Rent Wolfenstein: The New Order for PS4
view large frontback

Wolfenstein: The New Order

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

1386 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mr. Blazkowicz is back and as UBER as ever

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) May 21, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wolfenstein The New Order is a sequel of sorts to ID software's 2009 Wolfenstein and continues the franchise that pretty much started FPS gaming. The game takes place in an alternate universe where the Naz.i regime wins WW2 and takes over the world, and you play BJ Blazkowicz, who wakes up from a head injury to discover the Na.zis he fought so hard against in WW2 won the war and have dominated the planet. B.J doesn't take too fondly to this and decides to round up the remaining resistance fighters and strike back at the Krauts. Some of the characters that make up your band are returning characters from the 2009 title and I was pleasantly surprised at this.

I believe the team (Starbreeze) that developed The Chronicles of Riddick and The Darkness created this game and like the other games they have developed; a story driven FPS. They game harkens back to an older day when there weren't regenerating health bars / shields and this old school mechanic that was prevalent in ID's other FPS is a refreshing change of pace. The game runs solidly at 60 fps and 1080p and although the first 3 levels are sort of disappointing from a graphical standpoint the rest of the game is quite beautiful and definitely next gen. There are great weapons in the game that have a nice heft and feel (most of which you can dual wield), and watching a Na.zi's head explode into a pile of gore never gets old. There is a perk system in the game which spans 3 categories (stealth, assault, and demolition) and although the rewards aren't the best for the perks it seems to be pretty organic and integrated in the game in a way in which you don't really have to go out of your way to unlock them. There are collectibles scattered throughout the levels, and some of them unlock new game modes that give incentive to run through the game again. Also the game spans 16 levels and if you are the type to take your time and explore 18+ hrs isn't out of the question. A+

SuperMcMutant (PSN)
FalloutNewVegaz (Xbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well done

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say that i totally dig this game, the graphics and game play are smooth and pretty awesome. The story line so far is pretty good as well. I have played about 5 total hours so far, but im doing alot of exploring on this game to see what cool stuff i can find.
This game is a must rent because if you like 1st person shooters, you'll like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

expectations blown away!

posted by dedncide (Covington, GA) Jun 3, 2014

Member since May 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

been a huge fan of wolfenstein since the yonder pc days and i must say... this one smokes any expectations i had for the franchise after that last effort a few years back i was concerned but this is a dang solid game. Best single player since bioshock, give it a run!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Person Shooter Gone Right!

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My only complaint about the Ps4 so far is that there isn't that many games for it yet...there is barely one a week if that. On the other hand, the ones that are released are almost always the best you can expect from a next gen system. This FPS is a great example of an excellent example...the story (a world where Germany won WWII) is cool but not too many cutscenes so can actually play it and not watch, it's simple and not to big so you know where you're going, a great upgrading system, a variety of weapons, not too hard, and not 60 hours long where you loose interest. The graphics are excellent, the AI is smart, and you just can't help playing it another hour because it just hits the right marks....if you like shooters don't pass on this one because it's not the new Call of Duty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best shooter in years

posted by Supermane1985 (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 26, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is essentially flawless. The combat is bombastic, guns are great, environments are great and offer multiple options/paths to completion, and there are tons of hidden goodies. Basically all characters are likable, well written, deep, and realistic. I honestly can't remember the last shooter that reached this level of design quality. Do not miss this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic story!

posted by RevPete (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those of us that have followed the Wolfenstein franchise since the original Castle Wolfenstein on the Apple II, this is finally a breath of fresh air.

Gone are the supernatural elements of Return to Castle Wolfenstein, having been replaced by much more believable elements of an advanced secret society, which inadvertently helps the Nazis win WWII.

You play as William Blazkowicz, a gritty workhorse of a soldier, who finds himself in a mental institution years after the end of the war. The war still fresh in your mind, you set about to make it right again.

The journey takes you through quite a variety of fantastic locations (including a German moon base!), which helps keep the game play varied, while still consistent. Weapons and modifications found along the journey help you gain more power, and are presented in such a way that you don't get too confused with all the additional control options.

And one important decision that you make in the middle of the game has consequences through the rest of the game. The character development is remarkable, and the story line will keep you engaged until the very end.

I would have given this game a full-blown 10 rating, except that the one annoying part of the game is that you're part of a group fighting for justice, but they have you (Blazkowicz) do absolutely ALL of the work, it seems. It gets a bit old after a while.

Definitely rent this game! And I will purchase it in a few months when it becomes more affordable. The GameFly Keep It price is actually higher than buying it at Costco right now, but I'll wait until it comes down into the bargain range. I will definitely play it again, if only to find out what happens if I make a different choice in the middle!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More games like this !

posted by VonHolster (ROCKAWAY, NJ) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ive been bored with games for a while. I enjoyed this very much. I dont have time to waste anymore on games that lead me on long treks. Just give me the game !!! And this one does it. Great FPS. Story is taken serious. Some solid gore. Highly recommend it. PERFECT RENTAL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BJ Blazkowicz is back and better than ever!

posted by audimane (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes this game is about killing Nazis over and over. But this time they went for a new approach (no more supernatural) it's all technology Nazis acquired, they have won the war and BJ is back to kick some Nazis butt! He actually has a surprisingly amount of depth to his character (through flashbacks, get to hear his thoughts and even a love interest). Yes you will be pressing a button over and over for ammo, armor, health etc and that is the only reason I knocked it down from a 9 to an 8. I's a fun shooter with a good amount of fun weapons, skill points, and you can choose what you want to do (i.e stealth or full assault). And the cover mechanics (press and hold L1 to pop up, go down, left or right is very fun and helpfull) Overall, I Highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wolfenheimer: The Struggle for Deathshead

posted by SnootHonk (OROVILLE, CA) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When you first pop in the newest installment of the decades-old Wolfenstein into your PS4, you might be surprised to see that the installation alone is about 52GB, but when you see that Wolfenstein has some of the best visual fidelity yet seen on a console, you'll understand why the file is so immense.
Wolfenstein sticks to tried and true FPS gameplay mechanics, is "Uber" difficult yet immensely rewarding, and is well written, and to an extent, a great exercise in creative science fiction has here been realized. Coupled with solid voice acting, a compelling narrative, and its ultra-fast albeit over-the-top gunplay, Wolfenstein presents us with a memorable single player campaign-only odyssey few other recent titles can muster. Depending on which difficulty setting you choose, the game can either be a breeze or a frustratingly unforgiving visceral experience of the highest intensity. I should go into greater detail about some of the specifics of dual-wielding, lesser accuracy or damage reduction based on firing from the hip as opposed to crosshairs as seeming to have no significant impact, the way perks are unlocked, the way you can overcharge your health into the hundreds, not to mention all the collectibles...but most of these are more fun to master organically, as you play through this incredible piece of software. I would highly recommend this game, just keep an eye on how much HDD space you've got, not to mention the 5GB update you'll need to download in order to play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

perfect blend of old and new school shooter

posted by Igneuss (LEBANON, VA) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

All I can say is wow. Epic conclusion for he series if they stop here which they could.

The story, acting, animations, etc are all excellent. The visuals could have been a little better and the glitches a little less in number would give this game an easy 9.

This game is even better in terms of story than Watch Dogs which I played before this.

You got the perfect blend of old school shooter well mixed with modern shooters. You got the cover mechanics. A bleed out-health return system with a touch of old school health and armor. All the weapons and their effects are also nicely done and for once dual wielding was done right in the last 3 years!

The only thing the game lacks is a solid multiplayer and a longer story. I completed the game on average in about 15 hours taking my time. it's got adventure style puzzles, mini quests, and some cool qte-like sequences.

I'd highly give this game a rent and if you're a fan of the series buy it and add it to your collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by Mad_Dog_555 (CHESTER, VA) Jun 6, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first in the beginning I was thinking this is just another FPS was not to impressed. But after playing for a couple of hours the game just keeps getting better and better. Only bad thing I can think of is sometimes the controls get messed up sometimes. You could be using a gun turret and he will switch to using your other guns while aiming sometimes and waste ammo lol. Could be my controller but I enjoyed every minute of this game so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Giving substance to an otherwise mindless shooter

posted by Jon_Hop (LARGO, FL) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did not think it was possible to flesh out the protagonist in a Wolfenstein game, but the developers at Machine Games have managed to do just that in a very crafty, meaningful way.

Where some reviews have knocked The New Order (TNO) for relying on shooting tropes from a bygone era of gaming, I personally find it refreshing and exciting all at once. Gone are the regenerating health and superfluous amounts of shields that have been given out so freely in previous shooters. In their place comes a somewhat tedious, but welcomed, system of picking up your health and armor that is scattered quite liberally.

On top of this, from the moment you "stab" the first enemy on to picking up your first gun and subsequently mowing down legions of Nazis from that point on, there is a sense of awkward, gritty gravity to each of these kills. It may just be me, but the sound design for this game pops, literally, as each shot from your guns hits their targets with an unnerving sonic accuracy. The controls for this game make such kills possible with a dedicated Lean / Cover button and dual wielding capabilities; again, much welcomed additions to such a shooter.

It has been quite a while since any depiction of war-time violence / human rights violations hit home for me, and for some reason the depiction of concentration camps within TNO is done to a viscerally well degree. Smoke stacks, incinerator rooms, filthy bunks with fecal matter and flies, it's there and it's disturbing. For all the mindless killing comes some time for reflection and reverence for what was lost during this war and what we can do as global citizens moving forward into the future.

Too deep for a Wolfenstein review, I know, but as shallow as this game can sink with the violence, it can soar to the proper heights of making you reflect; forced / arbitrary or not, it's welcomed.

Closing: Great gameplay coupled with even better controls and a narrative that handles various WWII moments issues interest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Total Action FPS with a interesting story

posted by ebounce88 (POULSBO, WA) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although I have played Wolfenstein games before, I always thought they were below some of the better FPS out there.. I rented this on the redbox since I was bored and the games can be so scarce on Gamefly... Still waiting for this and Watch dogs so I can complete Wolfenstein. From what I did play the story is good and interesting, graphics are nice, gameplay is solid.. If you want a challenge and constant brutal action this games for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game with minor issues

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I normally will disagree with the industry reviews (IGN, etc). However, with this title, IGN is dead on. It has weird ties to what "a Wolfenstein game" should be to a fault. These include:

-button presses to pick things up. There's seriously stuff everywhere, and you really won't find a situation where picking it up will hurt you or even hinder your gameplay experience.

-weird dual-wielding. The recoil, accuracy, etc., involved in the dual wielding are stupid. This should be a fun part of the gameplay, but it's become a thing I avoid doing (I'm on a harder difficulty) because it's only useful with the shotguns, and maybe not even then.

If you set those things aside, though, the game is fun. It has a pseudo-level-up system based on how you play, and it has a really cool art style. It also manages to be dark and twisted, and adult in a way that isn't only blood and gore and whatnot. It makes the normally undefined Blaskowitz into a likeable, reasonably deep character who loves and who feels real emotions, and who is well-acted.

The bottom line here is I really like this game more than I was anticipating, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to play a good story-mode-shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD GAME

posted by blink070810 (ANAHEIM, CA) May 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is not what i expected, its a lot funnier then it seems. it just has something that a lot of the fps coming out today have, which is FUN. its not that realistic seeing as you get stabbed multiple times during some cutscenes and you get right back up like nothing is wrong. but i think thats what makes it such an exciting game. all the fps that come out today try to be too realistic and give you that wannabe simulation feeling. where this game just focuses on full out carnage against the NAZIs. while you are playing you will notice that you do not need to aim down sight while making your play through. its an option, but is definitely not required in this game. but beware this game is quite hard. your health barely regenerates and they are always hordes of Nazis and robots(that are impossible to kill) coming at you. sometimes going guns blazing isn't always the best way and you will get a little frustrated. but all in all this game is AMAZING :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Engaging first person shooter- ps4 well-used

posted by 2ndglances (NEW YORK, NY) May 25, 2014

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bethesda continue the Midas touch with this dirrty, naazzi killing machine. Fun and aggro, the game reacts to your playing style (stealth, rampage etc) by unlocking perks in that direction. An EXCELLENT title for the new-gen hardware, which as I'm sure you've noticed are desperate for games. Cool story, surprising twists from time to time although not many story-alternating decisions within the game (not quite Dishonored but awesome in its own way). Graphics are great, music cues are tight and very few bugs in thIs beautifully complete release (like under 3 in total). Big THANKS to the crews who made this game happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wolfenstein Game Ever!

posted by rivencleft (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 23, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of Wolfenstein since the original back on PC, long ago. My favorite Wolfenstein game for the longest time was Return to Castle Wolfenstein, but that has quickly changed. This game is great, I didn't get it from GameFly so I went out and bought it, and I am glad I did. From the beginning of the game there are 2 paths in which you can go down, involving choice, making this game something great to play through twice, at least. This game is great, start to finish, complete action packed experience with never a dull moment in-between killing Nazis and exploring your environment. I love the fact that instead of normal skill points to upgrade your skills or perks you have to earn those skills through completing challenges, i.e. kill 10 Nazis with a grenade and you get the upgrade to carry more grenades, but that's not it, there is so much more and best thing about it, each time you unlock a perk you pop a trophy for that perk. I would say that I have not enjoyed a first person shooter game this much since Bioshock 1 & 2, the game has so much to offer and is a blast to play, so I definitely recommend renting this game at least, or buy it, it's that good. Oh, and I forgot to mention, this game is beautiful, with gorgeous graphics and running at 1080p 60fps, and you can definitely tell by how smooth the game play is, looks like a game being played on the PC, it's that good. I'm about to start my second playthrough and I cannot wait to see how much it changes from that one single choice you have to make in the beginning of the game. I would buy this game again just to support the developers because I truly hope they make another one in the future, this is worth a trilogy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by mloap (SANFORD, FL) May 31, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only problem is the wheel to choose a weapon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A I makes games unplayable

posted by Musa3486 (ORANGE, NJ) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The A I in this game tanks.while crouching a guard will look right at you and still won't react.graphics was pretty good but too unrealistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than most

posted by PhantomBullet69 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This games biggest flaw is its repetitiveness and it's insistence on terrible characters and story but otherwise it has some really good moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good but...

posted by ByeByeBye (STOCKTON, CA) Sep 8, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

1. Too much cutscenes.
2. Enemies will at shot you wherever you are hiding, they act like they can see through wall/everything.
3. You have to wait for the game loading every time you dead.
4. The pointing of weapons are all useless.
5. Voice actor too low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really addicting !

posted by Hurrucan (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

At first I was a little bored, but then the story kicked in, and boy is it exciting !

I love the classic FPS feel to it, although the graphics aren't top notch PS4 but still the game has a real good flow to it, and I'm really enjoying it !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best original title I've played on PS4

posted by nitrojuga (ALTO, GA) Aug 31, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

This game was awesome. It starts out like your standard war shooter, but drastically changes a couple of hours in. You get immersed in a rich story, that kind of reminds me of Bioshock in a way. Very dark, kind of cliche, but overall great story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wolfenstein is boring

posted by redsox9 (MANCHESTER, CT) Aug 25, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't... Stop....playing...

posted by HannibalMrH (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 22, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

This wolfenstein is by far the best of all wolfenstein. The story is so long and so worth every second one plays it. Story line is griping and grabs hold of the player enjoying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse