Rent Wipeout Pure for PSP Games
view large frontback

Wipeout Pure

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

864 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the first PSP Must-Have Games

posted by LFoxGamer (SIOUX FALLS, SD) May 4, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly, there aren't a whole lot of quality titles around on the PSP yet. WipeOut Pure, however, is definitely one of them.

The graphics are top-notch. The sound design is awesome. The controls, while they take time to master, are a lot of fun and really make a person feel like they're driving a floating vehicle. And finally, the gameplay is fast, furious, and fun, just like it should be. My only real complaint is that the difficulty after the first set of races really ramps up, but by the time you get done with that first series, you'll be ready for more challenge and more speed.

If you haven't already bought it or rented it from here, you, as a PSP owner, deserve to play WipeOut Pure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best racing game ever

posted by Danielson (GENEVA, NY) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've never been huge on racing games, most get pretty stale after half an hour or so. This one's different.

The learning curve's a little steeper than you'd expect, since you have to get used to the sliding around kind of handling (imagine a hover craft with a jet engine on it), but it adds a whole new racing aspect, since dodging missiles and moving out of harms way is harder, especially with a less nimble craft.

Graphics are great (for those of you who care, I'm more concerned about gameplay).

The AI is better than almost any racer I've seen to date. You're probably used to a bunch of drones that fly down the middle of the track at this speed and occasionally launch some item straight ahead. These ones really race, collect items and boosters just like you do. they're not QUITE like people all the time, but they're tough, and I could swear that in the harder levels when you're on top of the score sheet they start ganging up on you.

The race tracks are completely psychotic, not some lame figure 8 with 3 laps, ever.

And when everybody starts blasting eachother, 2 or 3 racers pile up, you mash somebody into the wall and bounce off 'em 'cause you're going too fast to slow down and make the turn, some laser thing JUST grazes by your right side, you burn the boost you picked up earlier and you slip between 2 other racers and steal the win just before a volley of missiles sends you, and them, flying into the wall, it's the best racing game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

yawn

posted by johnnyrent (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Insanely easy to play and win, and Very boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Frist place

posted by jakeob (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This is the frist racing game for the psp. This game has over the top racing and badass wepons. This is also the fastest speed I saw for a racer yet and the amount of contend for this game is amazing. This is the frist must have game for the psp line up of launch titles. Go get it now or get the seguel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game has officaly Wiped out

posted by WarStarXL (BEAVERTON, OR) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is a racer that can be fun at first.Then after a while there is nothing to do not many tracks your doing the same races like 5 times!!! also there arnt many modes and no online play. and there arnt many vehicles and there is not much to unlock.

The Good:

Its fun racer to play

Graphics Are really amazing

Good variety of power ups

Bad:

Gets boring easily

Really Repetitive

Not much to unlock

Not much Stages or vehicles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Revolutionary Racer

posted by ConFac47 (DENVER, CO) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

WipEout Pure is possibly the best in the series so far. Normally, I have a disposition against racing games; they usually get boring after the first game completion. But WipEout Pure takes the cake. The graphics and frame rate are surprisingly good for the PSP, especially for one of its earlier ports. I thoroughly enjoyed the game, even the races I had long since completed. The controls, while difficult at first, make full use of the PSP's cramped features. The soundtrack doesn't really get old, and manages to keep up a general level of excitement. If you have bought a PSP, I heavily recommend that you invest $20 in this game, it's well worth the money, and is an excellent introduction to the series. If anything, it keeps you from forgetting your PSP altogether, which, unfortunately, seems to be happening often, now that the PS3 has stolen center stage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wipeout pure is a wipeout

posted by Joker3 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

In this game the turning or steering is terrible. All you do is keep crashing into walls for an hour. There is no e brake or anything like that. You can only hope that you make the turn. There are also about 6 vehicles you would think there would be at least 12 or 15 but no. I would not recommend it but recommend you stay away from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An OK Racer

posted by Cybertron (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

This game is interesting because you can hover above ground and fly really fast down the track. But the races are all the same and it is so easy to win the races. Not a bad game, it was alot like Fatal Inertia for the Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good for about ten minutes

posted by regguy43 (BARRINGTON, RI) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

your wasteing alot of money if you buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wipeout pure

posted by louves118 (ROCHESTER, NY) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

worst game i have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the worst psp game ever

posted by abcefghijk (PIONEER, CA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

this game sucks. the worst game ever. nothing else about it. the only good thing about it is the graphics are good. just rent it before you buy it. i dont think its good enough to buy. basically it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

no just no

posted by venom241 (CHINO, CA) Aug 2, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

this has to be the most frusturating game you'll ever play, the controls and clonky and it just plain out isnt fun, i dont recommened it to anyone all it is is an F-Zero wannabe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this is a good choice

posted by boondawg (CATONSVILLE, MD) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

its really fun and there are tons of races and cars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A perfect upgrade of a classic

posted by feltrockni (MARIETTA, GA) Jul 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

I LOVE THIS GAME! This was actually the reason I bought the PSP, and IT WAS TOTALLY WORTH IT! When you start off the game is a lot slower than the original -which t'ed me off to no end- but eventually progresses to be just as insanely fast and awesome! This was the first game I bought for the PSP (unfortunately my dad stepped on it) and it was more than worth the cash, and the lost retina with the screen 2in from my face when my racer exploded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »