Rent Wonder World Amusement Park for Wii
view large frontback

Wonder World Amusement Park

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
3.3

610 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Was this game ever play-tested?

posted by GameDrop (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is similar to Carnival Games, with the added bonus of 5 rides that you can ride, in addition to around 30 midway-style mini-games. So what makes this worse than Carnival Games? Two things: 1) The control is awful. The motion control is simply tacked on; there are no smarts in the control whatsoever. For example, the Coconut game asks you to throw a baseball at the coconuts on the pedestals. However, it doesn't matter how fast or slow you swing the remote; the throw is always the same speed. Add to that the fact that you can just keep throwing over and over with no penalty, and it seems clear that they didn't bother playtesting this game. And oh yeah, 2) Only 5 of the mini-games are open for multiplayer when you sit down to the game. This is inexcusable in a mini-game collection, especially one with a hackneyed story mode that is mostly indecipherable (in other words, we had no idea what to do to continue on in the story mode). We just wanted to sit down with the family and enjoy the 30 mini-games, but no, you have to unlock them first. And so this game is returned, with a poor rating...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is really tedious and boring

posted by jturner (MERRIMACK, NH) Jul 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was really poorly designed. As the other reviews have said, this game seems to have been thrown together without much usability testing.

Some of my biggest gripes:
(1) When you enter the different areas, you start with zero tickets. You then need to hunt for the one free game in the area. What makes this difficult is you don't know where the free game is unless you randomly click on the different games and wait for them to load.
(2) You never know what your goal is for the game. It appears that you can earn up to 50 tickets for some of the games, but you never know what score you need to reach for that prize. In addition, you are never told the number of tickets you won...you just are expected to keep track of the number of tickets you had before you started.
(3) Collecting all the prizes in an area unlocks the ride. However, this ride is just another mini game. Very disappointing.
(4) The controls are poorly designed and poorly explained.
(5) You cannot access the game instructions while you are playing the game.

There are many other problems with this game which I will not mention. I have not played Carnival Games, which seems to be similar to this game. However, if you are looking for a mini game, I would not recommend for you to rent this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun?

posted by Afrailey (PROVIDENCE, KY) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found this game confusing and didn't understand what was going on or how you won tickets. Another thing that is very frustrating is that I can't figure out how to activate a 2nd controller for a 2 player game!!!! Bottom Line: Game is very frustrating!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't get this game

posted by meerkat (NOBLE, OK) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just a frustrating waste of time. Takes forever to earn 100 tickets to move on to the next place which is much of the same and not worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Whatta Waste

posted by leochicky (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After we put this game into the wii, we saw it would be a bad game. There was no fun to this game. It was boring. Kids thought I should return it ASAP, which I did. At least Carnival Games was a little bit fun. This isn't even worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Fun at all

posted by khuddle (CONCORD, NC) Jul 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We did not enjoy this game. As a matter of fact it was in our home less than 24 hours. The games were somewhat difficult and there just was not a lot of variety in the play. In our opinion Carnival is a much better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow! Incredibly bad

posted by PitVipers (MOKENA, IL) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Carnival Games isn't a great game, but Wonder World Amusement Park makes Carnival Games look like the game of the decade. The controls are horrible and the games are flat out boring. My 7 year olds were bored after about 5 minutes. They went back to playing Carnival Games, which they really enjoy. Wonder World isn't worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I found no "Amusement" here

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Hey kids, do you want to go to an amusement park and enjoy the rides and games - then go to King's Dominion or Six Flags. It's not here.
Wonder World Amusement Park is divided into five sections (Carnival, Spooky Pirate, Fairytale and Space). Each section has five or six games in them.
When you enter the singe player section, you get 100 tickets and can only select the Carnival and play its five games.
How do you unlock the other areas? By winning tickets by playing the Carnival games.
More specifically, to unlock the next area, you'll have to purchase admission for that area at the prize counter for 100 tickets, then you have to collect 999 tickets for a total of 1099 tickets.
This would be no problem if the games paid lots of tickets for beating the record or by getting a good score. But no, these games pay only 10-30 tickets per try, so you'll have to play them many, many times over.
Some games are fun (Rodent Riot, Coconut Topple), while others are not (Hook a Frog, Ready Steady)
Multiplayer gives a break from the locked games - up to four people can play some games from all areas, even if they are locked in single player mode.
But there were no games fun enough for me to try dozens of times over. Unless you are hard up on some basic carnival games, give this amusement park a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Game control..

posted by Shaggy1973 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I found the game control was not very good and as most have said the ticket for mini-games is poorly laid out. Once you move to a new area you start with zero tickets again and you need to find the "free" games to collect tickets. That means if you make more in an area then you can use to open other areas they do not roll over to the new area. Plus the bar was set very high to be able to win tickets from the mini-games. I'd say pass on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Carnival Knockoff!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jul 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Majesco has been slacking lately and with Blastworks an ok game they make this to hope they will succeed. The presentaion is slightly better but the games are boring and the gun game is tedious, the frog one is impossible. You need 999 tokens to get to the next park which is impossible because they dont give you tokens when you play. Sadly this one is a pass; you are not missing much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wonder World

posted by mzpam2011 (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

This Game Just Sucks !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Wii Game

posted by noodle37 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The game has very mellow music! It cost tickets to play games. All out of tickets? Buy some at the store! (which cost tickets.) The minigames are unfair. This game could've been a lot better. Don't rent or buy this game for the good of your eyes. Terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worthless, don't waste your time

posted by Kiler (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Absolutely the worst game I have ever played. Pong was more fun. The controls are unnecessarily obtuse, and the subgames are pointless. Returned immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame game

posted by chris2go (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Just that poor graphics poor strategy just poor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame Game

posted by jlevitsk (POMONA, NY) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

This thing is really lame. You play games at a carnival and while that could be fun, this is not. It seems like a completely terrible game that was somehow designed 10 years ago. The game looks bad, plays bad, and is just plain bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT RECOMMENDED !!

posted by JOEMONICA5 (RENTON, WA) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

It is an ok game for maybe a 10 year old. But it is not easy to figure out. You go to these different little carnival type games and you have to get a good score I think to earn tickets, again I think. Anyways, the games are kinda boring and not easy. I would recommend some of the other carnival type games out there for the Wii. Sorry, wish I had a better review to give on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ive rented ever

posted by diamondjef (SURPRISE, AZ) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Horrible doesn't do this game justice. The game looked fun from the pictures and packaging but when we actually stuck the game into the wii to play that is where the fun stopped. It was fun to hit the eject button and send this game on to the next sucker. I guess if you are looking for a game where you pick out a carnival game to play then you will be happy with this selection. I thought there would be more interaction with the carnival. I'm glad that I did not purchase this game or I'd be really upset with the wasted money. So a big thumbs down for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well,...

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

I got this game for Christmas. I am very indecisive about my opinion on this game. Personally, I thought a lot of the mini games were a little stupid (Ex: Grab a Mummy, Bag a Bug,etc.), but I actually enjoyed playing a few of them. I think the graphics could've been a lot better. Also instead of having two songs per area, I think each game needs a different background tune. Another thing that bugged me was that all of the booth-runners looked exactly alike. When I first started playing, I thought I kept pressing the wrong button. Other than that, I think my complaints are the same as everyone else's. I haven't played Carnival Games, but I might add that to my list. I HAVE played Thrillville, though, and even though it's more based around building rides (that's what my family thought ou did on this game before we played it), the mini-games that ARE on it are much more fun and are definately worth playing. Um, try this game out if you want to, but it's not that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Designed for Wii, not just Adapted

posted by EurekaGirl (EUREKA SPRINGS, AR) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

We really enjoyed this one -- mainly because it makes the most of the Wii controlers. You'll get exercise instead of just pushing buttons like you do with games that were just adapted to Wii -- which seems like most of the games I rent lately.

One of our favorites was the "stuff your face" eating contest game in Pirate land. That one really burns up the calories and is quite fun.

I also enjoyed the theme and the graphics.

This one is really fun to play with other people, too. I think I may buy it for parties.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good and fun

posted by jennyp (GADSDEN, AL) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

although it didn't take me very long to beat all the different parks i really enjoyed playing it and so did my brother, mom, and dad. it was fun for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Carnival Games 2?

posted by ninjakx (BILLERICA, MA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I liked this game even though there were some parts that could have been better. Some pros: 1) You could customize your character better than you could Carnival games. The only bad part was that you were still very limited in customizing it to your own self. Why couldn't they put your Mii character in there? The games were pretty good and like Carnival games caused you to use your Wii remote with great precision. The con was that most of the games cost tickets and you had to master the free ones pretty consistently which is very annoying just to play another game. Also they do not explain how you have to proceed to the next gate (level). I had to look online in order to figure out how this game works. So when you play this game be expected to feel like a real amusment park by being cheated out of your tickets and time, however you do ending up having fun along the way. A little better than Carnival games but not by much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dont waste your time

posted by mommylynne (GARDEN GROVE, CA) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Dont waste your time on this game.... its sux. My kids didnt like it all. They said it was not nearly as fun as Carnival Games.... now that was fun for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok Game

posted by daguru (SANFORD, FL) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I normally love party type games, but this one was very lacking! You have to unlock all of the "lands" in the Story Mode, before you can play them in the Part Mode. And when you do unlock the land, you are limited to which games are available for multiplayer. In one land, you can only play 2 of the 6 games in Party Mode.

The graphis and sound effects were pretty weak. All in all, a boring game and can probably passed up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Game

posted by sunny298 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

From reading the description it sounded really fun. We played for about a half an hour and got bored because we couldn't figure out how to advance or play other games. It got very frustrating and we are sending it back in under 24 hours! Very lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my son love this game

posted by joehutchin (OXFORD, ME) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

my son love this game he sad its a really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse