Rent Wipeout 3 for Wii
view large frontback

Wipeout 3

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, 3DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.2

140 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Better than 1 and 2

posted by Leahzc (LAUREL, MD) Feb 14, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was fun to play, much better than 1 and 2! You choose your player/avatar and go through the usual intros (like on tv, which you can skip by pressing A). As far as I can tell, it's a one-player game (although I didn't have a second controller activated, so I don't know if the game would've recognized it).

The obstacles are fun and creative, like on the tv show, but the running commentary by the 2 John's can get annoying (JUST like on the show!).

All in all, a good game. I may buy it when it's on sale for a lower price!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by timshep089 (BURLINGAME, KS) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This had to be the worst game I've played in a long time. You're telling me with all the technology Wii currently uses that they couldn't make this game more interactive? You only use three buttons and don't move at all. What a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by HamsterMan (SCOTTSBLUFF, NE) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I was bored so rented it IT SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not so great

posted by NJE160904 (CINCINNATI, OH) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I think that since Wii has new technology, this game should be more interactive. You only use 3 buttons. When you look at the picture on the front, it looks like fun, but looks can be deceiving. The characters were very odd and some of the courses were odd, too. I just wish it was more interactive, you know. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn’t come close to the fun of the TV show

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

I was so nice, they did it thrice – um, I mean they did it three times.
Wipeout 3 tries to follow the same format as the television show, except they put in several kids to make it more family friendly – which makes the cast consist of a few dozen player types.
But all these characters come at a cost. There’s not much commentary made by John Henson or John Anderson or the contestants themselves – and the phrases get repeated far too often.
The obstacles also repeat far too often as well. The game boasts having more than 200 unique obstacles, but I can only find about 20 unique obstacles. The rest just make minor cosmetic changes.
But what really drags this game down is the episodes (there are 12 in all) are far, far too short. It will take about five to eight minutes for most players to get through the four obstacle courses.
Which means it will take about one and a half hours to get through all 12 episodes with few reasons to replay those 12 levels – which doesn’t bode well for a game costing $40.
They try to add shelf life to the game by letting players buy gloves, helmets and shoes to make their avatar run faster, swim faster, balance better or jump higher – something not available in the previous two Wipeout games.
There’s also the option of adding more characters to the cast, but it just doesn’t work. The contestants don’t have much personality in them, and they don’t have much to say during the game.
The best thing about the game is the multiplayer where up to four players race simultaneously through the courses. But there’s no commentary in this mode of the game, and most of the content can only be unlocked in single player mode – something that makes this a lot less of a party game.
Wipeout 3 has the look and feel of the TV show, but it’s far too repetitive and short for most players to enjoy. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WIPEOUT 3

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Wipeout 3 is a family fun game but playing by yourself kind of gets boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »