Rent Wipeout: In the Zone for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Wipeout: In the Zone

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

2150 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wipe out In the Zone

posted by zman_9 (VENETA, OR) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has alot of glitches, and when you're standing still, the characters move. When running, you fall of the platforms, and the characters don't stop when they need to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Subpar game, great workout

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2003

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

At first glance, this game is horrible. Take the FREE Doritos Crash Course arcade title and add Kinect controls - that's really it. Sure the courses are based off the ABC show, but other than that, it's practically the same. The game itself is even the size of an arcade game - I installed to hard drive and the game was approximately 800mb. How they try to sell an arcade game with less content than most newer arcade games for $49.99 retail is beyond my comprehension. It would be a ripoff at even $29.99. Fortunately, you can rent the game and that is worth it.

The game itself is run, jump, duck, balance. There are total of 9 "episodes" that can be beat in less than 3-4 minutes each. But that's if you're good at the game and lucky. In all there are 2 training "audition" levels, 9 "qualifier" levels, 3 "eliminator" levels, and 6 or 7 "wipeout zones". They really aren't that different from one another.

After my first session playing, I was dripping sweat and had downed a bottle of water or two. I put the game up and thought "that is one of the worst retail games ever". I would have given it a 3 out of 10. But the next day, my legs were sore and I tried to play the game and could barely jump. I then realized I had spent 3-4 hours the previous day running, jumping, doing jumping squats... and I had no idea that I had been working out so hard. That made me appreciate the game a bit more.

On my quest to complete the achievements in the game (one more to go), I have come to think this might be the best cardio workout game on the market. The fact that it works you so hard without you really noticing (other than all that sweat) is amazing. I've played other "real" workout games and minutes felt like hours. With this, hours feel like minutes. I think that's worth a higher score.

You won't find a deep gameplay experience here - truly minimal content. You won't find 100% solid, smooth Kinect controls. This is a subpar game period, but it's an excellent cardio workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Game

posted by wharp1g (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game will let you know you are out of shape really quick. I played this with my 6 year old daughter & 2 friends and after just the first round we were all drenched in sweat. We played this for about 1 hour and the next day my legs were sore. It is a great exercise and actually very fun with more people.

The Pros:
Great workout
Fun family/party game

The Cons:
needs more tutorials
The big balls I couldn't figure out...I jumped clear over the first ball and landed directly in the water every time
Frustrating at times

I gave the game a 8 mostly because of the great exercise, the gameplay I would rate more of a 6. I wouldnt pay more than $30 for this game as the controls can be frustrating at times (ex. you stop and the character keeps running). If you are looking at playing this by yourself then it would be boring and I would pass as this game is much more fun with the more people you have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It just depends

posted by ddsmith97 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have people playing with it can get fun,but it will get bored. The game does make you mad,so if you dont like getting mad dont play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better then expected

posted by Blurrrr (EDGERTON, WI) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Kinect version of this game is much better then what we expected! The first game we played on the Wii system & thought it was very cheesy...this is 10x better & gives one heck of a work out at the same time. Fun to play with friends & still has the "funny" factor that the show gives. The low rating of this game, doesn't do the game justice. I rated an 8, and most games like this I usually give the 5 rating for...because it's not usually worth playing over again, but this one is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not what I expected...

posted by ricefam (CHALMETTE, LA) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

It was not as good as a game as I thought it would be. The rounds are over quick so you have to go through the menus over and over again from the beginning. It does not read your body movements as well as other games so your avatar doesn't move at the correct times which causes you to miss or fall and/or lose. It was fun to play but frustrating and quite difficult physically.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The developers should have to run the real course!

posted by the_cdl (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Our family likes to watch the show for the pure comedy of people bouncing off the walls and thought it would be fun to try this ourselves.

The graphics are decent for this type of game, but that's about the best thing I can say about it.

The controls are absolutely terrible.

The game play quickly becomes frustrating because the responses are too laggy and at times unresponsive (even though you're still ducking, your character stands up to get obliterated). It requires some very precise movements (slow walk through areas, or complete stop to avoid obstacles) and the game just doesn't respond well.

We have multiple kinect games at home, and none of them have the same control issues as this one.

It's a shame, because we're always looking for games that we can all play together.

Save your rental for something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Dark63 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Hey I love this game it's silly , fun , lol & a great work out also thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wipe out

posted by walsh4283 (SAVANNAH, GA) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

4 words or you " DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME ". Hands Down the worst game I have ever tried. GIJoe: the rise of cobra was a 10 compared to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wipeout in the zone review

posted by danaz156 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i was expecting a lot more out of this game. there really isnt much to do. only 3 episodes to play and the body controls are really delayed and unresponsive. it was almost impossible to stop running before you ran off of each obstacle. and timing your jumps was even worse. i got frustrated after an hour and wanted to return it because i couldnt even get past a few obstacles on easy. kinect sports utilizes the controls much better than this game. very disappointing, this could have been an awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

spent more time in the envelope than in the system

posted by jhonnnydont (PALM BAY, FL) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game was terrible. the controls were way off. i almost had to walk through a wall in my house to make my guy move to the left and than it told me to move way right. the punching wall punched me off of the platform when i wasnt anywhere where in reach. what a waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun

posted by lakers08 (ROSAMOND, CA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I thnk this is a good party game it's fun got it yesterday in the mail so I onl played 3 hours but had a blast and a huge workout duck jump balance your way through the wipeout zone.

only bad thng is the guys doing the play by play is repeative tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Work-Out

posted by AllGames (CHARLEROI, PA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun at times,however it is a big workout. It takes 2 min or so of straight running and jumping. Also if you get to a hard part of the board you could repeat it up to 10 times or more. Watching the review of you fail gives you a little break which is nice. The recaps of your fall our not as nearly as funny as the show. your avatar is injected in the game very well. Aslo one last thing the big reds balls can be very annoying if you get stuck in the middle bouncing back and forth which seems like forever. I still recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wipeout

posted by haydensmommy (MARGATE, FL) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is bad with syncing up with your movements - great little games on there but when your running and then stop your avatar keeps running. It doesn't match your movements half the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WipeOut!

posted by FamilyFly (SLIGO, PA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sheesh I guess it is a wipeout LOL Easy setting is fun but sametime hard LOL My girls and I had a blast playing it.
Lawd now trying the medium and hard setting! Woah imagine that LOL Anyways its a great kinect game and fun for the whole family!!!! ROCK THAT WIPEOUT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

family fun

posted by johnmarston55 (FERNANDINA BEACH, FL) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is the perfect family fun game the wipeouts are very funny really because the avatars look funny when they get hit or when they bounce off the big balls so if you are looking for family fun this is the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game is fun funnny or you have a family game

posted by sh3ortry (CONCORD, NC) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

wipeout in the zone is fun .Me and my family played it. you have duck run jump the one you do most is run and jump sometimes is hard somethmes is easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its so so

posted by xbwxtommygunz (OLD LYME, CT) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

this is an ok game it is fun but I ran into some problems while playing the characters would jump and do other actions I didn't do. It keep running when I stopped moving other then that its a fantastic game to play with the kids or have kids play I got a kick out of it me and my children had so much fun and brings out the competitiveness

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wipeout in the zone

posted by jalica03 (FORT SILL, OK) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I bought the game from you guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TErrible

posted by thom18 (WEST JORDAN, UT) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

The game is just not very responsive at all!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wipeout kinect

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

I have to say that this game is not bad...
Kinect controls are a little spotty but you def get a good workout. Problem is level of difficulty is pretty high, even on easy I was having a hard time on levels. So I would not recommend this for the younger crowd. Since I would suspect them to get frustrated very quick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Scratches on disc

posted by kcost (FORT LEE, VA) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

It was hard trying to play this game. It was like the sensor wasn't connecting with the game. I think because it had scratches on the disc. I would probably buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wioeout in the Zone

posted by Moose18 (FLOWER MOUND, TX) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this game never worked and was a waste of the postage that sent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by Stephe22 (GLENVIEW, IL) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

never worked!!! ugh!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!

posted by esdaht (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This is by far the worst game I have ever played in my entire life! Please take this as a warning!! This game is not even suitable to use as a drink coaster!! HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse