Rent Wolfenstein: The New Order for PS3
view large frontback

Wolfenstein: The New Order

Rent

Keep for: $37.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

438 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

wolfenstein the bs edition

posted by auron420 (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

4 things i hate about this game 1 not telling your objectives clearly 2 the controls 3 the graphics look like a last gen game 4 terrible stealth sections . the only good thing in this game is the story but it is handicapped by the following things i said good thing i didn't pay 60 dollars for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unplayable piece of garbage!

posted by U4icDissonance (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jun 7, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is my Wolfenstein experience in a nutshell.
"Get in the turret!"
"Uh, where's the turret?"
BOOM. Dead.

later, "slide under the robot dog!"
ok, I'll just grab this health kit that's glowing and in my field of vision. NOPE. Took too long. Dead.

Ok, made it out of the intro sequence. On a beach. Not telling me what to do, guess I'll walk forward. EXPLOSION. Dead.

Guess I'll go to the right this time. Get stuck in ground, have to reload from checkpoint.

Ok, that was weird, I'll try left. Get stuck in ground AGAIN.

HOW IN THE HECK IS THIS GAME GETTING 8's AND 9's!? I'm not the best when it comes to shooters, but after more than 150 games rented from this site in the past 5 years I should absolutely be able to make it through the first 10 minutes of a game without dying every thirty seconds and being unable to progress because of a game-breaking bug. Unforgivable. Highly recommend you stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

first time writing a review

posted by generalblackpaw (LAKESIDE, CA) May 24, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

now i never played any of the other games in the franchise but i thought that this was a really good game and i really liked the detail on the characters' faces as well. now sadly i feel that there wasn't as much detail in the environment like on the signs most of the were really blurry or pixelated so i feel this game should get an eight because of the lack in detail. also i was bummed out to see that the main character didn't have feet nor did he cast a shadow i have seen this in other games but i don't know how hard it is to do movement tracking when the character is moving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but not good enough

posted by jaketra (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 11, 2014

Member since May 2013

When I started playing this game I expected a lot of cussing. Turns out their was only a few cussing parts. But thats ok I guess, since it is a shoot'em up game that has lots of stabbings and death scenes in it. The weirdest part I found about this game is that the main character talks to himself and I mean he talks to himself a lot. in fact its really to see that in a video game like this. other than that good game, good graphics, good action, the only thing i hate about this game is the nazis. the enemies in this game are really annoying. thats why I say "I hate Illinois nazis"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game so much

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

I like this game so much I like graphics and gameplay I love the story and stuff even there no multiplayer also what I like there is pretty much amount guns even you can duel and do a perk challenge there 8 each on each perk and the trophies pretty easy you can do this is one go. There is no glitch or bugs or anything there is no parts don't like about this game I gave it 10/10 go buy or rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mixed Feelings

posted by Deathpact (MARENGO, IL) Jul 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I was excited to try this game as I enjoyed the previous Wolfenstein titles. When it came in the mail I was over joyed. I popped it in. Immediately I found that the character voices are very quiet while the action around them is very loud. Luckily I play every game with subtitles so I over looked this. I decided to play on the hardest difficulty since I'm not a new comer to shooters. Things were going great until about chapter 6 or so. Then the frustration began. Note, this isn't because "I'm not doing good, this game sucks!" Here's what happened.

You find yourself heading towards a hallway literally filled with enemies. There are 2 heavily armored shotgun enemies, which are extremely hard to kill on UBER. Nothing a few grenades and well aimed shots can't handle. I'm leaning and shooting from cover when I realize I'm getting damaged A LOT from behind. Thinking an enemy flanked me I turn around only to see my team mate. Yes, your team mate's shots hurt you. Keep in mind you can't even shoot at your team mate so why they thought one sided friendly fire was a good idea is beyond me. I overlook it, pick up some health and continue to clear the hallway. I see an enemy laying on his back in a last stand position, aiming his pistol at me. I shoot him a bunch before I realize he's dead, but glitched. Okay, one glitch isn't too bad.. I continue, getting to the end of the hall triggers a dog to pop out and obliterate your health. You head down and there's about 4 more tough enemies. Finally I get past this extremely hard segment and head outside. No checkpoint, more tough guys. The enemies I kill start to glitch, I kill them and they just stand there. My team mate rushes to the car after I clear the enemies. I can't get in. So I go explore a bit, at full health. No enemies in site, I turn to check out a narrow corridor. Instantly get peppered by phantom bullets and die. Forced to replay the entire segment.

TL;DR: The game is fun but glitches and poor design ruin it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wolfenstein

posted by miketittle (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Wow this game is insane and and gory

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic Back-to-Basics Shooter

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 8, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

Thank goodness for a return to a shooter that is not trying to re-invent the genre by also being an RPG or strategy game - it's DNA is firmly rooted in successful First Person Shooters of the past.

Uncomplicated story, great character writing, evil badguys, cool weapons, solid gameplay, simple controls.

It makes you wonder why some developers struggle so much with this genre. Wolfenstein: The New Order makes it look easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than i thought

posted by Russ_T (OCOEE, FL) Jun 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I thought this game would be boring and poor quality! I was wrong. Great story line, good graphics, good layout, awesome weapons ! I was surprised. I give it an 8 1/2 easy. I recommend this game all day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't be fooled by low reviews. Decent reboot.

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Jun 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2005

I'll admit that the original Return to Castle Wolfenstein was a masterpiece that this reboot does not achieve, but this is a decent game nonetheless. My major criticism is that it starts off poorly and that the enemy AI is quite dumb, but overall it's a good effort and it picks up nicely towards the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

RE-boot but not better than original

posted by Garyfromulsa (TULSA, OK) Jun 11, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

It's bad and if this is what we have to look forward to for new releases this is a sad time for gaming. Cannot change the fire from R2 WHYYYYY? Pandering to the lowest common denominator yes it's there. The bad ole' Nazis wooo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a bug stopped my game!

posted by steveninga (SAVANNAH, GA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

sadly a bug in the game stopped my progress and I couldn't save anymore!! I will say it was fun for the most part but seeing as how I cant get past chapter 3 it gets 5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

gamefly is aesome

posted by prettiegrl (BEACON, NY) May 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2010

let me start off by saying this game is good. Just picture black ops 2 with no muti, well maybe not BO2 but MW3 and you got the game down. this is a great rent fun, fast paced, ok story, but no muti and no replay value so like i said gamefly is awsome this game is why im glad i have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid game. but has flaws!

posted by Bluedevildude (CRAMERTON, NC) May 25, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Very solid game! great graphics and gameplay.. Here's the downsides as far as i'm concerned..First of all, NO MULTIPLAYER! the other little things that annoy me about the game is the CONSTANT need to pick up ammo, armor and health. I often found myself more distracted with picking up items than fighting enemies. And you character is constantly checking his clip or fiddling with his weapon for no apparent reason. But overall, a good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than average

posted by ReaperEvilDead (LYNWOOD, CA) May 24, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

Is it playable? yes

Are there glitches? No,but there was this part of the game where I jumped into an obscure location on the map and got stuck.I fixed this by restarting the level.

Does it look good? yes.The cutscenes looked great,and the graphics look good.

Are the controls easy to manage? It's ok.The weapon selection wheel was really sensitive and would often select the wrong gun.

Is the game challenging? yes,but also too challenging.I was deep into the game at the hardest difficulty,but was forced to lower it at a certain point.

Is the story original? Yes.I do not know of any other game that features the nazis winning the war and conquered the world.

Are the character likable? No. Although the characters have faced trauma,there were times when I question their actions.The protagonist is void of any personality.Villains are your basic evil maniacs with no reason for their malice.

Is the gameplay good? no.Although you receive a good amount of arsenal,there really aren't any creative ways to dispose of people save stealth kills.You are forced to kill nazis,so if you wanted to play stealthy without killing anyone then your out of luck here.

Is the replay high? No.The replay is low at best as the only reasons you would want to go back is to search collectibles,and make a different crucial story decision.Replay can be moderate if your goal is to get all trophies.

Do I wish I had bought this game instead? No.

Worth the rent? Yes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »