Rent Wipeout for Wii
view large frontback

Wipeout

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.6

2683 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

we like it!

posted by brithug00 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

We are new to the wii, and to modern games-so we wanted to get games we are familiar with the concept. Our kids love the show, so we tried out the game. All in all we really enjoyed it, although its pretty much a game you can play sitting down. I thought it might be more like the wii sports games where you are more a part of the action. The players are funny charachters, and you can choose the size of player you would like (the heavier players seem to be slower, but dont go down as easy, the lighter players are quicker but dont bounce on the balls as sturdy). Its funny to see the slow motion replays of the players wiping out-and while you are watching the other players turn you can aim and shoot balls out of a cannon at them, to knock them down and make them lose time on the clock. We honestly never made it past the "Easy" level, as it gets pretty frustrating at times. the players can be hard to control, its hard to judge the distance of some jumps. I guess thats just a part of mastering the game. the wipeout zone is pretty fun, and i recommend it if you like the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wipeout this one off your wish list!

posted by DeltronDon (HONOLULU, HI) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was rather uneventful, The contestants were hard to control, the graphics were fine, Commentary was lengthy and repetitive. Over all I was unamused by this highly anticipated game, glade I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What is the big deal?

posted by kuchiyose (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

45 out of 51 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I expected this game to suck completely after reading the reviews but being a fan of the show still opted to rent it. The only things that disappointed me was the choice of characters and some of the hit detection areas. The were funnier contestants on the actual show.

This is a "family fun" type of game not to be compared to games for hardcore gamers. And u can tell the game was made that way as just playing through a Wipeout! event without even winning unlocks the next level.

The same hilarity from the show happens in the game. Me and my family laughed like crazy when either of us fell or got knocked off.

As far as graphics it's not wonderful but it's not bad either. The collision animations make some of the best Wipeouts possible but sometimes u wipeout from just falling from too high a jump.

Once again this is NOT for the hardcore gamer. Taking the time to learn the obstacles does nothing for u as I imagine it'll get crazy boring. Just take it for what it is: a FAMILY FUN game. Why so serious reviewers?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

rentable not buyable

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 3, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i love wipeout on tv but this is a very quick game so sadly wipout gets 2 wipeouts out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wipeout is a party game

posted by TheNakedPanda (RANGELY, CO) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was fun for the first hour or two but got easy really fast where you can just run through all the obstacles. but when you get a few people playing it can lead to some pretty fun times. playing with my friends made it worth the rent but without anyone else its not very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Way Fun game for kids and adults

posted by homersherry (CARBONDALE, IL) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this with my 7 year old daughter and 5 year old son. We had a blast. It did involve loudness on our part, reacting to the punishment inflicted on us. I played later with my husband and it was just as fun then. I also played the game alone and it helped me get through my miles on the exercise bike. Loved it. bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Laughing out loud

posted by allielayton08 (OAKLAND, MD) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game will make you laugh as much as if you were watching the tv show. It is better played in a group. Really hoping to see more of these made. It would have been nice to have more courses to run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

love the show

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of wipeout the televison show, so i rented this game with hopes of having a fun and funny game to play. This game is a huge disappointment. The graphics are really good but the gameplay and controls don't work right. There really isnt a whole lot of characters built into the game which makes it boring after you use them all. The obstacles are the same from the show and the hosts look good in 3d animation. This a good rental if you are a fan of the show, but don't waste your money buying this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda funny

posted by HappyCampa (TUSTIN, CA) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is kinda funny when the toons 'wipeout'. It's a bit hard for my 8 year old, but with some practice I think she would enjoy it a little more. The cpu players were hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by Leahzc (LAUREL, MD) Jul 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of Wipout (the show), you're familiar with the insane obstacles and they're just as amusing in this game. The graphics could be better considering it's for the Wii, but they're not TOO bad. My biggest complaint is the reaction time between the controllers and my avatar on screen- WAY too slow. I was knocked into the water/mud when I shouldn't have been had the game's controls been up to par.

All in all, not a bad game. Wish I could give it a better rating because it really was fun to play. I'm just glad I rented it first instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game

posted by realdeal44 (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

There really isn't too much to this game. You pretty much just run thru an episode of Wipeout with up to 4 people. Thats it. And when you are done you just do it all over again if you want to.

As shallow as that formula appears to be, its actually a blast to play if you got friends over. No online play though, but honestly thats not a bad thing. This is the ideal game where you fill up your couch with friends and just laugh at each others wipeouts. Its easy enough for kids to play but challenging enough for adults. And trust me, adults will have just as much fun playing as kids, because the wipeouts are hilarious.

The gameplay consists of only the A and B buttons, the joystick to move, and an occasional shake of the wii-mote to help your player as he/she hangs on for dear life.

This is a good game to rent if you are having people over, or to keep your kids busy. It is cheap if you wanna just buy it, $20 is a good price for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh!

posted by WiiNii (ROCHESTER, WA) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game is so so in my opinion. It's got good audio and most everything matches the TV show, but the graphics could be better, etc. Game get's boring quickly.

Quick rental, play a day, return like I did.

Glad I didn't pay full price on this one, and so glad of gameFly for the rental only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review From Young kids age 9 & 7,

posted by SK8TEAM (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

My favorite part was the big balls. My favorite character was Jill. It was just like the T.V. show but easier and you don't get hurt. Not hard to figure out but challenging. Warning: unless you are expert don't click on it. :) FUN. Really enjoyed playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Terrible Fun Game

posted by Xolitz (ANAHEIM, CA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First the bad. Collision detection is atrocious. Backgrounds aren't rendered very well and there is no use at all of the Wii Motion. The physics created for the ragdoll body flop kick in whenever you are near an obstacle and make it difficult to recover and continue at times. A.C.R.O.N.Y.M. clearly put out something they felt was passable to try and cash in on the TV franchise moderate popularity.

Now the good. The game is fun if you don't care if you die in a cheap manner. The characters are well rendered and the voice acting is passable even at times entertaining. They put a lot of work into the ragdoll body flop to mostly entertaining effects and there is slow motion replays to observe the classic wipeout replays.

Its a fun rental until you cant stand the repetitive nature or the bad hit detection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not really fun

posted by tiltyard (DAYTON, VA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

it was frustrating to have to continually click through other cpu players while i was trying to play. plus i only had 3 tries. without a manual, it was hard to know what to do. it sometimes took 3 tries to figure out how to get through. also i think that the jumping was too hard and too precise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very bad game...

posted by treysilvol (NEVADA, MO) Nov 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is very bad and the controls are awful. I would not recommend this game to anyone. The graphics are just as bad as the controls...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Game That Has Too Much Jumping

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No, Wipeout is not a game about really bad surfers, it’s the console version of an ABC show that is running on TV right now.
In the game (for those of us who haven’t seen the show), contestants navigate their way through a few obstacle courses.
The first on is the qualifier, where the contestants go from start to finish jumping over and/or through obstacles like the Big Balls (four really big balls), the Sucker Punch (A wall with boxing gloves that tries to knock the player off the ledge) and Dirty Balls (balls in mud).
The second course is the Sweeper where the contestants have to avoid getting knocked off a platform by a sweeping pole (or ring)
The third obstacle course varies from Unclaimed Baggage (just like the Sweeper except that players have room to move) to the Dizzy Dummy (a shorter version of the qualifier)
The last obstacle course is the Wipeout Zone. This is exactly like the qualifier, except for a slight variation of the obstacles.
If a player gets stuck on a particular part of the qualifier or Wipeout Zone, the game will give a time penalty and get the player to the next obstacle.
The winner of the first three rounds gets a 10 second advantage over the player in second place a 20 second advantage over the third place player and a 30 second advantage over the last place player. The second place player gets a 10 second advantage over the third place player, and 20 over the last player, and so on.
Winner is player who gets through the Wipeout Zone the fastest.
But the are problems; the gameplay tends to repeat far too much; most of the obstacles involve nothing more than jumping over or on things - entire courses can consist of nothing more than jump, jump jump your way to victory
The commentary can get repetitive, and the words do not match up with the lip movements at all.
Wipeout the game is for hard core fans of the show, and players who like jumping exercises - but the obstacles were too bland for me to like. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wipeout

posted by Awesome123456 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't get it, its like so stupid like it would probable be better for DS like how do you walk ow well its fun some times but ill play it some times well that's my revue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by marcar1997 (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A Must for anyone with a wii, funny everytime. The absolute best wii game EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN

posted by CARNERCD (TAMARAC, FL) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

MY KIDS HAVE A BLAST PLAYING THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wipeout should be wiped off game lists everywhere!

posted by shortie088 (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was extremely disappointed with this game. I was so excited when I was waiting for the game thinking about what it might be like and how cool it would be when it came in. Once the game started to load the anticipation was overwhelming. As I chose my characters (you have to unlock a lot of them) game play was beyond LAME! It had a ton of glitches along with lame game play. It stalls constantly and then if you “step” wrong your player completely goes in to rag doll mode and you can’t regain control and you lose. Furthermore its just the same few courses to play. I suggest renting something different and NOT PURCHASING this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great for about an hour for fans only.

posted by bigguydan (SOLEDAD, CA) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would only recomend this game if you are a fan of the show. It has all the obstacles from the show, funny commentary from the show, and the crazy charecters.

The main problem with the game is that it lacks polish. The cutscense arent in sync, the contorls and collision detection are a bit off. (example: you jump for the platform think you made it but no to close to the edge and you wipeout) This game is best played with other players because in the single game you have to watch the cpu run the course, you can skip them but it guarentees the cpu a win because they complete the course. The commentary is funny, but after an hour you have heard everything the game has and quickly becomes repetative.

Bottom line is get a couple of fans of the show together, and have a night of fun. Fun to be had if you can overlook the wonky controls and collision detection problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why yall hatin on wipeout?

posted by charlie23 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome yall dont no wat your talkin about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game feels rushed and amateur

posted by Southpaw (FORT WAYNE, IN) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game gives off the immediate impression that it was something crapped out as quickly as possible to capitalize on the popularity of Wipeout. The controls are glitchy, unreliable, and doesn't take advantage of the motion aspect of the Wii. The game splits up courses into extremely tiny sections. After you complete these sections, you have to watch 3 computer players do the same thing. 3/4 of the game is spent watching your AI competitors.

It's just terrible, don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wipeout bust for Wii

posted by bboy2car (LANCASTER, OH) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rented Wipeout for my Wii console from GameFly and wouldn't work with my Wii console. Total waste of time!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse