Rent World Championship Poker: Featuring Howard Lederer - All In for Xbox 360
view large frontback

World Championship Poker: Featuring Howard Lederer - All In

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
2.6

461 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

I give it a 1 only cause 0 is not available

posted by raycer131 (CAPE CORAL, FL) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I am an avid poker player and had hopes that one of the 2 new poker games would be playable...how sadly mistaken I was. The cartoonish / gameboyesque graphics on the loading screens irritated me. It seems that "The professor" and his fellow pros were only concerned with how their characters look. Creatable characters look horrible. The computer AI is just another problem with it. Unless you go to turbo mode you have to play the stupid bluff mini-games and for the wrong reasons.(ie) Dealt pocket jacks out of position and called a raise pre-flop and was forced to play a bluff game??? Please don't bother renting this game. When I saw the keep it price at nearly $20 I figured hmmm i will most likely buy this....till it arrived not worth $1... Hope this helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

world championship poker featuring howard lederer

posted by kingjon (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This ia one of the worst games ever made it should be taking out side and put out of its misery.my rating for this game would be a minus 5 if it were allowed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why bother

posted by stlstrnger (MATTESON, IL) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was boring, repetitive, graphics completely uninteresting, AI just as bad, and just like too many other "casino" type poker games you can pretty much count on a good hand when you're about to go broke. it lets me know that there's nothing random about the card drop.

i can't understand why a game designer would spend the time and money to create such a game and not make it online multiplayer.

i just don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No

posted by XBox36007 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't get this games save your time and money, worst game ever i would rather play a sega game befor i ever play this again the main screen looks like cartoon and no one in the world plays it online. I would rate it between 0 and 1 closer to 0.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow. Just...wow

posted by DUMPL1NG (BOCA RATON, FL) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst games I have ever played. Now, keep in mind that I've played Fantasia for Genesis, Superman for the N64 and Bubsy 3D for the PS1.

The graphics are horrid. In fact, if I was Bill Gates, I'd sue the idiot who stamped the 360 symbol on the box. Then shoot him in the groin.

The gameplay is ghastly as well. Yes, I realize it's just dealing cards. However, trying to win in near impossible, and 1/2 way through your game, the other players start to lose body parts.

In three separate games, I watched three separate players lose eyes, arms, and basically entire torsos.

Instead of renting this crime against humanity, just poke yourself in the eye with a thumb tack. Same effect, just less painful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT WASTE A RENTAL!!!

posted by BuELLRdR (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Horrible! As the other guy wrote, i gave this game 1 star only because you cant put zero!!! I've played better games on Atari 2600. The menus and navigation screens look like they were made by a 10 year old with a pack of colored paper and some scissors. And the game play is atrocious. I mailed this game back within a couple hours of receiving it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible , Horrible

posted by Drakhen (ATLANTA, GA) May 5, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad they even went as far as incorrectly spelling of the word "The" in the achievements

Check it out the achievement is

Poker Addicts Felt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

RUN AWAY!!!

posted by TriggRfish (YAKIMA, WA) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You know when everyone tells you about a really bad game and you say "It can't be THAT bad".... Well, this one is!

This game gets the award for "LEAST AMOUNT OF EFFORT PUT INTO A SINGLE GAME"

It looks like it was designed by a 5 year old with a crayon and a pocket full of dreams. The actual game play is so unbelievably bad and repetitive it just boggles the mind that someone would want to assign their name to it. If you can find your way through the maze of options and actually sit at a poker table.... you still can't play! The game makes you learn how to read the other players "tells" and how to taunt others when you win. It blathers on and on about Howard Lederererer and how famous he is.

Then come the AI players. They look like they all come from a family tree that doesn't fork. Hillbillies, women with caveman faces, and of course a perfectly designed Howard character.

I played it for about 20 minutes and threw it at the mailman. Game over for this piece of $#&!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by dustman (WEST JORDAN, UT) Dec 31, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was hoping that this game would be at least a little fun, but nope it might have been one of the worst games i have ever played.
No matter what you chose your character always looked like a 6 year old even with a beard and i hated the little games that you have to do to keep your cool i got so mad like 200 times because it would put me all in and i would lose to a pair of kings or aces or some other great hand!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Amazingly bad!

posted by TommyF (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow, I tried to play this. I bought it here real cheap and figured "How bad could it be?" I tried to play it for an hour, my head was hurting 5 minutes into it. Save yourself the headache and get the World Series of Poker game, it is a million times better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by FunnyNjK (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are any type of "real" gamer you would avoid this game at all cost. The graphics and game play are the worst I have ever seen. If you want to play an old fashioned Commodore Vic 20 game, then this one will work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible

posted by momof1 (LEAVENWORTH, KS) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be the creme de le creme of poker games, but I was sadly wrong. The graphics were just awful, I am an adult so do not take to the cartoon characters well and I as well gave it a one since 0 was not an option. This game needs to be sent to the trash can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

interesting game

posted by vegasplayr (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I don't know what I was expecting but the cartoon characters you see when starting the game is kind of weird. The best part about the game is the turbo option where you can skip through a hand quickly after folding. The AI is kind of weak, they will call mostly anything all the way down.

Another odd component is when did Erin Ness become video game worthy? She gets lucky in one tournament and they make her a goddess on this game. If you like a variety of poker games this game is worthwhile.

The career mode is not great as all you do is scroll through an awkward map playing game after game. The graphics look cool during gameply though, sunglasses actually reflect, what a concept..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

3.1 rating is WAY to kind

posted by likelyja (ROCHESTER, MN) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I to had hopes that this game would be a good one. Graphics are horrible and almost look as if it was for the original playstation, the motion of the dealer is horrible, the announcers is horrible.

If you were hoping for a good poker game that would improve your skill, you are WRONG. I love to play poker but as soon as I turned this game on I knew that this game was going to be bad. After 5 min of playing, I packed up the game and shipped it back. Normally I can give a game a chance and play for a while but not this game.

Do not rent this game. It is a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why? Why?

posted by stecklerho (BELLEVUE, WA) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Poker was fun for a while. It was fun to think that possibly online would never go away, and that you could win millions at home. And that possibly some day you could play for real chips on live. Nope. It is a boring day here on Live! Since there is no motivation, and Microsoft, and all their sponsors, are afraid to tie in the pettiest of online giveaways surrounding this game, it is nearly pointless to sit around and wait for a game to start. Because once you finally get into one, who knows what 11 year old is going to push you all in and call you a blank in every 2-seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

World Champioship of Lameness

posted by weav74 (WEST MONROE, LA) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The worst game I have ever played. Game is weak and very childish. Do not waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that bad

posted by canete28 (RICHMOND, VA) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

OK THE REASON I GAVE IT A SIX IS BECAUSE IT OFFERS SEVERAL POKER GAMES AND THE CONCEPT IS PRETTY DECENT AND WELL EXECUTED. U CAN BUILD YOUR CHARACTER UP TO BE A BLUFF MASTER OR CAN SNIFF OUT TELLS ETC. BUUUUUUT THE GRAPHICS ARE PRETTY BAD ALONG WITH THE VOICE ACTING AND PRESENTATION(CARTOON LIKE NOT TO BIG A FAN) REASON FOR THE SIX ALONG WITH THE CHARACTER BUILDER WHICH IS JUST HORRIBLE ...THE AI DONT SEEM THAT BAD AND I CAN COMPARE IT TO THE WPTOC 2 GAME WHICH THE AI IS JUST AS POOR..I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY THESE GUYS DO NOT USE THE SAME POKI SYSTEM AS POKER ACADEMY WHICH HAS THE BEST POKER AI EVER.....I SUGGEST NOT TO BUY EITHER POKER GAME THAT JUST CAME OUT FOR THE 360 BECAUSE NIETHER ONE WILL REALLY IMPROVE UR GAME BUT I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS ONE OVER WPTOC SIMPLY BECAUSE U CAN EXPERIMENT SEVERAL VARIATIONS OF POKER AND EXPAND YOUR GAME... AND 2ND IF YOU CAN COPE THIS GAME FOR ABOUT 20 DOLLARS I THNK IT WOULD BE WORTH IT CAUSE IT CAN GET U INTO OTHER GAME FOR EXAMPLE I WOULD PROBABLY START PLAYING RAZZ AND THE PINEAPPLE POKER ISNT TO BAD..ONE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by vwrestler1 (TOOELE, UT) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible, I read the reviews and figured that I would give it a shot, beacuse well it's free(kind of). But this game wasn't worth a spot on my GameQ. I don't even know where to start with the problems for this game, but after 5 min, it's going right back to Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I have to give them a little credit.

posted by Suchnast (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) Jul 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

The saving grace for this game for me is that you can create your own character, which is really fun. The in-play graphics along with this feature make you feel like you are playing The Sims: Poker.

Downside...is that outside of play, the graphics look absolutely horrible. I don't know what they were thinking. It looks like a game from 1992. They use like 5 flourescent colors and menus/pictures that look like they were made on Microsoft Paint. I have no idea why they would do that.

I own the game. I bought it in the store for 20 bucks used. It's the only way to make it worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow

posted by jpduffy (APO, AE) May 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

I was expecting a card game sort of like Tx hold 'em in the arcade. I did understand that you would start from nothing and rise to fame, i just didn't realize that ai could move s-o s-l-o-w. I then changed the setting to fast and holy smoke it was my turn again. I never moved it to turbo because I thought the Xbox might explode. And the graphics remind my of a SIM type animation. I just think I wasted a mailman's time trying to get this game here. I'll stick the arcade hold 'em.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by SDTrev (CORONADO, CA) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Overall the game was pretty boring, i only wanted to play no-limited texas hold-em but the game contained all sorts of card games. Nobody ever played online, and the interface was just very elementary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worthy of a rental for a rainy day

posted by SneakyBuff (TRINITY, TX) Nov 24, 2006

Member since May 2004

Pros:

Many different poker variations to play
Well thought out options (speed up gameplay)
Unique "poker tells" system (mini-games)

Cons:

Weak AI (better than WSOP CE though)
Not much replayability
Hard to find an online game

Overall, the reason I gave this game a 5 is because it does some things better than World Series of Poker Championship Edition. The AI is definitely better, although its pretty easy to get them to call your all-in moves when they have a weak hand. After playing a while I noticed they tend to get many timely river cards as well. The lucky charm and items that are purchaseable or gainable add a unique element to the game. Sometimes during cash games when a player goes out they will bribe you with anything from their car engine to a painting so they can stay in the game. I haven't had a chance to play any online games due to not being able to find anyone online, but the menus are easy to find your way through and there are even helpful tips in the options menu for anyone new to the game.

I would recommend this game to anyone looking for something different. It caters to both the poker veteran and beginner. For me, this is the best poker game on the market for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »