Rent Wolfenstein for PS3
view large frontback

Wolfenstein

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

3605 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unique weapons, intense, and fun!

posted by damanmorty (E Dummerston, VT) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I couldnt help but like this game a lot while playing it. The story is very good and drew me in...waiting to see what the Nazis were up to. The gun play is fantastic and spot on with only a few minor flaws which are easily forgiven. The weapons are where this game shines. They are awesome, unique, and cool. Flame thrower? yes. Particle beam? yes. Electric gun? yes. Machine guns? yes. This game has many cool weapons, none of which I used more than the others (which is often the case with FPS). I enjoyed every single one of them. The "powers" that a player earns are just as much fun as well. However, unlike the guns, I found myself really only using two of the four powers the most often but they are all great to use and each has its own particular aplication. The map and inventory system are fantastic and easy to navigate. Upgrading your weapons can be a bit tedios but WELL WORTH IT, plus it gave me a reason to hunt down all the gold I could. BE AWARE THAT THE GAME GETS MORE INTENSE AS IT GETS GOING! THE EARLY LEVELS CAN BE A TAD SLOW..BUT STICK WITH IT!. The only downfall with this game is that there are parts that are very predictable. You will know where the enemies are and when they will be there (you'll see). With that said the enemies are very diverse and some are very challenging. Overall, the game has a great story, great weapons, great powers, awesome graphics, and is a ton of fun to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by rphxcamguy (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an awesome first person shooter. Add to that the fun of killing Nazis and the supernatural element and you have a recipe for a lot of gaming joy. I seldom write reviews, but I want people to know just how great this game is. Good boss battles, cool weapons and powers. The most fun I've had since Dead Space.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ahead of the Pack

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very nice game! Nice solid controls, good looking graphics and pretty lengthy too but not in a repetitive boring kinda way. Alot of missions to play and just all around fun. Definitely worth adding to your collection, especially if you own the previous Wolfenstein games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just plain fun

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now this game is just plain fun. The shooting is top notch with an average story. I have to say that the open world aspect of the game was lacking mainly because every street had respawning enemies that sort of become annoying later in the game. But overall this game is fun. As what I said before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good times

posted by jlb462606 (WATERFORD, CT) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is just fun. if your a first person shooter type like i am , i would recommend it to anyone that wants a not to involved good time. the game will only take you a few days to beat (depending on how much you play ) i wold deff suggest renting this game if you want to just kill some enemy s and have a good time , also the story was put together well in my opinion,and the controls are tight , just rent it you wont be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by gumbomud (SARAH, MS) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall this has been a really great game. The AI was a bit shabby, but other than that I cant say anything negative about it. Activision used alot of ideas from Gun to build this game (weapon upgrades, looking for gold, etc.) so if you liked it, you should give this game a try...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IT WAS AWSOME.

posted by jmnovi007 (MANCHESTER, NH) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nothing beats killing Nazis and the multiplayer online is great too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good, try it out

posted by tsmesser (AUBURNDALE, FL) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

26 out of 39 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is really good. in the game, the main character B.J. Blazkowicz finds a medallion that lets him go into an alternate dimension and find hidden doors, slow down time, and make shields appear around him. there are some awesome guns, including the particle cannon, which disintegrates his enemies. gameplay is very fun, story is really good, but multiplayer should've been worked on a little more. really worth renting, a great game, try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

disappointed

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have always been a huge fan of Wolfenstein, all the way back to the original one on the floppy disks. Was very much looking forward to this game, especially since the market has been dry as far as quality FPS are concerned. Well, this game makes you wish for more.

Like everyone said, the graphics are very subpar at best for such a franchise. I was expecting no glitches, sharp, crisp shadows/buildings. These graphics are far from it. Found some graphical glitches as well. Some levels have what appears to be an open door/hallway, but you can't go through it. No idea why.

Graphics aside, my biggest gripe is how the game is laid out. You constantly have to run around through the same annoying town to get from mission to mission. Nazis get regenerated in the same areas, so it gets extremely repetitive. I'd much rather be able to teleport from one point to the other after finding all the gold, etc.. than walking from one end to the next every time.

I was really hoping this game would pick up where Return to Castle Wolfenstein left off, but this one goes into a different direction. Rent if you like FPS and want to kill some time before Batman comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been better...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Wolfenstein was not as good as I was expecting, but it had great key points that made the game very fun. The gameplay is a lot like, Call of Duty, Brothers in Arms, but you will find it is a lot more quick paced then those two games.

You play as 'B.J." Blazkowicz, a OSA Operative that is placed behind enemy lines during World War2. Blazkowicz has a knack for getting into tight situations and running threw the opposition single handedly, while investigating unusual activities.

Raven software, poorly created the graphics that looks suitable for a playstation2 game, which was very bunk. Made with HavOk game engine, the levels are small and very tightly cornered. Lighting wasn't that bad, but textures and object models were very limited and lacked tons of detail. The game graphics really appeared as if the game was made within one year, over it's 6 year period of development. Instead of like the old, one goal in Wolfenstein, id software wanted it to give you side missions in the game, but the tiny, poorly made levels, did not really fit inside any aspect of Wolfenstein.
Return to Castle Wolfenstein was more creative.

The game is well worth a try, if you like first person games. id software has a great story line that really sinks you in too wanting to know what happens next. With great game elements that makes great fun and very amusing gameplay. You can pick up tossed grenades and throw them back at enemies. Watching the enemy do a lil jitter bug, after you zapped them with the tesla gun, is funny, and never gets old.

Multiplayer is sort of quick paced. There is no deathmatch, unfortunately. There is a team-deathmatch and team-objective base multiplayer game interaction. The lag is irritating and leaves you wishing you could turn off spectating, because if the spectator has a slow connection, you will too, while they spectate you.

The least there is to say, is that it could have been far better. But I still liked Wolfenstein more then Call of Duty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

passable

posted by reelniga (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

even though i can say that this game is passable, its hardly a good game. the game has so many flaws that made me return the game 2 days after i received it. it was a huge let down, i had preordered both the game and the guide book but after playing it, i quickly changed my mind.
pros:
-weapon upgrading is fun, it reminds me of bioschock. it's very simple but effective.. (you find a gun, you finish missions, you unlock upgrade, yuo buy the upgrades) even though i didnt upgrade all the guns, the guns i did fully upgrade looked so tight, it makes you wish that the creators of cod could play this game and get this idea.(a kar98k with a sniper scope, silencer, bayonete and ammo holder is pretty tight)
- the futuristic weapons are crazy cool, and wen u upgrade them you will be extremely content.
- the story is good and realistic (somewhat) if you've ever taken a history class you'll understand what i mean by realistic.(german were crazy about historic items and were searching for anything that could give them absolute power.
cons:
- biggest one: multiplayer. so incredibly glitchy even though i had full connection, horrible detail, excess of blood, and horrible attempt to be remotely close to cod. the weapons are bland and barely upgradable(no future weapons either!)
- dont know why people say otherwise but the graphics are horrible! single player are ok but multiplayer makes me want to give up on video games.
- the ai is incredibly stupid and i cant tell you how many times ive seen nazis soldiers running against the wall! i made me not even want to kill them (its like killing a special person, you're going to go to the worst part of hel)
- super powers might be some what fun on single player but they don't add it on multiplayer! stupid decision.

so i'm going to finish this with a last quote: if you really hate nazis, dying, and really, really love war movies you can rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nothing special

posted by Zeee13 (FAIRVIEW, OR) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok guys here’s my opinion: PS3 can do much better man!
Graphics: we are almost in 2010 and the graphics are really outdated!
Idea: manipulating time is always fun in games thats one plus..
FPS: just usual not as fun as COD 4, RFOM, Resistance 2 or KZ2..

So in a nut shell the game will not WOW you..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A WWII shooter with an Indy 4 approach...

posted by MrTtime83 (EASTON, PA) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

That's right. The franchise is beginning to get stale. But then again, this game was never meant to be a real franchise. The original is Wolfenstein. This isn't. It's like a fusion of Quake, and Half Life 2but reduced to major suckage.

It gets literally dull within two hours. The characters really aren't all that likeable and the acting is pretty horrid with some cheesy dialogue. The weapons, are pretty cheesy too. I mean, the whole slowing down time thing is done way to much! What's so original about that?

Some of the game play I experienced took place during the ruins where u had to capture some artifact guarded by the David Blane worshipping Nazis.

Kinda ironic how a WWII game seems to be very fitting with the 21st century. The controls, especially the ducking can be very irritable at times. The cover system isn't just that good. And don't get me started on the very beginning with the gravity mission. You can barely move to your position that's needed. It's worth maybe a 2-3 day rental. Just keep it for that long. Don't keep it more then a month otherwise you will not play it. It gets old fast. And there is really no element of suprise. You are better off just waiting for the next Call of Duty to come out.

Gameplay

C-

Controls

D+

Graphics

C-

Storyline

D+

Overall rating....C-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lame

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

(Graphics) - 4
(Sound) - 6
(Acting) - 3
(Physics) - 2
(Online) - 3

My score 5

Im sorry but it only took me 2 hours before this game went back in the mail ! I want a game that looks and plays like a game from 2009 not 2001 ! I own a Ps3 for a reason ! Not a Ps2 - this is not a review because Wolf bored me after 2 hours - Rent it because this is what gamefly is all about , see for yourself and who knows you may enjoy it ! I for one did not

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LIKE it!

posted by mowchow (SAN RAFAEL, CA) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I love the Wolfenstein franchise! this one continues to amaze me! its very hard to keep me interested enough to finish all the way through other games, but i love the story, and I'm determined to finish it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I rent this because everyone used to love this.

posted by ZiNgXX (SPRING, TX) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I playes single player and I fell in love with this. The story is long and its great and it kept me busy. Most games usually finish short and I end up boring after I am done. I am big fan of Bioshock and I am still waiting for BioShock 2. Now this game will keep me busy for long long time... I love this game. I think ya'll would like this if you like long game. Graphics is good and its spooky sometimes. There's tricky to this game but I pick up pretty lot later on. It would be good idea to get guide book to get help if you are confused what to do in this game. This is sure fun to play once you get to keep on your patient and you will get used to it... seriously! At first I was not sure about it but I love it after I collected all the diamonds for viel, mire, sheild, and that red diamond I forgot what its called.. its very useful. I have not get to play Multiplayer yet but I am not fan of it anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wolfenstein starts off slow

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Here is the deal on Wolfenstein takes like 5 hours of game play for the Game to get Going. At Frist you are like what the heck what a so so out dated Game. About halfway through the Game picks up Great Gun Battles Boss Fights plus better looking Levels. If you can get through the frist 5 hours you will be Fine. Is it worth a buy Sure it is you have them Mad Crazy Germens doing very evil things and they must be stoped. Sure the frist 5 hours is like Boreville if you can get through that Evil you will be a happy Gamer. Mars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wolfenstein

posted by thunder32 (GAYLORD, MI) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Not as fun as you might think, game is long and drawn out. Really never catches your attention

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing Special

posted by theazdream (Tempe, AZ) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Graphics looked like they ripped off Call of Duty: World at War. The actual game-play, the weapons and the way they fire look and feel just like WaW. The plot was very interesting, but it wasn't well developed. Definitely on my, "glad I only rented this game" list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wolfenstein...Disappointment of a lifetime

posted by Deadite (GILLETTE, WY) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game was simplistic and moronic. Any true fan of shooters will be highly disappointed as the graphics are sub par, the storyline is so full of holes they will one day name a cheese after it and the mechanics were set up for a toddler to rock the enemies worlds. Save yourself the trouble of playing it and just shoot yourself in the head.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wolfenstein

posted by august11 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I could not go any father after I first chose a machine gun. It was a terrible experience to get a glitch such an early stage of the game. This game is NO GOOD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wolfenstien

posted by robert507 (CHENEY, WA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I have played this game and felt the creators did a fantastic job redoing this game. I felt the action was terrific. the graphics and game flow were superb. I really liked the new weapons and the crystals. Is there going to be a Wolfenstien 2 in the near future? I do plan to buy this game soon and add it to my collection. Great job on the creation of this game. Sincerely Robert Batson

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

This is a Good game but has a few Problems such as the player having to watch that they dont get in places that are easy to get into but that you can't get out of. and not being able to save when you need to gets old

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by joeyT1999 (FRANKLIN, MA) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

One day I was looking for a WW2 shooter and I found Wolfenstein. I know this does not make a difference to most people, but I loved how the game really grasped the desperation of the Germans to become God-like and their extreme religous beliefs. I am a history geek, so I would know. A lot of the history in the game is actually true. The Germans did do experiments just like the experiments in the game. The Germans had crazy ideas, including using powers from alternate universes to take over the world. It really did impress me, the accuracy of history I mean. But to get to the point I will rate every aspect of the game.

Gameplay: A
Storyline: A+
Graphics: B+
Audio: B
Multiplayer: C

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its not too hot, its not too cooled its just ok

posted by justsomegeek (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The game starts off slow just like any other first person shooter game out there, so you can get familiar with the controller's button lay out but fear not as you progress further in the game it gets interesting.

Pros:

- The Story line is well done enough to keep you interested in it to want to know what happens next.

- The weapons you get to use in the game are awesome and unique. You also get to upgrade them when you earn enough cash (gold)

- The game's graphics are well done both the environment and characters.

Cons:

- There is a little annoying problem when you want to switch your weapons to a different one.

- the game could have been a little bit longer, it feels some what short.

50/50

- multiplayer is fun and entertaining to play in Wolfenstein. Like every other FPS game out there you have different classes and weapons to choose from.

- However its a little hard to controller your movements in the match.

when its all said and done its a great game to rent, the multiplayer its a little hard to move around but is fun and entertaining to play. the Developers could have made a few improvement in the game so it would have been more successful. So I recommended to any one who is interested in Wolfenstein

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse