Rent Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

5242 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for RPG lovers but be warned..

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Apr 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

73 out of 89 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

So far this has turned out to be a really good game. The controls are really simple to get the hang of, the scenery is absolutely incredible and the story is pretty enthralling. There are also plenty of sidequests to keep you entertained. These aren't your average sidequests either. The decisions you make during a side quest can either greatly reward you or come back to bite you in the year. In this aspect the game does a great job of really making you use your better judgement.

However, the combat in the game can be very challenging. If you think you can get by just hacking and slashing you are dead wrong. You really have to do a good job in using the games sword/magic system. Spells can really get you out of bad situations in this game but when spells just wont do, you have bombs and potions. You have to use everything at your disposal. Some people might be a little turned off by this but its really quite easy once you get the hang of it. I will admit the developers could have been a little more clear on the alchemy menu and what not but its not to the point where you will be lost trying to make potions.

Graphics wise, this game is absolutely gorgeous. Although, it does suffer from some minor texture discrepancies, those can easily be taken care of by downloading the game to your hard drive. There might also be an occasional bug here or there but its nothing major.

All in all this game is really fun and very enjoyable. Definitely worth a rent and if you have the money and are looking for a quality RPG then i highly recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Every RPG fan do yourself a favor and pick this up

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Apr 24, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

38 out of 51 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The witcher 2 is by all means an amazing RPG, it gives u all the RPG elements you love and it doesn't let you down on the combat either. They certainly did a great job giving you so much, and without making you feel like something was left out.

The PC version looks better, and the game is more of a challenge on the PC version, but the game is still challenging (if play on higher difficulty) but I see no problem with this, if you think your attack through with potions, grenades, and traps instead of just rushing up to ten enemies swinging your sword like a psycho you should be able to make it through.

This story is amazing, and it gets you interested in the prologue, and I stayed glued to the TV through all my 45 hours of gameplay. You're choices do matter a lot, and the impact of your choices doesn't show until later unlike other games.

Unlike ME, the witcher show's how romances should be done. This game is rated M, and it treats you like a mature gamer throughout you're experience, you don't just "romance" one person, you'll find yourself in bed with someone extremely often, and the scenes are more mature than in other games.

The combat is great, the lock on system might let you down some times, but this is one of the RPG's were they succeeded on combat without failing on the story (Kingdoms of Amalur). Side missions are very interesting and not repetitive at all, and they do impact your story a lot. The story can result in a wide variety of endings so the replay value is high here. I'd reccomend playing the tutorial to understand how it works.

Pros:
- Great combat
- challenging gameplay
- Great story
- Looks amazing, especially on PC
- treats you like a mature gamer
- Choices DO matter (unlike ME3's ending)
- Wide variety of ways to approach enemies ( spells, traps, potions, sword etc)

Cons:
- The lock on system can be a little bit off.
- No fast travel ( depends on how you see it)

Amazing 9,5 out of 10 toasts

Why are u still rea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Game was Awesome

posted by SoulGamer (STAFFORD, TX) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I never played witcher 1, but you don't have to in order to understand whats happening in part 2. The game is very fun and the story engaging. The characters are interesting, there twists and turns, and concludes very well. The gameplay is well done too. 1 heavy attack, 1 light attack, dodge, magic, and items (bombs, daggers, etc.) The problem I had with this game was the glitches and repetition. I experienced alot of glitches to where sound cuts off, npc are flapping around, and game freezes. The game can be repetitive because it's not like bayonetta where you can do all these awesome combos, it's just save combos over and over. Overall, the game was fun and awesome. Can't wait for part 3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The White Wolf

posted by YakuzaShiro (BLACKSBURG, VA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Witcher 2 is a good game and won't dissapoint anyone that is even slightly interested in RPGs. Taking around 25~30 hours with the side quests in the game it is not without its flaws.

First, the combat is not only difficult, but also extremly difficult to get a hang of. There is also a severe lack of variety, Geralt gets to use a sword, 5 magic spells, and a dagger. Werid due to the fact that the NPCs around you have a large variety of weapons, effectively causing me to feel restricted.

The user interface is also a pain as well and must secretly be a creul maze that the developer put into the game.

Everything else about the game is amazing. An immersive world, great story, interesting characters, diverse dialouge, and dynamic dialouge chioces. There is also a branching point in the game allowing for at least 2 playthoughs in the game to guarentee you learn the whole story.

Well worth a rent and if the combat is too difficult turn the difficulty down to easy, maybe worth a buy if your going for the hardest difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CD Projekt- The Modern Day Bioware

posted by EmoChips (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

16 out of 26 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Remember the days when Bioware Corp. was around? Games like Baldur's Gate and KOTOR? Well those were the great days. Sadly Bioware's new business model is that RPG's can't survive without being a hybrid with another genre that dominates. I don't agree with that.

In comes CD Projekt. Their philosophy stands on bringing mature RPG experiences where choices you make in a game truly have consequences. The Witcher I on PC was a good game where they experimented. The Witcher II is as close to perfection in blending mature story telling, TOUGH RPG mechanics, and choices with consequences.

I can't really tell you much that you can't read online in other reviews. I can tell you this: the game is around 30 hours and if you can buy it. It's worth the money.

The graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is tough yet rewarding if you are careful, and the story is told masterfully. What I really enjoyed though is this: your big choices in this game TRULY matter.

Unlike Bioware who, after Mass Effect 3, demonstrated to us that they only give the illusion of choice, The Witcher II actually shows you it matters. You start out the game one way and then are forced to choose what to do and depending on your choice the entire second act [3 acts total] is different.

Play the title. It made me fall in love with deep RPG's all over again. The combat is awesome fun. Making potions could be the difference between you living or dying in a battle. CD Projekt became my favorite developer within 2 games. Something Bioware had done before they sold out.

If you are willing to give this game a go here are some tips:
-Do the tutorial at the beginning. It will recommend you a difficulty based on how you do in it, though you are free to choose [I would follow its advice though, it's a tough game].
- Make potions. Potions can determine whether you live or die in a battle.
-Choices are morally grey. Don't be afraid to choose and choose what you think you prefer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great RPG

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

29 out of 50 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

REnt it if you can and you will love it. Buy it if you have the money because it is at least 30 hours in length so it is worth it. 360 version just as good as computer with little limitations in the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If Only Every RPG Was This Thorough

posted by Itsugiesha (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jun 15, 2012

Member since May 2011

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game succeeds in doing so many things right, that it's flaws are almost unimportant. I have a truly hard time giving a game a 10/10 but in this case i felt it was absolutely deserved.

Positives
-The Story-
The story of The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings is one of the most compelling I have ever seen in an RPG, especially seeing as the original idea for The Witcher was from a series of novels and short story collections.
The game begins with the main character, Geralt, a hunter of monsters known as Witchers, accused of regicide. His quest begins shortly after to clear his name before the hangman can silence the truth forever.
The game is filled with compelling characters that drive Geralt's story further and make his life much more complicated. You will grow to love or hate each one.
-Graphics-
This game boasts beautiful graphics tah twill draw you into the world and make you wonder what is around the next corner or beyond the next grove of trees. Wether it's you enemy exploding in a bloody mess or the detailed design of a crumbling ruin's walls, you will find yourself astounded by the attention to detail in this game's graphics.
-Voice Acting-
There were no characters in this game that felt one dimensional due to their story or voice actor's performance. Each person has a great story to tell and their voice actors do an excellent job of portraying their wide range of emotions.

The Negatives
-Crafting-
I wish there had been more to do with crafting. It's not that the system doesn't work or is terribly flawed, but I hardly needed to do any crafting besides a couple swords, a pair of trousers, and some throwing knives to be satisfied with my combat performance.I guess I just like a more filled out list of craftable items.

This game is fully worth your time. There is some getting used to to be done in the very beginning, but it is more than worth your effort to watch the beautiful story unfold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Good

posted by mattiekins (CARROLLTON, GA) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game right from the beginning. The way the game recommends your difficulty level is something I would love to see in many other games. I wish the skill trees were more advanced or, at least, came in more handy. The game really felt like it just didn't matter what I put on the skill tree. As long as you have some good armor and a high damage weapon, you don't really need to do much with your magic and pretty much nothing with your alchemy.

This game was also surprisingly short. I saw two discs and was thinking, "Sweet. I'll settle in for a nice long game." But that second disc barely had any content on it at all.

But if you enjoy hack-n-slash rpg games with a great non-linear story line, then you should really play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great story, with a few game flaws

posted by masstershake (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The story was top notch and the replay ability seems awesome

a few things that bugged me,

The lvl cap of 35.

The menu took half a second too long to switch pages.

You can only track 1 quest at a time.

other than those things, a perfect game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply awesome

posted by Sandsworth (THORNTON, CO) May 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I'll start off by saying that I am a huge fan of games that don't "baby" you, and require you to really adapt your play-style to succeed (example: Dark Souls). Witcher 2 certainly fits that category, as the combat is very challenging compared to many of today's games. However, the combat system is only difficult if you refuse to adapt yourself to it.

My favorite part of this game is how well the story is told. The player comes to feel deeply involved in the game world, and must really agonize over certain decisions. You really do feel immersed in the story of the game.

If you combined the great story elements of "Dragon Age: Orgins" and the gritty style of "Dark Souls" you would get Witcher 2.

As for all the standard stuff: graphics are beautiful, controls are responsive, no major glitches.

One of the "must play" games of the year in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good return to RPG in a modern world

posted by DarkKnightAlex (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 14, 2012

Member since May 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

An amazing game that it's up and down but mostly it depends on the individual playing it. You should know what your getting into before you start and if you do than there is no room for complaining. Definitely like demon souls and dark souls not a game for whiners. If you complaining about how much talking or how long the cut scenes and well story takes. Guess what don't play an RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable when it's not frustrating

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) May 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There are a lot of great things to find in The Witcher 2. Unfortunately, they're tied together with a clumbsy combat system that leaves me wondering if the game lost something when being ported over from the PC.

You'll often face multiple enemies at once; by design, you can use LT to lock onto an enemy, and the right analog to cycle targets. In practice, you'll often find youself locked onto the enemy furthest away, in some cases trying to switch targets as closer monsters attack you, other times attacking the locked-on creature while too far away to hit it, and not registering hits to closer enemies to boot. Othertimes you'll try to evade-roll closer to the locked-on monster, only to roll into a crowd of creatures, or get stuck on terrain.

This is on top of having to manage your five spells and items selections via a selection wheel (which slows down combat but does not stop it like in Mass Effect,) or dealing with the occassional delay in activating a spell or thrown item. Add it a few gimmicky bosses and quicktime events, and you're sure to be frustrated at some point or another.

There's a fairly decent story at the heart of it all, allowing you to make decisions along the way that affect the events and people around you. Unfortunately, like with Mass Effect 3, it's not clear if your choices actually affect the overall outcome, or only the cutscenes you get to enjoy on the way from point A to B.

The skill tree system is somewhat different from most other games, letting you develop combat, alchemy, and magic paths. There's a potion/item crafting system too, but with a muddled inventory menu it's often hard to tell what items you can get rid off, and which you actually need.

Overall, the game has its merits, unfortunately they're often overshadowed by terrible combat, an awkward crafting system, and a map/waypoint engine that seems to be completely broken half the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a must buy or rent

posted by Papapandabear1 (DES MOINES, IA) May 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

best game ive bought/played this year, the controls are a bit hard to get used to but once you get everything down it flows like a dream. the combat is pretty realistic and you have to be prepared for every fight as an enemy can kill you just as easily as you can kill it. the game has a very well written story that pulls you in, i found myself unable to stop playing it for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I hate Fantasy RPGs, but this is an Exception

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been at it now for only about 4 or 5 hours but for me this is the best one since Dragon Age Origins so far. Didn't care for Skyrim. Wasn't overwhelmed by Kingdom of Amalur. But this one has me enchanted. The graphics are good. The voice acting is strong and credible. The story is engaging. The combat is fine. So far, so good. If you are no fan of Fantasy RPG's, you might like this one anyhow. A definite rent;maybe even a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game!!!!

posted by anthonydavison (CEDAR FALLS, IA) May 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was a great game loved playing it looking forward to the next game in the series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Better RPGs Out There

posted by PPolski (GLASTONBURY, CT) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In this game you take upon the role of a witcher, a mutant. This enables you to use magic. You are also an expert swordsman and an alchemist, which are two other ways that allow you to dispose of your enemies. You are framed for the murder of your king and for the rest of the game you go about clearing your name as well as helping save the country that you served.

Great game enjoyed it very much. This was actually a game where I went finally a good RPG and decided to actually take my time with it for once instead of just rusing through and beating it.

Pros:
- Great Cinematics
- Great gameplay/combat system (You can do so much with it. There isn't a shortage of ways for you to attack your opponents. Every battle will be different.)
-Great story one of the best.

Cons:
- None really.
-20 - 30 hours of gameplay if that is a con for a rental.

Overall this is a fantastic rental. I wouldn't buy it as I wouldn't recommend buying any game that isn't a sports game or has online capabilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by TXsucks (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 28, 2012

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is by far the best and most adult RPG game that has came out thus far. The game starts out a little slow but it picks up very quickly and once it does then get ready for the most in depth RPG you will ever play! This game has it all, the looks, voice overs, fighting controls, and most importantly innovation. I can honestly say that no other game can compare to this game. However there is something I will advise and that is this is a MATURE game and I wouldn't let any kids play this game without a parent look at it first because some of the content can get pretty vivid. Also this is not a good beginner RPG, if you are new to Role Playing Games then I'd definitely hold off on this and try something a little easier and not as intricate. This game is a definite buy for all of those who like to get deep into their games, but don't take my word for it, throw it on your rent list and let the game talk for itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game but it's more for rpg fans. 7.0

posted by scarbizzle (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I went into this game thinking it was gonna be close to a 9 or above and in certain respects it is, however there is just something off about the entire game as a whole. The combat is clunky and so are many of the animations in the game. The map and way point system are difficult to navigate and lead you into hour long searches for locations that end up being right under your nose. The graphics are gorgeous except for the pop up which is less noticeable if you install the game. The story lines are set up for your decisions to make many differences in the games cut scenes and how others in the world react to you, but the premise of this is never really explained leaving you to figure out how this system actually works when you've already made decisions that you would not have made it if had been explained more clearly in the tutorial. The characters and sound are pretty good and if you are a true rpg fan, the fact that the game has you explore every nook and cranny of the world and the games menus for information and how to proceed and where you might need to go helps to prolong and make you feel like you are part of it's universe. Like I said the game is just ok for me. I went in expecting something different and even though it is, there are too many parts of the game that need fixing to give it a better overall score. True rpg'er s will probably disagree but gamers who still love playing all types of games and looking to see if the game is worthy of the critics average score of 8.5 or 9 will be let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Parental Warning : Graphic Nudity

posted by bruticus168 (MILLVILLE, MA) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Just a heads up for any parents out there .... this is a mature game and M rated for a reason .... there is graphic female nudity (frontal) and graphic s%x cut scenes at the Brothel's in the game ... definately not for the kids ! There is no way to turn this off under game options.

As for the older gamers out there, this game is a solid 8 + ... graphics are good, no glitching, controls are simple in and out of battle. The big difference between the Witcher 2 and say Oblivion, KoA, Skyrim is how the side missions or story lines connect. You don't get innudated with infinite side quests boring you while trying to stay with the main story. The game keeps the flow very manageable even with an abundance of in-game NPC dialogue.

Only into it a day or so, but for the RPGer's out there. You will like the game ... finally a new take on the RPG game style. Definately worth renting ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An overall fun game 7/10

posted by thewinslows (NORTH ADAMS, MA) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Witcher 2 Assassin of Kings was overall...a fun game. You play Geralt of Rivia, a Witcher, who is caught between the turmoil of nations.

What is a "Witcher" you may ask; if like me you never played pt.1 to the series?! A Witcher is in a nutshell, a monster hunter that is given special training, supernatural abilities, and magic powers. A Witcher is primarily trained to combat monsters that terrorize different parts of the world. You have been educated in the art of destroying the pests that plague this world.

As the Witcher Geralt, you are an adept swordsman with a small amount of magical abilities, and a knowledge of crafting magical potions. Geralt is given a good amount of tools to get his jobs done with. Two swords, one silver, one steel, alchemical bombs and potions, traps, daggers, and of course your magic. You will quickly find that being an effective Witcher means utilizing all of your abilities and skills effectively in each fight. Sometimes you go in with just magic and a silver sword. Other times you are running for your life and laying traps!

The Witcher 2 Assassins of Kings is an overall fun game. It has a good story line, great fighting, sweet looking cut-scene cinematic events, and boobies!! Yeah... take the M for Mature rating serious in this instance. This game shines like a diamond at points, but in other instances you find yourself doing the same old thing. For this reason I give it a 7/10, it's a real fun game, but we have seen it all before. I would have loved more content!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Detailed, Great RPG

posted by NJ6fan (LITTLE EGG HARBOR TWP, NJ) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I did not play the origional Witcher game, so I had no idea what I was in for.
I was very impessed with the depth of this game, if you enjoy the details of creating a character then you will love this game. If you like Skyrim, then you will love the Witcher 2.
The graphics are great, and you will enjoy the different area's visited.
This is not your average RPG, be ready for surprises, and mature content that makes sense to the story line.
This is a really long game, and will take a while to get into. Stick with it, and you will be addicted.

9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!

posted by cooldude1990 (PIEDMONT, SC) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game was to put it simply amazing. It perfectly blends RPG style thinking with the classic action feel.I never even once thought about switching from it. My advice if you like gritty gory action in your rpg then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very entertaining

posted by relaxman (LEWISBURG, PA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

A Great story line with twists and turns. This game is one of the reasons video games offer more entertainment than movies.

Also, note that the maturity content (nudity) is as such you wouldn't want your kids in the room while playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Shotenzenz (GLENDALE, AZ) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you look for immersive environment and a deep and enthralling story look no further. Anyone who is a fan of Game of thrones should definitely check this game out. It has the same dark tone rich atmosphere and political intrigue of that show. Here's hoping the game of thrones game can pull off what this game did for the polish book series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EVERY RPG FAN DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND PICK THIS UP

posted by MatthewJS25 (CLEVELAND, GA) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

BEST RPG EVER !
SIMPLY A MASTERPIECE RPG !
10 Out of 10 !
The witcher 2 is by all means an amazing RPG, it gives u all the RPG elements you love and it doesn't let you down on the combat either. They certainly did a great job giving you so much, and without making you feel like something was left out.

The PC version looks better, and the game is more of a challenge on the PC version, but the game is still challenging (if play on higher difficulty) but I see no problem with this, if you think your attack through with potions, grenades, and traps instead of just rushing up to ten enemies swinging your sword like a psycho you should be able to make it through.

This story is amazing, and it gets you interested in the prologue, and I stayed glued to the TV through all my 45 hours of gameplay. You're choices do matter a lot, and the impact of your choices doesn't show until later unlike other games.

Unlike ME, the witcher show's how romances should be done. This game is rated M, and it treats you like a mature gamer throughout you're experience, you don't just "romance" one person, you'll find yourself in bed with someone extremely often, and the scenes are more mature than in other games.

The combat is great, the lock on system might let you down some times, but this is one of the RPG's were they succeeded on combat without failing on the story (Kingdoms of Amalur). Side missions are very interesting and not repetitive at all, and they do impact your story a lot. The story can result in a wide variety of endings so the replay value is high here. I'd reccomend playing the tutorial to understand how it works.

Pros:
- Great combat
- challenging gameplay
- Great story
- Looks amazing, especially on PC
- treats you like a mature gamer
- Choices DO matter (unlike ME3's ending)
- Wide variety of ways to approach enemies ( spells, traps, potions, sword etc)

Cons:
- Absolutely No Flaws!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse