posted by CecilX (PETERSBURG, VA) Sep 16, 2007

Member since May 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, not really. With this game I thought I could. It was about the 20th minute in and I noticed something. These cards seemed familiar. Like I had been given then before. Then I realized that they were exacly the deal I had recieved not 10 min ago. So I watched. And I remembered. And sure enough there were deals that were repeating themselves. Not just hands, but the entire way the cards laid out. I knew that if I dumped that 9 of hearts a 2 of diamonds was coming to complete my flush.
After about an hour I decided that the game was broken if I can find the pattern like that. It's a fun game. Brings poker to the Wii. I just don't think it should rehash the same hands in the same hour.
If you want to know about graphic and such read someone else's review. I didn't get past this problem that I just stated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Skip this rental

posted by rkolosky (BOWIE, MD) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like poker. So when I saw this title, and the relatively high marks from critics, I thought it would be a good title to check out.

Now I'm glad I only rented it.

The graphics seem to have been by a two year old and then electronically copied into the game. The game has a quick mode, where you just play poker. There are several kinds of poker, like Texas Hold 'em, 5 and 7 card stud, Omaha, and Razz, where you try and get the worst hand. There is also a tournament mode and a career mode. The career mode lets you define your own character and then you go to different games week by week to build your street rep.

The game engine for poker is pretty good. The AI is pretty bright and makes some good calls. But there is entirely too much chatter at the table, and the animations for people look like they were ripped off from the original Atari 2600. Game play is ridiculously slow, but there are options to make it faster. The speeds are "Off, Fast, and Extremely Fast", but I found the "Fast" to be too fast, and the "Off" to be too slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Enter at your own risk of loosing sanity

posted by barboryte (Hallandale Beach, FL) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love poker! I set out to try all poker games available. Reading review for this game I though, wow, I get poker play and a scenario. WRONG! I got stuck playing limit 5 card draw for three days without a single person dropping out. There have to be limits to everything. And those characters...Game is fun first but then, everything starts repeating, graphics are horrible, play boring. Don't even rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I'm ashamed howard put his name on this

posted by sborwege (LITTLE FALLS, MN) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Earlier this year I played World Series of Poker: Tournament of Champions 2007 and I thought that game was pretty bad. That is until I played World Championship Poker: Featuring Howard Lederer - All In. The people in this game don't look like actual people, and when they do move they often interfere with poker table causing parts of their body to disappear. I would give graphics a 1. When I'm at the table playing a hand I often hear an annoying laugh that makes me wonder what's so funny. The laugh is often random, and so are the computers tauting. The voice acting is off cue. I would give sound a 4. Controls bother me more then the graphics do. From the moment the game started I was complaining about the controls. The game doesn't use the wiimote as a pointer at all. The option to point at the menu choice I would like would have been a small addition to make this game a bit better. I got over that small mishap and started the career mode. It did not get any better. I had the hardest time trying to navigate around the map to find my next poker game. When I wanted to go left, I would end up scrolling up. Very frustrating. To call, check or raise you use the A button, and to fold you use the B button. During game play I would find my self accidentally folding a flush, or calling by mistake.. That could be blamed on me probably, but It would be more efficient if you could either point at your choice, or have you choose action with a menu. I would give Controls a 2. If your a younger person, and had more patients then I do you might play this game for a longer period of time. If your a poker enthusiast I would recommend World Series of Poker: Tournament of Champions 2007. I would give this reply value a 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright

posted by wiiman2 (SIOUX CITY, IA) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a good game but the graphics were a little old. the wii can handle much more rendering but this game was good in playing and kinda wierd the players dont grab the card or chips.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont Rent either but if you must (this one)!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Gameplay: Boring
Difficulty: Easy
Audio: Bad
Controls: Good
Camera: Good
Length of Play: Minutes
Replay Value: Low

If you want to play a poker game on the console then this one has the features you want; it improves drasticly over the Series version (not saying much). After all it is a boring type of game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's ok

posted by foxtrickle (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

After about 5 minutes of playing the game, you've heard all the dialog that the announcer has in his repertoire so it gets annoying quick. The feature of panning across the table to see the competition is kind of neat, but more work than it's worth. Also the computer can be very predictable at times. 90% of the time if you raise the blind to something decent, they will all fold and you'll get the blind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not bad but not great

posted by mikcali (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

i hate to complain about graphics and sound in a "poker" video game but they were both pretty lame. the game play can be fun and if you play long enough it can be exciting at times but to tell the truth, i would rather just play poker for real.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could have been better...

posted by szeven (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I like poker, but this game had weak characters and just wasn't good. I mean, I expected more from a new system game like the Wii. Glad I have my gamefly subscription and didn't buy it flat-out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

needs better graphics

posted by Pinksmiley (Naches, WA) Aug 20, 2007

Member since May 2007

the places you play are pretty neat, but the characters.....WHOA needs some help. They all look like somebody' s uncle joe. The girls look like guys, and the audio doesn't quite sync with the video makes you think of a bad kung fu movie. definitely a renter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst poker game ever

posted by NatashaIL (ROMEOVILLE, IL) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This had to have been one of the worst poker games i have ever played. Probably one of the worst games period, poker or otherwise. the graphics were horrible and the map was hard to navigate. as an avid poker player i was very disappointed in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

World Championship Poker

posted by momof1 (LEAVENWORTH, KS) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

I cannot believe that I actually rented this game. My husband loves poker, but this game can sour even the most avid poker player.
The graphics are aweful.
The map is aweful.
The whole game is aweful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What were they thinking....?

posted by Ghosthoffa (SURPRISE, AZ) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

So the game play is terrible, confusing layout. The map to enter events sucks. The game play and character creation lacks uniqueness. Just download Full Tilt or something else. The lack of online support makes this game even more worthless. Try harder next time and give us online support with a more straight forward game play. Dont try to do so much with the motion sensitivity. We get that it is a cool parlor trick but there are limits...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

World Championship Poker: Featuring Howard Lederer

posted by Wiiaddict (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jul 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game has horrible graphics - it looks like super nes.

The game controls in the map mode are difficult to use.

The game play is tedious.
The game characters have no depth.
You can barely see the cards even on a 48" T.V.
This is the worst poker video game I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just another Poker Game

posted by JimS215 (ETTERS, PA) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Thought they might try to do something different with this one, but alas I was wrong. Just another poker game. Then again what really can be done with a poker game? It is what it is. Unless you are all about poker and want a poker game for the wii, it's really not even worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »